• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AHCI mode

Joined
Aug 14, 2013
Messages
2,371 (0.62/day)
System Name boomer--->zoomer not your typical millenial build
Processor i5-760 @ 3.8ghz + turbo ~goes wayyyyyyyyy fast cuz turboooooz~
Motherboard P55-GD80 ~best motherboard ever designed~
Cooling NH-D15 ~double stack thot twerk all day~
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix LP ~memory gone AWOL~
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 ~*~GOLDEN EDITION~*~ RAWRRRRRR
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo (OS X, *nix), 128GB Samsung 840 Pro (W10 Pro), 1TB SpinPoint F3 ~best in class
Display(s) ASUS VW246H ~best 24" you've seen *FULL HD* *1O80PP* *SLAPS*~
Case FT02-W ~the W stands for white but it's brushed aluminum except for the disgusting ODD bays; *cries*
Audio Device(s) A LOT
Power Supply 850W EVGA SuperNova G2 ~hot fire like champagne~
Mouse CM Spawn ~cmcz R c00l seth mcfarlane darawss~
Keyboard CM QF Rapid - Browns ~fastrrr kees for fstr teens~
Software integrated into the chassis
Benchmark Scores 9999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999
Sorry but I still don’t understand. Did you remove the battery? Is it dead? Or did you manually make the change and the battery question is a herring that you just want to be prepared for in the unlikely scenario?

In any case it seems like something fishy is going on here… You should definitely be able to boot back into AHCI if that’s how the OS was installed, even after switching modes in the BIOS. When you install windows in AHCI mode it installs a special driver to support it, and AHCI itself is backwards compatible IIRC. What shouldn’t work is trying to boot from a IDE device in AHCI mode.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: bug
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
503 (0.18/day)
System Name Gaming PC / I7 XEON
Processor I7 4790K @stock / XEON W3680 @ stock
Motherboard Asus Z97 MAXIMUS VII FORMULA / GIGABYTE X58 UD7
Cooling X61 Kraken / X61 Kraken
Memory 32gb Vengeance 2133 Mhz / 24b Corsair XMS3 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gainward GLH 1080 / MSI Gaming X Radeon RX480 8 GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 500gb ,3 tb seagate, 2 samsung 1tb in raid 0 / Kingdian 240 gb, megaraid SAS 9341-8
Display(s) 2 BENQ 27" GL2706PQ / Dell UP2716D LCD Monitor 27 "
Case Corsair Graphite Series 780T / Corsair Obsidian 750 D
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD / ON BOARD
Power Supply Sapphire Pure 950w / Corsair RMI 750w
Mouse Steelseries Sesnsei / Steelseries Sensei raw
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma / Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Software Windows 1064bit PRO / Windows 1064bit PRO
Since I had my own desktop computers from 2006 till now, I never replaced 1 CMOS battery...
lucky you i have asus maximus formula vi and to remove the cmos i had to disassemble almost the entire motherboard! The most retarde mobo in the world!
 
Joined
May 7, 2023
Messages
258 (0.89/day)
Processor Ryzen 5700x
Motherboard Gigabyte Auros Elite AX V2
Cooling Thermalright Peerless Assassin SE White
Memory TeamGroup T-Force Delta RGB 32GB 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Dragon Rx 6800
Storage 1TB WD PCIE3 NVME, 500GB SSD, 2TB Seagate HDD
Case Corsair 4000D White
Power Supply Corsair RM750x SHIFT

Had to use this registry edit a few times when trying to change from ide to ahci
 
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
1,257 (0.92/day)
Just buy a good quality new CR2032 battery and you can have your AHCI and eat it too. :)
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
7,185 (1.13/day)
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
Never had to replace a battery either. I personal know of 1 person who has so far.
oof. lucky. i've replaced multiple CR2032's

it's a real pain on headless servers or firewalls, because when the battery goes and BIOS settings are lost, the machines don't boot, but wait at console for user to respond to the error by F2 or whatever.

this issue might be machine specific, in that, other mainboards might ignore lost BIOS settings and just boot to defaults - however, my supermicros don't do that, and wait for user to confirm that boot to default is wanted.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
12,995 (4.06/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
oof. lucky. i've replaced multiple CR2032's

it's a real pain on headless servers or firewalls, because when the battery goes and BIOS settings are lost, the machines don't boot, but wait at console for user to respond to the error by F2 or whatever.

