• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD FX Series and A Series First Performance Projections Surface

Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
Not with 2x16 & ddr3, i think

In AM3+ platform 990 chipset will provide full 16X+16X or 3X16 solution with no extra chips needed. No LATENCY with intermedially chips (NF200) . Native crossfire & native sli !
Some members here at TPU have this mobo, including myself; it does 2x16 lanes and support DDR3. I get similar results to X58 SLI systems on 3DMARK Vantage and 11 on extreme settings, obviously not on the performance setting which is cpu demanding. http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=120367
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2009
Messages
347 (0.11/day)
Likes
19
Location
Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
System Name KXa DrakeN
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k
Motherboard Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z Z68 1155
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory 8GB Ripjaw-X Red 1866mhz
Video Card(s) 2X ASUS GTX780 DCUII OC
Storage Crucial M4 128gb+Intel 320 160gb Gen3+2TB BLack WD+1TB Black WD
Display(s) DELL S2740L 27'' LED LCD
Case NZXT Phantom 410
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR D2X
Power Supply Corsair HX1050wt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit

rem82

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
51 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
System Name AMD LEO PLATFORM
Processor AMD PHENOM II X6 1055T O/C 4.0Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO (A870/SB850) (0307 BIOS)
Cooling SCYTHE MUGEN II 2100 REV.B with 2x120mm FAN
Memory 4X 2 KINGSTONE DDR3 1600mHZ 7/8/7/20/1T-1,65V (2X KHX1600C7D3K2/4GX)
Video Card(s) ASUS EAX6950 2Gb DDR5 unlock -> 6970
Storage OCZ VERTEX II 60Gb SATA II
Display(s) SAMSUNG SYNCMASTER T240 24"
Case ANTECK HUNDRED NINE BLACK
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply ENERMAX GALAXY 850Watt
Software WINDOWS 7 64bit ULTIMATE
Some members here at TPU have this mobo, including myself; it does 2x16 lanes and support DDR3. I get similar results to X58 SLI systems on 3DMARK Vantage and 11 on extreme settings, obviously not on the performance setting which is cpu demanding. http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=120367
Unlock PHENOM II X2 555 !!!! 4,5Ghz and northbridge freq. 3300Mhz ???
what cooling system ??
Very very nice with budget cpu !

In AM3+ platform 990 chipset will provide full 16X+16X or 3X16 solution with no extra chips needed. No LATENCY with intermedially chips (NF200) . Native crossfire & native sli !
I compare AM3+ with 1155 :) !

Nvidia does not make any AM3+ mobo & chip ...
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.20/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
I compare AM3+ with 1155 :) !
Which is why AMD is so screwed because it will not be able to compete against the LGA2011 later this year.
Nvidia does not make any AM3+ mobo & chip ...
With new deal, they don't need to, and they can focus on Tegra or whatever.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
3,247 (0.89/day)
Likes
396
System Name Thakk
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Z170N ITX
Cooling Deepcool Maelstrom 120k / H55
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti Founders Ed. AIO Cooled
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / Intel 250GB SSD / Samsung Pro 512 SSD / 3TB Seagate SV32
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz IPS Gsync / HTC Vive
Case Cougar QBX mini itx
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 > Creative Gigaworks T40 > AKG Q701
Power Supply Thermaltake 600w 140mm
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Ducky Shine TKL MX Blue + Vortex PBT Doubleshots
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12108888
@charts

Hah!
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
claylomax.. i use to have this mobo bro.. but I changed it to Asus Crosshair 4 formula... :)
I copy your post to include the link, I feel lazy ... :laugh:
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
1,238 (0.31/day)
Likes
168
Location
SoCal
Processor AMD Phenom II 1055T @ 3.6ghz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO
Cooling Xigmatek SD1284
Memory 2x4GB Patriot Sector 5 PC3-12800 @ 7-8-7-24-1T 1.7V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 DD @ 1100/1350 1.185V
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB + 2x7200.12 500GB Raid1
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 27" LCD 1440p @ 120hz
Case Cooler Master 690M
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W Eco Edition
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 / Ubuntu 12.04 x64
Even when you consider the 100MHZ increase in clockspeed and an extra 4 threads the Core i7 2600K is under 10% faster than a Core i5 2500K in PCMark Vantage:

http://www.neoseeker.com/Articles/Hardware/Reviews/Intel_i7_2600K_i5_2500K/8.html
Yeah, that's kind of what I was getting at about PCMark. Wait for other benches!

