• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus NODE replaces ROG_EXT

Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,462 (0.26/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF 3090 / Titan V
Storage 1TbSamsung Evo M.2/ 2TbSamsung QVO/ 1TbSamsung Evo780/ 120gbKingston Now
Display(s) LG 65UN85006LA 65" Smart 4K Ultra HD HDR LED TV with Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse M65 RGB Elite
Keyboard K95 RGB Platinum
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
Like the title says the Rog header is no more.

After researching the matter, it turns out this is in preparation for new cases and future led readout panels.

Fortunately with a little repinning, you can get it to work like the Rog_ext.

heres a pic with the Pin out, looks like he's cut the rog_ext header in two...

im just looking online for a tool to help me change the pin out on the connector.

Thanks to HWBot forums for pinout diagram.

does anyone recommend a crimping kit in particular... or will any old crimping kit do? ive never modded cables like this before...!!!!

also I just tried an extension connector for the usb side, np...

I'm having difficulties with the node socket though as its almost 2ml smaller than a usb connection,

so obviously the usb connector wont fit.

are these standard sizes, I just bought a crimping kit with connectors.

yet I think I will be forced to ghetto mod each one to fit each cable individually into the node socket.
definitely could do with some advice.... if anyone knows what the smaller pin socket connectors are called id

appreciate a heads up.
127588

 

Attachments

  • 2019-07-22 (2).png
    2019-07-22 (2).png
    208.4 KB · Views: 2,680
  • asusnodepinout.png
    asusnodepinout.png
    83 KB · Views: 3,007
  • ASUS-ROG-NODE-40.jpg
    ASUS-ROG-NODE-40.jpg
    211.7 KB · Views: 2,849
Last edited:
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,462 (0.26/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF 3090 / Titan V
Storage 1TbSamsung Evo M.2/ 2TbSamsung QVO/ 1TbSamsung Evo780/ 120gbKingston Now
Display(s) LG 65UN85006LA 65" Smart 4K Ultra HD HDR LED TV with Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse M65 RGB Elite
Keyboard K95 RGB Platinum
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
Its a few years on and unbelievably I still have this issue. I'm going to try make a node connector but I'm going to need some advice from the community. Is there anyone here who has done this or something like it?
I'd really appreciate some guidance. If it doesnt work then so be it but ive heard of people doing this to the front base and it working. I can not find it or hardly any other info on the process than I originally found. I'm sure this would be very useful to many of us out there who have a front base and a new motherboard with a node connection. :toast:
 

demonclaw

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2021
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
I know this is long dead chain but could you link me the article of the pin out and to what version of the software you are running and version of bios on the front base.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,462 (0.26/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF 3090 / Titan V
Storage 1TbSamsung Evo M.2/ 2TbSamsung QVO/ 1TbSamsung Evo780/ 120gbKingston Now
Display(s) LG 65UN85006LA 65" Smart 4K Ultra HD HDR LED TV with Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse M65 RGB Elite
Keyboard K95 RGB Platinum
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
I can not remember the first place I saw the pin out. I think I just paused the video or something like that. I'll try and find the original site again for you, just in case I found it somewhere else.

I think this is the bios on the front base. 2801 version (11.02.2015) I never thought to update it as it ran fine.

Turns out just connecting the usb part is enough for the unit to function.

 
Last edited:

Toyoling

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
5 (0.14/day)
I can not remember the first place I saw the pin out. I think I just paused the video or something like that. I'll try and find the original site again for you, just in case I found it somewhere else.

I think this is the bios on the front base. 2801 version (11.02.2015) I never thought to update it as it ran fine.

Turns out just connecting the usb part is enough for the unit to function.

Have u found out what that small header is called..?

Are u using the single bay OC panel or the double bay front base..?

If ur using the double bay front panel does the usb header let u control everything or it just shows the display..?
If ur using the OC panel how did u get it to work..? bcoz for me it just comes on with no temps or fan speed..
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,462 (0.26/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF 3090 / Titan V
Storage 1TbSamsung Evo M.2/ 2TbSamsung QVO/ 1TbSamsung Evo780/ 120gbKingston Now
Display(s) LG 65UN85006LA 65" Smart 4K Ultra HD HDR LED TV with Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse M65 RGB Elite
Keyboard K95 RGB Platinum
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
I cant get anything through USB, I powered it with a sata connector IIRC.

Im still waiting for someone to come along and figure it out on TPU. Mine is the double bay front base,

although I have a single bay front base also I could try.

Let me know if you figure anything out or want to try following the diagram and i'll jump in and experiment getting it right myself.

