• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Basic Guide to Overclocking using Rivatuner

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
Ok, I've seen a lot of people wanting a simple way to overclock their video cards, and with ATITool no longer supporting a lot of newer cards, they find themselves at a loss. Rivatuner is usually the first thing suggested to them when they come where asking for ways to overclock their new graphics card, and they usually respond with something like "Rivatuner seems to complicated, there aren't any clock speed sliders anywhere".

Being that Rivatuner is such a powerful tool, it does have a lot of features, that can be overwhelming to the beginning user. However, if all you are looking to do is overclock your graphics card, Rivatuner is actually very easy to use once you know where to go. So I decided to write this very basic, and very simply quide on how to overclock using Rivatuner.

ATi:

When you first open Rivatuner, you will see the following:



You want to click on the small box that I have circled in red.

Then you want to click on the box with a picture of a video card, that I have circled here:



That will bring up the screen you see here:



These are the clock speed sliders, that most people struggle to find, they work just like the sliders in ATITool. There is no "Find Max" buttons, like on ATITool but those buttons haven't worked correctly in ATITool in years anyway. So you will have to do it manually, by increasing the sliders a little bit at a time, and testing for artifacts using benchmarks or even ATITool's test.

Most of the options on this screen are self-explanitory. And if you don't know what something does, chances are you don't need to mess with it.

If you click on the "Fan" tab, it will take you here:



This will allow you to adjust the fan speed on your video card, if you like.

Most of the options on this screen are self-explanitory. And if you don't know what something does, chances are you don't need to mess with it.

nVidia:

When you first open Rivatuner, you will see the following:



You want to click on the small box that I have circled in red.

Then you want to click on the box with a picture of a video card, that I have circled here:



That will bring up the screen you see here:



These are the clock speed sliders, that most people struggle to find, they work just like the sliders in ATITool. There is no "Find Max" buttons, like on ATITool but those buttons haven't worked correctly in ATITool in years anyway. So you will have to do it manually, by increasing the sliders a little bit at a time, and testing for artifacts using benchmarks or even ATITool's test.

Most of the options on this screen are self-explanitory. And if you don't know what something does, chances are you don't need to mess with it.

There is something special about nVidia cards, and that is the ability to change the clock speed of the shaders independently from the core clock speed. If you uncheck the box next to "Link clocks", Rivatuner will allow you to change the clock speeds of the core and shaders independently. If you leave the box checked, when you change one, the other changes also.

If you click the "Fan" tab, it will take you here:



This screen will allow you to change the fan speed on your graphics card if you like. You must select "Direct Control" from the drop down box that I have circled in red.

General:

When you have first installed Rivatuner, and are entering the overclocking screens for the first time, you will this:



If you have not used any other overclocking software, it is safe to select "Detect now", otherwise select "Reboot".

Also, remember that not all graphics cards allow manual fan control, even if Rivatuner allows you to move the slider around. If the slider does not affect your cards fan speed, then your card likely does not support manual fan speed control.

Automatic Fan Control:

The first thing you need to do is open up the fan control windows for either ATi or nVidia, as descibed above. Then set your fan to a setting you want, and click on the floppy disk icon to save that fan setting as a fan profile.


After you do this for each fan speed you want to save you should have a list of fan profiles.


You then need to go to the Launcher tab. Then you need to click on the green arrow.


You will get this window, just press ok.


That takes you to this window. You need to fill in the name yourself, make it the same as one of your fan profiles you have saved. Then put a check next to Associate with Fan Profile. If you are using an nVidia card, make sure it is set to driver-level, if you are using ATi make sure it is set to low-level. Then select the fan profile that corrisponds to the name you entered at the top. Do this for each fan profile you have set up.


Then go to the Scheduler tab and click on the green cross.


In this screen, you need to configure to look like mine, using your own fan profiles and filling in your own temperatures. On mine, this will raise the fan speed to 50% when the GPU core goes over 45C. You do this for each fan profile you made.


