• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Alienware x51 R1 Motherboard CPU support

Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
705 (0.14/day)
Likes
388
Location
Calgary Alberta, Canada
System Name PussySlayer
Processor Intel Core i7 4770
Motherboard Asrock Z87E-ITX
Cooling Some crappy Silverstone ITX Cooler
Memory 2x8GB Gskill RipjawsX 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage 1x500gb Crucial SSD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case Couger QBX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 650W EVGA BR
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
#1
I am looking at purchasing a Intel Xeon E3-1280 V2 as it is socket 1155 for my alienware x51 as the current 3570k struggles with lack of HT in some titles. Do you guys think it will work? Cant find much info on it and would like to know since it is indeed a socket 1155 motherboard.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,266 (4.08/day)
Likes
7,621
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#2
Unfortunately you won’t find much. However I have had luck with CPUs that are “close” to other chips that are supported. Others I found though not on “supported” lists end up totally supported in bios will all information present(this is big because voltage and clocks are generally never the issue it’s the cpu information reading that’s critical).

Only problem is with lack luster support documentation and a closed out platform generally the answer for these scenarios is

“Buy it and see”
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
705 (0.14/day)
Likes
388
Location
Calgary Alberta, Canada
System Name PussySlayer
Processor Intel Core i7 4770
Motherboard Asrock Z87E-ITX
Cooling Some crappy Silverstone ITX Cooler
Memory 2x8GB Gskill RipjawsX 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage 1x500gb Crucial SSD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case Couger QBX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 650W EVGA BR
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
#3
Unfortunately you won’t find much. However I have had luck with CPUs that are “close” to other chips that are supported. Others I found though not on “supported” lists end up totally supported in bios will all information present(this is big because voltage and clocks are generally never the issue it’s the cpu information reading that’s critical).

Only problem is with lack luster support documentation and a closed out platform generally the answer for these scenarios is

“Buy it and see”
That is what I am thinking. If it doesn't work out, I got a friend who could use it on his 1155 system using same processor.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,500 (5.96/day)
Likes
8,677
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
18,906 (4.34/day)
Likes
6,986
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#5
Personally. I dont think youre going to see a huge difference with HT to make the upgrade worthwhile. I Dont think a Xeon would work but anything else around the sandy bridge/Ivy Bridge line up might just work.

Better off maybe sending an email to Alienware to see if they know what CPUs are compatible with your laptop.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
705 (0.14/day)
Likes
388
Location
Calgary Alberta, Canada
System Name PussySlayer
Processor Intel Core i7 4770
Motherboard Asrock Z87E-ITX
Cooling Some crappy Silverstone ITX Cooler
Memory 2x8GB Gskill RipjawsX 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage 1x500gb Crucial SSD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case Couger QBX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 650W EVGA BR
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
#6
Whats the max cpu supported?
I7 3770k

Personally. I dont think youre going to see a huge difference with HT to make the upgrade worthwhile. I Dont think a Xeon would work but anything else around the sandy bridge/Ivy Bridge line up might just work.

Better off maybe sending an email to Alienware to see if they know what CPUs are compatible with your laptop.
It's a desktop. ITX setup. I know HT works in some titles as it works fine on my 4770
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,500 (5.96/day)
Likes
8,677
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
I7 3770k



It's a desktop. ITX setup. I know HT works in some titles as it works fine on my 4770
I believe only a Xeon of the same specs as the 3770K will work. Idk if there is any Overclocking capability in that dell motherboard though...
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
705 (0.14/day)
Likes
388
Location
Calgary Alberta, Canada
System Name PussySlayer
Processor Intel Core i7 4770
Motherboard Asrock Z87E-ITX
Cooling Some crappy Silverstone ITX Cooler
Memory 2x8GB Gskill RipjawsX 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage 1x500gb Crucial SSD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case Couger QBX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 650W EVGA BR
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
#8
I believe only a Xeon of the same specs as the 3770K will work. Idk if there is any Overclocking capability in that dell motherboard though...
No, there isn't. But using throttlestop could work. Issue is that I'm not much into overclocking as temps are already a pain in that system due to it's flawed design. So I wouldn't be doing overclocking anyway.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,500 (5.96/day)
Likes
8,677
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#9
No, there isn't. But using throttlestop could work. Issue is that I'm not much into overclocking as temps are already a pain in that system due to it's flawed design. So I wouldn't be doing overclocking anyway.
Well you can only physically try if a xeon wont work, sell it for a 3770K and call it a day.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
705 (0.14/day)
Likes
388
Location
Calgary Alberta, Canada
System Name PussySlayer
Processor Intel Core i7 4770
Motherboard Asrock Z87E-ITX
Cooling Some crappy Silverstone ITX Cooler
Memory 2x8GB Gskill RipjawsX 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage 1x500gb Crucial SSD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case Couger QBX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 650W EVGA BR
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
#11
Xeon will not work unless board bios has Xeon micro code injected into it.
You're wasting your time and money.
Hmm. Some say it may some say won't. Dunno.

Can you recommend a cheap 3770K then? In Canada, they are about $300 cad
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,703 (4.16/day)
Likes
3,974
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#12
Xeon will not work unless board bios has Xeon micro code injected into it.
You're wasting your time and money.
Unless you are speaking from experience with that particular Motherboard, I have to agree with the try it and see train of thought.
I have placed XEONs in a number of boards without doing any BIOS modifications and most seem to work fine, from socket 775 through to socket 1155, after that you may have to inject microcode.
 
Top