• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ATI enables HDR+AA in Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,071 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,986
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#1
Terry Makedon, the masterming behind the Catalyst Drivers sent around an interesting e-mail.

Terry Makedon said:
Guys I have something exciting coming very shortly today…. Feel free to write about it if you wish….

Game: Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

Situation: Game supports AA. Game supports HDR. Game don’t support both.

Introducing: later today…. The “Chuck” patch… supporting HDR AND AA…

Show full news post
 

Tory

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2005
Messages
337 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
Processor Athlon 64 X2 3800+
Motherboard Biostar TForce 6100
Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2GB G.skill DDR400
Video Card(s) 8800GTS
Storage 500GB Raid 0
Display(s) Sceptre 20.1inch wide 8ms
Case Ultra Aluminus
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 value
Power Supply Seasonic 430w
#2
That's sweet. Does this work for X800 users?
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#3
um no. this is for hdr cards only so the x1x00series. x800s do not have HDR and it wont be available even in the game settings. but bloom and aa are compatable together.
 

Tory

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2005
Messages
337 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
Processor Athlon 64 X2 3800+
Motherboard Biostar TForce 6100
Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2GB G.skill DDR400
Video Card(s) 8800GTS
Storage 500GB Raid 0
Display(s) Sceptre 20.1inch wide 8ms
Case Ultra Aluminus
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 value
Power Supply Seasonic 430w
#4
KennyT772 said:
um no. this is for hdr cards only so the x1x00series. x800s do not have HDR and it wont be available even in the game settings. but bloom and aa are compatable together.
Um? Um... Can you explain how a radeon 9500 has HDR and my card doesn't? Actually... don't bother because I've already played with HDR in lost coast and DOD:S
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#5
what you played with was bloom - a lower quality and more grafically intensive effect. i never said my card has HDR and for the record the only cards that can make use of this patch are the x1x00 series ati cards.
 

Tory

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2005
Messages
337 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
Processor Athlon 64 X2 3800+
Motherboard Biostar TForce 6100
Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2GB G.skill DDR400
Video Card(s) 8800GTS
Storage 500GB Raid 0
Display(s) Sceptre 20.1inch wide 8ms
Case Ultra Aluminus
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 value
Power Supply Seasonic 430w
#6
KennyT772 said:
what you played with was bloom - a lower quality and more grafically intensive effect. i never said my card has HDR and for the record the only cards that can make use of this patch are the x1x00 series ati cards.
Nope, not bloom. I it said HDR, I slected HDR, and I compared it with bloom to make sure it wasn't. Get up with the times man... SM3.0 is not HDR. They are unrelated. Even your 9600 can run HDR. Try it on lost coast or CSS or someting. Oblivion is just stupid and doesn't support it on purpose to make you upgrade.
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#7
ok then again you are claiming it on hl2 and dod:s. lemme know if u can run the extra tests on 3dmark06. and if u can theres somthing ur not telling the rest of us. but what you are actually running in hl2 is the best sm2 can do for a sm3 effect. you are not actually running HDR you are running an attempt at it. compare a screeny of HL2 on ur card with one from a x1800. you will see the difference.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,258
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#8
lol sm3.0 and HDR are different things people seriously did you even look at the 3dmark06 test? it says hdr 2.0 and hdr 3.0.
hdr = high dynamic range lighting, not shader model 3.0 seriously do some extremely basic research before posting.
the oblivion patch only works with the x1x00 series because x800 and x850 cards can only run sm2.0 hdr which already worked with aa on oblivion.
it was shader 3.0 hdr that was having trouble running aa. lol
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#9
i believe thats what i was getting at the whole time. oh well...once i get a new rig and a x1800gto i will be able to use aa and hdr...lol
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,258
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#10
and if you get the right one it seems a few x1800gto's have been unlocked to 16 pipes, thus an x1800xl for th gto price!
 

