• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ASUS Unveils World's First PCI-Express 3.0 Motherboard for AMD Processors

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
ASUS did the unthinkable yet simple, by innovating the first AMD platform motherboard that features PCI-Express 3.0 x16 slots, the Sabertooth 990FX/GEN3.0 R2.0. Long naming aside, the board provides you a couple of gen 3.0 slots by using PLX-made 48-lane PCI-Express Gen 3.0 bridge chip.

While the board features four PCI-Express x16 slots, only two similarly-colored slots can be used at a time, of which two are PCI-Express 2.0 x16, wired to the 990FX northbridge, and two slots being x16/NC or x8/x8-capable, being wired to a PLX 48-lane PCI-Express Gen 3.0 switch, which in turn takes two PCI-Express 2.0 x16 links from the northbridge.

Show full news post
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,357 (1.91/day)
Likes
1,074
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
#2
To be honest I didn't know that AMD can't do PCIex 3.0...Or this is what I am understanding from article..
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#3
My explanation of the PCIe clusterfoo on this board.

 
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
1,016 (0.37/day)
Likes
224
Location
USA, Arizona
System Name SolarwindMobile
Processor AMD FX-9800P RADEON R7, 12 COMPUTE CORES 4C+8G
Motherboard Acer Wasp_BR
Cooling It's Copper.
Memory 2 x 8GB SK Hynix/HMA41GS6AFR8N-TF
Video Card(s) ATI/AMD Radeon R7 Series (Bristol Ridge FP4) [ACER]
Storage TOSHIBA MQ01ABD100 1TB + KINGSTON RBU-SNS8152S3128GG2 128 GB
Display(s) ViewSonic XG2401 SERIES
Case Acer Aspire E5-553G
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC255
Power Supply PANASONIC AS16A5K
Mouse SteelSeries Rival
Keyboard Ducky Channel Shine 3
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit (Version 1607, Build 14393.969)
#4
I'll just wait for the new LGA platforms next year from AMD with native PCI-E 3.0.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
According to the manual, the first and third PCIe are 3.0 x16, the third switches to x8/x8 with the fourth, and the second is 2.0 x16. It may not exactly be as Tarun diagrammed but it's still some kind of voodoo. I think they just used a single 2.0 x16 link from northbridge to the switch, and the rest is just marketing.

 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,808 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,796
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#6

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#7
According to the manual, the first and third PCIe are 3.0 x16, the third switches to x8/x8 with the fourth, and the second is 2.0 x16. It may not exactly be as Tarun diagrammed but it's still some kind of voodoo. I think they just used a single 2.0 x16 link from northbridge to the switch, and the rest is just marketing.

http://content.screencast.com/users...1b-4d5c-8e2e-4117004a2025/2013-01-09_1223.png
In that case it's a supermassive marketing fail. Just one 2.0 x16 link between the NB and x48 bridge.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
1,016 (0.37/day)
Likes
224
Location
USA, Arizona
System Name SolarwindMobile
Processor AMD FX-9800P RADEON R7, 12 COMPUTE CORES 4C+8G
Motherboard Acer Wasp_BR
Cooling It's Copper.
Memory 2 x 8GB SK Hynix/HMA41GS6AFR8N-TF
Video Card(s) ATI/AMD Radeon R7 Series (Bristol Ridge FP4) [ACER]
Storage TOSHIBA MQ01ABD100 1TB + KINGSTON RBU-SNS8152S3128GG2 128 GB
Display(s) ViewSonic XG2401 SERIES
Case Acer Aspire E5-553G
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC255
Power Supply PANASONIC AS16A5K
Mouse SteelSeries Rival
Keyboard Ducky Channel Shine 3
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit (Version 1607, Build 14393.969)
#8
In that case it's a supermassive marketing fail. Just one 2.0 x16 link between the NB and x48 bridge.
It is the same for Intel, supermassive marketing fail. How dare ASUS use Intel tech on AMD boards. :roll:

Sandy Bridge, Ivy Bridge = 1 x PCI-E 2.0 x16 lane to a 48-lane PCI-E 2.0/3.0 switch.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
It is the same for Intel, supermassive marketing fail. How dare ASUS use Intel tech on AMD boards. :roll:

Sandy Bridge, Ivy Bridge = 1 x PCI-E 2.0 x16 lane to a 48-lane PCI-E 2.0/3.0 switch.
Ivy Bridge is native 3.0, so 3.0 x16 to 48 lane switch.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
1,016 (0.37/day)
Likes
224
Location
USA, Arizona
System Name SolarwindMobile
Processor AMD FX-9800P RADEON R7, 12 COMPUTE CORES 4C+8G
Motherboard Acer Wasp_BR
Cooling It's Copper.
Memory 2 x 8GB SK Hynix/HMA41GS6AFR8N-TF
Video Card(s) ATI/AMD Radeon R7 Series (Bristol Ridge FP4) [ACER]
Storage TOSHIBA MQ01ABD100 1TB + KINGSTON RBU-SNS8152S3128GG2 128 GB
Display(s) ViewSonic XG2401 SERIES
Case Acer Aspire E5-553G
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC255
Power Supply PANASONIC AS16A5K
Mouse SteelSeries Rival
Keyboard Ducky Channel Shine 3
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit (Version 1607, Build 14393.969)
#10
Ivy Bridge is native 3.0, so 3.0 x16 to 48 lane switch.
Actually, if you read into the fine print the PCI-E lanes in Ivy Bridge are 2.0 lanes.

There is a reason why Ivy Bridge is only 200 MB/s faster than 990FX with a 680 GTX in bandwidth.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
Actually, if you read into the fine print the PCI-E lanes in Ivy Bridge are 2.0 lanes.
Actually if you read the datasheet, any review, any Z77 motherboard manual or spec sheet, any news site, and any Internet site anywhere with any info on Ivy Bridge, yes, they are indeed 3.0.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
1,016 (0.37/day)
Likes
224
Location
USA, Arizona
System Name SolarwindMobile
Processor AMD FX-9800P RADEON R7, 12 COMPUTE CORES 4C+8G
Motherboard Acer Wasp_BR
Cooling It's Copper.
Memory 2 x 8GB SK Hynix/HMA41GS6AFR8N-TF
Video Card(s) ATI/AMD Radeon R7 Series (Bristol Ridge FP4) [ACER]
Storage TOSHIBA MQ01ABD100 1TB + KINGSTON RBU-SNS8152S3128GG2 128 GB
Display(s) ViewSonic XG2401 SERIES
Case Acer Aspire E5-553G
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC255
Power Supply PANASONIC AS16A5K
Mouse SteelSeries Rival
Keyboard Ducky Channel Shine 3
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit (Version 1607, Build 14393.969)
#12
Actually if you read the datasheet, any review, any Z77 motherboard manual or spec sheet, any news site, and any Internet site anywhere with any info on Ivy Bridge, yes, they are indeed 3.0.
Nope.


The IC on the motherboard is PCI-E 3.0 but Ivy Bridge is indeed PCI-E 2.0 connected to PCI-E 3.0. How you can tell actual native PCI-E 3.0 from fake PCI-E 3.0, PLX Switches.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
Nope.
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/3081/hardwareheaven.jpg

The IC on the motherboard is PCI-E 3.0 but Ivy Bridge is indeed PCI-E 2.0 connected to PCI-E 3.0. How you can tell actual native PCI-E 3.0 from fake PCI-E 3.0, PLX Switches.
That chart doesn't mean anything in the context of this discussion. That simply shows that the Revodrive 3 X2 they were using for that specific test maxes out at about 1640MB/s with the parameters they tested it with. That card is PCIe 2.0. It is in no way going to show any dramatic difference when connected to a PCIe 3.0 host.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
1,016 (0.37/day)
Likes
224
Location
USA, Arizona
System Name SolarwindMobile
Processor AMD FX-9800P RADEON R7, 12 COMPUTE CORES 4C+8G
Motherboard Acer Wasp_BR
Cooling It's Copper.
Memory 2 x 8GB SK Hynix/HMA41GS6AFR8N-TF
Video Card(s) ATI/AMD Radeon R7 Series (Bristol Ridge FP4) [ACER]
Storage TOSHIBA MQ01ABD100 1TB + KINGSTON RBU-SNS8152S3128GG2 128 GB
Display(s) ViewSonic XG2401 SERIES
Case Acer Aspire E5-553G
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC255
Power Supply PANASONIC AS16A5K
Mouse SteelSeries Rival
Keyboard Ducky Channel Shine 3
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit (Version 1607, Build 14393.969)
#14
That chart doesn't mean anything in the context of this discussion. That simply shows that the Revodrive 3 X2 they were using for that specific test maxes out at about 1640MB/s with the parameters they tested it with. That card is PCIe 2.0. It is in no way going to show any dramatic difference when connected to a PCIe 3.0 host.
That is a 680 GTX. You have the right to believe anything you want...though. It doesn't mean sound will move faster than light anytime soon.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#15
That is a 680 GTX. You have the right to believe anything you want...though. It doesn't mean sound will move faster than light anytime soon.
No it's not. If you go back one page to the Test System and Methodology, it quite clearly states that a Revodrive 3 X2 was used for that test.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#16
That is a 680 GTX. You have the right to believe anything you want...though. It doesn't mean sound will move faster than light anytime soon.
Intel SAYS:








BTW, it's not just the switches, SLI support in BIOS also plays a role in PCIe 3.0 support. Boards without SLI, all support PCIe 3.0; P67, H67, Z68, Z75, H77, Z77 all inclusive.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,059 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,123
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#17
Asus, this is just silly and wasteful. Go sit in the corner and think about what you've done.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
395 (0.08/day)
Likes
251
Location
New Taipei City, Taiwan
#18
BTW, it's not just the switches, SLI support in BIOS also plays a role in PCIe 3.0 support. Boards without SLI, all support PCIe 3.0; P67, H67, Z68, Z75, H77, Z77 all inclusive.
Actually, SLI doesn't have too much to do with this.

If there are no PCIe switches between the CPU and the card, the card will run at it's maximum speed, in that case GEN3.

I think you're referring to the fact that SLI NEEDS switches on 1155 to operate (it requires x8 traffic, for both GEN2 and GEN3), otherwise you'd be stuck with a fixed configuration 8x8 board. The switches are there to redirect the traffic to the first card in case the clockgen in the PCH doesn't detect a card in the second slot.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#19
Actually, SLI doesn't have too much to do with this.

If there are no PCIe switches between the CPU and the card, the card will run at it's maximum speed, in that case GEN3.

I think you're referring to the fact that SLI NEEDS switches on 1155 to operate, otherwise you'd be stuck with a fixed configuration 8x8. The switches are there to redirect the traffic to the first card in case the clockgen in the PCH doesn't detect a card in the second slot.
Seems to be some Crossfire-only boards that run 3.0 on 2.0 bridges(Biostar). WTF is going on or why, whatever, I am not sure.

It's like when adding IVB support to BIOS, something weird happened.

I almost want to say that AMD allows PCIe 3.0 for VGA on PCIe 2.0 bus, regardless of bridges or what have you. If it's just encoding or whatever, I don't know. X79 is why I want to say that..you get PCIe 3.0 with AMD on any X79, NVidia on X79..not so much.

Don't forget x16/x4 boards, too.(support Crossfire, but not SLi, no bridges)

Not MSi products, but as you know, I've used very few MSi boards. ;)

Thanks very much for the input though, when it comes to MSi, of course your word is king. ;)
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
395 (0.08/day)
Likes
251
Location
New Taipei City, Taiwan
#20
Seems to be some Crossfire-only boards that run 3.0 on 2.0 bridges(Biostar). WTF is going on or why, whatever, I am not sure.

It's like when adding IVB support to BIOS, something weird happened.

I almost want to say that AMD allows PCIe 3.0 for VGA on PCIe 2.0 bus, regardless of bridges or what have you. If it's just encoding or whatever, I don't know.
Are they running Full x16? in case of Gen2 switches, the card can run GEN3 x8 (bypassing the switches) or GEN2 x16. In that case there's a minimal difference in latency and bandwidth that would prefer GEN3 x8 over GEN2 x16 when initializing.

Thanks very much for the input though, when it comes to MSI, of course your word is king. ;)
I can't bend Intel's rules :p

Don't forget x16/x4 boards, too.(support Crossfire, but not SLi, no bridges)
In this case the first slot is routed straight to the CPU and it will always init in x16, the x4 traffic will come from the PCH.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#21
I can't bend Intel's rules :p

I know, but as you know already, this has been something that has played out very weird on P67/Z68.

None of you OEMs really agree as to what's what, so I can only hold you to MSi products.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
395 (0.08/day)
Likes
251
Location
New Taipei City, Taiwan
#22
I know, but as you know already, this has been something that has played out very weird on P67/Z68.
the straight facts became too cluttered with marketing FUD with everyone falling over another to support "GEN3".

I know, but as you know already, this has been something that has played out very weird on P67/Z68.

None of you OEMs really agree as to what's what
Just some brands wanted you to believe that x8 GEN3 is the same as X16 GEN3 (saves a lot of money on the PCI Express switches!) :p
That's why I said, Intel is leading in this. Follow Intel's guidelines and you're good, skimp on them and you're bad. I just wish there was a mandatory certification for GEN3 :(
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#23
the straight facts became too cluttered with marketing FUD with everyone falling over another to support "GEN3".
Just some brands wanted you to believe that x8 GEN3 is the same as X16 GEN3 (saves a lot of money on the PCI Express switches!) :p
Ah, but otherwise, I got this PCIe 3.0 thing down right?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#25
We've had a few users now wondering about PCIe 3.0 on P67/Z68, and sometimes when using SB CPUs. This has not helped with the confusion. :roll:


And yes, a real standard would be great. :p