this issue might be machine specific, in that, other mainboards might ignore lost BIOS settings and just boot to defaults - however, my supermicros don't do that, and wait for user to confirm that boot to default is wanted.
It makes sense, if you really think about it. On a server, booting with setting the user didn't dial in can lose you a lot of money. Think, for example, that for security reasons you need to turn off IME. Then the CMOS battery dies and IME turns itself on. You wouldn't even know about it if you're not actively monitoring (though chances are the reset date will raise a few red flags on its own).
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
17,463 (2.64/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K P-Cores @ 5Ghz / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) Panasonic SA-PMX94 / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system / Harman Kardon Go + Play / Logitech G533
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1936 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 23006 @ stock
Never had to replace a battery either. I personal know of 1 person who has so far.
My dad had to replace one on his Asus P45 board that was running since 2010, he replaced the battery in 2020/21 or so....
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
4,205 (3.94/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Asus NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 2GB GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Micron SATA SSD; 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5" HDD
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
I imagine it makes a difference if the computer is left plugged in or not.

But I can't risk it on a main computer, I need to just keep working and at worst just change the battery and not worry about getting it back into AHCI mode.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
4,205 (3.94/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Asus NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 2GB GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Micron SATA SSD; 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5" HDD
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Found the cause:
Advanced Host Controller Interface - Wikipedia

"Some operating systems, notably Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows 10, do not configure themselves to load the AHCI driver upon boot if the SATA controller was not in AHCI mode at the time the operating system was installed. Although this is an easily rectifiable condition, it remains an ongoing issue with the AHCI standard."
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
12,995 (4.06/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Found the cause:
Advanced Host Controller Interface - Wikipedia

"Some operating systems, notably Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows 10, do not configure themselves to load the AHCI driver upon boot if the SATA controller was not in AHCI mode at the time the operating system was installed. Although this is an easily rectifiable condition, it remains an ongoing issue with the AHCI standard."
That is a known Windows snafu. But I didn't realize it was still with us as recently as Win10.
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2013
Messages
2,371 (0.62/day)
System Name boomer--->zoomer not your typical millenial build
Processor i5-760 @ 3.8ghz + turbo ~goes wayyyyyyyyy fast cuz turboooooz~
Motherboard P55-GD80 ~best motherboard ever designed~
Cooling NH-D15 ~double stack thot twerk all day~
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix LP ~memory gone AWOL~
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 ~*~GOLDEN EDITION~*~ RAWRRRRRR
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo (OS X, *nix), 128GB Samsung 840 Pro (W10 Pro), 1TB SpinPoint F3 ~best in class
Display(s) ASUS VW246H ~best 24" you've seen *FULL HD* *1O80PP* *SLAPS*~
Case FT02-W ~the W stands for white but it's brushed aluminum except for the disgusting ODD bays; *cries*
Audio Device(s) A LOT
Power Supply 850W EVGA SuperNova G2 ~hot fire like champagne~
Mouse CM Spawn ~cmcz R c00l seth mcfarlane darawss~
Keyboard CM QF Rapid - Browns ~fastrrr kees for fstr teens~
Software integrated into the chassis
Benchmark Scores 9999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999
Found the cause:
Advanced Host Controller Interface - Wikipedia

"Some operating systems, notably Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows 10, do not configure themselves to load the AHCI driver upon boot if the SATA controller was not in AHCI mode at the time the operating system was installed. Although this is an easily rectifiable condition, it remains an ongoing issue with the AHCI standard."
My friend, I told you a month ago :)
Sorry but I still don’t understand. Did you remove the battery? Is it dead? Or did you manually make the change and the battery question is a herring that you just want to be prepared for in the unlikely scenario?

In any case it seems like something fishy is going on here… You should definitely be able to boot back into AHCI if that’s how the OS was installed, even after switching modes in the BIOS. When you install windows in AHCI mode it installs a special driver to support it, and AHCI itself is backwards compatible IIRC. What shouldn’t work is trying to boot from a IDE device in AHCI mode.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
4,205 (3.94/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Asus NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 2GB GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Micron SATA SSD; 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5" HDD
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
So I tried an experiment; I installed Windows 11 and then turned on AHCI mode... same blue screen as in Windows 10; back to IDE.

