1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS P5K3 Premium Utilizes 2 GB DDR3 Onboard Memory

Discussion in 'News' started by HellasVagabond, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Taipei, Taiwan, July 10, 2007 – Catering to enthusiasts who want the latest in innovations and technology, ASUS has released the new ASUS P5K3 Premium motherboard. This motherboard comes with the latest technologies and delivers a brand new innovation – the Turbo D3 Onboard Memory feature. With this cutting-edge feature, users are guaranteed DDR3 overclocking speeds of above 1500 and reduced clock cycle timings by 50% for random data access.

    Guaranteed DDR3 1500 Speeds
    Hot on the heels of ASUS’s Native Support for DDR3 1333, ASUS has yet again come up with another groundbreaking technology. The P5K3 Premium provides exceptional functions and utilizes Turbo D3 – superb onboard memory features that guarantee overclocking above DDR3 1500. The Turbo D3 Design includes the Perfect T-Tree Design, ASUS’s exclusive Super Memspeed Technology and the revolutionary Hyper PCB Design.

    Perfect T-Tree Design
    The P5K3 Premium motherboard utilizes the cutting-edge Perfect T-Tree Design to provide users with simultaneous random data access on every memory chip. What this means is that data access to each memory chip occurs at the same time, instead of conventional DDR3 Fly-by Topologies that require time to be spent waiting for one by one random data access. This reduces clock cycle timing by 50% for random data access – thereby ensuring faster memory speeds.

    ASUS Press Release
    P5K3 Premium Product Page
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2007
  2. TXcharger

    TXcharger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    431 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    SAN ANTONE, TX
    so the ram is built into it? if so can you still upgrade if you wanted to?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,732 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,591
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Doesn't sound like a bad deal. I guess we'll see what reviews find of those features. I like that ASUS is pushing for more. Might be a standard when DDR3 is affordable (realistically, considering 2 gigs cost almost as much as my build!) and this technology has decreased in price. Looks like it could be promising, but it could also just be another selling gimmick. We shall see soon enough!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    holy shit Batman!

    thats awsome, but.. id still like the ability to upgrade the memory, but having all the chips utilizing simultaneous random data access will ensure this board will rock till it becomes obsolete, but the rate at which tech goes, how soon will that be?

    really need a pic to see what its like
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,174 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    This is really cool.



    Until a single IC dies.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    No empty memory slots....Other than that its a Mobo that has just about everything.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,174 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    they should've tried to have at least one or two more dimm slots in case someone wants to move to 4gb later. but this is still amazing, guaranteed speeds of 1500 mhz, along with simultaneous random data access. anyone know how much it costs?
     
  9. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    That sucks...2GB is enough but 1500mhz only? 1800mhz have already hit the market and they are talking for up to 1500mhz ONLY?:eek:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,174 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Guaranteed, not capable. ;)

    But who knows, with the new way they layed out the memory.. maybe it'll see a good performance difference.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    In theory since the memory modules are build-in they should respond abit better than generic memory modules....On the other hand we see that these modules are covered with heatpipes thus the Guaranteed 1500mhz memory isnt anyplace near to what these babies SHOULD be able to do...
     
  12. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,174 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    But assuming asus's "technology" of re-arranging the memory modules holds true, I would bet it would effect overall attainable clocks.

    however, it could be good OR bad.

    Look at the brainpower PCB for instance.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. TXcharger

    TXcharger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    431 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    SAN ANTONE, TX
    do you really need 10ft of heatpipes???

    bummer on the no extra dimm slots

    and the 1500mhz? who isnt gonna o/c this? lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    And the best part is, the roller coaster of heatpipes will only cost $500 :roll: (yes I did just pull that out of thin air, but...think about it).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,174 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    thats like someone with a water cooled PC.

    Theres always SOMEONE that doesn't overclock it :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,455 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,714
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    expensive board, however - with 1500MHz ram, at 1:1 ratio you can guarantee this mobo ram combo will be a hit with those obessed with CPU clocks. Board + ram are both certified to a certain level, only the CPU is left over.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I kind of like it. But they will have to offer a damn good warranty with integrated memory, so to speak. I hope they use D9s as well ::laugh::
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    812 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    I've been wondering why mobo manufacturers haven't done this same thing except with slower/cheaper memory hooked up to a SATA controller so that users could use that for their pagefile, except normal everyday users will prob see a better benefit from ASUS' implementation with better system memory speeds.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,174 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Ram doesn't behave like a hard drive in that you can treat it like a removable disk. (It would require a DDR/DDR2/DDR3 memory controller)

    Plus, if you lose power, your pagefile goes POOF.

    A hard drive does not.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    812 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    If it was hooked up (designed directly into the mobo itself) to the SATA controller you could it use just like any other SSD or I-RAM drive. Anything from another onboard battery to using high-speed flash memory could easily overcome the loss of power issue.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Well so far only Gigabyte has done something like that with their RAM drive........
     
  22. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,174 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    You ain't gonna power high speed ddr2 with a watch battery :laugh:

    But no, theres no way to just "hook it up" to the Sata controller.. DDR2/3 doesn't behave like that :laugh:

    http://images.anandtech.com/reviews/storage/GigabyteIRAM/xilinx.jpg

    http://www.anandtech.com/storage/showdoc.aspx?i=2480&p=2

    Thats most definatly not cheap, and it doesn't even come with ram!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    812 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    I'm not saying you're limited to DDR2 memory for an onboard pagefile. I'm imagining something like the I-RAM that's capable being designed with either non-volatile memory or using a battery (exactly like the I-RAM, however I think it's limited to far less than 24hrs. without external power) and integrated into the motherboard. I'm also aware that you'd need a controller in order to hook such a memory subsystem to the SATA chipset. My reason to hook it up in such a fashion is that the OS would see it as just another hard drive so that it'd be easy for any user to set their pagefile to the onboard device. This would give the advantage of having a much faster pagefile than using your HD. Would it be enough of a performance boost to warrent such an addition in price... depends on who you ask. I wouldn't think so but ASUS clearly feel they have a niche where onboard DDR3 memory is attractive despite its extra cost.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Boy that's cool, as long as 2GB is enough for you =) It screems for a crazybig CPU cooler, that blows air on all of that heatpipejungle :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,174 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Hopefully it FITS! :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)