• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Catalyst 12.11 Performance Analysis

Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,033 (8.37/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
My 2D clocks are are stuck in this mode now.

 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
7,966 (2.09/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
i only got a slight improvement 1-2% negligable,, tut they work well though, they seem to have 5xxx series as good as they are getting, they are working very well still :)

mine are at 157 Erocker but no glitching, odd ,good but odd ,theres time yet for your trick ;)
 

TheMailMan78

Big Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,599 (4.69/day)
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.

MxPhenom 216

ASIC Engineer
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,275 (3.38/day)
Location
Longmont, CO
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k @ 4.8GHz 1.28v
Motherboard MSi Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360 & 6x Corsair LL120s - Hardline tubing
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 32GB 3200 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Where art thou RTX3080 ?
Storage Samung 970 EVO 250GB (OS), Samsung 970 EVO 1TB (Games)
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 1440p Freesync 2 (G-Sync) HDR 165Hz | 2x Asus VP249QGR 144Hz IPS
Case Lian Li PC-011D
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1220 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Ultra Platinum 850
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Holy cow, thats amazing if the gains that large with AA. BF3 the killer for AMD cards has bee nthe AA. Thats a massive performance leap, makes the 680 look bad, very shocked, sad that my rig is down now and won't be able to try them :(
They are the same performance even more now. I dont see how it makes the 680 look bad. Must make the 7970 look bad then too. Like i said, pick your color, and your getting same card with different drivers.

Im wondering what they did to push this amount of performance out of the cards. When Nvidia did this with the GTX2xx series they lowered the image quality in a lot of the games to get the extra performance.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,033 (8.37/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
7,966 (2.09/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506

the54thvoid

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
8,137 (2.09/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name Newer Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
My 2D clocks are are stuck in this mode now.

http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/12/10/22/g9f.png
I'm getting the same clocks with my primary 7970. 2nd card is still using zero core though.

EDIT:

Just tried a few things and it does seem to be better (even with crossfire). It's also fixed my Afterburner bug where my 2nd gpu temps/clocks wouldn't show. Now it does :)

Can confirm, BF3 is faster :toast:

But yeah, primary card doesn't down clock as much but it doesn't exactly suck juice at 0-1% load so no biggie.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,033 (8.37/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Tried the stock and GHz bios and get the same high 2D clocks. Only happens with these drivers. When I switch back to 12.9 beta, clocks become 300/150 in 2D mode. I don't know what I'm missing.

@cadaveca, did you just install over your previous drivers?

@ 54thvoid, are you running reference card(s)?

**I found others having similar issues: http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18452871&page=10

Seems to be happening to 7970 reference card users. Apparently AMD is aware of it. I'll take the power usage in trade for performance though for now.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
527 (0.17/day)
Processor Intel Core i7-5930k @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99-A
Cooling Corsair H110
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) 2x Titan X @ 1450/8000
Storage WD Black 4TB + Agility 3 240GB + Seagate 600 240GB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos 4k LC-60UD27U
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Great driver for gaming... this is the first driver where The Witcher 2 has worked 100% fine with ubersampling enabled for me - no crashes + 60fps performance!

The bad news? It seems unstable for bitcoin mining. When I'm mining, I get weird artifacting on the screen regardless of my clock and voltage settings. The problem does not exist in any games so far, and obviously not many people mine bitcoins, so not a huge deal.

It also nearly bumped my 3dmark11 X score over 7000! I could probably get my clocks up enough to score X7000 and survive for a single run, but at 1195/1800 (which is my max 100% stable clock), I'm getting around X6850-X6900.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.35/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Great driver for gaming... this is the first driver where The Witcher 2 has worked 100% fine with ubersampling enabled for me - no crashes + 60fps performance!

The bad news? It seems unstable for bitcoin mining. When I'm mining, I get weird artifacting on the screen regardless of my clock and voltage settings. The problem does not exist in any games so far, and obviously not many people mine bitcoins, so not a huge deal.

It also nearly bumped my 3dmark11 X score over 7000! I could probably get my clocks up enough to score X7000 and survive for a single run, but at 1195/1800 (which is my max 100% stable clock), I'm getting around X6850-X6900.
ya that stuff right there is not a normal task. Id say try folding/crunching
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,957 (1.79/day)
Processor Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard Asus Tuf Gaming x570-plus
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 Rev B with push pull fans
Memory Corsair 4x8gb 3600mhz Cas 16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage Adata SX8200 1tb
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Power Supply Cougar 850w
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Interesting about bitcoin mining doing that. What miner do you use? Btc mining is all single precision math. Try lowering your aggression.
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,955 (3.12/day)
Location
Florida
Processor 3900X @ 4.0
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X570-E
Cooling DeepCool Castle 360EX
Memory G Skill Trident Z Neo 32GB 3600
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT Pulse
Storage Sabrent Rocket Q 1TB
Display(s) LG 34UC88
Case Thermaltake P3
Power Supply SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard G Skill KM570 MX Silver
Software Windows 10 Pro
I'm going to try the 12.11 and see if they affect my reference 7970 the same way as erocker. I'll post back shortly.
My 2D clocks are are stuck in this mode now.

http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/12/10/22/g9f.png
12.11
My clocks are also stuck at 500/1375


And apparently it's only my main card, as my second card doesn't have the issue of high clocks, but it doesn't seem to be powering off like it used to.


Went ahead and downloaded and installed 12.10 also, no change ? I swear 12.8 didn't have this issue
12.10
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Messages
149 (0.05/day)
Processor Intel i7-3770k
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V LX
Cooling GeminII S524
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz
Video Card(s) R9 290 with NZXT G10
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 120Gb, 1.5 TB Seagate Barracuda, 3TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 27" Achieva Shimian
Case NZXT Switch 810
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
My 3DMark11 performance preset graphics score increased 1.4k on my HD 7870. Time to try some games.
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.28/day)
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
I've been running the 12.4's for a while, and my clocks are already stuck at 500/1375. Might as well try these out for the extra boost ;)

EDIT: Ok, ran the installer package and did an uninstall, rebooted, then ran the package again and installed them. Had to go back in and configure my Eyefinity setup (no big deal - 30 seconds maybe), then had to reboot again for cards #2 and #3 to be recognized in Afterburner. Right now I am sitting idle at the desktop and GPU #1 is at 500/1375, but GPU #2 & #3 are sitting at 0/0. Nice :pimp:
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,894 (8.27/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ Dark Rock Slim (4.3GHz 1.2v/4.35 1.275v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz c14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptop: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB
12.10 is working as expected for me on 5K crossfire, no bugs with idle clocks.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2011
Messages
70 (0.02/day)
Location
Portland OR
Well.....I'm glad I have you guys here that actually know what you're doing to test this stuff. If I had my new card I wouldn't know what the hell was going on. Hopefully be able to pick up a new 7970 within the next couple weeks!! :rockout::rockout::rockout:
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
527 (0.17/day)
Processor Intel Core i7-5930k @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99-A
Cooling Corsair H110
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) 2x Titan X @ 1450/8000
Storage WD Black 4TB + Agility 3 240GB + Seagate 600 240GB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos 4k LC-60UD27U
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Interesting about bitcoin mining doing that. What miner do you use? Btc mining is all single precision math. Try lowering your aggression.
Using GUIMiner because I don't really know what I'm doing (don't know what aggression is or how to lower it) and the other miners seemed more complex, and I just started leaving my rig on at night to mine while I sleep to make some free $$ to pay for new tech toys (I don't pay for electricity).

It doesn't seem to do anything harmful... the artifacts seem to have to do with aero glass in win7 as it seems to have problems drawing the borders of windows - they will become sporadically "blocky" until you move the window and make it re-draw.

I've had it up and running for a few hours now and no crashes, so it's not unstable... just some sort of weird bug.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,957 (1.79/day)
Processor Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard Asus Tuf Gaming x570-plus
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 Rev B with push pull fans
Memory Corsair 4x8gb 3600mhz Cas 16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage Adata SX8200 1tb
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Power Supply Cougar 850w
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Using GUIMiner because I don't really know what I'm doing (don't know what aggression is or how to lower it) and the other miners seemed more complex, and I just started leaving my rig on at night to mine while I sleep to make some free $$ to pay for new tech toys (I don't pay for electricity).

It doesn't seem to do anything harmful... the artifacts seem to have to do with aero glass in win7 as it seems to have problems drawing the borders of windows - they will become sporadically "blocky" until you move the window and make it re-draw.

I've had it up and running for a few hours now and no crashes, so it's not unstable... just some sort of weird bug.
Ah, guiminer. Guiminer uses poclbm. It does not have aggression.
You are useing this on a 7970 right. You should try these settings in the extra flags section.

Code:
-f 60
-f refers mostly to how the system will prioritize graphical load. -f 60 will put it last. -f 0 will put it before everything. It may reduce your hash rate by 10mhz but your system will run better hopefully.

Code:
-w 256
-w refers to work size. This should increase your hashrate.

I would suggest cgminer. It is the best out there right now. It will give you the best hash rate and it is actually really easy to use.
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,955 (3.12/day)
Location
Florida
Processor 3900X @ 4.0
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X570-E
Cooling DeepCool Castle 360EX
Memory G Skill Trident Z Neo 32GB 3600
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT Pulse
Storage Sabrent Rocket Q 1TB
Display(s) LG 34UC88
Case Thermaltake P3
Power Supply SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard G Skill KM570 MX Silver
Software Windows 10 Pro
12.10 is working as expected for me on 5K crossfire, no bugs with idle clocks.
12.10 has normal idle clocks? I tried it w/ 79xx but it did the same high 2d clocks 500/1375. Back on 12.8 for the time being and everything looks good :)
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.00/day)
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
Both the 12.10 and 12.11 BETA are giving me flickering artifacts in Skyrim with my 7870 :(
I can confirm the 12.11 BETA has resolved the 7870 core clock reporting 450Mhz randomly.
But still the artifacts.

Revert back to 12.8 and no artifacts.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,844 (0.81/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
Well, I tested 12.10 and 12.11, but there wasn't much to test. The drivers are junk.

3D clocks never engage no matter what you do. Any attempt at applying an OC results in crazy distortion and sometimes the image bouncing up and down (is that the flickering ppl are talking about) with lines running through it.

JFC. Get your shit together, AMD. I expect bugs in a beta but not an official release.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,104 (3.26/day)
I have no issues to report with my dual 7950's and the 12.11 Beta. Secondary card will go full shutdown when system is truly idle..etc...etc...etc..

12-11.jpg







Battlefield 3 Visual quality has been adjusted somehow...I have to play a few rounds more before I can say much on that...I can say that I have my very own driver un-install method, dunno if that's what got things worknig for me or not, however.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.00/day)
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
Well, I tested 12.10 and 12.11, but there wasn't much to test. The drivers are junk.

3D clocks never engage no matter what you do. Any attempt at applying an OC results in crazy distortion and sometimes the image bouncing up and down (is that the flickering ppl are talking about) with lines running through it.

JFC. Get your shit together, AMD. I expect bugs in a beta but not an official release.
My HD7870 is factory OC'd to a whopping 1010Mhz core clock!
Fastest 7870 Ghz edition factory stock! :rolleyes:

Yet I am getting sporadic flickers and crazy distortion in Skyrim which appears for a split second, but if I walk backwards to the same spot, those flickery triangles are there.

No 3D clock issues wiht the 7870 though besides the usual random core clock drop to 450Mhz noted in GPU-Z which does not appear to affect game play on current WHQL.

Back to 12.8 for me....not that I really needed the fps boost.

I can say that I have my very own driver un-install method, dunno if that's what got things worknig for me or not, however.
I just go to control panel, right click the AMD install manager, select change and uninstall all AMD software.
Theoretically it should be enough. :)
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,020 (0.53/day)
Location
Ikenai borderline!
Has ATI fixed the idle clocks for multi-monitor setups yet?
 
Top