As for those who think the Bulldozer module is closer to hyperthreading than to two cores, think about what task the Interlagos processor (from which Zambezi is designed from) was designed for. In the server space, Integer performance is more valuable than floating point performance, and while the module may only have one fetch/decode unit, it has two integer execution units. Further, each has their own L1 Data cache, and the L2 cache is able to be dynamically divided amongst the cores in a module (even unfairly). As such, for integer processing, it performs about as well as two cores without any components shared.

As for floating point, there may be only one FPU, but with each cycle, either core can operate on 256 bits of parallel data via two 128-bit instructions or one 256-bit instruction, OR each of the integer cores can execute 128-bit commands simultaneously. This is actually an advantage over Sandy Bridge, as while Sandy Bridge may also support 256bit AVX instructions, should a program not be programmed to take advantage of those, it is limited to a single 128bit FPU. Further, bear in mind that a 256bit FPU takes up a huge amount of die space, and so sharing it is an important way of saving chip real estate (put it towards the massive L3 cache these chips will have).

AMD "averages" their module design performance by saying that if both cores in a module are active, you'll get around 80% the throughput performance of having two separate cores without any shared resources, but at a significantly lower amount of power consumption. On the other hand, looking at Intel's Hyperthreading, you're lucky to get more than 15% throughput increases on an out-of-order execution processor, but still with a noticeable increase in power consumption. Hyperthreading is much more beneficial on in-order execution processors like the Atom or the Xbox 360s PowerPC CPU, as the pipeline is stalled significantly more often.

For Zambezi at the desktop, one also has to take into consideration how the power saving settings are in the OS (likely configurable by an Administrator). Say a Bulldozer's cores are set up like this (grouped in twos):

12|34|56|78

One can choose from a maximum power saving profile, or a maximum performance profile. Let's say we are executing a program that takes advantage of a quad core, and no additional cores (like many games). If we're interested in maximum power saving, we'd see these cores activated:

12|34

On the other hand, if we're more interested in performance, we'd see this:

1|3|5|7

In the latter case, no resources would be shared (other than L3), and we'd have each individual core running with a full 2MB L2 cache and complete access to the FPU. As most games don't take advantage of more than 4 cores, and because we are enthusiasts here, we'll probably select that option. But others (especially mobile users) will likely opt for the first.
 

rem82

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
51 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
System Name AMD LEO PLATFORM
Processor AMD PHENOM II X6 1055T O/C 4.0Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO (A870/SB850) (0307 BIOS)
Cooling SCYTHE MUGEN II 2100 REV.B with 2x120mm FAN
Memory 4X 2 KINGSTONE DDR3 1600mHZ 7/8/7/20/1T-1,65V (2X KHX1600C7D3K2/4GX)
Video Card(s) ASUS EAX6950 2Gb DDR5 unlock -> 6970
Storage OCZ VERTEX II 60Gb SATA II
Display(s) SAMSUNG SYNCMASTER T240 24"
Case ANTECK HUNDRED NINE BLACK
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply ENERMAX GALAXY 850Watt
Software WINDOWS 7 64bit ULTIMATE
This is actually an advantage over Sandy Bridge, as while Sandy Bridge may also support 256bit AVX instructions, should a program not be programmed to take advantage of those, it is limited to a single 128bit FPU
I didnt knew that about sandy . Thanks :)


For Zambezi at the desktop, one also has to take into consideration how the power saving settings are in the OS (likely configurable by an Administrator). Say a Bulldozer's cores are set up like this (grouped in twos):

12|34|56|78

One can choose from a maximum power saving profile, or a maximum performance profile. Let's say we are executing a program that takes advantage of a quad core, and no additional cores (like many games). If we're interested in maximum power saving, we'd see these cores activated:

12|34 (each with 1mb l2 cache)

On the other hand, if we're more interested in performance, we'd see this:

1|3|5|7 (each with 2mb l2 cache)
Can we program that or Windows doing accidentally ? Ιf windows change that in application (plan a, plan b), did we have delay ?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
1,238 (0.31/day)
Likes
168
Location
SoCal
Processor AMD Phenom II 1055T @ 3.6ghz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO
Cooling Xigmatek SD1284
Memory 2x4GB Patriot Sector 5 PC3-12800 @ 7-8-7-24-1T 1.7V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 DD @ 1100/1350 1.185V
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB + 2x7200.12 500GB Raid1
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 27" LCD 1440p @ 120hz
Case Cooler Master 690M
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W Eco Edition
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 / Ubuntu 12.04 x64
Can we program that or Windows doing accidentally ?
It will likely be a windows power setting, or some AMD driver one has to install. As for

12|34 (each with 1mb l2 cache)
I never said that. The L2 cache is dynamically allocated to a core depending on its needs at the time. If it only needs 512k, then it'll be split .5MB/1.5MB. If it needs more, it'll request more, and either be denied or approved. Really cool, huh?
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
5,614 (1.90/day)
Likes
1,678
Location
San Diego, CA
System Name White Boy
Processor Core i7 3770k @4.6 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CORSAIR H100
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB @ 2177
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 680 CLASSIEFIED @ 1250 Core
Storage 2 Samsung 830 256 GB (Raid 0) 1 Hitachi 4 TB
Display(s) 1 Dell 30U11 30"
Case BIT FENIX Prodigy
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W Modular
Software Windows Pro 7 64 bit || Ubuntu 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 2017 Unigine Heaven :: P37239 3D Mark Vantage
i dont know, maybe this will help

http://www.techpowerup.com/img/11-01-24/177a.jpg

just look at X6 1100T, compare it to graph on the first post then you'll notice something different. or maybe absurd.. :rolleyes:
This chart is a load of shiste, they compare the x6 to a 950, which is socket 1366, then in the feature comparison compare it to a socket 1156 which is a truelly dead socket, AMD can't even inflate it's own numbers without failing.
 

rem82

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
51 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
System Name AMD LEO PLATFORM
Processor AMD PHENOM II X6 1055T O/C 4.0Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO (A870/SB850) (0307 BIOS)
Cooling SCYTHE MUGEN II 2100 REV.B with 2x120mm FAN
Memory 4X 2 KINGSTONE DDR3 1600mHZ 7/8/7/20/1T-1,65V (2X KHX1600C7D3K2/4GX)
Video Card(s) ASUS EAX6950 2Gb DDR5 unlock -> 6970
Storage OCZ VERTEX II 60Gb SATA II
Display(s) SAMSUNG SYNCMASTER T240 24"
Case ANTECK HUNDRED NINE BLACK
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply ENERMAX GALAXY 850Watt
Software WINDOWS 7 64bit ULTIMATE
I never said that. The L2 cache is dynamically allocated to a core depending on its needs at the time. If it only needs 512k, then it'll be split .5MB/1.5MB. If it needs more, it'll request more, and either be denied or approved. Really cool, huh?
Yes I understand is dynamically. But if windows change from plan A to plan B in application, ,because cores want bigger cache, did we have delay ?

Plan A (12l34)

Plan B (1l3l5l7)
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,398 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,921
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
This chart is a load of shiste, they compare the x6 to a 950, which is socket 1366, then in the feature comparison compare it to a socket 1156 which is a truelly dead socket, AMD can't even inflate it's own numbers without failing.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
5,614 (1.90/day)
Likes
1,678
Location
San Diego, CA
System Name White Boy
Processor Core i7 3770k @4.6 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CORSAIR H100
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB @ 2177
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 680 CLASSIEFIED @ 1250 Core
Storage 2 Samsung 830 256 GB (Raid 0) 1 Hitachi 4 TB
Display(s) 1 Dell 30U11 30"
Case BIT FENIX Prodigy
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W Modular
Software Windows Pro 7 64 bit || Ubuntu 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 2017 Unigine Heaven :: P37239 3D Mark Vantage
Did I catch a nerv?

