• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus Turbo GTX960 4gb Bios update question

Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
11 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
#1
Hey guys,

I have a Asus Turbo-GTX960-OC-4GD5 card currently running Bios 84.06.2A.00.14 (shipped with this).

I was looking at potentially updating the bios, however, on this site (and google) I can only find Bios for the STRIX (STRIX-GTX960-DC2OC-4GD5) or BLACK edition (GTX960-DC2OC 4GD5-BLACK) Asus cards.

the closest 'model' to my 4gb is the 2gb Turbo card (same listed clock and memory speed), and it has the bios 84.06.14.00.A2

the 4gb Black's bios is 84.06.2A.00.33 (seems like the bios numbers are the same except the last 2 digits?)

Is there any Bios out there that's specifically for the Turbo-GTX960-OC-4GD5 or is one of the above compatible/worth flashing?

Thanks for any input, haven't tried to flash a card that I haven't found a bios for!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
847 (0.34/day)
Likes
590
Location
Romania
System Name No name
Processor i5 8600k@4800Mhz 1.22v
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 UD3P
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 16GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga 980Ti SC + Accelero Xtreme III
Storage Kingston AV400 256GB, WD30PURX
Display(s) Asus MG279Q and AOC q3279vwfd8
Case Regnum RG4F Frosty White
Audio Device(s) XFI Music
Power Supply Seasonic G650 650W
Mouse Cougar 600M
Keyboard Asus Strix MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 5948 3dmark TimeSpy
#2
Is your card running fine ? if so, why update the BIOS ?
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
11 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
#3
Is your card running fine ? if so, why update the BIOS ?
Because every now and then in game itll drop to 135mhz idle clock, and one of the fixes (apart from constantly 'saving' bios in gpu-z to 'restart' it) is apparently a bios update...

Any input on the original post re: bios for that card?
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,338 (1.98/day)
Likes
9,209
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.175 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
3,456 (4.92/day)
Likes
2,563
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#5
Don't do it. Unless you are sure the VBIOS is at fault.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
3,456 (4.92/day)
Likes
2,563
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#8
Well, would need a newer bios to do that anyway, and haven't heard from anyone it exists so its currently not possible anyway haha
If your issue is that the card drops to a low clock speed that can be caused by many things , weak CPU , running out of VRAM , etc...
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
11 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
#9
If your issue is that the card drops to a low clock speed that can be caused by many things , weak CPU , running out of VRAM , etc...
Thanks, but dropping to a default rate isn't from a weak CPU (i have a x5670 Xeon at 4.2ghz, no way thats bottlenecking a 960 gtx) and its not Vram either, as usage is no where near Vram max when this is happening.

It goes from 1520mhz clock to 135mhz and wont move from it, unless i reboot or disable/enable the card in device manager, or as mentioned in my original post, use the 'save' bios option in GPU-z

View attachment 90401 By kind permission and on behalf of
So instead I should put up with this issue? I don't really see that as an option as its quite the annoyance at present.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,233 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,844
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Motherboard i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ/MYSTERY P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling MYSTERY Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory MYSTERY DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) MYSTERY 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 InchMYSTERY @1920x1080
Case MYSTERY e M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply MYSTERY ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#10
Thanks, but dropping to a default rate isn't from a weak CPU (i have a x5670 Xeon at 4.2ghz.... no way thats bottlenecking a 960 gtx) and its not Vram either, as usage is no where near Vram max when this is happening.



So instead I should put up with this issue?
Okay I think I understand what your getting to here....Have you made sure the Nvidia Control Panel /Power Management Mode is set to "Prefer maximum performance".


And Power Options is set to "High Performance"



SHit there one more thing but I'm forgetting right now (still on first cup of coffee) if it come to me I'll post it. Lets be sure we can't do it in this fashion first before a reflash.


EDIT, this isn't what I forgot but also make sure Vsync is off so your GPU is pushing Maximum it can leaving no room for idle speeds.

