• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Blank Red Screen

Evolved

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
352 (0.14/day)
Likes
38
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Cookies N Cream Sundae with Strawberries on top.
Processor Intel | i7 2600K | 4.2Ghz | 1.30v | HT Disabled
Motherboard Asus | Maximus IV Extreme | P67 Chipset | B3 Revision
Cooling Corsair H80 | BZ-502B | Corsair SP120/AF120 | 200mm Spectre Pro
Memory Mushkin Blackline | DDR3 | CL8 | 4x2GB @ 1600Mhz | 1.50v
Video Card(s) Asus | GTX 670 | DirectCU II | GPU: 1056Mhz | MEM: 1803Mhz
Storage Mushkin | Chronos Deluxe | 240GB | R: 560MB/s | W: 520MB/s
Display(s) Asus | VE248H | 24" | LED
Case Corsair | Graphite Series | 600T White | Window Side-Panel
Audio Device(s) Realtek | HD Audio | Creative | Sound Blaster | X-Fi | Go! Pro
Power Supply Corsair | AX850 | 80+ Gold certified | Fully modular
Software Microsoft | Windows 7 | Professional | x64 | OEM
Benchmark Scores BlackWidow | DeathAdder | Goliathus | Creative Fatal1ty Headset
#1
It's happened, literally, four times now.

Within the past three days, I've experienced random red screen's of death.

Whether I'm watching a movie or just idle on my desktop and talking to friends on teamspeak, my screen will randomly and instantly turn RED!

As a matter of fact, it just happened exactly one minute from this post. I just had to restart my computer manually.

Any idea what's going on? This is the first time I have ever seen and experienced this, and it seems like it's going to be an on-going problem unless it's fixed.

There has been some subtle changes in my system; replaced an AMD video card and now, currently using, an Nvidia card.

I also installed an OEM copy of Windows 7 Professional 64-bit; the LEGIT copy.

So, what's the hypothesis?


EDIT: Other things are; my Asus GTX 670 DCU II is overclocked using Asus GPU Tweak, but not even by that much; only 100Mhz on both the GPU and Memory.
 

Evolved

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
352 (0.14/day)
Likes
38
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Cookies N Cream Sundae with Strawberries on top.
Processor Intel | i7 2600K | 4.2Ghz | 1.30v | HT Disabled
Motherboard Asus | Maximus IV Extreme | P67 Chipset | B3 Revision
Cooling Corsair H80 | BZ-502B | Corsair SP120/AF120 | 200mm Spectre Pro
Memory Mushkin Blackline | DDR3 | CL8 | 4x2GB @ 1600Mhz | 1.50v
Video Card(s) Asus | GTX 670 | DirectCU II | GPU: 1056Mhz | MEM: 1803Mhz
Storage Mushkin | Chronos Deluxe | 240GB | R: 560MB/s | W: 520MB/s
Display(s) Asus | VE248H | 24" | LED
Case Corsair | Graphite Series | 600T White | Window Side-Panel
Audio Device(s) Realtek | HD Audio | Creative | Sound Blaster | X-Fi | Go! Pro
Power Supply Corsair | AX850 | 80+ Gold certified | Fully modular
Software Microsoft | Windows 7 | Professional | x64 | OEM
Benchmark Scores BlackWidow | DeathAdder | Goliathus | Creative Fatal1ty Headset
#2
Nobody knows eh?

Could it be a faulty GPU?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#3
Do you have any hardware monitoring programs open when this happens? I thought I heard on here about RSODs with GTX 600 cards and using 2 monitoring programs at once e.g. GPU-Z and HWMonitor. That's all I really have as far as input at the moment.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
Location
Kolkata
System Name Constantly changing!
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling NH D14
Memory Corsair value select @ 1800MHZ CL7
Video Card(s) HD 7850
Storage some old and slow ones!
Case HAF-X
Power Supply AX 1200W
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/sumonpathak
#4
Rma the GPU.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,733 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,520
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#5
I remember back in the day, red screens came from bad cables or the fact that you didn't screw in a DVI and it worked its way loose.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2011
Messages
143 (0.06/day)
Likes
23
System Name Fortress8
Processor AMD FX 8320 4.0GHz 4.5GHz Tubo (undervolted)
Motherboard ASRock 970M Pro3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G.Skill 32GB RipjawX @ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire OC 7870 2GB
Storage 1x OCZ Arc 100,2x WD 3TB Green
Display(s) LG 23" IPS full hd and 2x Acer G22 LCD Monitor
Case Silverstone LC-17 Black | Silverstone FT-03B
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Silverstone Strider 550W ST55F-G
Mouse shopping around
Keyboard shopping around
Software MS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
#6
usually bad graphic memory from my experience
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,468 (10.09/day)
Likes
18,146
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#7
I googled "GTX 670 red screen" and got a lot of hits. Seems like a bad card.
 

Evolved

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
352 (0.14/day)
Likes
38
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Cookies N Cream Sundae with Strawberries on top.
Processor Intel | i7 2600K | 4.2Ghz | 1.30v | HT Disabled
Motherboard Asus | Maximus IV Extreme | P67 Chipset | B3 Revision
Cooling Corsair H80 | BZ-502B | Corsair SP120/AF120 | 200mm Spectre Pro
Memory Mushkin Blackline | DDR3 | CL8 | 4x2GB @ 1600Mhz | 1.50v
Video Card(s) Asus | GTX 670 | DirectCU II | GPU: 1056Mhz | MEM: 1803Mhz
Storage Mushkin | Chronos Deluxe | 240GB | R: 560MB/s | W: 520MB/s
Display(s) Asus | VE248H | 24" | LED
Case Corsair | Graphite Series | 600T White | Window Side-Panel
Audio Device(s) Realtek | HD Audio | Creative | Sound Blaster | X-Fi | Go! Pro
Power Supply Corsair | AX850 | 80+ Gold certified | Fully modular
Software Microsoft | Windows 7 | Professional | x64 | OEM
Benchmark Scores BlackWidow | DeathAdder | Goliathus | Creative Fatal1ty Headset
#8
I kept my computer on since this morning, around 10:00am.

I opened a bunch of applications and kept a game on to put some stress on my system.

So far, there has been no red screen; and this is after I uninstalled Asus GPU Tweak and GPU-Z.

GPU Tweak may have been the problem. So far, no red screen. I will try furmark, again when I get home.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderatorâ„¢
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#9
Crap. I had googled this too, apparently quite a number of Asus 670 Direct CUII are having this issue :(

Check your clocks in-game. Apparently from what I read some of the cards in-game are going higher than the factory overclock.

There's another member having a similar issue with the same card. You might want to check it out.
 

Evolved

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
352 (0.14/day)
Likes
38
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Cookies N Cream Sundae with Strawberries on top.
Processor Intel | i7 2600K | 4.2Ghz | 1.30v | HT Disabled
Motherboard Asus | Maximus IV Extreme | P67 Chipset | B3 Revision
Cooling Corsair H80 | BZ-502B | Corsair SP120/AF120 | 200mm Spectre Pro
Memory Mushkin Blackline | DDR3 | CL8 | 4x2GB @ 1600Mhz | 1.50v
Video Card(s) Asus | GTX 670 | DirectCU II | GPU: 1056Mhz | MEM: 1803Mhz
Storage Mushkin | Chronos Deluxe | 240GB | R: 560MB/s | W: 520MB/s
Display(s) Asus | VE248H | 24" | LED
Case Corsair | Graphite Series | 600T White | Window Side-Panel
Audio Device(s) Realtek | HD Audio | Creative | Sound Blaster | X-Fi | Go! Pro
Power Supply Corsair | AX850 | 80+ Gold certified | Fully modular
Software Microsoft | Windows 7 | Professional | x64 | OEM
Benchmark Scores BlackWidow | DeathAdder | Goliathus | Creative Fatal1ty Headset
#10
People are having this issue with EVGA and Gigabyte as well; as I have seen on Youtube.

So far there hasn't been any red screen, and my computer has been on and under stress since this morning, around 10am EST.

Playing games right now and no problems. I know my card has amazing temps (ranging from 40c to 60c) and up to 72c if I am playing a heavy game like Battlefield 3.

I feels like GPU Tweak and/or GPU-Z was the problem. I remember reading somewhere, it had something to do with temp monitoring software messing up the BIOS of the Video card.
 

Evolved

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
352 (0.14/day)
Likes
38
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Cookies N Cream Sundae with Strawberries on top.
Processor Intel | i7 2600K | 4.2Ghz | 1.30v | HT Disabled
Motherboard Asus | Maximus IV Extreme | P67 Chipset | B3 Revision
Cooling Corsair H80 | BZ-502B | Corsair SP120/AF120 | 200mm Spectre Pro
Memory Mushkin Blackline | DDR3 | CL8 | 4x2GB @ 1600Mhz | 1.50v
Video Card(s) Asus | GTX 670 | DirectCU II | GPU: 1056Mhz | MEM: 1803Mhz
Storage Mushkin | Chronos Deluxe | 240GB | R: 560MB/s | W: 520MB/s
Display(s) Asus | VE248H | 24" | LED
Case Corsair | Graphite Series | 600T White | Window Side-Panel
Audio Device(s) Realtek | HD Audio | Creative | Sound Blaster | X-Fi | Go! Pro
Power Supply Corsair | AX850 | 80+ Gold certified | Fully modular
Software Microsoft | Windows 7 | Professional | x64 | OEM
Benchmark Scores BlackWidow | DeathAdder | Goliathus | Creative Fatal1ty Headset
#11
Crap. I had googled this too, apparently quite a number of Asus 670 Direct CUII are having this issue :(

Check your clocks in-game. Apparently from what I read some of the cards in-game are going higher than the factory overclock.

There's another member having a similar issue with the same card. You might want to check it out.
My temps are fine. They are surprisingly low compared to any other card I have ever owned.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2007
Messages
891 (0.23/day)
Likes
731
Location
The Lone Star State
System Name Bench Box/Daily Driver
Processor i7 3930k / i7 3770k
Motherboard Asus R4E / Asus M5E
Cooling SS & Water
Memory G.SKILL 8GB 2133 / G.SKILL 16GB 2133
Video Card(s) Asus HD7970 / EVGA GTX Titan's SLI
Power Supply Corsair HX1200W/ Enermax Platimax 1350W
#12
I've had it a couple times with the Asus GTX 680 DCU II TOP, I'm pretty sure the Asus GPU Tweak is the culprit.
 

SoWErA

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#13
I had about 4 rsod in 4days with my new computer with an Asus gtx 670 and I had asus gpu tweaker installed after uninstalling it my system have been online for first 48hours and then after reboot another 8days so far I run my system 24/7! and still no problems!

there is a new version of asus gpu tweaker(2.1.4) for the card now on asus homepage but I haven't had a chance to test it and I haven't found a changelog so no idea if it's been fixed for our cards with asus gpu tweaker!