• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

6850 + 300psu ?

Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
2,036 (0.59/day)
Likes
113
Location
Dundalk, Maryland
System Name Xeon 2017
Processor Intel® Xeon® Processor X3360 12M Cache, 2.83 GHz, 1333 MHz
Motherboard Dell Inc. 0200DY (CPU)
Cooling Speed Fan
Memory 4.00GB Single-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) Dell 1GB GDDR5 ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL V)
Storage WD 500GB + 465GB TOSHIBA External USB 3.0
Display(s) Acer 21inch Monitor LCD
Case Dell Optiplex 780 SFF
Audio Device(s) SoundMAX Integrated Digital HD
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC ATX 430W Power Supply
Mouse Dynex Grey and Black
Keyboard HP Wireless
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#1
VisionTek 900339 Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 ...

Click on feedback and read what he said.
Is that possible, because i was thinking about buying one very soon. I was thinking about buying another Thermaltake 430W PSU. , the same one i am using now for it. Or i could go with a 500W PSU.

My question, does a 6850 really work with a 300 PSU lol
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,563 (1.34/day)
Likes
2,700
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Core i5 3570K @ 4.0 ghz 1.15 vcore | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard EVGA Z77 FTW 1.21 BIOS |Gigabyte 990FXA UDH (rev 4.0)
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO R2-push/pull with 2x 120mm PWM | CM Hyper 212
Memory Mushkin Blackline 4GB x 2 1600mhz XMP profile |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Kingston SSDNOW V300 120/240 GB OS & Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 5ms 60hz refresh with Enhanced Sync | BenQ GW2270 22" VA 5ms 60hz refresh
Case NZXT 810 Switch |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX w/ Logitech z623 | Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750W 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma | Tt Level 10M
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thanks to Norton/Lt_JWS/Guitar for the 2nd pc parts :)
#2
my question is, why would you even want to know? Get a PSU thats more than what you need, say 650-850 watts and then meaningless questions (IMO) about high end gfx cards with sh**y PSUs will become a thing of the past.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
1,785 (0.47/day)
Likes
897
Location
TEXAS
System Name Hexy
Processor i5 4690K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Z97 Pro Gamer
Cooling custom parallel loop with direct die mounts & liquid metal
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Founders Edition + shunt mod
Storage 480GB Intel 750 PCIE + 256GB Plextor M5S SSD + 2TB WD Red HDD
Display(s) Pixio PX325c & ASUS MX279H
Case Lian Li PC-V1000L + "NZXT Hue+ Lighting"
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX + Sennheiser Game Zero's
Power Supply Seasonic x850 Gold
Mouse Nixeus Revel + Dechanic control XL mouse mat
Keyboard Royal Kludge RC930-87 + Grifiti Pad
Software Windows 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Heaven Extreme 1080p,2336 | Valley, Extreme 1080p, 3899 | SuperPosition, Extreme 1080p, 3455
#3
it can actually work if the the voltage is rock solid and you have enough amps on the rail thats supplying the video card
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
582 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Latvia
System Name Spyder
Processor Phenom 2 x4 940 @3.5GHz
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 612S
Memory 2x2 GB Patriot Viper + 2x2 GB Kingston Value 800MHz [5-5-5-12] DDR2
Video Card(s) MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G
Storage Crucial M550 256GB+WD Black 1TB + WD Caviar RE 500GB + 2TB Seagate Ext backup
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum+custom made HP AMP+Sennheiser HD380
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850w Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard ElE Game1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#4
No, it doesn't work with 300W PSU, don't even try that. For example my old 300W PSU has 10A MAX on 12V rail - not even sufficient for
HD6850 alone.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
2,036 (0.59/day)
Likes
113
Location
Dundalk, Maryland
System Name Xeon 2017
Processor Intel® Xeon® Processor X3360 12M Cache, 2.83 GHz, 1333 MHz
Motherboard Dell Inc. 0200DY (CPU)
Cooling Speed Fan
Memory 4.00GB Single-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) Dell 1GB GDDR5 ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL V)
Storage WD 500GB + 465GB TOSHIBA External USB 3.0
Display(s) Acer 21inch Monitor LCD
Case Dell Optiplex 780 SFF
Audio Device(s) SoundMAX Integrated Digital HD
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC ATX 430W Power Supply
Mouse Dynex Grey and Black
Keyboard HP Wireless
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#5
Just wondering lol I actually plan on going with a 500 W PSU tho. I ran a 430W psu with my 9800gt just fine, so a 500 for a 6850 should be ok, i don't plan to have alot of stuff in my new rig soon.
peace.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
1,531 (0.44/day)
Likes
86
System Name Toaster!
Processor Intel Core i7 5930k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS x99 Deluxe
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU Cooler (Blue). Stock on GPU.
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M4A2800C16 16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 @ 2750mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 980 Ti Gaming 6GB
Storage Samsung 850 series 512GB SSD
Display(s) AOC D2757Ph 27" 3D IPS Widescreen LED Monitor and Viewsonic VX2753MH 27 Inch
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) ASUS ROG Phoebus 7.1 + Razer Tiamat 7.1
Power Supply Antec High Current Pro Platinum 1300W Modular Power Supply
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K70.
Software ALL HAIL WINDOWS 10.
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6805248
#6
Dont even try running it off a 300W PSU. They need 400W+ alone