• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6 GPU mining rig

krolaph

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2021
Messages
4 (0.02/day)
Hello Everyone,

I'm seeking a little help.

Me and my friend are building a 6 GPU mining rig, with 4 rtx 3090 and 2 rtx 3080 Ti.

The motherboard is a "asus rog strix B450-F gaming II" with a "AMD Athlon 3000G" CPU. The CPU has a Vega 3 Graphics.

The problem is that the rig only works with 5 GPU's and if we connect the 6th, it won't recognize it.

We updated the BIOS, the Vega card has been disabled.



Thank you for any help in advance!

BIOS settings are attached bellow.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20211210_113224.jpg
    IMG_20211210_113224.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 323
  • IMG_20211210_113239.jpg
    IMG_20211210_113239.jpg
    2.7 MB · Views: 303
  • IMG_20211210_113248.jpg
    IMG_20211210_113248.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 265
  • IMG_20211210_113305.jpg
    IMG_20211210_113305.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 244
  • IMG_20211210_113312.jpg
    IMG_20211210_113312.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 227
  • IMG_20211210_113403.jpg
    IMG_20211210_113403.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 234
  • IMG_20211210_113526.jpg
    IMG_20211210_113526.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 297
Joined
Jul 16, 2018
Messages
87 (0.06/day)
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI Z170I GAMING PRO AC
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series™ H100i GTX Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
Memory Corsair Dominator® Platinum Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz C15 Memory Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING
Storage Corsair Neutron Series™ XT 240GB SATA 3 6Gb/s SSD (2015 Edition) x2 RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q x2
Case Obsidian Series® 250D Mini ITX PC Case
Audio Device(s) Corsair VOID RGB Wireless Premium Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair RMi Series RM850i High-Performance ATX Power Supply
Mouse Corsair SCIMITAR RGB Optical MOBA/MMO Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Corsair STRAFE RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard — CHERRY® MX Silent
Software Microsoft Windows 10 PRO
Because you are using an Athlon CPU, you are having pci-ex lane availability issues.

Athlon 3000G - AMD


3rd/2nd/1st Gen AMD Ryzen™ Processors
2 x PCIe 3.0 x16 (x16 or x8/x4)
1 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (x4 mode) *

AMD B450 chipset
1 x PCIe 3.0 x16 (x4 mode)

AMD Athlon™ with Radeon™ Vega Graphics Processors
3 x PCIe 2.0 x1
1 x PCIe 3.0 x16 (x8 mode)


* PCIe x16_3 slot share bandwidth with PCIe x1_1, PCIe x1_2 and PCIe x1_3
 

krolaph

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2021
Messages
4 (0.02/day)
Because you are using an Athlon CPU, you are having pci-ex lane availability issues.

Athlon 3000G - AMD


3rd/2nd/1st Gen AMD Ryzen™ Processors
2 x PCIe 3.0 x16 (x16 or x8/x4)
1 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (x4 mode) *

AMD B450 chipset
1 x PCIe 3.0 x16 (x4 mode)

AMD Athlon™ with Radeon™ Vega Graphics Processors
3 x PCIe 2.0 x1
1 x PCIe 3.0 x16 (x8 mode)


* PCIe x16_3 slot share bandwidth with PCIe x1_1, PCIe x1_2 and PCIe x1_3
Thank you for the answer!
Whitch CPU do you recommend specifically?
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
8,079 (1.35/day)
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 9900K 4.8 at 1.152 core voltage minus 0.120 offset
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z370-F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Gaming Pro OC 2080TI
Storage 150 nvme boot drive partition.. 1T Sandisk sata.. 1T Transend sata.. 1T 970 evo nvme m 2..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and nothing special..
Audio Device(s) onboard sounds with stereo amp..
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores Firestike 29500.. timepsy 14000..
i run an intel system with my 8 card mining rig.. an asus Z270 with a low end cpu..

from your point of view you have some very expensive graphics cards.. saving a penny or two on the rest of the rig dosnt make a lot of sense..

trog
 

krolaph

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2021
Messages
4 (0.02/day)
i run an intel system with my 8 card mining rig.. an asus Z270 with a low end cpu..

from your point of view you have some very expensive graphics cards.. saving a penny or two on the rest of the rig dosnt make a lot of sense..

trog
It started out in a different way, it is a long story.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2018
Messages
87 (0.06/day)
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI Z170I GAMING PRO AC
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series™ H100i GTX Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
Memory Corsair Dominator® Platinum Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz C15 Memory Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING
Storage Corsair Neutron Series™ XT 240GB SATA 3 6Gb/s SSD (2015 Edition) x2 RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q x2
Case Obsidian Series® 250D Mini ITX PC Case
Audio Device(s) Corsair VOID RGB Wireless Premium Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair RMi Series RM850i High-Performance ATX Power Supply
Mouse Corsair SCIMITAR RGB Optical MOBA/MMO Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Corsair STRAFE RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard — CHERRY® MX Silent
Software Microsoft Windows 10 PRO
Thank you for the answer!
Whitch CPU do you recommend specifically?
If you have any other system with AMD Ryzen CPU, first please swap it with AMD Athlon one and make sure that you can use 6 GPUs at the same time with the motherboard. If it works, you can buy the cheapest 1st 2nd 3rd gen AMD Ryzen CPU and use it.

Or instead of doing this, you can use pci-ex 1 to 4 splitter if your miner is open bench. This will be a much more cheaper solution.

61IDECeYMlL._AC_SL1000_.jpg
71oVvu51VHL._AC_SL1000_.jpg
71dGoQExyiL._AC_SL1000_.jpg
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2021
Messages
598 (1.46/day)
4x RTX 3090's + 2x RTX 3080Ti's that's going to be a shitload of wattage. I hope you're going to be tweaking them for mining, or you're going to be generating too much heat & using a LOT of wattage(though you're still going to be using quite a bit with all of those cards together). What all crypto is still viable to mine nowadays?
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
8,079 (1.35/day)
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 9900K 4.8 at 1.152 core voltage minus 0.120 offset
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z370-F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Gaming Pro OC 2080TI
Storage 150 nvme boot drive partition.. 1T Sandisk sata.. 1T Transend sata.. 1T 970 evo nvme m 2..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and nothing special..
Audio Device(s) onboard sounds with stereo amp..
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores Firestike 29500.. timepsy 14000..
a tweaked for mining 3080 i am running uses 240 watts and a 2080ti 150 watts.. at guess i would say a 3090 would pull maybe 300 watts after tweaking maybe a tad less..

if the cards are sat too closely together there will be problems keeping the memory on the 3090 cards cool enough..

i see up to 600 M/H at around 1500 watts for the cards if properly tweaked..

trog
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 15, 2021
Messages
598 (1.46/day)
a tweaked for mining 3080 i am running uses 240 watts and a 2080ti 150 watts.. at guess i would say a 3090 would pull maybe 300 watts after tweaking maybe a tad less..

if the cards are sat too closely together there will be problems keeping the memory on the 3090 cards cool enough..

i see up to 600 M/H at around 1500 watts for the cards if properly tweaked..

trog
heh, so he's going to be pulling like 1700 watts at least. Someone is going to see a significant increase in their electricity bill... hence, the reason I asked, is it even viable to start mining now this late in the game?
 

Cryptoo

New Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2021
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
I have good news everyone! A new ryzen 5 CPU solved the issue, all 6 GPU works perfectly.
Thank you for all the help!
Hi, I have te same problem with the same configuration. Did you change the BIOS setup or the setup is the same with r5?
Thanks
 

Ivox

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2022
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
I have good news everyone! A new ryzen 5 CPU solved the issue, all 6 GPU works perfectly.
Thank you for all the help!
Hi !!! I has exact the same problem as you but now with the ryzen has two differents new problems
1) one of the gpu doesn't accept any overclocking and when I put one , the rig crash ( hiveOs : no temps error )
2) when shutdown the rig or reboot , many times have boot problems , some times do not recognize the gpus and we have to disconnect all gpu and insert them one by one .

We are thinking on change the mother board :(

Can you tell me your setup ? And full bios config please !!? With pictures if you want
 
Top