• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Advice: Thinking about upgrading RAM > 1866MHz (M5A97-AM3/AM3+)

Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
53 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
VA, USA
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition (rev. C2)
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 AM3+ ATX Motherboard
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory Corsair Dominator 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-10666 1333mHz1.6v Dual Channel DDR3 (CMP8GX3M2B1333C9)
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6850 1GB
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"
Display(s) 22" Insignia NS-L22Q-10A 720p LCD HDTV (Supports up to 1080p @ 60Hz output)
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W Continuous Power 80+ Certified
Software Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64
#1
Greetings TPU Community :)

Although this is my second build, I still consider myself pretty new to the DIY stuff... so here's my question (should anyone be kind enough to lend assistance):


System's primary purpose: Gaming

I'm strongly considering moving to the following RAM kit:


What I'm Thinking:

  • Buy the G. Skill kit now and run it @ 1600MHz with the current Deneb
  • Upgrade to an FX-8350 in 3 to 6 mos.; at which time, run the memory @ 1866MHz (or higher if I can tweak it)
  • It's on the QVL for the M5A97, so thinking I should get decent results.
  • Keep the Corsair set for a secondary build (which I have almost all the necessary spare parts for already, except a CPU and RAM, which this set would work perfectly for)

For the more experienced builders, given the hardware, is this an upgrade you could advise @ $55 for the G. Skill kit? Any better alternatives for this board in the price/performance department?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,260 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,361
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#2
With your current CPU, you would notice no real improvement with the faster RAM. As for the future upgrade to the 8350, I want to say I read somewhere that Piledriver CPUs do benefit from faster RAM, but is it worth $55? Not really sure, but I would guess probably not.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#3
You would be better off making sure your HT is at about 2600Mhz, as that gives a solid 5% boost over the stock 2000Mhz on PIIs.

Your Dominator can probably do 1600Mhz easy :D
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.72/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#4
Even when paired with a 8350 the performance benefit would be negligble,have you tried clocking your kit to 1600mhz?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#5
Do it.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,260 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,361
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#6
Uh, Wait, What? Your saying the faster RAM upgrade would be worth the $55?

Don't get me wrong, no way am I more experienced with DIY builds than you are Dave. So if you say it's worth it, I'll take your word. I'm just curious how much the faster RAM would benefit the OP.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#7
Uh, Wait, What? Your saying the faster RAM upgrade would be worth the $55?

Don't get me wrong, no way am I more experienced with DIY builds than you are Dave. So if you say it's worth it, I'll take your word. I'm just curious how much the faster RAM would benefit the OP.
I think he meant the newer model CPU.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#8
Uh, Wait, What? Your saying the faster RAM upgrade would be worth the $55?

Don't get me wrong, no way am I more experienced with DIY builds than you are Dave. So if you say it's worth it, I'll take your word. I'm just curious how much the faster RAM would benefit the OP.
Always pair builds with matching ram. Stock for ram for FX chips is 1866 MHz. He's gonna upgrade CPUs, might as well do the ram at the same time.

Intel IVB..I say 1600 MHz...SB/SB-E, AM3 Phenom, 1333 MHz. I WILL NOT build a system with less, performance difference or not. The CPUs are spec'd to support certain ram type for a reason, IMHO. To me, the FX design hinges on that 1866 MHz memory support.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#9
Always pair builds with matching ram. Stock for ram for FX chips is 1866 MHz. He's gonna upgrade CPUs, might as well do the ram at the same time.

Intel IVB..I say 1600 MHz...SB/SB-E, AM3 Phenom, 1333 MHz. I WILL NOT build a system with less, performance difference or not. The CPUs are spec'd to support certain ram type for a reason, IMHO. To me, the FX design hinges on that 1866 MHz memory support.
So what you're saying, is that 1333Mhz RAM will destroy its performance? uhh no.
You'd probably be better off with 1333 CL6 1T than 1866 CL9 2T anyway. The FX series especially, RAM and HT aren't as important as they were with the PII, or new APU.
Thubans didn't even officially support 1333 if you populated 4 slots :p
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#10
So what you're saying, is that 1333Mhz RAM will destroy its performance?
Did I say that? Nope.


However, yes, I have benched FX from 1066 and up to over 2600. 1866 is the sweetspot, for sure. It's pocket change, $55...and I don't really care what anyone buys for themselves, but for me, I personally wouldn't skimp out on memory at all. I'd be using 2400 MHz or higher, gains or not. Otherwise, it's like running an F1 car on pump gas...sure it works, but there's more power available... I like to use my power.


OF course, all I do is run benchmarks and play games all day.:roll:
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#11
You said "hinges" ie, "depends on" having 1866 RAM when it certainly does not. $55 could be spent better elsewhere, wait for the new CPU and prices could go down even further and get 16GB, then you can cache disk with fancycache for super performance. I run 32GB on my X6 (1740Mhz CL10 2T), the sole purpose of having 20GB dedicated as a disk cache to speed up my SSD and 10,000RPM Raptor, and the performance increase is very easily noticible.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
53 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
VA, USA
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition (rev. C2)
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 AM3+ ATX Motherboard
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory Corsair Dominator 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-10666 1333mHz1.6v Dual Channel DDR3 (CMP8GX3M2B1333C9)
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6850 1GB
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"
Display(s) 22" Insignia NS-L22Q-10A 720p LCD HDTV (Supports up to 1080p @ 60Hz output)
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W Continuous Power 80+ Certified
Software Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64
#12
Wow... great response to this guys. Thank you everyone! :)

Yeah, I tried taking the Dominators to 1600MHz, but I don't know if it was the CPU, the board, or what (most likely my lack of experience/skill)... it just wouldn't fly. Tried everything from increasing voltages to raising timings; and no dice. Well, ONE of the two sticks would do it... the other, no dice. Memtest showed nothing was wrong with it, but it just wouldn't let me hit 1600MHz stable no matter what I did.

When/if I were to drop the G. Skill set in there, I wasn't really looking at the short term benefit (if any, really); although I have heard that 1600MHz is the sweet spot for most Denebs. But even if it's a neglible difference with my current processor, I was thinking more toward preparing for the future CPU upgrade. The 1866MHz is available as an Intel XMP profile, but no biggie, 'cuz that could be set manually once I drop the Vishera in there (@ stock 1.5v, too). If I were to drop it in there right now, it would automatically default to 1600MHz @ 1.5v with no need to worry about OC'ing or anything like that. My Dominators right now barely do 1333MHz CL7 @ 1.6v. :(
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#13
1600Mhz on a PII is technically overclocking, as the CPU IMC only supports 1333Mhz, and 1066 with 4 modules.
But there's usually no problems hitting 1600Mhz, My X6 is horrible, it can't even do 4Ghz but can run 2 modules at 1900Mhz CL9 1T.

I would try 9-9-9-24 2T 1.75v with the doms.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
53 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
VA, USA
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition (rev. C2)
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 AM3+ ATX Motherboard
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory Corsair Dominator 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-10666 1333mHz1.6v Dual Channel DDR3 (CMP8GX3M2B1333C9)
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6850 1GB
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"
Display(s) 22" Insignia NS-L22Q-10A 720p LCD HDTV (Supports up to 1080p @ 60Hz output)
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W Continuous Power 80+ Certified
Software Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64
#14
1600Mhz on a PII is technically overclocking, as the CPU IMC only supports 1333Mhz, and 1066 with 4 modules.
But there's usually no problems hitting 1600Mhz, My X6 is horrible, it can't even do 4Ghz but can run 2 modules at 1900Mhz CL9 1T.

I would try 9-9-9-24 2T 1.75v with the doms.
Thanks! I might actually give that a shot, but at the time, I wasn't sure just how high I could take the voltages (the highest I tried was 1.7v)

I know they will both do 1600MHz CL9 2T @ 1.7v, but I usually get a stopped worker in Prime95 about an hour after starting the test. This was the problem I kept encountering, and gave up since I thought I hit my "voltage wall".
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#15
You might need to up the CPU-NB volts a bit too, if you're failing in prime blend. if you're failing prime small fft, it's more of a cpu and not memory related problem. CPU-NB will be needed for more HT, but no more than 1.35v.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
53 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
VA, USA
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition (rev. C2)
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 AM3+ ATX Motherboard
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory Corsair Dominator 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-10666 1333mHz1.6v Dual Channel DDR3 (CMP8GX3M2B1333C9)
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6850 1GB
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"
Display(s) 22" Insignia NS-L22Q-10A 720p LCD HDTV (Supports up to 1080p @ 60Hz output)
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W Continuous Power 80+ Certified
Software Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64
#16
It looks like the general consensus is to stick w/ the 1333MHz Dominators for now and try to tweak them to 1600MHz if I can... which I have to admit, based on the feedback, seems wisest.

