• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom II X4 940 BE

crasnal

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
5 (0.15/day)
There are divisions on this forum on GPUs, mobos etc. but I see no division about processors, so I post it here, on general hardware. ok, what I need, is actual data about this good old processor.

The site:

AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition - HDZ940XCJ4DGI / HDZ940XCGIBOX (cpu-world.com)

says "AM2" which means no DDR3 controller, only DDR2 - right? Other than most Phenom II X4 models.

but the site:

AMD Phenom II X4 940 BE Specs | TechPowerUp CPU Database

says "AM3" - which means both DDR2 and DDR3 controllers onboard this particular processor model, like majority of that series.

Which one is true?

I own such processor working on AM2+ mobo - chipset 790GX
As second hand AM3 - AM3+ mobos and DDRAM3-s are quite cheap, I need to know, if this particular processor model will work on AM3/3+ mobo.
 
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
291 (0.56/day)
It won't work; AM3 CPU's only - you'll know them by the "5" as the last digit, e.g. Ph II 955 BE.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,401 (0.77/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2697 V2(12c/24t) (OC-3,45Ghz-ALL*CORES----TURBO BOOSTING 4,03Ghz)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 40Gb DDR3 Kingston Hyper Blue 1540Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-30-160-2T)
Video Card(s) 1)R9 Fury Sapphire Nitro 4gbHBM/1080Mhz***2)MATROX P690
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gbSSD
Display(s) BenQ 28"EL2870U(4K-HDR)/ Acer 24"(1080P)/ 2x Eizo 19"
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Software Win 11
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14610,Cinebench R15=1789,Cinebench R20=3756.Passmark=20450,Geekbench4=32885
There are divisions on this forum on GPUs, mobos etc. but I see no division about processors, so I post it here, on general hardware. ok, what I need, is actual data about this good old processor.

The site:

AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition - HDZ940XCJ4DGI / HDZ940XCGIBOX (cpu-world.com)

says "AM2" which means no DDR3 controller, only DDR2 - right? Other than most Phenom II X4 models.

but the site:

AMD Phenom II X4 940 BE Specs | TechPowerUp CPU Database

says "AM3" - which means both DDR2 and DDR3 controllers onboard this particular processor model, like majority of that series.

Which one is true?

I own such processor working on AM2+ mobo - chipset 790GX
As second hand AM3 - AM3+ mobos and DDRAM3-s are quite cheap, I need to know, if this particular processor model will work on AM3/3+ mobo.
I believe that this CPU supports both DDR2 and DDR3(not mixing of course) it's just depend of the motherboard you are going to use.....but yeah they could mount in AM2+ and AM3 socket.....just be careful and read motherboard support and bios version that support that particular CPU......
HERE is the list of compatible motherboards for AMD Phenom II X4 940
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,046 (1.62/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Visit the webpage for the motherboard you are considering. There, you should find a QVL (qualified vendors list) of compatible CPUs.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2020
Messages
415 (1.05/day)
Processor AMD FX 8300 @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
Cooling Thermalright Macho Rev.B
Memory 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400MHz CL10
Video Card(s) Asus HD7970 @ 1135/1750 + Prolimatech MK-26 + 2x 140mm
Storage 256GB Toshiba Q Pro MLC + 500GB WD VelociRaptor
Display(s) Dell U2412M
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced USB 3.0 + Lamptron FC6
Audio Device(s) Audiotrak Prodigy Cube Black (JRC MUSES 8820D) + CAL (recabled)
Power Supply 750W Enermax Platimax
Mouse Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave
Keyboard Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
I'm pretty sure the Phenom II X4 940 is an AM2+ part. That means it has no DDR3 IMC and is incompatible with the AM3 socket.
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1,795 (0.40/day)
Location
MN
System Name Personal / HTPC
Processor Ryzen 5900x / i5-4460
Motherboard Asrock x570 Phantom Gaming 4 /ASRock Z87 Extreme4
Cooling Noctua NH-U9S / stock HSF
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 / 8GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3060Ti XC / EVGA RTX 3060 XC
Storage 500GB Samsung Pro 970, 250 GB Crucial SSD MX200, 1TB & 500GB Western Digital / 2x 4TB WD Red
Display(s) Dell - S3220DGF 32" LED Curved QHD FreeSync Monitor / 50" LCD TV
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo / CM HAF XB Evo
Power Supply 850W SeaSonic X Series / 750W SeaSonic X Series
Mouse Zephyr Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Microsoft Natural Elite Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 / Windows 10 Home 64
I'm pretty sure the Phenom II X4 940 is an AM2+ part. That means it has no DDR3 IMC and is incompatible with the AM3 socket.
The Phenom II X4 940 was AM2+. Paired with DDR2. I didn't make the move to DDR3 until I ended up moving on from the PII X4 940 to my last CPU that was an i5-4670k.

I had an ASRock k10n780slix3-wifi motherboard and I believe 8GB (2x4GB) of ADATA DDR2 800 RAM with it. Loved the board. I had to dump a lot of voltage to get that PII x4 940 up to 3.7GHz. I think I had the MB almost maxed at 1.5125V (max was 1.55V). But I decided to keep the OC at 3.6 because I could do it with the voltage a 1.475 and temps would run almost 10C cooler.
 
Last edited:

crasnal

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
5 (0.15/day)
The Phenom II X4 940 was AM2+. Paired with DDR2. I didn't make the move to DDR3 until I ended up moving on from the PII X4 940 to my last CPU that was an i5-4670k.

I had an ASRock k10n780slix3-wifi motherboard and I believe 8GB (2x4GB) of ADATA DDR2 800 RAM with it. Loved the board. I had to dump a lot of voltage to get that PII x4 940 up to 3.7GHz. I think I had the MB almost maxed at 1.5125V (max was 1.55V). But I decided to keep the OC at 3.6 because I could do it with the voltage a 1.475 and temps would run almost 10C cooler.
thank You very much. this ends the matter.

I'm pretty sure the Phenom II X4 940 is an AM2+ part. That means it has no DDR3 IMC and is incompatible with the AM3 socket.
thanks to You as well

It won't work; AM3 CPU's only - you'll know them by the "5" as the last digit, e.g. Ph II 955 BE.
good to know, thanks
 
Top