1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

After short amount of gaming terrible FPS spikes until reset

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Nossy, Sep 24, 2017.

  1. Nossy

    Nossy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    103 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Hi Guys

    Thank you so much for your help setting this pc up.

    At the moment im having issues maintaining a consistent fps. Once game starts up im running around 50-90 fps with 11520x2160. After running this for no less than 20 minutes the pc will almost hit the brick wall. Temps are all very consistent and i cannot find any programs that open up causing this.

    So i thought i would notch it back a bit to 1 4k monitor and the same thing happens even though everything appears to be cruising.

    [​IMG]

    GPU- 1080ti
    CPU- 4930k
    RAM- 64gb Kingston hyperbeast 2400mhz???
    PSU-1000w
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2017
  2. Vayra86

    Vayra86

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,105 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,551
    Location:
    Duiven, Netherlands
    We need more info.

    System specs, game(s), perhaps a quick video showing the behaviour if possible. And mostly how are these monitors hooked up.
     
    Nossy says thanks.
  3. Nossy

    Nossy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    103 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Certainly

    Games noticed so far-
    Wolfenstein- new order
    Wolfenstein- the old blood
    League of Legends
    Total War- Warhammer

    GPU- 1080ti poseidon x2
    CPU- 4930k
    RAM- 64gb Kingston hyperbeast 2400mhz???
    PSU-1000w

    No over clocks are set at the moment

    Monitors are hooked up in Surround, run through displayport. 2 display ports on lead card, 1 on the other.

    Ive noticed when the system faults its sudden and cannot even do basic actions on windows without it beings very choppy. Yet couldnt find anything running in the background. I could try acouple benchmarks at stock clocks atm and see if something happens? What do you guys recommend?

    Many thanks
     
  4. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,201 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,125
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Please provide specifics.

    Did everything used to work fine with this hardware configuration? Or has this been a problem since day 1?

    I would cut back to 32GB of RAM and see what happens. Then swap in other 32GB and see what happens.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    774 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    austria
    good point Bill.
    and maybe your hx750 is overheating? where it gets the fresh air?

    try hwinfo64 and ya get all the temps+volts in 1 window
     
  6. cucker tarlson

    cucker tarlson

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    329 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Poland
    why are you stacking PSUs like that ? The lower one should be facing down or else there's no airflow to it!

    A MSI afterburner log would be helpful to see the cpu and gpu usage and other crucial parameters.
     
  7. Nossy

    Nossy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    103 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    New Zealand
    they're not stacked. The case is a Lian Li DK02. Have a look If you want.

    I'll have a wee looksy at the afterburner a d crank into some games today then
     
  8. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    905 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Arcadia
    Are you sure is not the latest banana update (creators) for Windows 10 causing that fps drops?
    Because i friend of mine after that update have really big Fps drops for no reason and the game then remain at that lower fps .
    Bf1 before the update always at 75 fps with no drops , after the update drops at 25/20 fps and the game remain in that state.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,567 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,540
    And he is gone, never to be heard from again
     
    Nossy says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Nossy

    Nossy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    103 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Still testing the system. It only does it on 11520x2160. Resetting the computer will reset it so i dont think its temp. When both computers are running benchmarks, gpu temps are around 57 and cycling their own fans and cpus around 42. Ive got 4 noctua 120pwm 3000rpm fan motors on the thickest 240 ek rads. These noisey liitle !@#$ers take off if temps get slightly too high.

    Will still keep this posted if i find anything
     
    SomeOne99h says thanks.
  11. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,769 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,433
    I take it this is verified by using only one monitor?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. JackOne

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    101 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    US
    I think the issue is, when you drive multiple monitors the GPUs are clocking down to desktop mode after a while or maybe after you do something specific. Use GPU-Z to monitor clocks of the GPU as well as utilization (usage) and report what you see here, also provide a screenshot.

    Could also be a problem with SLI, monitor clocks of both GPUs.
     
  13. Nossy

    Nossy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    103 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Was until tonight. But had msi after burner logs to reset after log back in. Rectified now. Gaming for longer periods seems to set it off. Will get a decent run tomorrow and will let you know :)
     
  14. Nossy

    Nossy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    103 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Update, seems to be random and a program issue. Tonight it done the same issue after running dialog. Installed a new game on steam and it had the option to run it. After trying it a second time, no issue. MSI afterburner doesnt seem to pick up background applications or processors. Is there something else i could use to can this also or am i using it wrong?

    Cheers guys
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)