1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATi OpenCL-Beta 2.0 (Cat 9.11)

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by erocker, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,069 (10.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,282
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i'm using crossfire AND multi monitor (and watching HD movies and remote desktop'ing...) (on a just released OS)... on beta drivers...


    so yeah it was kinda tricksy to narrow down why TF2 wouldnt start :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,836 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    594
    Location:
    New York
    :rolleyes::rolleyes:NICE:rolleyes::rolleyes:


    Sounds fun.:toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,069 (10.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,282
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    maybe its cause i havent rebooted since installing the drivers either...S3 sleep ftw



    oh btw, cat 9.10 official just came out - they may or may not actually be newer than these
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,836 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    594
    Location:
    New York
    Yes i want run them threw the standard take a see how they do now that they are official..probably no different than the rc though.

    I still want to mess with the ATI Stream stuff a bit more first tho.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Can anyone stick these somewhere?

    Created a login, but apparently no profile exists, and bad ssl is bad.

    TIA
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,836 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    594
    Location:
    New York
    huh:confused:what?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Have fun ;)

    As you can see, I can't login with a freshly created AMD account.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    It even lets me proceed quite far into the retrieve password, ie it knows my Secret question, but also fails with a similar message.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Hence I'm asking for links to the driver:
    ati-opencl-beta-driver-v2.0-beta4-vista-win7.zip (129MB)
    10/13/2009
    32-bit / 64-bit
    Required to run ATI Stream SDK v2.0-beta4 on AMD GPUs on 32-bit and 64-bit Microsoft® Windows Vista® and Microsoft® Windows® 7

    EDIT: It's ok, I got a link from somewhere else.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,836 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    594
    Location:
    New York
    Oh ok now I see....... Hmm I have it on my desktop ...but thats the only place i have seen it for download is the AMD site.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,069 (10.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,282
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i mentioned earlier that i had issues with steam games and these drivers.


    issues still exist on cat 9.10 WHQL, but its just a refresh rate bug - forcing the games to 60Hz via the "-refresh 60" command made them all happy again
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,836 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    594
    Location:
    New York
    which games on steam?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,069 (10.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,282
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    all the games using the HL2 engine.

    so HL2 and the episodes, TF2, L4D, etc
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,836 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    594
    Location:
    New York
    Oh ya thats right..... Strange cuz L4D works perfect on my rig with theses drivers:confused: Try your cards at stock and see?.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,069 (10.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,282
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    its purely refresh rate.


    i'm running crossfire with dual monitor one screen suffering the 59hz bug and one not - it may add another layer of complication
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,836 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    594
    Location:
    New York
    So dual monitor only???? Try switching your cards around?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,069 (10.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,282
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    it only happens in 9.10/9.11b, and theres an easy fix.

    why go ripping cards out for a (solved) software issue?

    its most likely related to the whole 59Hz bug being fixed at last, the games probably set themselves to a refresh rate that no longer exists
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,836 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    594
    Location:
    New York
    ahhh i see. kewl then.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    I found a bug in my system.

    The Direct X11 isn't set up right. DXdiag shows it on the 10.1 shader.

    Did clean install. Not sure what is going on.
     
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,441 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,777
    Are you running a DX11 card?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,069 (10.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,282
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    nope. he's on 4770's by specs
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,819 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    this driver works with tessellation on heaven benchmark where the offical 9.10 WHQL dont work
    btw regarding source engine games turn vertical sync off in catalyst control center and they should work fine ;)
     
    Mussels says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    Yes, HD5850. I updated my system specs.

    Not sure what is going on. DXDiag shows direct X10 as well as GPU-z.
    Did a clean install twice in a row.
     
  24. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    That didn't work.

    I did a 3rd clean uninstall and install then went into safe mode and ran crap cleaner and driver sweeper and finally found the .mom duplicates hiding and I got rid of them. Booted up and installed the beta 9.11 drivers and now I have directX11. Not sure what was going on. Clean uninstall and safe mode cleaning session fixed my problem.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)