• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Any Bios recommendations for an AMD reference MSI 7970 OC gpu

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#1
I got a reference AMD MSI 7970 OC edition today and can run stock voltage..

1.175 @ 1200/1550 MHz

This is a sweet ass gpu and would like to know if a bios flash will unlock its real Potential!

It has the dual bios switch so.....

 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.63/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#3
If your hitting 1200/1550 on stock voltage, don't fuck with anything else. Your already running a beast of a card.

I am at 1200/1500 on my Sapphire 7950 at 1175v as well, but I can not go any further, and I am in BIOS 2 the "read only" bios, as stability is better I have heard with the read only BIOS enabled.

But seriously, if your temps and fan noise are fine at 1200/1550, don't fuck with anything else, you got a nice chip.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#4
If your hitting 1200/1550 on stock voltage, don't fuck with anything else. Your already running a beast of a card.

I am at 1200/1500 on my Sapphire 7950 at 1175v as well, but I can not go any further, and I am in BIOS 2 the "read only" bios, as stability is better I have heard with the read only BIOS enabled.

But seriously, if your temps and fan noise are fine at 1200/1550, don't fuck with anything else, you got a nice chip.
Im on bios #2 and weird shit happens with MSI AB and Sapphire Trixx installed...

I remove MSI AB and Trixx works well...

I love this gpu! My 6990 doesn't hold a candle light to this gpu and my ol 590 is way behind lol! :toast:

I have a reference gpu! what is the difference from bios switch #1 to # 2?

Temps at max are 70-72c
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#5
Hi

I have a reference gpu! what is the difference from bios switch #1 to # 2?
AMD's new backup BIOS # 2

do NOT flash position #2

#1 is for normal use

Edit: keep an eye on VRM temps

nb: nice OC :toast:

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
I tried to flash the Lightning bios but it didn't work.

Its the 1070Mhz versions.

I can try the GHZ Bios. Or is there something different in the CCC driver if I do?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#7
I tried to flash the Lightning bios but it didn't work.

Its the 1070Mhz versions.

I can try the GHZ Bios. Or is there something different in the CCC driver if I do?
Lightning bios is not for reference cards. Ghz bios won't help with higher overclocks.

When you install more than one GPU OC'ing program there will be problems.

Stick with Trixx. If you want higher OC's, add voltage.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#8
Lightning bios is not for reference cards. Ghz bios won't help with higher overclocks.

When you install more than one GPU OC'ing program there will be problems.

Stick with Trixx. If you want higher OC's, add voltage.
Thanks Erocker! I installed the ATI 1050-1500MHz GHZ Bios.

Sure opened up the CCC Overdrive limit :)

And yeah I had MSI AB installed along with Trixx and shit went weird till I removed one of the two programs. I ended up finding Trixx works very well with this gpu.



 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Agatha
Processor i7-4790K* CPU & Mobo will be installed after 3-8-16
Motherboard MSI MPower Max AC Z97 LGA 1150* CPU & Mobo will be installed after 3-8-16
Cooling Swiftech H220 [(4) 120mm fans in push/pull config]
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1600Mhz (2x8) 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7970BE 3GB DDR5 GPU
Storage (3) 500GB SSD's, (1) 256GB SSD, & (1) 1TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, (eSata external)
Display(s) 25" HP 2511X
Case Corsair 500R
Audio Device(s) On board MSI Audio Boost/Realtek drivers, (I think)
Power Supply Corsair RM 1000w
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Keyboard Mad Catz V7.
Software OS: Windows 7 64bit
Benchmark Scores N/A
#11
Thanks Erocker! I installed the ATI 1050-1500MHz GHZ Bios.

Sure opened up the CCC Overdrive limit :)

And yeah I had MSI AB installed along with Trixx and shit went weird till I removed one of the two programs. I ended up finding Trixx works very well with this gpu.



So this Tahiti flash will bring my Default speeds to this?! But I don't understand something; At the start of this thread you're holding 1200 core and 1550 memory. That's faster than your settings here. Am I to understand that once I get my clocks to a default 1050/1500, then I can O/C higher than the 1200/1550? I'm just trying to figure out the plus side of this.
Thanks'Rich
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#12
So this Tahiti flash will bring my Default speeds to this?! But I don't understand something; At the start of this thread you're holding 1200 core and 1550 memory. That's faster than your settings here. Am I to understand that once I get my clocks to a default 1050/1500, then I can O/C higher than the 1200/1550? I'm just trying to figure out the plus side of this.
Thanks'Rich
Holy shit digging up the dead lol.
I did it to open up the default CCC clock setting that's it if memory serves correctly. I could clock using the CCC only so high but with a different bios it opens up the limits even more. Asus cards usually have way higher clock settings in the driver over other manufacturing companies.. Make sense?
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Agatha
Processor i7-4790K* CPU & Mobo will be installed after 3-8-16
Motherboard MSI MPower Max AC Z97 LGA 1150* CPU & Mobo will be installed after 3-8-16
Cooling Swiftech H220 [(4) 120mm fans in push/pull config]
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1600Mhz (2x8) 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7970BE 3GB DDR5 GPU
Storage (3) 500GB SSD's, (1) 256GB SSD, & (1) 1TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, (eSata external)
Display(s) 25" HP 2511X
Case Corsair 500R
Audio Device(s) On board MSI Audio Boost/Realtek drivers, (I think)
Power Supply Corsair RM 1000w
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Keyboard Mad Catz V7.
Software OS: Windows 7 64bit
Benchmark Scores N/A
#13
Holy shit digging up the dead lol.
I did it to open up the default CCC clock setting that's it if memory serves correctly. I could clock using the CCC only so high but with a different bios it opens up the limits even more. Asus cards usually have way higher clock settings in the driver over other manufacturing companies.. Make sense?
Yes... I have just installed the MSI R HD7970 BE OC edition and it's default cloaks are 1050 core/1375 mem/ 1.150 volts. I use Sapphire TRIXX as well and after installing the 7970, my ATI CCC profiles would not work. Uninstall/reinstalled CCCC 14.7 RC3 Beta and still no. So I deleted them and started over and now I'm good to go.

The card I had before the 7970 was a good one too. It was a MSI 7850 Twin Frozer Power Edition. but I couldn't get the voltages higher than 1.210 and this 7970 seems to disallow anything higher than 1.187volts!?

I've been at it all day and I'm beat. When I installed the 7970, I didn't know I had to use the 8 pin AND 6 pin Power connectors... So I spent hours research why I couldn't get a picture. Finally, and came upon a post that happened to be off topic but mentioned that he had to have power to both connectors... So I spent a lot of time troubleshooting before I found that out and I'm beat now.

I'll resume in the morning but thank you very much for the reply... BTW I backed up the bios of this card and the bios name was "Tahiti" That happened to be the name of a bios I downloaded which is supposed to really open the card up. But I have the Bios switch on #2 position because that's where it was when I opened the package. Do you think I should try switching to #1?

Will that possibly allow a higher voltage setting? (I run a intel based system and a 700W OCZ PSU)
upload_2014-9-18_20-47-43.png


Thanks again,
Rich
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#14
Yes... I have just installed the MSI R HD7970 BE OC edition and it's default cloaks are 1050 core/1375 mem/ 1.150 volts. I use Sapphire TRIXX as well and after installing the 7970, my ATI CCC profiles would not work. Uninstall/reinstalled CCCC 14.7 RC3 Beta and still no. So I deleted them and started over and now I'm good to go.

The card I had before the 7970 was a good one too. It was a MSI 7850 Twin Frozer Power Edition. but I couldn't get the voltages higher than 1.210 and this 7970 seems to disallow anything higher than 1.187volts!?

I've been at it all day and I'm beat. When I installed the 7970, I didn't know I had to use the 8 pin AND 6 pin Power connectors... So I spent hours research why I couldn't get a picture. Finally, and came upon a post that happened to be off topic but mentioned that he had to have power to both connectors... So I spent a lot of time troubleshooting before I found that out and I'm beat now.

I'll resume in the morning but thank you very much for the reply... BTW I backed up the bios of this card and the bios name was "Tahiti" That happened to be the name of a bios I downloaded which is supposed to really open the card up. But I have the Bios switch on #2 position because that's where it was when I opened the package. Do you think I should try switching to #1?

Will that possibly allow a higher voltage setting? (I run a intel based system and a 700W OCZ PSU)
View attachment 59252

Thanks again,
Rich
Na leave the switch, thats your back up.

And if it has a hole in it it needs to be plugged :laugh:

All these gpus having 2 power plugs need to be fed power. And keep your saved Origional bios the same name... Just rename the new bios to whatever you want :peace: