• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

640 GB Drive showing as 127 GB?

commandercup

New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
Messages
570 (0.10/day)
Processor Intel Pentium E2200
Motherboard EVGA 680i SLI T1
Memory 2GB Patriot Memory
Video Card(s) PNY 9600 GT 512MB
Storage 250GB Maxtor
Display(s) HP w19
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600W
Software Windows XP Media Center
I'm trying to install XP on my new 640 GB Western Digital SE16 drive... however when I boot with the XP disk, it only shows a 127 GB drive with the 640 GB drive plugged in... what is going on?

When I boot into XP on my existing installation on my 250 GB hard drive, the Local Disk Management utlity recognies the 640 GB hard drive and I can even format it... and acess it within windows, but when I boot into the disk again, its still 127 GB...

What am I supposed to do? Its my first time getting a new hard drive... 0_0

and no, there is no unpartitioned space that accounts for the rest of the space on the 640 GB drive... its just the 127 GB partition that shows up
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
226 (0.04/day)
Location
Toronto, ON, Canada
System Name Titan
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2670v2
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth X79
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon R9 290 DirectCU II
Storage Mushkin Reactor 1TB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2713HM
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic X-750
Software Windows 10 Pro
I believe that there's a problem with the original version of Windows XP where the OS would only recognize hard drives up to 127GB. If you upgrade to SP1, SP2 or SP3, the problem should subside and you should be able to see all 640GB.

Edit: Here's another solution
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;303013
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,573 (0.41/day)
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 4440 / 4430
Motherboard Asus z87-k / Gigabyte ga h97- d3h
Cooling Arctic freezer / Generic
Memory 8 gb Mushkin / Various
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 cf / Gtx 690
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / 2x1 terabyte hdds Wd 256 gb nvme
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Corsair
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 850 w
Software Windows 10
Try this
 

Attachments

  • reg_48bit_lba.exe
    64 KB · Views: 859

commandercup

New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
Messages
570 (0.10/day)
Processor Intel Pentium E2200
Motherboard EVGA 680i SLI T1
Memory 2GB Patriot Memory
Video Card(s) PNY 9600 GT 512MB
Storage 250GB Maxtor
Display(s) HP w19
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600W
Software Windows XP Media Center
thanks guys, I was going to slipstream the disc, but I'm too lazy... and thanks for the link to the registry fix, but I just decided to isntall Media Center Edition

too much trouble...
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,704 (1.22/day)
System Name Back to Blue
Processor i9 14900k
Motherboard Asrock Z790 Nova
Cooling Corsair H150i Elite
Memory 64GB Corsair Dominator DDR5-6400 @ 6600
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3090 Ultra FTW3
Storage 4TB WD 850x NVME, 4TB WD Black, 10TB Seagate Barracuda Pro
Display(s) 1x Samsung Odyssey G7 Neo and 1x Dell u2518d
Case Lian Li o11 DXL w/custom vented front panel
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Senn PX38X -> SB AE-5 Plus
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G502x
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software Windows 11 x64 Pro
Benchmark Scores 31k multicore Cinebench - CPU limited 125w
All you have to do is partition the drive with media center, and then install windows xp over that, it will only show so much of the drive until you get SP2 but it will work perfectly, just did it the other day.
 
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,487 (1.45/day)
Or use a 3rd party partition program (ie partition magic or something) So you won't require a reinstall.
 
Top