• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ARC power limit bypass found

Joined
Dec 15, 2022
Messages
26 (0.06/day)
I have been digging around in ARC drivers for awhile to find fixes to some display related issues and found a way to reliably extend the GPU power limit slider in ARC control.

ARC power limit.png


1. Set power limit in ARC Control to maximum
2. Kill the process for ARC Control
3. Stop the Intel ARC Control Service
4. disable/enable the GPU in device manager or use CRU Restart64 application to do this for you.
5. Start ARC Control
6. Start Intel ARC Control Service
7. Set the power limit to its new maximum

First run through this procedure will give you a 273w limit, however... you can repeat this procedure and the limit will go up again to 327w. I would assume you could push the wattage limit as far as you want by repeating these steps.

Borderlands 3 benchmark at stock


Borderlands 3 benchmark at 327w power limit with core clocks locked at 2700mhz. Using a 120mm delta fan blowing at the card to keep temps in check.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 30, 2015
Messages
1,840 (0.58/day)
Location
Seattle, WA
I have been digging around in ARC drivers for awhile to find fixes to some display related issues and found a way to reliably extend the GPU power limit slider in ARC control.

View attachment 274506

1. Set power limit in ARC Control to maximum
2. Kill the process for ARC Control
3. Stop the Intel ARC Control Service
4. disable/enable the GPU in device manager or use CRU Restart64 application to do this for you.
5. Start ARC Control
6. Start Intel ARC Control Service
7. Set the power limit to its new maximum

First run through this procedure will give you a 273w limit, however... you can repeat this procedure and the limit will go up again to 327w. I would assume you could push the wattage limit as far as you want by repeating these steps.

Borderlands 3 benchmark at stock


Borderlands 3 benchmark at 327w power limit with core clocks locked at 2700mhz. Using a 120mm delta fan blowing at the card to keep temps in check.

How is the performance with the default power limit (228W) and your 2700MHz OC settings? Just curious if this isn't a GUI bug or if it's actually storing the previous power limit value.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2022
Messages
26 (0.06/day)
How is the performance with the default power limit (228W) and your 2700MHz OC settings? Just curious if this isn't a GUI bug or if it's actually storing the previous power limit value.
Stock power limit is too restrictive to hold 2700 at all.

Power usage confirmed with HWInfo64.

It is taking 300CFM+ of air flow on the heatsink to keep the core at ~80c, it is drawing some serious power. The same fan setup at stock keeps temps in the 60c range.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Messages
2,462 (1.33/day)
Location
UK, Leicester
System Name Main PC
Processor 13700k
Motherboard Asrock Z690 Steel Legend D4 - Bios 13.02
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory 32 Gig 3200CL14
Video Card(s) 3080 RTX FE 10G
Storage 1TB 980 PRO (OS, games), 2TB SN850X (games), 2TB DC P4600 (work), 2x 3TB WD Red, 2x 4TB WD Red
Display(s) LG 27GL850
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Antec HCG 750 Gold
Software Windows 10 21H2 LTSC
This is definitely not worth it.
 
Joined
May 30, 2015
Messages
1,840 (0.58/day)
Location
Seattle, WA
Overclocking is rarely worth it with modern hardware. It takes an edge case to actually gain more than a few percent.

That being said, a 16% performance gain on a core only OC is nothing to sneeze at. And there is a waterblock for A770 LE.

This makes me wish for Skatterbencher's Arc tool, and some way to more effectively tune the power response. It's clear the VF curve is following a combination of core temperature, power limit, and core voltage to establish the load clock state, so blowing one of those out of the water increases the sustained clock speed. I found decent luck with simply overvolting +60mV and leaving power limit at 200W and keeping the card under 70C, as well as simply dragging the power limit to the moon and letting it warm up normally. My card struggles to hit 2600MHz, however the most recent driver (3959) has helped it a bit.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2022
Messages
26 (0.06/day)
This makes me wish for Skatterbencher's Arc tool, and some way to more effectively tune the power response. It's clear the VF curve is following a combination of core temperature, power limit, and core voltage to establish the load clock state, so blowing one of those out of the water increases the sustained clock speed. I found decent luck with simply overvolting +60mV and leaving power limit at 200W and keeping the card under 70C, as well as simply dragging the power limit to the moon and letting it warm up normally. My card struggles to hit 2600MHz, however the most recent driver (3959) has helped it a bit.
It feels like they lifted the power management directly from the Core CPU series TBH.

It takes +150mv (and an insane power limit) to lock it at 2700, I can get to 2800 by combining +165mv with a bit of tweaking of the GPU performance boost setting, but nothing is remotely stable above 2700.

Hilariously, my A750 hits ~2600 inside of the 228w limit most of the time without temp problems. The A770 is always at the temp or power limit and tends to run at 2200-2400 no matter how hard I push the sliders in ARC Control. It desperately needs fan speed control.

