• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Bios Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
Location
John Wayne Gacy's basement
System Name DOGEATDOG
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z87X-D3H 64 BIT
Cooling CORSAIR H50 HYDRO SERIES
Memory PNY 8 GIGS
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB Windforce
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal SSD
Display(s) INSIGNIA 55 INCH
Case THERMALTAKE TSUNAMI
Audio Device(s) SOUNDMAX
Power Supply 550 W.
Software WINDOWS 10
#1
My Brother has this Toshiba Laptop PC.. & he got a popup from Toshiba that told him that there was a Bios update lol so he "clicked" on that & updated it.. Well it killed his Laptop! wiped out the Bios.... (yes I told him if it isn't broke don't fix it) but he had no idea what bios does. I so know what bios does and what it's for & why it would be necessary to update it. My Question is How can I load bios back onto the chip? any search criteria I use only brings up people who have had this same problem. If Bios was loaded onto the chip then it can be loaded back onto it.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,043 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,648
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#2
Did you try to reset it? Is it still under warranty? The BIOS needs to be replaced if a reset does not work
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.83/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#3
You will have to blind flash it back to the last bios version.

Cant remember how to do that but a search should find it for you.

I remember reading about it but its been awhile.

Crap I might be thinking video...im tired.

You cant bring up the bios at all?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
Location
John Wayne Gacy's basement
System Name DOGEATDOG
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z87X-D3H 64 BIT
Cooling CORSAIR H50 HYDRO SERIES
Memory PNY 8 GIGS
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB Windforce
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal SSD
Display(s) INSIGNIA 55 INCH
Case THERMALTAKE TSUNAMI
Audio Device(s) SOUNDMAX
Power Supply 550 W.
Software WINDOWS 10
#4
oh man (blind flash) ok let me look that up........ thanks
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,043 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,648
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#5
Its not blind flash that's for GPUs Its hot flash but try to reset it first. Again is it under warranty?

I would get Toshiba on the phone. Its there update that screwed you
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
Location
John Wayne Gacy's basement
System Name DOGEATDOG
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z87X-D3H 64 BIT
Cooling CORSAIR H50 HYDRO SERIES
Memory PNY 8 GIGS
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB Windforce
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal SSD
Display(s) INSIGNIA 55 INCH
Case THERMALTAKE TSUNAMI
Audio Device(s) SOUNDMAX
Power Supply 550 W.
Software WINDOWS 10
#6
Its not blind flash that's for GPUs Its hot flash but try to reset it first. Again is it under warranty?

I would get Toshiba on the phone. Its there update that screwed you
yes his PC is under warranty but he's leaving for Afghanistan in a week & he wants it working by then. I'm finding new content by these new search words... thanks
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
Location
John Wayne Gacy's basement
System Name DOGEATDOG
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z87X-D3H 64 BIT
Cooling CORSAIR H50 HYDRO SERIES
Memory PNY 8 GIGS
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB Windforce
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal SSD
Display(s) INSIGNIA 55 INCH
Case THERMALTAKE TSUNAMI
Audio Device(s) SOUNDMAX
Power Supply 550 W.
Software WINDOWS 10
#7
You will have to blind flash it back to the last bios version.

Cant remember how to do that but a search should find it for you.

I remember reading about it but its been awhile.

Crap I might be thinking video...im tired.

You cant bring up the bios at all?
No his Laptop will not boot up at all... even the fan will not spin up... only a power light & a battery light ..
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
There is a key combination, you hold then it will enter
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
Location
John Wayne Gacy's basement
System Name DOGEATDOG
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z87X-D3H 64 BIT
Cooling CORSAIR H50 HYDRO SERIES
Memory PNY 8 GIGS
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB Windforce
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal SSD
Display(s) INSIGNIA 55 INCH
Case THERMALTAKE TSUNAMI
Audio Device(s) SOUNDMAX
Power Supply 550 W.
Software WINDOWS 10
#9
There is a key combination, you hold then it will enter
Yes from what I'm reading it's Fn Key + B.......... I'm researching the hell out of this right now.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
Yes from what I'm reading it's Fn Key + B.......... I'm researching the hell out of this right now.
They are various keys too, plus you will need to have the BIOS in a boot-able flash drive or disk for it to work, it's basically blind flash.

Unfortunately very many Toshiba laptops have this problem, i have since moved all my clients to Acer, Dell and other brands just not Toshiba, i don't recommend Toshiba to anyone any more for the last 3 years.

Most of this incidences lead to the BIOS chip has to be changed or simply Toshiba will recommend that you need a new motherboard. If the blind flash method does not work.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
Location
John Wayne Gacy's basement
System Name DOGEATDOG
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z87X-D3H 64 BIT
Cooling CORSAIR H50 HYDRO SERIES
Memory PNY 8 GIGS
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB Windforce
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal SSD
Display(s) INSIGNIA 55 INCH
Case THERMALTAKE TSUNAMI
Audio Device(s) SOUNDMAX
Power Supply 550 W.
Software WINDOWS 10
#11
They are various keys too, plus you will need to have the BIOS in a boot-able flash drive or disk for it to work, it's basically blind flash.

Unfortunately very many Toshiba laptops have this problem, i have since moved all my clients to Acer, Dell and other brands just not Toshiba, i don't recommend Toshiba to anyone any more for the last 3 years.

Most of this incidences lead to the BIOS chip has to be changed or simply Toshiba will recommend that you need a new motherboard. If the blind flash method does not work.
Yeah I'll keep trying I want my brother to have a PC when he's over "there"
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
817 (0.26/day)
Likes
93
Location
Bannock County
Processor AMD FX-8320 4.1Ghz
Motherboard Asus Aura
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 SC
Storage Intel 535 Series SSD + Seagate FireCuda 2TB
Case NZXT
Power Supply EVGA 650 Watt
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
#12
Try removing the battery while the laptop is still plugged in... Hold the power button for like 30 seconds to power off. Wait a minute or two then power back on holding the F2 key. There should be an option to reset the bios. Has worked on some older laptops.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#13
What is the laptop model? More specifically what type of BIOS did it had? Insyde? AMI? Award Phoenix? There are different BIOS recovery methods for each of them.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
1,592 (0.74/day)
Likes
530
Location
Bulgaria
System Name HyperMainframe
Processor G4560
Motherboard Asus PRIME H270M-PLUS
Cooling Thermaltake Gravity i1
Memory 1 x 8GB Cruicial 2400 mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) RX 560 2 GB Gigabyte Gaming Edition
Storage Cruicial M.2 275GB drive + WD black 500 GB + WD Blue 640 GB
Display(s) 2560x1080 LG 29" + LG 22mp67vq-p
Case Deepcool D-Shield
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M500W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Somethin wireless
Software Windows 10 x 64 bits
Benchmark Scores Superposition benchmark : 1080p Medium - 4270 pts.
#14
+1 for Morrison, I had to make a fresh install on one Toshiba laptop, but it kept giving "BSODs" on the BIOS update prior to the Windows installation. Took the battery out, held the start button for 30 seconds. Plugged in only the power cord (no battery), and everything went smooth as butter. Give it a shot.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
Location
John Wayne Gacy's basement
System Name DOGEATDOG
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z87X-D3H 64 BIT
Cooling CORSAIR H50 HYDRO SERIES
Memory PNY 8 GIGS
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB Windforce
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal SSD
Display(s) INSIGNIA 55 INCH
Case THERMALTAKE TSUNAMI
Audio Device(s) SOUNDMAX
Power Supply 550 W.
Software WINDOWS 10
#15
What is the laptop model? More specifically what type of BIOS did it had? Insyde? AMI? Award Phoenix? There are different BIOS recovery methods for each of them.
I have no idea what the bios version was but the model # & make are toshiba p875-s7200 it was running Award Phoenix
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
Location
John Wayne Gacy's basement
System Name DOGEATDOG
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z87X-D3H 64 BIT
Cooling CORSAIR H50 HYDRO SERIES
Memory PNY 8 GIGS
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB Windforce
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal SSD
Display(s) INSIGNIA 55 INCH
Case THERMALTAKE TSUNAMI
Audio Device(s) SOUNDMAX
Power Supply 550 W.
Software WINDOWS 10
#16
Try removing the battery while the laptop is still plugged in... Hold the power button for like 30 seconds to power off. Wait a minute or two then power back on holding the F2 key. There should be an option to reset the bios. Has worked on some older laptops.
Yes Iv'e tried that many times & that didn't work at all.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
619 (0.33/day)
Likes
34
#17
My Brother has this Toshiba Laptop PC.. & he got a popup from Toshiba that told him that there was a Bios update lol so he "clicked" on that & updated it.. Well it killed his Laptop! wiped out the Bios.... (yes I told him if it isn't broke don't fix it) but he had no idea what bios does. I so know what bios does and what it's for & why it would be necessary to update it. My Question is How can I load bios back onto the chip? any search criteria I use only brings up people who have had this same problem. If Bios was loaded onto the chip then it can be loaded back onto it.
HAHA yea, it is BUSTED, he needs a new MOBO now!!! :banghead:

And for your info, it's Not Possible to put BIOS back on the chip. Well, let me put it this way, it's possible but Far Cheaper to simply buy a new MOBO then to try to buy the thousands (or tens of thousands) of dollars worth of equipment needed to restore a bios (and not to mention the tech who has the skills to operate it). And even then it's not absolutely cetain that the BIOS could be restored.

And if the BIOS is busted, they will not take it back for returns.

In summary, time for you to go shopping for a new MOBO (or new laptop). You can probably still sell the laptop for parts (except MOBO), or you may try to sell the hole thing on ebay as NOT WORKING, BIOS DEAD and explain what happened. Some person out there may be willing to pay so that at least you get something back instead of having a total loss.

Alternatively you could try to return it to the manufacturer, but don't tell them how you broke it, just say it stopped working. But of course this is not entirely ethical; but if you don't get caught, then no one will know (after all, it was their fault they sent a BIOS update to a layman). But don't be surprised if they send it back and not give the refund if they find out it was your fault.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
Location
John Wayne Gacy's basement
System Name DOGEATDOG
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z87X-D3H 64 BIT
Cooling CORSAIR H50 HYDRO SERIES
Memory PNY 8 GIGS
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB Windforce
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal SSD
Display(s) INSIGNIA 55 INCH
Case THERMALTAKE TSUNAMI
Audio Device(s) SOUNDMAX
Power Supply 550 W.
Software WINDOWS 10
#18
HAHA yea, it is BUSTED, he needs a new MOBO now!!! :banghead:

And for your info, it's Not Possible to put BIOS back on the chip. Well, let me put it this way, it's possible but Far Cheaper to simply buy a new MOBO then to try to buy the thousands (or tens of thousands) of dollars worth of equipment needed to restore a bios (and not to mention the tech who has the skills to operate it). And even then it's not absolutely cetain that the BIOS could be restored.

And if the BIOS is busted, they will not take it back for returns.

In summary, time for you to go shopping for a new MOBO (or new laptop). You can probably still sell the laptop for parts (except MOBO), or you may try to sell the hole thing on ebay as NOT WORKING, BIOS DEAD and explain what happened. Some person out there may be willing to pay so that at least you get something back instead of having a total loss.

Alternatively you could try to return it to the manufacturer, but don't tell them how you broke it, just say it stopped working. But of course this is not entirely ethical; but if you don't get caught, then no one will know (after all, it was their fault they sent a BIOS update to a layman). But don't be surprised if they send it back and not give the refund if they find out it was your fault.
You know what! who are you to be so smug & ignorant about Hot Flashing a BIOS Chip? I fixed my problem... That's Right:rockout: I fixed it... Download the latest bios, I extracted, & renamed exe to *.zip, & copy the file with *.rom extension and paste to folder, in the folder crisis...I created a boot disc from a flash drive & pressed Fn + B while turning on the PC & it (re-installed) the BIOS.. And What did you say ummm oh yeah..(Not Possible) pffffft you were wrong.. but that's ok everyone can be wrong... Iv'e been wrong many times... Listen you condensing little ass! I come here for help & to read up on the latest Tech News, I don't wanna hear someone like you sit there & berate me or anyone else who is looking for help ..
Oh what was this?((((And if the BIOS is busted, they will not take it back for returns.)<-- you said that.. infact a Toshiba Rep said they would replace it, because it was their Bios update that they put out & they were getting hundreds of calls... but again my brother if is doing another tour in the Middle East....you know that war over there?

Alternatively you could try to return it to the manufacturer, but don't tell them how you broke it, just say it stopped working. But of course this is not entirely ethical; but if you don't get caught, then no one will know (after all, it was their fault they sent a BIOS update to a layman). But don't be surprised if they send it back and not give the refund if they find out it was your fault.
You see there! your words are so contradictory... it wasn't my fault I never updated the BIOS. ..the (contradictory) part is you saying it was their fault then saying it was my fault & it wasn't me who again didn't update the BIOS.. really dude how is that any help to anything? please read some books on social & word structure skills. :cool:

And What was this other rude condensing words you through at me?
"(Alternatively you could try to return it)"
... Really dude? let me make this perfectly clear! that laptop is still under warranty & they (Toshiba) are still willing to fix it "FOR FREE".... However! My brother is being shipped off to AFGHANISTAN IN ONE WEEK! & Toshiba told him it would take 1 to 2 months before he'd get his Laptop back! IF YOU HAD READ MY INITIAL POST YOU'D KNOW THAT!
& Your
(HAHA yea, it is BUSTED, he needs a new MOBO now)
....wow If I wanted to be harassed, & berated in some public threads over this I'd go into youtube videos & post this issue there.. "Let me make this perfectly clear" I came here for the communities help not to be chastised by some kid who has no idea how to carry on a civil convo in a public forum... let me also say that I have been a member here for 8 years & I have never had anyone treat me in such a negative manner or post the trash that you posted to me here tonight! Listen here man! everything you said (new MOBO) oh and what was that other trash you posted to me?
(And for your info, (it's Not Possible to put BIOS back on the chip.)
really? how is that even close to even helping anyone when the facts are that IT IS POSSIBLE! ........Just reading through your [Zero] of a help post makes me sick! & I will flag your post.. you shouldn't even be aloud to be here with your "typical tired" internet forum trash... Thanks for nothing & stating the Obvious in this issue! But hey despite your rude disgusting post I fixed my problem just from a few words from (Jetster) "Hot flash"
I want to thanks all the guys who really took the time to help. And to you "vawrvawerawe" you need to google manners oh wait let me do that for you.. http://lmgtfy.com/?q=manners maybe next time you can do some research before you sit down & write some horrid un-helping post
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#19
He said he's got warranty. I would claim it if it was me. These companies are pure evil! How can a BIOS update brick an entire machine? And this is not just him. I saw plenty of users on the internet with similar problems.

So I would go to the service center and simply tell them the laptop is not working. I don't know anything else as of why or how! Now its their responsibility to repair it. As for the dishonesty part, it is not the user's fault if the BIOS bricks due to UPDATING AS STATED by the MANUFACTURER!

So if the manufacturer is dishonest, I will be too. Tit for tat!

I have no idea what the bios version was but the model # & make are toshiba p875-s7200 it was running Award Phoenix
Looks like Toshiba has got their own modded BIOS. Try a few things though. Get a pendrive and put the BIOS file in it and rename it to BIOS.fd, BIOS.rom, BIOS.bin. Insert the pen drive and see if it accesses the pen drive or not(having an LED in the pen drive will let you know as it will blink). Or the best is go to a Toshiba service center. If the problem is just wrong BIOS flash, they should repair it in no time. Just request them to do it quick as you are in a hurry.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,043 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,648
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#20
He said its fixed
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
Location
John Wayne Gacy's basement
System Name DOGEATDOG
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z87X-D3H 64 BIT
Cooling CORSAIR H50 HYDRO SERIES
Memory PNY 8 GIGS
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB Windforce
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal SSD
Display(s) INSIGNIA 55 INCH
Case THERMALTAKE TSUNAMI
Audio Device(s) SOUNDMAX
Power Supply 550 W.
Software WINDOWS 10
#21
Looks like Toshiba has got their own modded BIOS. Try a few things though. Get a pendrive and put the BIOS file in it and rename it to BIOS.fd, BIOS.rom, BIOS.bin. Insert the pen drive and see if it accesses the pen drive or not(having an LED in the pen drive will let you know as it will blink). Or the best is go to a Toshiba service center. If the problem is just wrong BIOS flash, they should repair it in no time. Just request them to do it quick as you are in a hurry.
Everything worked out & I fixed it
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#22
Issues resolved, thread closed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.