• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Begins Enabling Limited PCIe Gen 4.0 on AMD 400-series Chipset Motherboards

Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
335 (0.45/day)
Location
France
Processor RYZEN 5 1600
Motherboard ROG STRIX B450-i
Cooling NOCTUA NH-L9 + 3 NF-F12
Memory CORSAIR VENGEANCE LPX 2x8 GB 3600Mhz ( running at 3200 )
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX 1080Ti OC
Storage SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
Display(s) SAMSUNG U28D590D 4K 28''
Case NODE 202
Power Supply CORSAIR SF600
Mouse Logitech G203 Prodigy
Keyboard Ajazz ak33
Because your GPU only supports PCIe 3.0 if you were to stick an PCIe 4.0 cappable GPU in it's place then it would probably say PCIe 4.0
That's not how it works you can put a PCIe 2.0 device on a PCIe 3.0 port it wont stop you from enabling PCIe 3.0 on your mobo , same goes here .
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
79 (0.03/day)
Processor 2500k @ 4ghz
Motherboard Asrock z77 pro3
Memory Patriot 32GB(4x8GB) Viper III DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 ARMOR 8gb
Storage 250gb Crucial m500 SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp™ U2713HM @90hz
Power Supply Corsair CX500
Mouse CM STORM
Keyboard Velocifire VM01 Mechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
so.... these MBs have PCIe gen 4.0 support for their m2? is that it?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
11,622 (2.62/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k @ Stock
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ DDR4-3400 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) USB Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise... yes, it's legit.
So I guess the NICs, SSDs, RAID cards, etc used for servers are going to be useless and waste of time since according to you PCI-E 4.0 is unnecessary.
*For consumers

In that context, you betcha.

So somehow lower end boards meet the requirements for PCIe 4.0 but the high end ones and ITX don't ? This is total nonsense !
Welcome to the result of using PCIe switches in high end boards.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
746 (0.23/day)
It's not as simple as "flicking a switch" to enable compatibility with a spec which increases data transfer rate by a factor of 2.

This isn't a simple DC wiring problem, it's a time-varying signal which needs to propagate along many transmission lines in the extremely crowded environment of a motherboard PCB. By flipping the switch to double the throughput, you can easily push the circuit outside of it's spec in a number of ways .
- Signal to noise may be violated
- Additional cross talk
- Increased clock jitter
- Disruption of power delivery integrity.

Doubling any switching frequency from a circuit's design spec can break a circuit's capacitive and inductive tuning and completely change the shape of the signal. Anything carrying a current which oscillates in time has the potential to radiate (i.e. becomes an antenna), anything which radiates interacts with and affects its surrounding environment, anything which radiates will be affected by its surrounding environment.

TL : DR - It's not as simple as flipping a switch because electromagnetics are complicated. But also, businesses will be businesses, and only Asus's design engineers would know the exact spec range of their circuitry.

Exactly this ^

But this whole update, even tho my motherboard is in the certified PCI-E 4.0 overview, is useless, since i have a 2700x which does'nt support a native PCI-E 4.0 unless i upgrade the chip obviously.

I'm not touching any bios update at all, since it's working just fine.
 

weareanomalous

New Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
3 (0.02/day)
I find it funny that the TUF B450 Plus Gaming gets atleast M.2_1 X4 PCIe 4.0 but then the same TUF X470 Plus Gaming doesn't they're practically the same mobo the only difference is the south bridge
If you look closely, there are PCIe switches near the top M.2 slot and 2nd x16 slot of the B450 motherboard, which are absent from the X470 motherboard. That might explain the compatibility differences.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
232 (0.97/day)
System Name PowerEdge R730 DRS Cluster
Processor 4x Xeon E5-2698 v3
Cooling Many heckin screamy bois
Memory 480GB ECC DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) Matrox G200eR2
Storage SD Card. Yep, really no other local storage.
Display(s) It's probably a couple of boring Dell Ultrasharps and a sacrificial laptop.
Case 39U 6-rack server room with HEVC and 44KVA UPS
Mouse Maybe
Keyboard Yes!
Software ESXi 6.5 U3
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
This is a nice gesture by Asus for people still using these boards in 5+ years, but right now there aren't any GPUs that benefit from PCIe 4.0 (and it doesn't look like GPUs are going to need any more PCIe bandwidth in the future, either). If the only other thing that gets PCIe 4.0 is a single M.2 slot, then there's not a whole lot of point to this yet.

Currently, speeds of more than 2GB/s for M.2 SSDs are limited to burst mode until the SLC cache is full. Even the best drives drop down to speeds of less than PCIe 3.0 x1 (~900MB/s) once you run out of cache. Sadly, MLC drives are all but nonexistent in the consumer sector and TLC is slowly giving way to QLC as the race to the bottom continues.

Of the two PCIe 4.0 SSD reviews I've seen so far, neither the controller nor the NAND is capable of producing performance that exceeds PCIe 3.0 x4 for anything other than a synthetic burst transfer benchmark; A benchmark that is utterly meaningless because in a real-world scenario such a transfer would be cached in system RAM by the OS anyway and fed to the SSD in the background. Not even 3DXPoint (Optane) can use the bandwidth of PCIe 3.0 yet.

Perhaps in a couple of years from now when SSD controllers have evolved, and if NAND quality hasn't dropped even further from QLC to P(enta)LC or H(ex)LC, we might actually get better transfer rates. Until now, it's just an ePeen race between vendors to claim the highest number on their marketing-departments checkbox feature list.
 
Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
184 (0.07/day)
Location
Estonia
System Name Steamy
Processor Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard Asrock AB350M-Pro4
Cooling Wraith Prism
Memory 2x8GB HX429C15PB3AK2/16
Video Card(s) R9 290X WC
Storage 960Evo 500GB nvme
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/kinski/ http://valid.x86.fr/qfxqhj https://goo.gl/uWkw7n
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,293 (0.93/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 2700 @ 3400MHz
Motherboard Asus TUF X470-Plus Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 8GB
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1903)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
If you look closely, there are PCIe switches near the top M.2 slot and 2nd x16 slot of the B450 motherboard, which are absent from the X470 motherboard. That might explain the compatibility differences.

yeah I saw that and that's what I'd rather have had on the x470 a faster M.2 as I only have an RX580 GPU I don't give a toss about the PCIe 4.0 x16 slot

That's not how it works you can put a PCIe 2.0 device on a PCIe 3.0 port it wont stop you from enabling PCIe 3.0 on your mobo , same goes here .
I would have thought both devices would have to support PCIe 4.0 before it would show up as enabled my GPU is PCIe 3.0 and GPUz only shows PCIe 3.0 at 3.0
 
Top