Then you need to make another one for the same fan profile. This one will lower the fan speed when the temp goes down. Always make this one activate at 5C lower than the upward trigger. This will stop the annoying fan speed changes that drive a lot of people nuts.


Planned Additions:
*Temp Monitoring
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
I wasn't sure if I should put this in the overclocking section of the Video card section, so I just put it here. Mods, please move this if you feel necessary.

For all you HD4890 and HD4770 owners out there:

The current version of Rivatuner does not natively support the HD4890 or HD4770. However, you can use it to overclock your cards. Here is how:

1.) Install Rivatuner.
2.) Download the Config file which I have attached to this post.
3.) Unzip the config file into the Rivatuner install directory.(Usually C:\Program Files\Rivatuner 2.24 or C:\Program Files(x86)\Rivatuner 2.24)
4.) Start Rivatuner.
5.) Overclock.

Getting Rivatuner to work with the nVidia 185.85 Drivers and later:

Rivatuner does work with the latest released drivers from nVidia. However, to get them working you must do the following:

1.) Go to the power user tab.
2.) Double Click on "Rivatuner \ System".
3.) Scroll down to "Force Driver Version".
4.) Set the "Force Driver Version" field to your driver version.(No periods or puncuation of any kind, so 185.85 would be 18585.)
 

Attachments

Last edited:

crtecha

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
2,407 (0.73/day)
Likes
204
Location
ipsay meechigan
System Name Coolin Runnings
Processor AMD X4 Phenom 9950 B.E. @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790x-DS4 BIOS Ver. F6
Cooling CM Vortex 752
Memory apacer PC6400 800mhz x 2
Video Card(s) Two ATI Radeon 4850's in xfire
Storage Seagate 7200.9 320gig+250gigx2
Display(s) Acer P191w 19' wide
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec Power trio 550watts
Software Windows 7 x64 Build 7100
#3
Great guide newtekie1!!!!
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
555 (0.15/day)
Likes
104
Location
Indiana
System Name Evil Dragon
Processor AMD FX-8320 Vishera @4.7ghz
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H100i V2(fully Lapped). 4 40mm NB/VRM fans. 6 Thermaltake Riing 12 Series fans
Memory 2X8gig GeIL EVO Veloce Series DDR3 1600 @9.9.9.26
Video Card(s) Powercolor Red Devil RX 480 (1400/2100)
Storage PNY XLR8 480gig SSD. Patriot Pyro SE 60gig SSD.
Display(s) ASUS VP228H LED
Case Thermaltake Core V31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC1150 W/Creative Sound Blaster Cinema 2
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ 110
Keyboard Roccat Isku FX
Software Win 10 Pro
#4
Awesome guide.

TYVM. :toast:
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
What problems are you having?
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.02/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#7
Can someone help me to overclock HD 4850 using Rivatuner??
Just follow the guide above. Start overclocking with small increments on the core first. After each increase, test the overclock with 3dmark06/Vantage or OCCT GPU tool. Once you get artifiacts, back it down a bit until the artifacts go away. Then do the same with the memory. That's all there is to it! Please remember to watch your temps!!
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
Yes, always make sure to keep track of you temps when overclocking.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Quick bump for the weekend crowd.

I'm going to add some things to the guide here in the near future. Right now, I'm planning on working on adding how to monitor temps using Rivatuner and how to log temps.

I'm open to suggestions for other basic tasks to add to the guide also, but I don't want this guide to get so out of control that people get overwhelmed reading it.

Maybe I'll use the second post I made as a place to post more advanced guides...
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2005
Messages
471 (0.10/day)
Likes
27
Location
Surrey, England
System Name The Beast
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 2x2Gb Gskill Ripjaw X @ 2133mhz 9-11-9-28 1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6950 2Gb no unlock :-(
Storage 3x500Gb 1x80Gb
Display(s) LG W2486L 24" LED Backlit 1920x1080
Case Hiper custom Osiris mid tower
Power Supply Hi-power modular 900W
Software Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#10
Nice little guide newtekie.
I must admit it took me a while to get to grips with rivatuner after using atittol for so long. It can seem a little daunting for the first time user.
 

stan82nc

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
Hi I'm new to tweaking computers and I thought this guide was very hepful. I would like to know if rivatuner can work on the gpu that comes stock with a premade laptop. Thanks for any help you guys give.
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.06/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#12
You're doing a good thing for new OCers and people looking to use Riva as well. Good job man. Very straightforward.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
Hi I'm new to tweaking computers and I thought this guide was very hepful. I would like to know if rivatuner can work on the gpu that comes stock with a premade laptop. Thanks for any help you guys give.
It should work with mobile GPUs in laptops, as long as it is an ATi or nVidia GPU. Though certain features might not work the same, such as memory overclocking if the GPU uses system memory.
 

torrent

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2009
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia
System Name Dark Knight
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 (3.45GHz@300*11.5)
Motherboard Gigabyte G31M-ES2L
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX2 | 120mm front intake fan | 120mm side fan | 80mm rear fan
Memory Corsair XMS2 2GB * 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD4830 512MB
Storage WD Caviar Green 500GB SATA HDD | Maxtor 160GB IDE HDD
Display(s) Dell E228WFP (1680*1050)
Case PowerLogic Modena GTX2000 casing
Audio Device(s) On-board 8CH Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply AcBel E2 Power 510W
#14
Hi There,
I am using Sapphire HD 4830, i have problem OC with Riva Tuner.

For my system, in the 'Low-level system tweaks' screen only 1 single 'Fan' tab appearing and no tab for Overclocking.

How to configure this? Thanks!
 

Attachments

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#15
First, make sure you are using the latest version of Rivatuner, it should support the HD4830.
 

torrent

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2009
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia
System Name Dark Knight
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 (3.45GHz@300*11.5)
Motherboard Gigabyte G31M-ES2L
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX2 | 120mm front intake fan | 120mm side fan | 80mm rear fan
Memory Corsair XMS2 2GB * 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD4830 512MB
Storage WD Caviar Green 500GB SATA HDD | Maxtor 160GB IDE HDD
Display(s) Dell E228WFP (1680*1050)
Case PowerLogic Modena GTX2000 casing
Audio Device(s) On-board 8CH Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply AcBel E2 Power 510W
#16
I am using 2.24, what is the next step?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#17
What version of the Catalyst Drivers are you using? The latest drivers might not be support by Rivatuner yet. You might try dropping back one notch if you are using the latest.

It seems that Catalyst 9.1 was the last supported and last reported to work propery, though I swear I was using 9.3 with my HD4670 in the guide, I'll have to check.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.07/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#18
Hi There,
I am using Sapphire HD 4830, i have problem OC with Riva Tuner.

For my system, in the 'Low-level system tweaks' screen only 1 single 'Fan' tab appearing and no tab for Overclocking.

How to configure this? Thanks!
Make sure you have the first 4830 selected. To check this, click on the black down arrow that is next to your listed video card and monitor. In the original post and first picture, for ATI, it is to the right of "ATI Radeon HD 4670\Generic PnP Monitor". Click that black down arrow, you can see it right above the tab that is circled in red in the very first picture.

For instance, yours will say "ATI Radeon HD 4830\...." and what ever monitor driver you have selected after the slash.

Newtekie, I've used up to 9.4 without a problem with it. The only thing that happens for me is I get a pop up that tells me that some of the functions of Rivatuner may not work because of an unsupported driver. Though, I've read that you can force support. I think it might be in the power user tab somewhere, but I'm not sure where.
 

torrent

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2009
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia
System Name Dark Knight
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 (3.45GHz@300*11.5)
Motherboard Gigabyte G31M-ES2L
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX2 | 120mm front intake fan | 120mm side fan | 80mm rear fan
Memory Corsair XMS2 2GB * 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD4830 512MB
Storage WD Caviar Green 500GB SATA HDD | Maxtor 160GB IDE HDD
Display(s) Dell E228WFP (1680*1050)
Case PowerLogic Modena GTX2000 casing
Audio Device(s) On-board 8CH Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply AcBel E2 Power 510W
#19
All, thanks for the help, i am such a noob, after updating to latest driver, the OC option appears ..

time for some overclocking!!! ;)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#20
Glad you got it sorted out.
 

akeedthe

New Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2009
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Q9550 @ 2.83 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q - Deluxe
Memory 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 PC2-8500 C5DF
Video Card(s) Palit HD 4870 Sonic Dual Edition 512MB [810/1070]
Storage 2xSamsung 500Gb HD501LJ RAID0|Samsung HD250HJ 250GB
Display(s) Acer P244W 24" 1080p HD
Case Codegen 9011
Power Supply FSP 700W
#21
do i enable "apply overclocking at windows startup"? i got my 4870 to 810/1060 while testing with furmark...
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2009
Messages
59 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Location
iEarth
System Name AMD/ATI Re-Building On-Hold / THE OLD AMD
Processor nothing atm/ Athlon XP 2500+ Barton 1.83GHz
Motherboard nothing atm/ Matsonic KT400A-8235
Cooling nothing atm/ Stock Socket A462
Memory 4Gb Corsair/ 512mb pc3200 no name
Video Card(s) nothing atm/ Gainward MX440 64/64
Storage 2x250GB (samsung+wd)sata + 80GB samsung IDE/ 80GB samsung
Display(s) 17" CRT Flat Mag Innovision 1280x1024@ 75Hertz
Case nothing atm/ HKC 7041D
Audio Device(s) nothing atm/ On-Board
Power Supply Gigabyte Superb 460w/ 400w no name PSU
Software Windows Vista Ultimate/ Ubuntu 7.4
#22
good guide thank you very much ^^ ill try it a bit later
 

akeedthe

New Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2009
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Q9550 @ 2.83 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q - Deluxe
Memory 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 PC2-8500 C5DF
Video Card(s) Palit HD 4870 Sonic Dual Edition 512MB [810/1070]
Storage 2xSamsung 500Gb HD501LJ RAID0|Samsung HD250HJ 250GB
Display(s) Acer P244W 24" 1080p HD
Case Codegen 9011
Power Supply FSP 700W
#23
well...when i test my 4870 with furmark my temps go to 74C max and with it im able to do 810/1060 - but when i test that clocks on OCCT gpu the temps go waaaay high like 86C and it crashes (VPU recover interrupts) so i brought my clocks to 800/1070 && ran OCCT now its stable at 82C and on furmark its at 75C...

why the difference? in clocks especially!!!...i know the temps may differ like when running prime95 & intelburn test
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#24
do i enable "apply overclocking at windows startup"? i got my 4870 to 810/1060 while testing with furmark...
All this option does is automatically apply the clock speeds when you restart the computer. You can enable it if you want. Though you have to disable and renable after every clock change for it to use the new clock speeds. If you don't enable it, you will have to apply your overclock each time you boot the computer.

well...when i test my 4870 with furmark my temps go to 74C max and with it im able to do 810/1060 - but when i test that clocks on OCCT gpu the temps go waaaay high like 86C and it crashes (VPU recover interrupts) so i brought my clocks to 800/1070 && ran OCCT now its stable at 82C and on furmark its at 75C...

why the difference? in clocks especially!!!...i know the temps may differ like when running prime95 & intelburn test
OCCT really stresses the GPU, which is why it crashes while Furmark doesn't. If you do the furmark stability test and it runs fine, I wouldn't worry about OCCT.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#25
Friendly Bump to hopefully help out some people.

Once I get my new rig built, and drop the HD4770 in it, I'm going to write the guide on how to monitor temps. I want to do it on a brand new machine because I think there are one or two prompts that only come up the first time you run the monitor, and I want to make sure I get those in the guide.