And here was me hoping things were fixed in Windows 11 after having read:
"Some operating systems, notably Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows 10, do not configure themselves to load the AHCI driver upon boot if the SATA controller was not in AHCI mode at the time the operating system was installed. Although this is an easily rectifiable condition, it remains an ongoing issue with the AHCI standard."

The good news is that these experiments are on a spare machine.
 

Chloefile

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
10,720 (2.62/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming / guest-PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ PBO+200 / AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ PBO+200
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6700 XT Fighter / Asus HD 7970 Matrix
Storage 2x 1TB NVMe + 3x 480GB + 256GB SSD + 6TB HDD / 128GB + 2x120GB + 240GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV273K (27" 4K120 IPS) + Lenovo L32p-30 (32" 4K60 IPS) / 24" 1080p144 TN + 24" 1080p60 VA
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless / Corsair HS35
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W w/ Cablemod red sleeved cables / Seasonic Focus+ Gold FX-750
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO / NOS C450 Mini Pro
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro / Linux Mint 21.3 Cinnamon
Benchmark Scores They both run Crysis
I thought the batteries lasted about 5 years.
My fat PS2 has still its original battery working even after 20+ years. A normal CR2032 like motherboards have.

So I tried an experiment; I installed Windows 11 and then turned on AHCI mode... same blue screen as in Windows 10; back to IDE.

And here was me hoping things were fixed in Windows 11 after having read:
"Some operating systems, notably Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows 10, do not configure themselves to load the AHCI driver upon boot if the SATA controller was not in AHCI mode at the time the operating system was installed. Although this is an easily rectifiable condition, it remains an ongoing issue with the AHCI standard."

The good news is that these experiments are on a spare machine.
Why? Just put it on AHCI and keep it as AHCI. IDE is more for compatibility with older OS.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
4,205 (3.94/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Asus NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 2GB GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Micron SATA SSD; 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5" HDD
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
I moved it to AHCI, it blue screened (on Windows 11)
 

Chloefile

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
10,720 (2.62/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming / guest-PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ PBO+200 / AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ PBO+200
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6700 XT Fighter / Asus HD 7970 Matrix
Storage 2x 1TB NVMe + 3x 480GB + 256GB SSD + 6TB HDD / 128GB + 2x120GB + 240GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV273K (27" 4K120 IPS) + Lenovo L32p-30 (32" 4K60 IPS) / 24" 1080p144 TN + 24" 1080p60 VA
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless / Corsair HS35
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W w/ Cablemod red sleeved cables / Seasonic Focus+ Gold FX-750
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO / NOS C450 Mini Pro
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro / Linux Mint 21.3 Cinnamon
Benchmark Scores They both run Crysis
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
4,205 (3.94/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Asus NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 2GB GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Micron SATA SSD; 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5" HDD
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Correct; I assumed Windows 11 was carrying the drivers. Bad assumption.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
2,778 (0.68/day)
System Name BoX-Server | 775PC
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150) | Modded Xeon E5450 (OC @3.60)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX | ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling OEZM HSK | 92MM Heatsink RGB
Memory 8GB DDR3 | 8GB DDR2
Video Card(s) AMD 6450 | Onboard
Storage 120GB SSD 1TB WD | 120GB SSD 1TB Seagate 500GB HDD <<
Display(s) DELL 17" LCD 1280x1024 | ASUS 24" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster 110 | RoseWill ZIRCON
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT | Rosewill 550WATT
Mouse Input-Director| RoseWill FUSION C40
Keyboard Input-Director | RoseWill FUSION
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Like I said earlier... AHCI and IDE to me is just all about reliability. IDE is slower yes but less stress? On the hardware. AHCI is Faster
 

Chloefile

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
10,720 (2.62/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming / guest-PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ PBO+200 / AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ PBO+200
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6700 XT Fighter / Asus HD 7970 Matrix
Storage 2x 1TB NVMe + 3x 480GB + 256GB SSD + 6TB HDD / 128GB + 2x120GB + 240GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV273K (27" 4K120 IPS) + Lenovo L32p-30 (32" 4K60 IPS) / 24" 1080p144 TN + 24" 1080p60 VA
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless / Corsair HS35
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W w/ Cablemod red sleeved cables / Seasonic Focus+ Gold FX-750
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO / NOS C450 Mini Pro
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro / Linux Mint 21.3 Cinnamon
Benchmark Scores They both run Crysis
Like I said earlier... AHCI and IDE to me is just all about reliability. IDE is slower yes but less stress? On the hardware. AHCI is Faster
IIRC IDE is just for compatibility as WinXP for example doesn't support AHCI by default; you need to load the AHCI drivers during the install progress. But as even a modified XP install media usually supports AHCI, I don't see any reason to use the IDE mode especially with never OSes.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
4,205 (3.94/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Asus NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 2GB GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Micron SATA SSD; 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5" HDD
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
It's been an education and I can only thank all here.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
503 (0.18/day)
System Name Gaming PC / I7 XEON
Processor I7 4790K @stock / XEON W3680 @ stock
Motherboard Asus Z97 MAXIMUS VII FORMULA / GIGABYTE X58 UD7
Cooling X61 Kraken / X61 Kraken
Memory 32gb Vengeance 2133 Mhz / 24b Corsair XMS3 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gainward GLH 1080 / MSI Gaming X Radeon RX480 8 GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 500gb ,3 tb seagate, 2 samsung 1tb in raid 0 / Kingdian 240 gb, megaraid SAS 9341-8
Display(s) 2 BENQ 27" GL2706PQ / Dell UP2716D LCD Monitor 27 "
Case Corsair Graphite Series 780T / Corsair Obsidian 750 D
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD / ON BOARD
Power Supply Sapphire Pure 950w / Corsair RMI 750w
Mouse Steelseries Sesnsei / Steelseries Sensei raw
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma / Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Software Windows 1064bit PRO / Windows 1064bit PRO
this problem really sucks as the ahci-raid same problem
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
2,174 (1.30/day)
System Name Not a thread ripper but pretty good.
Processor Ryzen 9 5950x
Motherboard ASRock X570 Taichi (revision 1.06, BIOS/UEFI version P5.50)
Cooling EK-Quantum Velocity, EK-Quantum Reflection PC-O11, EK-CoolStream PE 360, Alphacool NexXxoS ST25 360
Memory Micron DDR4-3200 ECC Unbuffered Memory (4 sticks, 128GB, 18ASF4G72AZ-3G2F1)
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 5700 & EK-Quantum Vector Radeon RX 5700 +XT & Backplate
Storage Samsung 2TB 980 PRO 2TB Gen4x4 NVMe, Samsung 2TB 970 EVO Plus Gen3x4 NVMe x 2
Display(s) 2 x 4K LG 27UL600-W (and HUANUO Dual Monitor Mount)
Case Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic Black (original model)
Power Supply Corsair RM750x
Mouse Logitech M575
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2
Software Windows 10 Professional (64bit)
Benchmark Scores Typical for non-overclocked CPU.
Never had to replace a battery either. I personal know of 1 person who has so far.
Nah they last way longer than 5 years. More like 15 years or more. Among the PCs I still own, I've only had to replace the one on a 20 year old Socket 478 board.

They're like....Game Boy carts.
Earlier in the year I noticed the battery ran out on my Asus 775 P5E-WS and needed to be replaced. 14yr battery life seems kinda amazing.

I imagine it makes a difference if the computer is left plugged in or not.

But I can't risk it on a main computer, I need to just keep working and at worst just change the battery and not worry about getting it back into AHCI mode.
Yet another reason to get that wizbang PC (referring to your other thread on the topic)
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
4,205 (3.94/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Asus NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 2GB GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Micron SATA SSD; 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5" HDD
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Yet another reason to get that wizbang PC (referring to your other thread on the topic)

I can hardly wait; on the other hand it gets superceeded so quickly. Not an issue with what I run now :)

I have a 5 year old iMac at work, and it doesn't feel any faster.

End of support for Windows 10 happens in 2 years, so might as well wait for then; I am hoping for cooler running CPUs.
 
Last edited:
Top