• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD X2 4400+ at overclocking help!!!!!!!!!!

Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
415 (0.09/day)
Location
Pakistan
System Name Mean Machine
Processor Intel Core i5 2400 at 3.1 GHz
Motherboard Asus can't remember the model
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 103
Memory Kingston 4GB 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850 1 GB
Storage WD Cavier SEII 3200AAKS 320 GB and Seagate 500 GB
Display(s) HP X22 LED
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy
Power Supply Cooler Master Real Power Pro 650W
Software Pro/E, Delcam Powermill, These things just for work.
First thanks to all, they gave me courage to start overclocking my machine.

Now to the real case. I lowered my memory settings to 400 ( Above this my motherboard does not allow me to do). I am uploading some snaps of the results. I want to push this machine further but first of all i have run my memory properly. Check out the snaps and let me know is this good or what faults are there?

Thanks for all in advance but first tell me how to add images in my thread:confused:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 21, 2008
Messages
122 (0.02/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name ASUS ROG GL702
Processor Intel i7-7700HQ @ 2.8GHz
Memory 2x8GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX1060M 6GB
Storage 2x250GB SSD
Display(s) 1080p
Audio Device(s) Xiaomi Piston 3 IEM
Mouse FinalMouse
Software Windows 10 64bit
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
415 (0.09/day)
Location
Pakistan
System Name Mean Machine
Processor Intel Core i5 2400 at 3.1 GHz
Motherboard Asus can't remember the model
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 103
Memory Kingston 4GB 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850 1 GB
Storage WD Cavier SEII 3200AAKS 320 GB and Seagate 500 GB
Display(s) HP X22 LED
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy
Power Supply Cooler Master Real Power Pro 650W
Software Pro/E, Delcam Powermill, These things just for work.
CPU



and for RAM

 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,483 (3.97/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: i5 10400
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: ASUS Prime H570-Plus
Cooling Cryorig M9 :: Stock
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 2133 :: 2x8GB DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, 2x1TB Seagate RAID 0 :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, 3x4TB Seagate HDD RAID5
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - Bose Companion 2 Series III :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: EVGA Supernova 550
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
wow, let me start off by saying YOU HAVE A KICK ASS MONITOR.

secondly... yeah you need to drop your memory more. when I find the max for my cpu, I always drop my memory speed as low as it goes. My board gives me 4 options, 200MHz, 266MHz, 333MHz and 400MHz. Whatever you set it to will be doubled (for example, 200MHz at your stock cpu settings will appear as 200MHz in CPU-Z, but your memory is actually running at 400MHz because of the double data rate thing).

It appears that you dropped your HTT speed quite a bit (hypertransport speed). You shouldn't have to have it that low. My board lets be choose between 1x, 2x, 3x, 4x and 5x speed. The HTT link speed is goverened by the HTT multiplier and your FSB. For example if you are running at 250MHz FSb and a HTT multiplier of 4, your HTT speed will be 1000MHz. HTT speed is double pumped like memory, so it's actually 2000MHz if it reads as 1000MHz in cpu-z
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
783 (0.16/day)
Location
Latvia
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ lapped @3,0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1264
Memory 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer
Video Card(s) Xpertvision 8800GTS 640MB G80
Storage 250GB Seagate Barracuda & 750GB Samsung
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 931BF
Case Coolermaster CM690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A
Power Supply HEC WinPower 550W
Software Ubuntu 10.04 x86 & Windows 7 x86
Benchmark Scores I'm scared of benching
You can safely set HTT multiplier to 4, what will give you HT Link speed ~960MHz. Try to keep HT Link speed around 1000 and you'll be fine :)
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
415 (0.09/day)
Location
Pakistan
System Name Mean Machine
Processor Intel Core i5 2400 at 3.1 GHz
Motherboard Asus can't remember the model
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 103
Memory Kingston 4GB 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850 1 GB
Storage WD Cavier SEII 3200AAKS 320 GB and Seagate 500 GB
Display(s) HP X22 LED
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy
Power Supply Cooler Master Real Power Pro 650W
Software Pro/E, Delcam Powermill, These things just for work.
Now tell me HT is good there ?


