• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ARC power limit bypass found

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
17,866 (3.02/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Strix XG27UQR (4K, 144Hz, G-SYNC compatible) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Interesting experiment, but I can see a dead GPU on the way. I'll bet a driver will stop this trick, too. Shame, people should be allowed to do what they want with their own property.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2022
Messages
26 (0.06/day)
Interesting experiment, but I can see a dead GPU on the way. I'll bet a driver will stop this trick, too. Shame, people should be allowed to do what they want with their own property.
Why a dead GPU? This is nothing different than what I have been doing for decades.

GTX 465/470 could all be pushed to INSANE power levels and 50%+ clocks over stock. Still have a few flashed to permanently run like that. HD 2900XT/GT saw some similar overclocking margins. Ive got CPUs that haved lived for decades at double their stock power consumption on top of 50%-100% overclocks.

Gotta remember that ARC A770 was designed to take on higher end cards before it was delayed, the silicon is 3070 Ti sized... 300-350w is nothing for a die of that size on TSMC 6N.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
17,866 (3.02/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Strix XG27UQR (4K, 144Hz, G-SYNC compatible) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Well, for your sake I hope you're right.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2016
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Location
UK
System Name Zen
Processor AMD Ryzen 5800X3D
Motherboard GigaByte AMD B550 Vision D
Cooling Artic Freezer 420
Memory 64GB TeamGroup Dark Pro DDR4 3200@3466 CL14-14-14-28-40 CR1 (1.43v)
Video Card(s) GigaByte AMD 6900XT OC
Storage Samsung 980 1Tb & 960 Evo 500Gb / 2x WD SN750 1Tb / 2x Samsung Q5 1Tb / 2x Crucial MX500 1Tb
Display(s) Samsung CRJ379 UltraWide @100hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster AE5
Power Supply Corsair RMX1000
Mouse Corsair Schmictar Pro (Yellow) & MX Master 3S
Keyboard Logitech MX MasterKeys 3 & Logitech MX Craft
VR HMD HTC Vive
Software Windows 11 / 365 / WSL
Why a dead GPU? This is nothing different than what I have been doing for decades.

GTX 465/470 could all be pushed to INSANE power levels and 50%+ clocks over stock. Still have a few flashed to permanently run like that. HD 2900XT/GT saw some similar overclocking margins. Ive got CPUs that haved lived for decades at double their stock power consumption on top of 50%-100% overclocks.

Gotta remember that ARC A770 was designed to take on higher end cards before it was delayed, the silicon is 3070 Ti sized... 300-350w is nothing for a die of that size on TSMC 6N.
True, been Tinkering/overclocking since the DIP Switch Days ; Along as your keeping things cool and not pushing insane power, all is well.
I remember my mates calling me mad when i cut holes in my PC's side panel and screwed in some 120mm Fans to cool my OC Voodoo 2 in SLI (with ghetto mounted heatsinks) :cool:

Have been looking at getting the A770LE for a while now and the nostalgia is strong with this one ;)

Well, for your sake I hope you're right.
Same, but i have the impression the OP does have a good understanding of what is involved & the risk, I do hate breaking hardware....... 6800LE springs to mind that thing, great unlock potential but also high risk of death.
I do feel its always a little risky when unlocking something the manufacturer has hidden because something was broken to begin with ;
 

TearsOfTelos

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2022
Messages
11 (0.03/day)
Location
Belgium
nope, its a curve from all the way down at ~130w. You get ~120mhz or so per 10w at 130-150, ~90mhz or so per 10w from 150-170, and so on.


I dont think its the ROM area of flash, more like a partition of it that is used like NVRam on a MB. Regardless, it is very odd. And because its done like this, you can blow the power limit out to obscene levels with the bypass.

Snagged the top A770 graphics score on Time Spy.
Looks like i'm out, had the top score way longer than expected. I'm not able to beat my own score atm, even with the extra power. Hope this will still be around when i get my LN2 equipment back.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 30, 2015
Messages
1,839 (0.58/day)
Location
Seattle, WA
Looks like i'm out, had the top score way longer than expected. I'm not able to beat my own score atm, even with the extra power. Hope this will still be around when i get my LN2 equipment back.

I suppose you could always stay on the older driver, or revert to it, if they fix this.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2022
Messages
26 (0.06/day)
Looks like i'm out, had the top score way longer than expected. I'm not able to beat my own score atm, even with the extra power. Hope this will still be around when i get my LN2 equipment back.
TBH I cant wait to see someone with a waterblock or LN2 pot do something with this. I just have top of the list RN because I found a driver quirk.

Honestly I wasnt expecting to take it with a lower average clock.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
467 (0.27/day)
Location
Moscow, Russia
Processor Intel 12600K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Gaming X
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D15S; Case: 2xNoctua NF-A14, 1xNF-S12A.
Memory Ballistix Sport LT DDR4 @3600CL16 2*16GB
Video Card(s) Palit RTX 4080
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512GB + Crucial MX500 500gb + WD Red 6TB
Display(s) Dell S2721qs
Case Phanteks P300A Mesh
Audio Device(s) Behringer UMC204HD
Power Supply Fractal Design Ion+ 560W
Mouse Glorious Model D-
Took 3rd place (I'm count dookula) but no matter how harder I push can't get higher. 2800+ needs something like 1.24-1.25v to be stable, I imagine, but it just doesn't get there. The software is infuriating, hahaha. Even at +200mv and 395W PL set (which it never reaches at these clocks btw, not even close) with all the different boost combos the inbuilt voltage curve doesn't allow it to go high enough. Wonder if a voltmod is possible.
 

TearsOfTelos

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2022
Messages
11 (0.03/day)
Location
Belgium
Took 3rd place (I'm count dookula) but no matter how harder I push can't get higher. 2800+ needs something like 1.24-1.25v to be stable, I imagine, but it just doesn't get there. The software is infuriating, hahaha. Even at +200mv and 395W PL set (which it never reaches at these clocks btw, not even close) with all the different boost combos the inbuilt voltage curve doesn't allow it to go high enough. Wonder if a voltmod is possible.
I think you are gonna need a better cooling solution. i got 2800+to be stable at the stock power limit 252W(asrock version) trying to go sub ambient. Even with pulling 340W i can't get the same clock speeds on the stock cooler.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
467 (0.27/day)
Location
Moscow, Russia
Processor Intel 12600K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Gaming X
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D15S; Case: 2xNoctua NF-A14, 1xNF-S12A.
Memory Ballistix Sport LT DDR4 @3600CL16 2*16GB
Video Card(s) Palit RTX 4080
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512GB + Crucial MX500 500gb + WD Red 6TB
Display(s) Dell S2721qs
Case Phanteks P300A Mesh
Audio Device(s) Behringer UMC204HD
Power Supply Fractal Design Ion+ 560W
Mouse Glorious Model D-
I think you are gonna need a better cooling solution. i got 2800+to be stable at the stock power limit 252W(asrock version) trying to go sub ambient. Even with pulling 340W i can't get the same clock speeds on the stock cooler.
Yeah, I mean, here's my "cooling solution"! :roll: It's -20 outside so I thought I'd give it a go. If it goes down to -30 next month I think I might try to properly set it up completely outside on the balcony.
 

Attachments

  • 1673192964353.png
    1673192964353.png
    658.8 KB · Views: 89

TearsOfTelos

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2022
Messages
11 (0.03/day)
Location
Belgium
Yeah, I mean, here's my "cooling solution"! :roll: It's -20 outside so I thought I'd give it a go. If it goes down to -30 next month I think I might try to properly set it up completely outside on the balcony.
nice. i did something like that as well. made a quick cardboard duct and taped a big desk fan to it to make sure all the cold air got blasted into the gpu.

took rank 1 again but don't know for how long. 4 out of the top 5 gotten their personal bests today.
 

yonson

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2023
Messages
1 (0.00/day)

5mall5nail5

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2023
Messages
7 (0.03/day)
So I was trying this today and I cannot get it to work. Running Arc A770 LE with driver version 31.0.101.4369 - does this hack/trick still work?
 

TearsOfTelos

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2022
Messages
11 (0.03/day)
Location
Belgium
So I was trying this today and I cannot get it to work. Running Arc A770 LE with driver version 31.0.101.4369 - does this hack/trick still work?
this hasn't worked for a few driver versions. this last time i was able to do it was with diver version 31.0.101.4123 (Beta) but didn't get decent results. iirc i set my best scores with version 31.0.101.4032 (edit: 8 out of the top 10 gpu time spy scores are set with this version )
 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,662 (3.79/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
this hasn't worked for a few driver versions. this last time i was able to do it was with diver version 31.0.101.4123 (Beta) but didn't get decent results. iirc i set my best scores with version 31.0.101.4032 (edit: 8 out of the top 10 gpu time spy scores are set with this version )
These are the drivers to date by far. Just can’t be modded :(
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
13,006 (4.07/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
I have been digging around in ARC drivers for awhile to find fixes to some display related issues and found a way to reliably extend the GPU power limit slider in ARC control.

1. Set power limit in ARC Control to maximum
2. Kill the process for ARC Control
3. Stop the Intel ARC Control Service
4. disable/enable the GPU in device manager or use CRU Restart64 application to do this for you.
5. Start ARC Control
6. Start Intel ARC Control Service
7. Set the power limit to its new maximum

Typical steps one follows when trying to fix display related issues :p

Also congrats, you managed to burn through ~80% more power for 10 fps more :rockout:
Nice find tho.
 
Top