The reality is this I personally believe the chart is a well done troll rather than a leaked internal presentation slide, I personally want AMD to succeed so we can get a price war going, but it's hard to believe that AMD has to power to change their tune and go from the red headed step child to the favorite son (see what I did there). On the other hand I kinda want to see AMD fail so all the fanboy trolls can cry and be butt hurt, but cheaper chips trumps the pleasure of fanboy tears.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,398 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,921
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Did I catch a nerv?

The reality is this I personally believe the chart is a well done troll rather than a leaked internal presentation slide, I personally want AMD to succeed so we can get a price war going, but it's hard to believe that AMD has to power to change their tune and go from the red headed step child to the favorite son (see what I did there). On the other hand I kinda want to see AMD fail so all the fanboy trolls can cry and be butt hurt, but cheaper chips trumps the pleasure of fanboy tears.
Whatever you gotta tell yourself.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
5,614 (1.90/day)
Likes
1,678
Location
San Diego, CA
System Name White Boy
Processor Core i7 3770k @4.6 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CORSAIR H100
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB @ 2177
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 680 CLASSIEFIED @ 1250 Core
Storage 2 Samsung 830 256 GB (Raid 0) 1 Hitachi 4 TB
Display(s) 1 Dell 30U11 30"
Case BIT FENIX Prodigy
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W Modular
Software Windows Pro 7 64 bit || Ubuntu 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 2017 Unigine Heaven :: P37239 3D Mark Vantage
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
1,238 (0.31/day)
Likes
168
Location
SoCal
Processor AMD Phenom II 1055T @ 3.6ghz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO
Cooling Xigmatek SD1284
Memory 2x4GB Patriot Sector 5 PC3-12800 @ 7-8-7-24-1T 1.7V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 DD @ 1100/1350 1.185V
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB + 2x7200.12 500GB Raid1
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 27" LCD 1440p @ 120hz
Case Cooler Master 690M
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W Eco Edition
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 / Ubuntu 12.04 x64
Yes I understand is dynamically. But if windows change from plan A to plan B in application, ,because cores want bigger cache, did we have delay ?

Plan A (12l34)

Plan B (1l3l5l7)
I haven't been told those kinds of specifics yet. I doubt Windows itself would just change power plans without manual intervention, so I don't see that happening. As for delays when changing cache size, there might be a couple special AMD instructions that execute to do that, but I doubt it'd be more than that. No human noticeable delay...

I also have little idea how the module determines how much L2 to allocate per core. If I had to guess, I'd say something like how a mutable array (like an ArrayList) manages it's back bone array data structure, where if it gets full past a certain threshold, then it requests more. Alternatively, if it is empty past a threshold, it reorganizes, and frees space. Just a guess.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
250 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
System Name Just another PC / HTPC
Processor AMD X4 955 BE @ 1.25V @ 3.2ghz / AMD 255
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 f14b bios/ GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P/ Scythe low profile something
Memory G.Skill 2x4GB DDR3-1600 / Adata ddr2-800 4GB
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon HD 6850 / Radeon HD 4670
Storage Plextor 256GB M3S / WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Dell P2214h, Samy 2233RZ 120Hz / Samy 40" HDTV
Case Lian-Li PC-7FNW / Silverstone GD05
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Plus+ (CMI 8788 chip) / 4670 hdmi
Power Supply Seasonic 460W plat fanless / S12II 430B
Software W7 Pro x64 / Win 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores It can run the interwebs
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
5,614 (1.90/day)
Likes
1,678
Location
San Diego, CA
System Name White Boy
Processor Core i7 3770k @4.6 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CORSAIR H100
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB @ 2177
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 680 CLASSIEFIED @ 1250 Core
Storage 2 Samsung 830 256 GB (Raid 0) 1 Hitachi 4 TB
Display(s) 1 Dell 30U11 30"
Case BIT FENIX Prodigy
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W Modular
Software Windows Pro 7 64 bit || Ubuntu 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 2017 Unigine Heaven :: P37239 3D Mark Vantage

Jonap_1st

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2010
Messages
288 (0.11/day)
Likes
13
Location
South Green Jakarta
System Name Old Damned Rigs!
Processor AMD Phenom X4 9850 BE 2.5GHz
Motherboard MSI K9A2-CF
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 PC8500
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce 9800GT
Storage Hitachi 250GB Sata-II
Display(s) Chimnei 22" LCD Wide
Case Powerlogic Modena GTX2500
Power Supply Amacrox Warrior 400w
Software Windows XP Professional SP3
This chart is a load of shiste, they compare the x6 to a 950, which is socket 1366, then in the feature comparison compare it to a socket 1156 which is a truelly dead socket, AMD can't even inflate it's own numbers without failing.
so did i believe the graph? no.. i'm just showing for what TPU had posted before.

like everybody said, i'll wait for the *real* benchs..
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.93/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
If I understand this right the 8 core Bulldozer is on par with the 4 core 2600k. The only reason the P score is higher is it was tested with the 6670 GPU? Or am I reading this wrong.... valid question not trying to guess I really think I am reading this wrong? Or am I ???
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
659 (0.20/day)
Likes
83
Location
I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
System Name 2 sys spec seperated by "|"
Processor R7 1700 | Xeon 2680
Motherboard Asus | HP Z620
Cooling Water | Air
Memory 64gb | 128 gb
Video Card(s) EK-FC - RX Vega 64 | quadro K4000\GTX970
Storage Many SSD's
Display(s) AOC 28" 4K something
Case Corsair Carbide 88R
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard TT Meka G1
Software Ubuntu 17.10 - 4.14 AMDGPU
If I understand this right the 8 core Bulldozer is on par with the 4 core 2600k. The only reason the P score is higher is it was tested with the 6670 GPU? Or am I reading this wrong.... valid question not trying to guess I really think I am reading this wrong? Or am I ???
what i'm guessing it is for krisna which will have 8 "bulldozer cores" and 6670 or something like that.
But I have no clue if that's how it is or not, if its a non apu bulldozer with dedicated graphics then its bye bye amd...
But I sincerely hope not.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
45 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Raleigh, NC
If I understand this right the 8 core Bulldozer is on par with the 4 core 2600k. The only reason the P score is higher is it was tested with the 6670 GPU? Or am I reading this wrong.... valid question not trying to guess I really think I am reading this wrong? Or am I ???
You are not reading it wrong. It takes AMD 8 cores to be equal to Intel's 4 - something AMD should be embarrassed of publishing.

The 6670 GPU is part of AMD's Vision/Fusion APU where the CPU and GPU are integrated like with Intel's HD graphics.

AMD's graphics are obviously going to be stronger than Intel's HD graphics so therefore AMD's the P score is higher.

As far as value goes, AMD wins if the 8 core pricing is right because the CPU is on par with the 2600k but the graphics is MUCH better - so a better value over Intel's offering....especially if the 6670 GPU is better than what GPU the customer currently has in his/her machine.

As far as CPU power, AMD inappropriately chose "bulldozer" as their codename...I believe it's clear who has the bulldozer. lol

BL
 

Nesters

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
121 (0.05/day)
Likes
26
something AMD should be embarrassed of publishing
Why actually? If die size is around the same, overall chip performance is what really matters. Sure anyone could want to see AMD beating Intel clock-per-clock but if they can find different approach to fight against Intel and maybe even succeed in the long run - that's their choise.
 

filip007

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
151 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
Location
Slovenia
This new AMD CPU is complex that's for sure, how it will handle that's unknown, it's a bit harder for AMD if nobody supports AMD, it's still in Intel shadow one way or another.

AMD is going for the future here, home system don't need 8 cores or 6 because it's not so far supported like professional software is, sure some exceptions are there but still, that's workload for massive streams of data it's not about the same as high GHz does it, so this CPU will be just ok if proper prised but still if it's FX than i don't know for what it will be than.

Winrar supports max 4 cores "developer info", the rest is just HT bumping the data so AMD will go fast in Winrar that's for sure.