I have set RAM manual speed at 400 i just wanna know the ram is safe at this frequency



My RAM is Corsair XMS2 DHX 800 bus speed with 5-5-5-18

Would somebody explain why memory should set at as low as you can.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.40/day)
the max you will hit is 2.8 maybe 3.0ghz but i dont remember if its the X2 4200 or the x2 4400 that caps out at 2.8ghz

dropping the cpu multi and increase the bus might help as well as a northbridge voltage boost just a few notches

the HT is max 1000mhz try keep it lower inbetween 800-1000 is a sweet spot

higher clocking ram also helps but not necessaries, increase the cpu voltage to a max of 1.45v i wouldnt run 24/7 on a system with more, if you get it to 2.8ghz start to see how low a voltage you can boot into windows coz im sure that 2.8ghz is the cap plus its a healthy boost eitherway

i had a x2 4200 similar cpu

edit: the ram speed and HT speed are fine, that 850mhz on the ram which is okay
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
415 (0.09/day)
Location
Pakistan
System Name Mean Machine
Processor Intel Core i5 2400 at 3.1 GHz
Motherboard Asus can't remember the model
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 103
Memory Kingston 4GB 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850 1 GB
Storage WD Cavier SEII 3200AAKS 320 GB and Seagate 500 GB
Display(s) HP X22 LED
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy
Power Supply Cooler Master Real Power Pro 650W
Software Pro/E, Delcam Powermill, These things just for work.
I can't change my multiplier, only bus speed is in my hands. And HT link is fine I asked is my DRAM frequencies are safe.

What do you think I can push this thing to what extent?
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
783 (0.16/day)
Location
Latvia
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ lapped @3,0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1264
Memory 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer
Video Card(s) Xpertvision 8800GTS 640MB G80
Storage 250GB Seagate Barracuda & 750GB Samsung
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 931BF
Case Coolermaster CM690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A
Power Supply HEC WinPower 550W
Software Ubuntu 10.04 x86 & Windows 7 x86
Benchmark Scores I'm scared of benching
Yes, DRAM frequencies are safe :)
I have 4400+ Brisbane too, but mine is BH-G2 stepping.
It's running fully stable 24/7 @ 2909MHz with 1,296V. HT multipliers are 5, what gives me 1265MHz HT link speed. Highest freq i'm ever reached is 3392MHz with HT link @ 1475MHz.
So i think you can get more from your cpu :)
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.40/day)
Yes, DRAM frequencies are safe :)
I have 4400+ Brisbane too, but mine is BH-G2 stepping.
It's running fully stable 24/7 @ 2909MHz with 1,296V. HT multipliers are 5, what gives me 1265MHz HT link speed. Highest freq i'm ever reached is 3392MHz with HT link @ 1475MHz.
So i think you can get more from your cpu :)

yeah that seems possible id just run it at 3.0ghz or consider an upgrade to a Kuma

at 3.0ghz there is less of a bottleneck, bus speeds will only go so far and you don't want to push the voltage to much

dont push the HT over 1000mhz just causes instability and is useless dosnt add much of an improvement, just save some power and keep it normal
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
783 (0.16/day)
Location
Latvia
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ lapped @3,0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1264
Memory 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer
Video Card(s) Xpertvision 8800GTS 640MB G80
Storage 250GB Seagate Barracuda & 750GB Samsung
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 931BF
Case Coolermaster CM690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A
Power Supply HEC WinPower 550W
Software Ubuntu 10.04 x86 & Windows 7 x86
Benchmark Scores I'm scared of benching
The board i'm using, Asus M2N32-SLI can handle 1500MHz and more on HT link. BTW almost all voltages except CPU (1.296V) and RAM (2,0V) are set to Auto.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
415 (0.09/day)
Location
Pakistan
System Name Mean Machine
Processor Intel Core i5 2400 at 3.1 GHz
Motherboard Asus can't remember the model
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 103
Memory Kingston 4GB 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850 1 GB
Storage WD Cavier SEII 3200AAKS 320 GB and Seagate 500 GB
Display(s) HP X22 LED
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy
Power Supply Cooler Master Real Power Pro 650W
Software Pro/E, Delcam Powermill, These things just for work.
I know my board is not a good overclocker's choice but I want to stick with this until my new upgrade to deneb. I simply oveclocked this system so it won't bottleneck my VGA.
 
Top