• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best bios for a reference 5870?

Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
2,872 (0.80/day)
Likes
1,810
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB, Crucial MX200 500GB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#1
I have a sapphire reference 5870 1gb. It's been working great so far but it is showing its age in new titles. I am trying to get the max out of my reference 5870. Right now I can get it to 900/1250 stable via AMD overdrive. I want to know if there are any good bios for reference 5870 1gb than clock higher than the limit of 900. Any suggestions?
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.82/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#2
Try MSI Afterburner and enable Unofficial Overclocking within the cfg file.

See if that will work before you flash it.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,587 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,974
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#3
I have a sapphire reference 5870 1gb. It's been working great so far but it is showing its age in new titles. I am trying to get the max out of my reference 5870. Right now I can get it to 900/1250 stable via AMD overdrive. I want to know if there are any good bios for reference 5870 1gb than clock higher than the limit of 900. Any suggestions?
Check ASUS BIOS. ;)
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
2,872 (0.80/day)
Likes
1,810
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB, Crucial MX200 500GB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#4
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
2,872 (0.80/day)
Likes
1,810
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB, Crucial MX200 500GB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#5
Try MSI Afterburner and enable Unofficial Overclocking within the cfg file.

See if that will work before you flash it.
I tried AB before, it is a handy tool but I prefer not to use 3rd party softwares.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
861 (0.28/day)
Likes
117
Location
Manteca, Ca
System Name Rebirth
Processor Intel i5 2500k @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Megahalem 120x25 x2 GT AP-15 Push/Pull
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X + MSI HD7950 TF3
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 120 SSD + Seagate 7200.12 1TB + 500gig WD + 3TB Hitachi
Display(s) X-Star Glossy DP2710
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar STX
Power Supply Antec CP-850
Software Microsoft Windows 8 Pro x64
#6
Would love to. But, which one? There are tons of BIOS in the TPU bios collection page!
This Bios This is the one i use i on my HIS card so it looks like i have two unlocked ASUS 5870s.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#7
I have a sapphire reference 5870 1gb. It's been working great so far but it is showing its age in new titles. I am trying to get the max out of my reference 5870. Right now I can get it to 900/1250 stable via AMD overdrive. I want to know if there are any good bios for reference 5870 1gb than clock higher than the limit of 900. Any suggestions?
Hi

First things First
Back up the bios from the vga card - extract it using GPU-Z [*Keep a copy in a safe place]

Note: open a copy of vga bios in RBE and check to see if the voltage registers are unlocked for GPU and VTT [max clocks will be limited if locked]

Establish Max Clocks
use afterburner to find max stable OC
use GPU-Z monitor temps

Note: unless you are on H2o, Keep an eye on the VRM temps

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:

AndrewK

New Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
31 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#8
What resolution you trying to game at? My guess is not enough Vram for the latest titles. If you game at 1080p or higher this is probably the case.

You are in luck though, as I need a 5870... sell it to me and buy you a new card! ;)

Good luck,
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
661
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#9
You can always look for a BIOS here on TPU which has higher max clocks, and use it in RBE to inject those values into the current one. Flash, restart, use CCC to OC, profit.

The main problem with 5xxx cards IMO isn't the performance but rather the amount of memory. I can play BF3 on ultra high (minus MSAA of course), but Windows repeatedly bugs me about not enough video memory.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,139 (1.79/day)
Likes
1,674
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.5ghz1.525c NB2.44ghz Ht2.64ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 16Gb @1600 cas8
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Asus Dual OC gtx1060 6Gb
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far 6600 3dmark
#10
Saphire trixx allows mine to hit 1000 core, beyond its limit , just disable ulp in trixxs settings
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,587 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,974
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#11
Would love to. But, which one? There are tons of BIOS in the TPU bios collection page!
This Bios This is the one i use i on my HIS card so it looks like i have two unlocked ASUS 5870s.
I do believe this is your answer. You can use RBE on these reference cards to edit CCC maximums.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,139 (1.79/day)
Likes
1,674
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.5ghz1.525c NB2.44ghz Ht2.64ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 16Gb @1600 cas8
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Asus Dual OC gtx1060 6Gb
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far 6600 3dmark
#12
Saphire trixx allows mine to hit 1000 core, beyond its limit , just disable ulp in trixxs settings
Dp phone error sos
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
2,872 (0.80/day)
Likes
1,810
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB, Crucial MX200 500GB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#13
I do believe this is your answer. You can use RBE on these reference cards to edit CCC maximums.
Hmm, do I need to add some voltage to the gpu core in order to get pass 900? Or is it just better to flash the card with the ASUS BIOS?

I assume the ASUS 5870 bios has higher overclock limit in the CCC right?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
2,872 (0.80/day)
Likes
1,810
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB, Crucial MX200 500GB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#14
You can always look for a BIOS here on TPU which has higher max clocks, and use it in RBE to inject those values into the current one. Flash, restart, use CCC to OC, profit.

The main problem with 5xxx cards IMO isn't the performance but rather the amount of memory. I can play BF3 on ultra high (minus MSAA of course), but Windows repeatedly bugs me about not enough video memory.
Good idea! Thanks!
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,587 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,974
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#15
Hmm, do I need to add some voltage to the gpu core in order to get pass 900? Or is it just better to flash the card with the ASUS BIOS?

I assume the ASUS 5870 bios has higher overclock limit in the CCC right?
Yes, the ASUS BIOS should have the higher limits. For voltage, I recommend using Sapphire Trixx as already posted by others.