Anarion

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
485 (0.11/day)
Likes
0
Processor amd HAMMER SERIES 62% oc
Motherboard epox 8NPAJ
Cooling Active, Noisy , air
Memory gSKILL 2gb
Video Card(s) 2900 xt 1g
Storage diamondmax+
Display(s) 215TW HDCP 95%+! color accuracy
Case aluminium sHOW CASE BP
Audio Device(s) Behringer dj pro hpx4000
Power Supply acBel Ai iS
Software xp pro sp2
#11
Tory said:
Nope, not bloom. I it said HDR, I slected HDR, and I compared it with bloom to make sure it wasn't. Get up with the times man... SM3.0 is not HDR. They are unrelated. Even your 9600 can run HDR. Try it on lost coast or CSS or someting. Oblivion is just stupid and doesn't support it on purpose to make you upgrade.
u r simple wrong
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,962 (1.36/day)
Likes
832
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#12
its all right dreaming about new fancy effects.. but it takes a lot of grunt to run em.. i can cripple my x1900xtx card as it is never mind running hdr and aa together.. i did some comparing in oblivion last night and prefered bloom and aa to hdr anyways.. the perfomance seemed about the same between the two options..

as for running the pair of em together.. "in yer dreams" is my comment..

and as for looking at the 2006 canyon run and comparing it with the 2005 canyon run.. well thats another "in yer dreams".. there aint a system on the planet that could actually use effects like that to any extent and maintain playable frame rates and there aint likley to be for another two bloody years..

it works like this.. along comes the "theoretically" possible effects.. along comes a new 3d mark to show em off.. two years later along comes a system powerfull enough to make use of em.. he he he

still i will download the patch even i i wont be able to use it.. he he he

trog

ps.. hdr isnt available in oblivion with the x800 cards.. it is with the x1000 series.. not as it will do u much good unless u have a pretty top end one.. not having it and not having sm3 does have certain fps advantages.. it aint all downside..
 
Last edited:

Satchmo

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
406 (0.09/day)
Likes
0
Location
cali
Processor A64 3200+ @ 2.7ghz Venice S-939 33c idle 40c load
Motherboard MSI RD480 Neo2-FI Crossfire 200
Cooling Arctic ALPINE 64 on CPU, Arctic silencer on GPU
Memory 2x 1GB Wintec Ampo DDR450 2.5,3,3,6 T1 DualChannel
Video Card(s) X1600XT HIS @ 650core/810 44c idle 62c load
Storage HITACHI Deskstar 7K80 80GB 3.5" S-ATA@150mbps
Display(s) CRT 17" E-View
Case Spire BlueFin SP-6190U Blue/Silver
Audio Device(s) Azalia High-Defintion integrated audio
Power Supply Aspire 520 Watt W/ 35a 12v Rail
Software WindowsXP Pro SP2, 6.4 Catalyst, ATI tool .25 beta
#13
HDR is new. brand new, atis x1000 has it nv6800+ has it ONLY.

when the 9600 was made i doubt HDR was even concieved of bein seen simulated by computers. especially not in real time gameing.

bloom and hdr: not the same thing, although the effects resemble each other the concept is different

SM3 and hdr: not the same thing

x800 gto, xl, xt, pe x850: none of these have SM3 or HDR

x1x00 series radeons have HDR and SM3.

n6800+ have HDR and sm3 ( i dont know alot about Nvidia card so dont ask me here)

if you think youre actually playing HL2: lost coast WITH HDR on your 9600 you are mistaken.
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#14
truth is. hdr can be run on any dx9 card. truth is when run on 9x00, xx00 series it is SM2. some games allow a sm2 hdr although it is nothing compared to sm3 hdr. sm3 and hdr are not the same. half life was made to work with everything. oblivion is not therefore hl2 - sm2, sm3. oblivion sm3 only.
 

Dehx

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2006
Messages
21 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#15
LOL, I am so glad I bought a X1900XTX Instead of a n00b Geforce 7900 series. haha... I knew this would be possible. NVIDIA just got owned. lol. :toast: