• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ASUS 8 Series Motherboards Support New 4th-Generation Intel Core CPUs

Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,345
Likes
5,808
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#2
USB flashingn innovative? I've had that on my Rampage II Gene since the day i bought it and it's a rather old board now. And i think i had USB flashing on P5E Deluxe as well. Except yeah, that it auto flashes it even without other components, that might be useful in some cases.

I just wonder why they don't make Rampage class ROG boards anymore. Maximus ones seem rather poor in comparison... Mine was expensive, but it's exceptionally good mobo worth every €.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Messages
150
Likes
67
Location
Michigan, USA
#3
I just wonder why they don't make Rampage class ROG boards anymore. Maximus ones seem rather poor in comparison... Mine was expensive, but it's exceptionally good mobo worth every €.
Rampage = Extreme/High performance. Maximus = High Performance/Mainstream.

So in the last 6 years, Rampage would be X58 and X79 boards. Maximus goes to Z68/Z77/Z87. The reason you do not see many is because X79 bites, is a crippled chipset, and was behind in tech (aside from the poorly turned quad channel memory) from the Z77 and Z87 boards.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#4
MSI was the first, I wondered when Asus followed

And I wasnt surprised, I bet Broadwell will be too since its based on this new Haswell refresh power design.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#5
Updated, but it didnt update much.
Just IME 9.0.30.1482 from 9.0.2.1345 and EC MBE0-Z87-227 from MBE0-Z87-0224



But it has a funny way to update, first you run like a windows installer/updater, load your current bios in my case 1707 and then it updates its firmware & uefi reflash., reboot, reload uefi and its done.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 11, 2007
Messages
192
Likes
81
Processor i7-3770K @ 45x100
Motherboard P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600/F3-1600C9D-16GXM
Video Card(s) Onboard HD4000
Storage Vertex 4 128 GB + other HDDs
Case P183
Power Supply Seasonic SS-560KM
#6
Really ignorant question here, but how does one apply the update? I found "BIOS_updater_for_New_4th_Gen_Intel_Core_Processors.zip" on Asus's webpage for my board (H87IPLUS). It seems to contain exe files but no BIOS image. My machine runs Linux and I do not have a copy of Windows. Current BIOS is 1005.

Here are the contents of the zip file:
Code:
AsMultiLang.dll
Data.BIN
FWUpdLcl64.exe
FWUpdLcl.exe
pngio.dll
Update.exe
ver64.bat
ver.bat
BIOS/AsIO.dll
BIOS/AsUpIo
BIOS/AsUpIo/AsUpIO32.sys
BIOS/AsUpIo/AsUpIO64.sys
BIOS/AsUpIo/AsUpIoIns.exe
BIOS/AsUpIo/Version.ini
BIOS/PEExec.exe
BIOS/PEInfo.dll
BIOS/update.bat
resource/background
resource/background/asus.png
resource/background/bg.png
resource/background/BG-pup.png
resource/button
resource/button/button_d.png
resource/button/button_n.png
resource/button/button_o.png
resource/button/button_un.png
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2007
Messages
192
Likes
81
Processor i7-3770K @ 45x100
Motherboard P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600/F3-1600C9D-16GXM
Video Card(s) Onboard HD4000
Storage Vertex 4 128 GB + other HDDs
Case P183
Power Supply Seasonic SS-560KM
#7
Well, I broke down, installed windows 7 on a spare HDD and ran Update.exe which only seems to reflash my BIOS to the same version I had prior. I also ran BIOS/update.bat which did something and exited. When I go into the BIOS, I do not see new version numbers though.

Before:
Code:
BIOS Version    1005 x64
Build Date      01/06/2014
ME Version        9.0.2.1345
After:
Code:
BIOS Version    1005 x64
Build Date      01/06/2014
ME Version        9.0.2.1345
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#8
Looks like you need to use/load the latest bios 1707.cap.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#10
According to that graph yeah 1005 is the latest.

hm what about the second value EC?
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2007
Messages
192
Likes
81
Processor i7-3770K @ 45x100
Motherboard P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600/F3-1600C9D-16GXM
Video Card(s) Onboard HD4000
Storage Vertex 4 128 GB + other HDDs
Case P183
Power Supply Seasonic SS-560KM
#11
My BIOS does not have a section for EC as yours does...
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#12
then maybe re-try reflahsing it or maybe it won't change at all, is yours C2 chipset?
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2007
Messages
192
Likes
81
Processor i7-3770K @ 45x100
Motherboard P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600/F3-1600C9D-16GXM
Video Card(s) Onboard HD4000
Storage Vertex 4 128 GB + other HDDs
Case P183
Power Supply Seasonic SS-560KM
#13
No idea what a C2 chipset is :)
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#14
Check my bios screen above - its south bridge steeping,

mine is 04/C1, newest is 05/C2, I think.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2007
Messages
192
Likes
81
Processor i7-3770K @ 45x100
Motherboard P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600/F3-1600C9D-16GXM
Video Card(s) Onboard HD4000
Storage Vertex 4 128 GB + other HDDs
Case P183
Power Supply Seasonic SS-560KM
#15
Check my bios screen above - its south bridge steeping,

mine is 04/C1, newest is 05/C2, I think.
Again, mine doesn't show a value for EC.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#16
Again, mine doesn't show a value for EC.
I didnt ask for EC again :p :)

yes you have C2 steeping, maybe it doesnt need to update the rest. But just in case try to re-flash if it updates that ME.


Also no big deal if it doesnt, you will see when /if you get haswell refresh or broadwell ^^