Makes me wonder just how far I can push the A770 under water or other more extreme cooling. Hot power hungry chips tend to be phenomenal overclockers if you can cool them.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
18,819 (3.09/day)
Location
UK\USA
Processor AMD 3900X \ AMD 7700X
Motherboard ASRock AM4 X570 Pro 4 \ ASUS X670Xe TUF
Cooling D15
Memory Patriot 2x16GB PVS432G320C6K \ G.Skill Flare X5 F5-6000J3238F 2x16GB
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX RX 6950XT RX-695XATBD9
Storage Sammy 860, MX500, Sabrent Rocket 4 Sammy Evo 980 \ 1xSabrent Rocket 4+, Sammy 2x990 Pro
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ LG 43UN700
Case Fractal Design Pop Air 2x140mm fans from Torrent \ Fractal Design Torrent 2 SilverStone FHP141x2
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V677 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000\Paradigm P Studio 20, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TX-750 \ Corsair RM1000X Shift
Mouse Steelseries Sensei wireless \ Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ Wooting Two HE
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Any thing over 300w some chance some thing to fail ?, are they not 1x8(150w)+1x6 (75w) then 75w pci-e slot.

And do you know if it's taking it from the 6\8 pin or trying to get it though the PCI-e slot.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2022
Messages
26 (0.06/day)
Any thing over 300w some chance some thing to fail ?, are they not 1x8(150w)+1x6 (75w) then 75w pci-e slot.
Eh. PCIe slot is more like 66w for 12v. The 6 and 8 pin connectors can take WAY over their rated power without issues though.

The GPU seems to run out of steam around this power level too, cant OC memory to get anymore bandwidth.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
18,819 (3.09/day)
Location
UK\USA
Processor AMD 3900X \ AMD 7700X
Motherboard ASRock AM4 X570 Pro 4 \ ASUS X670Xe TUF
Cooling D15
Memory Patriot 2x16GB PVS432G320C6K \ G.Skill Flare X5 F5-6000J3238F 2x16GB
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX RX 6950XT RX-695XATBD9
Storage Sammy 860, MX500, Sabrent Rocket 4 Sammy Evo 980 \ 1xSabrent Rocket 4+, Sammy 2x990 Pro
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ LG 43UN700
Case Fractal Design Pop Air 2x140mm fans from Torrent \ Fractal Design Torrent 2 SilverStone FHP141x2
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V677 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000\Paradigm P Studio 20, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TX-750 \ Corsair RM1000X Shift
Mouse Steelseries Sensei wireless \ Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ Wooting Two HE
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Eh. PCIe slot is more like 66w for 12v. The 6 and 8 pin connectors can take WAY over their rated power without issues though.

Well defiantly want pictures when\if shit hits the fan.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
467 (0.27/day)
Location
Moscow, Russia
Processor Intel 12600K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Gaming X
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D15S; Case: 2xNoctua NF-A14, 1xNF-S12A.
Memory Ballistix Sport LT DDR4 @3600CL16 2*16GB
Video Card(s) Palit RTX 4080
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512GB + Crucial MX500 500gb + WD Red 6TB
Display(s) Dell S2721qs
Case Phanteks P300A Mesh
Audio Device(s) Behringer UMC204HD
Power Supply Fractal Design Ion+ 560W
Mouse Glorious Model D-
Lol, that's super cool, man, I need to try this out. When I played with OC stuff in Arc Control before it seemed to me that raising voltage didn't really offer that much (and at some boost+voltage offset combos performance regressed) at 228W and that the main thing holding the card back is the power limit. Now that EK's waterblock makes a bit more sense, haha.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Messages
2,462 (1.33/day)
Location
UK, Leicester
System Name Main PC
Processor 13700k
Motherboard Asrock Z690 Steel Legend D4 - Bios 13.02
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory 32 Gig 3200CL14
Video Card(s) 3080 RTX FE 10G
Storage 1TB 980 PRO (OS, games), 2TB SN850X (games), 2TB DC P4600 (work), 2x 3TB WD Red, 2x 4TB WD Red
Display(s) LG 27GL850
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Antec HCG 750 Gold
Software Windows 10 21H2 LTSC
Overclocking is rarely worth it with modern hardware. It takes an edge case to actually gain more than a few percent.

That being said, a 16% performance gain on a core only OC is nothing to sneeze at. And there is a waterblock for A770 LE.
its a power limit bypass so a heavy power efficiency cost. I do get its a nice find though, for people into this.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
20,583 (3.41/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 7950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X670 AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory 64GB (4x 16GB) G.Skill Flare X5 @ DDR5-6000 CL30
Video Card(s) XFX RX 7900 XTX Speedster Merc 310
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti Pro 850W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed Wireless
Keyboard WASD Code v3 with Cherry Green keyswitches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (legit), Gentoo Linux x64
lol intels drivers are so bad, they can't even enforce their own power limit.

Good find.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2022
Messages
26 (0.06/day)
lol intels drivers are so bad, they can't even enforce their own power limit.

Good find.
You used to be able to do something similar with AMDs Wattman. And you could edit NVidia/AMD vBIOS's to change power limits for a long time.

Meaning Ive not had this kind of overclocking control on a new part without hardware hacks for... quite awhile. Kinda makes me feel nostalgic.
 
