• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AutoCAD GPU Acceleration w/ GTX 470?

Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#1
Pricing out a couple of workstations for an architect with i7s and 6GB of decent DDR3. He's going to be doing mostly 2D but also a good amount of 3D work in AutoCAD, and wanted to make sure that a consumer level nvidia GPU is going to be able to use its cuda cores to help out.

I've seen drivers for their workstation cards, but not for anything consumer level. If it won't work, should I bump up the RAM to 12GBs and snag a higher end processor than an i7 930, or will that be plenty? Also pairing with some RealSSD C300s. He will be using dual 30" monitors.

Thanks in advance guys!
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,256
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#2
dunno if fermi based softmods for quadros are out but if they are you can do bios mod or a softmod to a quadro for the cheaper price.

see an ancient article on the topic of geforce to quadro.

http://forums.techarp.com/reviews-articles/24105-nvidia-geforce-quadro-soft-mod-guide.html
http://www.techarp.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=539

article on fermi based quadros
http://www.deskeng.com/virtual_desktop/?p=2219

did i read that right? there's a dual fermi quadro 896 cuda cores ie gtx470x2?

edit: it totally is! http://www.nvidia.com/object/product-quadroplex-7000-us.html nvidia has a dual fermi card already!

double edit: nm false alarm
http://www.nvidia.com/object/qplex_display_configurations.html

it's a stand alone sli config. I thought it was a giant cooler or something.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#3
I honestly don't think any softmods are going to work past GTX 260s. That's the last kind that I found.

I assume that this CUDA Toolkit is what I would want to install on his machine, right?

http://developer.nvidia.com/object/cuda_3_2_toolkit_rc.html

Would a GTX 470 even work with that, or not? If a GTX 470 won't work, then what is a Quadro card for about the same price that we could get for him? The fermi-based cards start at about $800.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
207 (0.07/day)
Likes
46
Location
Houston,TX
System Name About_To_Be_Replaced
Processor AMD Deneb 955 OC to 3.82GHz
Motherboard ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory CORSAIR XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Vapor-X Radeon HD 5770 (Juniper XT) 1GB
Storage Crucial RealSSD C300 64GB SATA III (SSD)
Display(s) Samsung 2770HD
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 912 Mid Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W
Software Win 7 64 Bit Home Edition SP1
Benchmark Scores Build 1: Listed Specs Build 2: Waiting for SteamRoller
#4
What you have listed is even overkill even for AutoCADD 3D modeling. If it were Pro-Engineer, SolidWorks, or UniGraphics I would say use a workstation card but not AutoCADD. We still use Quadro FX 1700 cards here at work for Pro-E and AutoCADD. For AutoCADD it works fine but for Pro-E - it's okay but a little choppy when a lot of parts get put together. Also the 920 will work fine. - My $.02 worth
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#5
So no need for a high end GPU then?
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
557 (0.15/day)
Likes
118
Processor i7 920
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Fans
Memory 24 GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) gtx460
Storage spinners
Display(s) Dell 2001F
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply X750
Software win 7 x64 pro
Benchmark Scores fast...
#6
I'm not so sure that regular AutoCAD gets use of cuda. I have spent a fair amount of time on nvidia developers pages, and I think moldflow is the only autodesk product that uses cuda.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#7
AutoDesk's website doesn't even list the 4xx series as tested. It doesn't look like a non Quattro card can be certified, but they did test GT2xx cards and listed them w/ 100% compatibility. I'm sure they will eventually test and make sure the 4 series cards work, but maybe picking up a GTX285 on the cheap would be a more cost effective and proven compatible option.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#8
Thanks guys, I think I'm going to be tweaking the build quite a bit and catering it specifically towards AutoCAD itself.

Going to be going P55 with a high-end i5 6xx chip and 8GB of RAM, and I'll see what I can do about finding a GTX 2xx card.

Edit: See new thread:

Dual AutoCAD Machines for Architect
 
Last edited: