• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD driver crashes during installation

likahn

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2022
Messages
2 (0.06/day)
Greeting

I cant install my gpu-driver. Everytime i want to install it, it crashes and my pc reboots. Then my system needs to do a win10 recovery. I have no problems with my computer except when i want to install the gpu driver.
Its a new PC I build in December 2021. My Specs:
  • Radeon 6800 XT
  • MAG B550 Tomahawk
  • G Skill Ripjaws 3600
  • Amd Ryzen 5600x

Things i already did:
  • Install new chipset drivers
  • Fresh Win 10 install
  • Deinstall GPU driver with DDU in Safe Mode then doing a fresh install

This is what the minidump file says
 

Attachments

  • Data1.gif
    Data1.gif
    25.7 KB · Views: 63
  • data2.gif
    data2.gif
    12.9 KB · Views: 53
  • Data3.gif
    Data3.gif
    13.5 KB · Views: 57
  • Unbenannt.jpg
    Unbenannt.jpg
    548.8 KB · Views: 59
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
1,016 (2.36/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office1 / Office 2
Processor Intel i7 7700k / Ryzen 7 5700G
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M / MSI MAG X570S - TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI
Cooling Zalman / AMD
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX / 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5700XT THICC III Ultra 8GB / XFX RX 6600XT 8GB
Storage 1st : 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb + 4x SAS HDD in RAID / 2nd : 1 Tb SSD Nvme Samsung 970 EVO PLUS
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 / GENESIS IRID 300
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster / Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W / Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO / Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205 / Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software 1st - Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu / 2nd - Windows 11 Pro
Would you be so kind and try this time AMD Enterprise version ?
And share with us the results ?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
36,494 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Greeting

I cant install my gpu-driver. Everytime i want to install it, it crashes and my pc reboots. Then my system needs to do a win10 recovery. I have no problems with my computer except when i want to install the gpu driver.
Its a new PC I build in December 2021. My Specs:
  • Radeon 6800 XT
  • MAG B550 Tomahawk
  • G Skill Ripjaws 3600
  • Amd Ryzen 5600x

Things i already did:
  • Install new chipset drivers
  • Fresh Win 10 install
  • Deinstall GPU driver with DDU in Safe Mode then doing a fresh install

This is what the minidump file says

You are missing system spec info.

What Specific 6800XT do you have, by who?

What about your psu, made by who and specific model.

Have you tried updating the motherboard bios?

How about cleaning the pcie slot?
 

likahn

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2022
Messages
2 (0.06/day)
Seems like the problem is the cable of my monitor.
I was able to install it with my tv screen. My old desktop monitor only has dvi so im using a hdmi-to-dvi cable. With a normal hdmi cable there seems to be no problem.
When i plug it back to my old monitor though, windows wants to repair itself again. This seems like a weird problem.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
36,494 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Seems like the problem is the cable of my monitor.
I was able to install it with my tv screen. My old desktop monitor only has dvi so im using a hdmi-to-dvi cable. With a normal hdmi cable there seems to be no problem.
When i plug it back to my old monitor though, windows wants to repair itself again. This seems like a weird problem.
Monitor needs replacing then
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,161 (3.65/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
atikmdag.sys is AMD's kernel mode driver for graphics. This looks like a driver bug, maybe report this to them so they can fix it
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
36,494 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
atikmdag.sys is AMD's kernel mode driver for graphics. This looks like a driver bug, maybe report this to them so they can fix it
Why would changing from the Monitor to a TV fix it though?
 
Top