I never could find a clear tutorial on how to connect to the Node connector. Although thats what the connector is for, Temps etc...

Lets figure it out. Maybe Asus will help us out with a node connector although ive heard that people have cut down the original connector and changed the pin out. :toast:

edit - so it's ROG_EXT ghetto modded to NODE_IN connector (12-1 pin) we need to figure out.

It is ROG_EXT ghetto modded to 3d printed Node connector as you cant buy them, it looks like we will have to make one. If anyone knows where i can just buy the connectors, I already have a box with the crimping tool but non are anywhere near small enough to fit the Node connection.

The pin out is below.

Ive never really made my own cables but if your willing to have a go I'd be willing to put some effort into getting my Double or Single front base working on

my main pc. USB gives me nothing, Node is designed to give temps and motherboard info etc. Node is a direct replacement for ROG_EXT.

1632481795593.png
1632481829110.png
1632481860468.png



This thread has a guy showing how to make an extension cable from the ROG_EXT connector to the Node connection.

Maybe we could create that cable also. :toast:

1632484865390.png


Im having trouble finding a header to fit the Node Connection.

I took one for the team, it seems you can only get a node connector when you buy a new motherboard and are very lucky, otherwise you must buy the Asus Fan Controller 2 or are lucky enough to have this come with your motherboard. The node connector is used to connect the extension board.

When it arrives I may take a trip to my local electrical parts shop and see if they cant get a hold of this connector. Otherwise maybe we could 3d print these off and start to make the Node to EXT_ROG cables.
It looks like Asus have dropped the ball with this one .
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,462 (0.26/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF 3090 / Titan V
Storage 1TbSamsung Evo M.2/ 2TbSamsung QVO/ 1TbSamsung Evo780/ 120gbKingston Now
Display(s) LG 65UN85006LA 65" Smart 4K Ultra HD HDR LED TV with Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse M65 RGB Elite
Keyboard K95 RGB Platinum
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
I managed to find out the connector with help from a forum member. I have 10 being delivered. I'll make a few adapters up for the forum.

I'm basically sourcing the absolute best components ( silver cables/gold connecting pins etc) to make a suitably bespoke adapter. I could on the other hand just put together something cheap, but I dont want any cheap looking cables inside my pc case as I have a large side window. Aesthetics are definitely important here.

There are also 1080p screens you can buy which use a HDMI connector and a mini usb connector for power (as seen on jays2cents).

I would like to create a new connector/adapter which basically makes these a must have in every pc. Possibly replacing the Asus front base.
But this is something for after ive finished creating these adapters for those of us lucky enough to still own one.

I'll update with my progress. :slap:
 

Toyoling

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
5 (0.14/day)
U found the connector.. thats sweet.. i would like to get it too.. could u send me a link so i could get some too...
now with the pin layout it should not be to difficult to make a node to rog_ext connector.. i was gonna try to crimp some pins and use shrink tubes and sleeves and place them one by one on the node..

The only problem is i sent my board for rma and its not back yet so i cant mess around with the pin layouts

Please update us on ur progress as im really eager to know if it works
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,462 (0.26/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF 3090 / Titan V
Storage 1TbSamsung Evo M.2/ 2TbSamsung QVO/ 1TbSamsung Evo780/ 120gbKingston Now
Display(s) LG 65UN85006LA 65" Smart 4K Ultra HD HDR LED TV with Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse M65 RGB Elite
Keyboard K95 RGB Platinum
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
U found the connector.. thats sweet.. i would like to get it too.. could u send me a link so i could get some too...
now with the pin layout it should not be to difficult to make a node to rog_ext connector.. i was gonna try to crimp some pins and use shrink tubes and sleeves and place them one by one on the node..

The only problem is i sent my board for rma and its not back yet so i cant mess around with the pin layouts

Please update us on ur progress as im really eager to know if it works
I'm just waiting for the connectors to arrive, Ive ordered 20. I'm going to make them out of the best cabling available and possibly sleeve them if thats what it takes to get that nice bespoke look.
I do not want rainbow coloured connectors in my pc. Every other cable I use is the best money can buy so I'd like to have this cable look nice in my PC when all said and done.

Ive got two box's of connectors and neither had the right one. With the help of a forum member we have bought some others to try.

If theyre correct I have the cable the crimping kit ect to put some high quality extension cables together.

When all the stuff arrives I'll hit you up and you can give me a hand with the pin out. If it fits and works I'll send you the first one. :toast:


Ok so I have managed to get the front base working with Node. One problem, we have no CPU clocks.

