• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD to Revamp 790 FX for AM3, Chipset Launches Delayed

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,334 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
The AM3 socket finally gives AMD Processors access to DDR3 memory. The only complication is that processors must feature DDR3 integrated memory controllers (IMC). Earlier roadmap slides had shown that the RD890 and RS880 along with SB800 would be the first platform with AM3 compliance. However, sources tell Expreview that AMD would not be ready with the chipsets by the time AM3 processors come out. Hence, AMD would be using the existing high-end duo of 790 FX and SB750 which would be re-launched in H1 2009 that support AM3 sockets. It is known that 790 FX supports HyperTransport 3.1 links that would offer processors system interconnect bandwidths of up to 6400 MT/s.

Show full news post
 

Abu Assar

New Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Egypt
#2
slightly disappointed , but I'm afraid AMD will miss a very good chance with the 760G if its slipped to mid 2009 , as it's better to be out now .

and any news about fusion- the processor not the marketing campaign -? :)
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#3
Not so much disappointed as its just a longer wait. Granted, Im not worried about the proc, but I would love to have had the Asus M3A-32 MVP Deluxe WiFi AP with an SB750 instead of the 700.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,334 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#4
but I would love to have had the Asus M3A-32 MVP Deluxe WiFi AP with an SB750 instead of the 700.
ASUS M3A79-T ? 790FX + SB750. M3A32-MVP comes with SB600.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#5
So does this mean that current 790FX boards (both w/ SB600 & 750) won't work with AM3 CPUs with a BIOS update? Or they will work but only will support DDR2?
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,334 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#6
So does this mean that current 790FX boards (both w/ SB600 & 750) won't work with AM3 CPUs with a BIOS update? Or they will work but only will support DDR2?
As long as the CPUs carry the DDR2 IMCs, that's fine. The initial batch of Deneb chips are AM2+ compatible. For a AM3 board to support your existing CPU, it should have DDR2 slots alongside DDR3.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2008
Messages
297 (0.09/day)
Likes
36
Location
Serbia, Nis
System Name Fedora-bluesky
Processor Intel P4 531+ @ 3.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P5LD2-VM/C
Memory Kingston 2x512MB 667MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte NV8600GT 256MB
Storage WD 640GB
Display(s) ViewSonic 22"
Case Codegen 403
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek 882
Software Ubuntu, Fedora, Open Source Software...
#7
So AM3 CPUs will not support DDR2 memory?
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,334 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#8
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#9
If they only carry DDR3 IMCs, no.
Let me clarify this.
If the CPU's IMC aka Intergrated Memory Controller ONLY supports DDR3 then no.
If the IMC support DDR2 yes.
The motherboard must have the slot for DDR2/DDR3, of course.:toast:
Right now all AMD boards only have DDR2 slots.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
168 (0.04/day)
Likes
42
Processor AMD Phenom X4 9850BE (DENEB, where art thou!?)
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT 790FX-M2R (waiting on 790FX/SB750)
Cooling TRUE
Memory 4x 1GB Transcend AxeRAM DDR1066 'D9GMH'
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 4870X2
Storage 2x WD 74GB Raptor + 3Ware 9650SE @ RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 245B
Case Silverstone TJ-10
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS
Power Supply PP&C Quad Silencer 750W
#10
Ugh, I dont even want to look at DDR3. Let DFI first make their 790FX SB750 boards available and then I might want to look at it again:p

No serious, I pre-ordered the DFI Lanaprty DK 790FXB-M2RS 3 months ago:ohwell:
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.73/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#11
I would love to keep my AMD board for as long as possible because then i would only have to get a new CPU. these boards though = new board, new chip, new RAM=££££££ i don't have!
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.74/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#12
As far as we where let on the AM3 cpu is supposed to be backwards compatible with all AM2+ boards but AM2 cpus cant be run on AM3 boards becasue of DDR3.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
168 (0.04/day)
Likes
42
Processor AMD Phenom X4 9850BE (DENEB, where art thou!?)
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT 790FX-M2R (waiting on 790FX/SB750)
Cooling TRUE
Memory 4x 1GB Transcend AxeRAM DDR1066 'D9GMH'
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 4870X2
Storage 2x WD 74GB Raptor + 3Ware 9650SE @ RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 245B
Case Silverstone TJ-10
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS
Power Supply PP&C Quad Silencer 750W
#13
I would love to keep my AMD board for as long as possible because then i would only have to get a new CPU. these boards though = new board, new chip, new RAM=££££££ i don't have!
No way Im even thinking about DDR3 in the first place. Got 4 sticks with Micron D9GMH's here, they did 250Mhz (DDR1000) 4-4-4 on my old Athlon X2. Waiting for the SB750 so I can OC the HTT better to reach that, but once reached that RAM kit is a killer:rockout:
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.73/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#14
Yea looking at getting some new RAM but then t be honest - just want a new setup completly
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#15
did the old mobo's 790fx support new AM3 , maybe with bios update and will be 790fx with ddr2 1066