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
1,257 (0.91/day)
An interesting driver oversight from wintel, no doubt. Looks like the card/GPU doesn't like being that high though, linear scaling from 2400MHz and 225W would be ~263W, but here we have 311+. I'd say it's more of a curiosity as to how this GPU behaves than a really useful thing, hence factory limit.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2022
Messages
26 (0.06/day)
An interesting driver oversight from wintel, no doubt. Looks like the card/GPU doesn't like being that high though, linear scaling from 2400MHz and 225W would be ~263W, but here we have 311+. I'd say it's more of a curiosity as to how this GPU behaves than a really useful thing, hence factory limit.
Power scaling is never linear, its more... exponential. So the extra power required was expected.

BL3 at stock is only running ~2200 for 190w, so +500mhz for roughly +120w.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
20,583 (3.41/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 7950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X670 AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory 64GB (4x 16GB) G.Skill Flare X5 @ DDR5-6000 CL30
Video Card(s) XFX RX 7900 XTX Speedster Merc 310
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti Pro 850W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed Wireless
Keyboard WASD Code v3 with Cherry Green keyswitches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (legit), Gentoo Linux x64
You used to be able to do something similar with AMDs Wattman.
It was bad then too.

And you could edit NVidia/AMD vBIOS's to change power limits for a long time.
I don't mind this though. Sort of wish you could still VBIOS edit. I mean that's pretty detectable for a "warranty void" event.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2022
Messages
26 (0.06/day)
It was bad then too.


I don't mind this though. Sort of wish you could still VBIOS edit. I mean that's pretty detectable for a "warranty void" event.
Intel is writing to the firmware when you change clocks already. So 100% there is evidence of what you are doing because of how the hardware works.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
20,583 (3.41/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 7950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X670 AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory 64GB (4x 16GB) G.Skill Flare X5 @ DDR5-6000 CL30
Video Card(s) XFX RX 7900 XTX Speedster Merc 310
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti Pro 850W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed Wireless
Keyboard WASD Code v3 with Cherry Green keyswitches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (legit), Gentoo Linux x64
Intel is writing to the firmware when you change clocks already. So 100% there is evidence of what you are doing because of how the hardware works.
lol wut. They write to the vbios ROM to change clocks?

No. No one else does that. That's outright awful.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2022
Messages
26 (0.06/day)
Oh it is linear up to certain frequency, above that is what you are experiencing.
nope, its a curve from all the way down at ~130w. You get ~120mhz or so per 10w at 130-150, ~90mhz or so per 10w from 150-170, and so on.

lol wut. They write to the vbios ROM to change clocks?

No. No one else does that. That's outright awful.
I dont think its the ROM area of flash, more like a partition of it that is used like NVRam on a MB. Regardless, it is very odd. And because its done like this, you can blow the power limit out to obscene levels with the bypass.

Snagged the top A770 graphics score on Time Spy.
Time Spy Result
A770 time spy top 10.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 30, 2015
Messages
1,840 (0.58/day)
Location
Seattle, WA
nope, its a curve from all the way down at ~130w. You get ~120mhz or so per 10w at 130-150, ~90mhz or so per 10w from 150-170, and so on.


I dont think its the ROM area of flash, more like a partition of it that is used like NVRam on a MB. Regardless, it is very odd. And because its done like this, you can blow the power limit out to obscene levels with the bypass.

Snagged the top A770 graphics score on Time Spy.
Time Spy Result
View attachment 274631

Really annoyed that Time Spy and 3DMark11 don't run properly on my card with the current driver. Time Spy hard locks over 2650MHz no matter the power, 190W up to 300W, but is completely capable of running Port Royal, Fire Strike, Elden Ring, Darktide, and Vantage at 2720-2750MHz at 250W. So frustrating. Others are getting 2900MHz out of their LEs and this one is just a dud.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2022
Messages
26 (0.06/day)
Really annoyed that Time Spy and 3DMark11 don't run properly on my card with the current driver. Time Spy hard locks over 2650MHz no matter the power, 190W up to 300W, but is completely capable of running Port Royal, Fire Strike, Elden Ring, Darktide, and Vantage at 2720-2750MHz at 250W. So frustrating. Others are getting 2900MHz out of their LEs and this one is just a dud.
Turn off GPU performance boost altogether, so set it to 1 if you already played with it. Another oddity of the software is that setting the sliders to zero just does... nothing.

Then just crank voltage offset up to get the clock you need.

I only use performance boost to add a little to an already big OC achieved with voltage offset. Mainly because I find that more boost = more instability at higher clocks/volt offsets.
 
Joined
May 30, 2015
Messages
1,840 (0.58/day)
Location
Seattle, WA
Turn off GPU performance boost altogether, so set it to 1 if you already played with it. Another oddity of the software is that setting the sliders to zero just does... nothing.

Then just crank voltage offset up to get the clock you need.

I only use performance boost to add a little to an already big OC achieved with voltage offset. Mainly because I find that more boost = more instability at higher clocks/volt offsets.

This is already what I'm doing. Also using the temp limit for minor adjustments, as the 84-89 range will pull up or down the frequency shift under heavy load.
 
Top