Does anyone know how to mod the driver so that it leaves the sound configuration buttons out, as this crashes windows with an asIO.sys error every time it tries to initialise.

I quickly removed it in safe mode and cleaned up the registry.

Theres still a good chance we can get this working. All we need is cpu clocks.
1632994622699.jpeg

If not there are 5inch and 7inch lcd screens available.

I have the 5inch model and will use that instead as an alternative as i can use Hardware64 to set up what is shown on the screen.
I have no idea about modding these particular drivers.

Do we have anyone on the forum that could take a look. You can delete all the asio crap as we arnt really wanting the front base for changing audio settings, it just bugs me how we have the main CPU fan speed/pump speed and the CPU temp, but no reading for the CPU clocks.
Here's hoping someone takes a look. I'll still knock a few adapter cables together when the connectors arrive but I think in the long term I'll start working on a replacement. I cant believe there is no easy way to control Node and the info it displays.
Also DO NOT INSTALL the driver with the Asio files included. Delete the IO file or you will find yourself having to go into safe mode to uninstall them as its a BSOD on boot otherwise.
I'm still researching the whole thing so I may find a workaround yet. :toast:
 
Last edited:

Toyoling

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
5 (0.14/day)
So u managed to get the front base working with node.. im still waiting on my RMA to arrive.. it will be anyday now..

What pins on the node did u use to get it to work..? Did u try using the OC panel..?

Im on the edge of my seat.. i really want this to work.. i just need my board back to start poking around..
 

Toyoling

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
5 (0.14/day)
I'm just waiting for the connectors to arrive, Ive ordered 20. I'm going to make them out of the best cabling available and possibly sleeve them if thats what it takes to get that nice bespoke look.
I do not want rainbow coloured connectors in my pc. Every other cable I use is the best money can buy so I'd like to have this cable look nice in my PC when all said and done.

Ive got two box's of connectors and neither had the right one. With the help of a forum member we have bought some others to try.

If theyre correct I have the cable the crimping kit ect to put some high quality extension cables together.

When all the stuff arrives I'll hit you up and you can give me a hand with the pin out. If it fits and works I'll send you the first one. :toast:


Ok so I have managed to get the front base working with Node. One problem, we have no CPU clocks.

Does anyone know how to mod the driver so that it leaves the sound configuration buttons out, as this crashes windows with an asIO.sys error every time it tries to initialise.

I quickly removed it in safe mode and cleaned up the registry.

Theres still a good chance we can get this working. All we need is cpu clocks.
View attachment 218832
If not there are 5inch and 7inch lcd screens available.

I have the 5inch model and will use that instead as an alternative as i can use Hardware64 to set up what is shown on the screen.
I have no idea about modding these particular drivers.

Do we have anyone on the forum that could take a look. You can delete all the asio crap as we arnt really wanting the front base for changing audio settings, it just bugs me how we have the main CPU fan speed/pump speed and the CPU temp, but no reading for the CPU clocks.
Here's hoping someone takes a look. I'll still knock a few adapter cables together when the connectors arrive but I think in the long term I'll start working on a replacement. I cant believe there is no easy way to control Node and the info it displays.
Also DO NOT INSTALL the driver with the Asio files included. Delete the IO file or you will find yourself having to go into safe mode to uninstall them as its a BSOD on boot otherwise.
I'm still researching the whole thing so I may find a workaround yet. :toast:
So my board is back.. tried poking around with my oc panel with no luck.. even with the pin layout..

20211009_224306.jpg


I know its a mess but i followed the pin layout with no luck...

Its that or im a massive noob..

How did u get ur front panel to work..? Im i missing something or could it be that the oc panel just wont work..?

Anyway the link u posted had a driver that he installed that got his front base working.. but only with the usb header..


Edit

I found this u can try.. updating the front base firmware.. might not be anything.. but who knows..


Cant be that node has replaced rog_ext for so long and there is no new oc/front panel for it..
 
Last edited:

Toyoling

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
5 (0.14/day)
Hey.. any updates..? I hav been messing around with my OC panel the pass few days now with no luck.. im guessing it wont work with the oc panel but might work with the front base..

There is one for sale here where i am and im thinking of grabing it but it would be a waste if it just ends up not working.. but even if it does not show the cpu clocks i might be fine with that..

My case is to sweet for me to change coz i have not seen any new towers that support x2 420 rads and x6 3.5 hdd bays.. but having a hole in the front is not really something anyone wants to see..

I might end up going and getting a tower custom to my needs if it comes to that..
 
Top