But I'll also be taking what both cadaveca & terrastrife stated into very strong consideration:
Once I get the Vishera in 3 to 6 mos., I'll definitely get some 1866MHz memory to pair it with. By then, the prices should have theoretically come down a bit, and I could probably score more (although I barely if ever use the 8GB I already have), or just get the initial amount I was thinking of for less, at least.

The secondary's board is an Asus M5A78L-M LX... not good for OC'ing at all really. I was thinking the best I'll probably get for that would be 1333MHz memory, anyway. So, two birds with one stone, I suppose :)

Thanks all! I'll be sure to update in case I get too impatient and end up pulling the trigger now anyway lol :D (c'mon... who doesn't love new toys?)
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,260 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,361
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#17
Always pair builds with matching ram. Stock for ram for FX chips is 1866 MHz. He's gonna upgrade CPUs, might as well do the ram at the same time.

Intel IVB..I say 1600 MHz...SB/SB-E, AM3 Phenom, 1333 MHz. I WILL NOT build a system with less, performance difference or not. The CPUs are spec'd to support certain ram type for a reason, IMHO. To me, the FX design hinges on that 1866 MHz memory support.
Did I say that? Nope.


However, yes, I have benched FX from 1066 and up to over 2600. 1866 is the sweetspot, for sure. It's pocket change, $55...and I don't really care what anyone buys for themselves, but for me, I personally wouldn't skimp out on memory at all. I'd be using 2400 MHz or higher, gains or not. Otherwise, it's like running an F1 car on pump gas...sure it works, but there's more power available... I like to use my power.


OF course, all I do is run benchmarks and play games all day.:roll:
So basically what I said in my first post was correct(not knocking on you, just want to know for future reference in giving advice). His current Phenom II won't see a benefit, but when the OP upgrades to the 8350, he would benefit some, whether or not it's worth it is a personal opinion, like the F1 and pump gas comparison. It'll work either way, but is the little gain worth the extra cash? Up to the OP there.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
53 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
VA, USA
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition (rev. C2)
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 AM3+ ATX Motherboard
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory Corsair Dominator 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-10666 1333mHz1.6v Dual Channel DDR3 (CMP8GX3M2B1333C9)
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6850 1GB
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"
Display(s) 22" Insignia NS-L22Q-10A 720p LCD HDTV (Supports up to 1080p @ 60Hz output)
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W Continuous Power 80+ Certified
Software Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64
#18
What i'm getting out it, is that I won't see any immediate difference, especially if I can potentially get the same performance (1600MHz) out of my current kit. And even once I get the FX-8350, the bump up to 1866MHz RAM will probably be where I see the increases least (in real-world, normal taks and gaming). But the FX chips have shown to work very well with it and there will be a greater sense of system "balance" (?..... if that sounds right) than pairing the 8350 with my 1333MHz (or even 1600MHz) kit.

In the end, the only real place that I would most notice a tangible difference would be in benchmarks; but it's still recommended for attaining that greater "harmony" or "feng-shui" between components.

It's more of an optimization thing for fine tuning the overall machine, if I'm understanding things correctly. (is that right?)

Haha :D Just as I was typing, I got an email notification from Newegg... The 16GB kit of this same RAM is currently $15 off with a promo code: G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 ... .

However, even at $85, I don't know if there might be better kits I could get in that price range.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,594 (0.84/day)
Likes
636
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#19
Dave is a very good name

Did I say that? Nope.


However, yes, I have benched FX from 1066 and up to over 2600. 1866 is the sweetspot, for sure. It's pocket change, $55...and I don't really care what anyone buys for themselves, but for me, I personally wouldn't skimp out on memory at all. I'd be using 2400 MHz or higher, gains or not. Otherwise, it's like running an F1 car on pump gas...sure it works, but there's more power available... I like to use my power.


OF course, all I do is run benchmarks and play games all day.:roll:
I just upgraded from 1600 to 2400 (HyperX Beast, $65/2x4GB) knowing the actual performance gains would be negligible, but like you I like to run hi-test and it's only pocket change after all. My throughput increased a couple thousand MB/s and my latency dropped from 50 to 35 ns, so I'm happy, and on to the next tweak or upgrade. Like you, I also sit around all day benchmarking, playing games, and reading the latest hardware reviews and forum posts. And as you may have guessed from the title I'm also known to some as Dave. I've never met a Dave I didn't like...
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,433 (2.32/day)
Likes
4,740
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#20
RevOne - there is no reason to double post when you can easily use the "Edit" feature. I have merged your posts. Please refrain from double posting in the future:)