• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

"AMD Processor model unknown"

tylerward

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Anaheim, CA
System Name ZODiAC-v3
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 710 (2.6GHz)
Motherboard ECS GeForce7050M-M V2.0
Cooling 5 ThermalTake fans
Memory Ganged Dual-Channel 4GB DDR2-800 (5-5-5-18@400MHz)
Video Card(s) EVGA e-GeForce 9500GT 512MB DDR2
Storage Seagate 2x 320GB Barracuda 7200RPM 3.0Gb/s SATA
Display(s) IBM P260 (max 1920x1440)
Case Logisys CS888CL- Clear Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition (on board)
Power Supply Antec TruPower Trio 550-watt
Software Windows Vista Ultimate SP1
Benchmark Scores GPU: 550MHz to 630MHz
#1
I recently got the AMD Phenom II X3 710 (2.6GHz) which is an AM3 processor and I'm using it on an AM2/AM2+ motherboard. I'm sure some of you who have this CPU have noticed the "AMD Processor model unknown" in system properties or in computer.

Now it can be changed in the registry very easily, except for two sections (which is where system properties in the WEI is pulled), but all you have to do is give yourself "permissions" to modify those registry keys. However, once you reboot it reverts back to normal.

(1) How can you prevent Vista from reverting back after reboot?

(2) If there is no BIOS update available for a motherboard like mine (ECS GeForce 7050M-M V2.0), is there a way to change it so the PC displays "AMD Phenom II X3 710" and not "AMD Processor model unknown"?

Any help is appreciated!
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
Is that processor on your motherboards compatibility list?
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,525 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,156
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#3
sounds like it might be BIOS update time

I saw in another thread you were trying to unlock the 4th core, that'll do it too
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
#4
I recently got the AMD Phenom II X3 710 (2.6GHz) which is an AM3 processor and I'm using it on an AM2/AM2+ motherboard. I'm sure some of you who have this CPU have noticed the "AMD Processor model unknown" in system properties or in computer.

Now it can be changed in the registry very easily, except for two sections (which is where system properties in the WEI is pulled), but all you have to do is give yourself "permissions" to modify those registry keys. However, once you reboot it reverts back to normal.

(1) How can you prevent Vista from reverting back after reboot?

(2) If there is no BIOS update available for a motherboard like mine (ECS GeForce 7050M-M V2.0), is there a way to change it so the PC displays "AMD Phenom II X3 710" and not "AMD Processor model unknown"?

Any help is appreciated!
Hi

The latest bios is 09/01/05, they didn'd say nothing about support to new CPUs.

[TABLE]CPU Support list by Model
Model: GeForce7050M-M
Chipset: nVIDIA® Geforce 7050PV/nForce 630a
PCB Version : V2.0
BIOS : 09/01/05


Processor

Processor info.
(Cache, System Bus**, Pkg)

Status

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 7750 (B3)(95W) 2500 MHz (512KB X 2,3600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 7750 (B3)(95W) 2700 MHz (512KB X 2,3600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 7450 (B3)(95W) 2400 MHz (512KB X 2,3600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 6500 (B3) (95W) 2300 MHz (1MBX2,2000,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 6000+ (F3)(89W) 3000 MHz (1MBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 6000+ (F2)(89W) 3100 MHz (1MBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5800+ (G2)(89W) 3000MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5600+ (G2)(89W) 2800 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5600+ (G2)(65W) 2900MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5600+ (F3)(89W) 2800 MHz (1MBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5400+ (G2)(65W) 2800MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5400+ (F3)(89W) 2800MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5200+ (G2)(65W) 2700 MHz (512KB x 2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5200+ (G1)(65W) 2700 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5200+ (F3)(89W) 2600 MHz (1MBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5200+ (F3)(65W) 2600 MHz (1MBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5200+ (F2)(89W) 2600 MHz (1MBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5050e (G2) (65W) 2500 MHz (512KB X 2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ (G2)(65W) 2600 MHz (512KB x 2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ (G2) (65W) 2400MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ (G1)(65W) 2600 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ (F3)(89W) 2600 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ (F3)(65W) 2400 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ (F2)(89W) 2600 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4850e (G2)(45W) 2500MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800+ (G2)(65W) 2500 MHz (512KB x 2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800+ (G1)(65W) 2500MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800+ (F2)(89W) 2400 MHz (1MBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800+ (F2)(65W) 2400MHz (1MBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4600+ (G2)(45W) 2400 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4600+ (F3)(65W) 2400 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4600+ (F2)(89W) 2400MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4600+ (F2)(65W) 2400 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4450e (G2)(45W) 2300MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4400+ (G2)(65W) 2300 MHz (512KB x 2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4400+ (G1)(65W) 2300MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4400+ (F2)(89W) 2200MHz (1MBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4400+ (F2)(65W) 2200 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4200+ (G1)(65W) 2200 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4200+ (F3)(35W) 2200 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4200+ (F2)(89W) 2200 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4200+ (F2)(65W) 2200MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4050e (G2)(45W) 2100MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4000+ (G1)(65W) 2100MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4000+ (F2)(89W) 2000 MHz (1MBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4000+ (F2)(65W) 2000MHz (1MBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 3800+ (F3)(65W) 2000 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 3800+ (F2)(89W) 2000MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 3800+ (F2)(65W) 2000 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 3800+ (F2)(35W) 2000MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 3600+ (G1)(65W) 1900MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 3600+ (F2)(65W) 2000MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 LE1660 (G2)(45W) 2800MHz (512KB,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 LE1640 (G2)(45W) 2700MHz (512KB,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 LE1640 (F3)(45W) 2600MHz (1MB,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 LE1640 (F3)(45W) 2600MHz (512KBX2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 LE1620 (F3)(45W) 2400MHz (1MB,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 LE1620 (F3)(45W) 2400MHz (512KBX2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 LE1600 (F3)(45W) 2200MHz (512MB,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 LE1600 (F3)(45W) 2200MHz (512KBX2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Phenom Quad-Core 9750 (B3) (95W) 2400 MHz (512KBx4,3600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Phenom Quad-Core 9650 (B3) (95W) 2300 MHz (512KBx4,3600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Phenom Quad-Core 9600 (B2) (95W) 2300 MHz (2MB + 2MB,3600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Phenom Quad-Core 9550 (B3) (95W) 2200MHz (512KB x4,3600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Phenom Quad-Core 9500 (B2) (95W) 2200 MHz (2MB + 2MB,3600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Phenom Triple-Core 8750 (B3) (95W) 2400MHz (512KB x3,3600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Phenom Triple-Core 8750 (B2) (95W) 2400MHz (512KB x3,3600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Phenom Triple-Core 8650 (B3) (95W) 2300MHZ (512KB x3,3600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Phenom Triple-Core 8650 (B2) (95W) 2300MHz (512KB x3,3600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Phenom Triple-Core 8600 (B2) (95W) 2300MHz (512KB x3,3600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Phenom Triple-Core 8450 (B3) (95W) 2100MHz (512KB x3,3600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Phenom Triple-Core 8450 (B2) (95W) 2100MHz (512KB x3,3600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Phenom Triple-Core 8400 (B2) (95W) 2100MHz (512KB x3,3600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (G1)(45W) 2400 MHz (512KB,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (F3)(62W) 2400MHz (512KB,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (F2)(62W) 2400 MHz (512KB,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (G1)(45W) 2200MHz (512KB,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (F3)(62W) 2200MHz (512KB,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (F2)(62W) 2200 MHz (512KB,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (F2)(35W) 2200MHz (512KB,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (G1)(45W) 2000 MHz (512KB,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (F2)(62W) 2000MHz (512KB,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (F2)(62W) 1800MHz (512KB,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron LE-1300 (G2)(45W) 2300 MHz (512KB,1600,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron LE-1250 (G2)(45W) 2200 MHz (512KB,1600,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron LE-1200 (G2) (45W) 2100 MHz (512KB,1600,Socket AM2+) YES
AMD Sempron LE-1200 (G1)(45W) 2100 MHz (512KB,1600,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron LE-1150 (G1)(45W) 2000 MHz (256KB,1600,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron LE-1100 (G1)(45W) 1900 MHz (256KB,1600,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron 3800+(F2)(62W) 2200 MHz (256KB,1600,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron 3600+ (F2)(62W) 2000 MHz (256KB,1600,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron 3500+ (F2)(62W) 2000 MHz (128KB,1600,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron 3400+ (F2)(62W) 1800 MHz (256KB,1600,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron 3400+ (F2)(35W) 1800 MHz (256KB,1600,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron 3200+ (F2)(62W) 1800 MHz (128KB,1600,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron 3200+ (F2)(35W) 1800 MHz (128KB,1600,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron 3000+ (F2)(62W) 1600 MHz (256KB,1600,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron 3000+ (F2)(35W) 1600MHz (256KB,1600,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron 2800+ (F2)(62W) 1600 MHz (128KB,1600,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron™ Dual-Core 2300 (G2) (65W) 2200MHz (256KB x2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron™ Dual-Core 2200 (G2) (65W) 2000MHz (512KB,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron™ Dual-Core 2100 (G2) (65W) 1800 MHz (256KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Sempron™ Dual-Core 2100 (G1) (65W) 1800 MHz (256KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon X2 Dual-Core BE-2400 (G2)(45W) 2300 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon X2 Dual-Core BE-2350 (G2)(45W) 2100 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon X2 Dual-Core BE-2350 (G1)(45W) 2100 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon X2 Dual-Core BE-2300 (G2)(45W) 1900 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
AMD Athlon X2 Dual-Core BE-2300 (G1)(45W) 1900 MHz (512KBx2,2000,Socket AM2) YES
[/TABLE]

You should e-mail ECS and ask if they plan to give support to your CPU, or for a bios to support it.

Now, about unlocking the extra core, only AMD boards with SB750 have the ACC, needed to activate the extra core with proper bios.

Resuming, time to upgrate board too.:D

Be well...
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.04/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#5
There are some boards that are able to unlock that 4th core
ie: Asrock
 

tylerward

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Anaheim, CA
System Name ZODiAC-v3
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 710 (2.6GHz)
Motherboard ECS GeForce7050M-M V2.0
Cooling 5 ThermalTake fans
Memory Ganged Dual-Channel 4GB DDR2-800 (5-5-5-18@400MHz)
Video Card(s) EVGA e-GeForce 9500GT 512MB DDR2
Storage Seagate 2x 320GB Barracuda 7200RPM 3.0Gb/s SATA
Display(s) IBM P260 (max 1920x1440)
Case Logisys CS888CL- Clear Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition (on board)
Power Supply Antec TruPower Trio 550-watt
Software Windows Vista Ultimate SP1
Benchmark Scores GPU: 550MHz to 630MHz
#6
Yeah, I've already emailed them, but am still waiting. How about the registry method? Possible to edit some registry keys without having Vista revert back to the originals?
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
#7
Yeah, I've already emailed them, but am still waiting. How about the registry method? Possible to edit some registry keys without having Vista revert back to the originals?
I'm afraid in that matter I can't help you, but it's just naming, will do nothing, performance wise.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#8
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
#9
^^

After rebooting goes to original CPU name. Win7 x64