Welcome to TPU!!!!:lovetpu:

EDIT2: What are using to measure the GPU clocks?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
11 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
#11
SHit there one more thing but I'm forgetting right now (still on first cup of coffee) if it come to me I'll post it. Lets be sure we can't do it in this fashion first before a reflash.


EDIT, this isn't what I forgot but also make sure Vsync is off so your GPU is pushing Maximum it can leaving no room for idle speeds.

Welcome to TPU!!!!:lovetpu:

Thanks a lot for your time and kind post, already tried both of those things a while ago though... Pretty much done everything I could think of apart from the flash.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,233 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,844
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Motherboard i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ/MYSTERY P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling MYSTERY Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory MYSTERY DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) MYSTERY 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 InchMYSTERY @1920x1080
Case MYSTERY e M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply MYSTERY ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#12
Thanks a lot for your time and kind post, already tried both of those things a while ago though... Pretty much done everything I could think of apart from this.
Okay, I know this can be frustrating for sure! To rule out any user OS settings could you create another account on your PC with admin rights and test from there to see if it still happens? Also what OS are you using?
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
11 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
#13
Okay, I know this can be frustrating for sure! To rule out any user OS settings could you create another account on your PC with admin rights and test from there to see if it still happens? Also what OS are you using?
Not as frustrating as DPC latency issues :D hahaha, luckily I nailed that down to my keyboard raising it over time.

Windows 7 - already tried that too, and a full format a week ago.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,233 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,844
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Motherboard i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ/MYSTERY P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling MYSTERY Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory MYSTERY DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) MYSTERY 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 InchMYSTERY @1920x1080
Case MYSTERY e M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply MYSTERY ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#14
Not as frustrating as DPC latency issues :D hahaha, luckily I nailed that down to my keyboard raising it over time.

Windows 7 - already tried that too, and a full format a week ago.
Yeah DPC issues can be a bear to track down, no doubt! Well now I guess we all know why your willing to try the flashing as a possible option. Good luck on the quest for a solution!
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
11 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
#15
Yeah DPC issues can be a bear to track down, no doubt! Well now I guess we all know why your willing to try the flashing as a possible option. Good luck on the quest for a solution!
Well now I just need to find if an update exists or what one to use :D haha
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,233 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,844
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Motherboard i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ/MYSTERY P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling MYSTERY Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory MYSTERY DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) MYSTERY 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 InchMYSTERY @1920x1080
Case MYSTERY e M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply MYSTERY ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#16
Well now I just need to find if an update exists or what one to use :D haha
Please do update us if you do find a solution as that would be very helpful for future folks! Please stay and hang around as a member as your trouble shooting skills seem to be of a helpful nature for folks in need of assistance!
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
11 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
#17
Please do update us if you do find a solution as that would be very helpful for future folks! Please stay and hang around as a member as your trouble shooting skills seem to be of a helpful nature for folks in need of assistance!
Will do if I find a solution... Doesn't look like I can find any bios updates for the Turbo card, the Black card has the same bios numbers so I think it MAY work, but no way I am risking it right now without a decent backup card for gaming.

Thanks for the kind words, well hopefully I can help someone then :) I'm sure Ill have more questions of my own down the line anyway ;)

EDIT, this isn't what I forgot but also make sure Vsync is off so your GPU is pushing Maximum it can leaving no room for idle speeds.


EDIT2: What are using to measure the GPU clocks?
Just realised I didn't answer these questions, Vsync on/off doesn't seem to make a difference, apart from I cant handle Vsync off becuase of screen tears heh.

MSI Afterburner is what I usually use to monitor most things, cause it can do all in one, easier than having multiple things open :) (sometimes though I use CPU-Z and GPU-Z when trouble shooting)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
25,696 (5.55/day)
Likes
10,827
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#18
Seems to me, the logical first step would be Asus support. Logically, if this issue is GPU based, they know about it and should have no issue providing you with a BIOS.
 
Top