• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Asus Radeon 5850 BIOS Flash Error

Sam7

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi all,

I have an Asus EAH5850 (EAH58502DIS1GD5) with its standard BIOS. I'm trying to change the BIOS fan speed settings, as it spins too slow and it is very hot where I live.

If I run GPU-Z v0.4.3 it gives the correct data for my card, but when I try to save the existing BIOS, GPU-Z refuses and says "BIOS reading not supported on this device".

So I boot into native DOS and save the BIOS with atiflash.exe (v3.79). Now I have the existing BIOS ROM file (128KB in size). I noted the checksum in DOS.

I load the BIOS file into Radeon BIOS Editor (v1.25) and it's all OK, it's the correct data and has the same BIOS checksum. I make the fan speed changes and save the BIOS to file NewBios.ROM.

I boot to native DOS and check the BIOS checksum of NewBios.ROM and it matches the original checksum.

Now when I try to flash it in native DOS (atiflash -p 0 newbios.rom) (or atiflash -f -p 0 newbios.rom), atiflash makes a comparison between the two cards (everything matches), but then it gives the following error and nothing is flashed: "ERROR 0F01".

Anyone has any idea why it does this. I did a search but could not find a solution.

Thanks a lot

System details (all stock, no overclocking):
Intel i5 750
Gigabyte P55A-UD3P
PSU Corsair TX750 750watt
RAM 4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR1600
Asus ATI Radeon HD5850

PS: I do not want to flash from within Windows as that is apparently not advisable for cards with GDDR5 memory.

PPS: I read the sticky on Flashing the 4870 and that is the same method I used.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
1,453 (0.51/day)
Likes
227
System Name 2K Gamer
Processor AMD 8370 @ 4.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Pro Gaming / Aura 970
Cooling Corsair H60 AIO
Memory 16GB G. Skill RipJaw @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Zotac AMP! GTX 1070
Storage Samsung 600 Gig HDD (Raid 0 @ 7,500) / WD 1TB Blue @ 7,200 / PNY 128 GB SSD For Linux
Display(s) 27'' ASUS 144MHZ G-SYNC Read 1400p Gaming Monitor / 23'' LG LCD Flatron W2361VG 1080p @ 50,000:1
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 HD Realtek
Power Supply 750w Corsair HX
Mouse Cougar Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse
Software Windows 10 64bit Education Edition
#2
I don't understand .... you can't the fan speeds by using CCC?
 

Sam7

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
I don't understand .... you can't the fan speeds by using CCC?
I'm very new to ATI but AFAIK you cannot regulate the fan speeds linearly via CCC, it can only be set to a single static fan speed. Or did I miss something?

What I want is for the fan speed to increase gradually as the card gets hotter (in games), else it can easily hover around 80C, which for me is too hot :) And that is why I want to alter the BIOS.

Thx
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
1,453 (0.51/day)
Likes
227
System Name 2K Gamer
Processor AMD 8370 @ 4.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Pro Gaming / Aura 970
Cooling Corsair H60 AIO
Memory 16GB G. Skill RipJaw @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Zotac AMP! GTX 1070
Storage Samsung 600 Gig HDD (Raid 0 @ 7,500) / WD 1TB Blue @ 7,200 / PNY 128 GB SSD For Linux
Display(s) 27'' ASUS 144MHZ G-SYNC Read 1400p Gaming Monitor / 23'' LG LCD Flatron W2361VG 1080p @ 50,000:1
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 HD Realtek
Power Supply 750w Corsair HX
Mouse Cougar Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse
Software Windows 10 64bit Education Edition
#4
Just set your fan speed in CCC to 45% and you Will be fine its not too loud...
 

mav2000

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
451 (0.14/day)
Likes
53
Location
Bangalore, India
System Name Project [E]
Processor 3570k @ 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Custom Water cooled
Memory 8 GB Gskill 2400 @ CL 11
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6950 unlocked
Storage 120 GB OCZ/1 TB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Benq Full HD
Case Coolermaster ATCS 840
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 850W Antec HCP
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#5
Either you can leave it as auto or change it manually to a single fan speed from CCC. If you want to change the fan speeds at various degrees heat then you have to change the fan profile in the bios and re flash the card.
 

Sam7

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Thanks for the suggestions.

Is there anyone who can perhaps shed some light on the cause of the problem I explained in my original post?

Thx
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2009
Messages
88 (0.03/day)
Likes
27
System Name littlek
Processor Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard Asrock B350M Pro 4
Cooling NH-U12S
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 2X8GB 3200MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 FE
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) Dell U2913WM
Case Jonsbo VR2
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX 850
Software Windows
#7
Thanks for the suggestions.

Is there anyone who can perhaps shed some light on the cause of the problem I explained in my original post?

Thx
i could be wrong but is the extension not .bin and not .rom?
ive flashed my powercolor 5850 with asus bios for the extra headroom when ocing and its working great 875/1300 fan in ccc @ 36% when gaming when im not gaming let the bios control it normally @ 21%
i think u shud get hands on with your card insted of trying 4 a ez fix
mayb that error was a good thing wut if it went through and u had a £250 brick?
 

Rik55

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
54 (0.02/day)
Likes
15
Location
Glasgow, UK
Processor CORE2DUO E6300 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q
Memory 2 x 2Gb GEIL DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ASUS HD4850 512Mb @700/1100MHz
Storage SEAGATE ST3500410AS 500GB SATA300, HITACHI HDS721032CLA362 300GB SATA300
Display(s) SAMSUNG SYNCMASTER T220
Power Supply ANTEC NEOPOWER 650W
Software WINDOWS 7 SP1 x64 RTM
#8
Sounds like you have a locked flash rom.

atiflash -unlockrom 0

But 80c is a good temp for the 5850. Do you have any crashes or artifacts at full load.
 
Last edited: