• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BSOD Memory_management

Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
694 (0.49/day)
Location
Croatia
Processor Core i5-2400 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling LC Power LC-CC-95
Memory HyperX Genesis 2x4GB @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 750 Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage WD Blue 1TB/ Crucial BX500 120GB/ Seagate 500GB
Display(s) ASUS VW190DE
Case Deepcool Smarter /w 2x Zalman 1000RPM
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard IBM KB-8926
Software W7 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Turns on on the first try! Usually.
First uninstall ALL drivers and reinstall them.

I assume your previous HDD was SATA2, and the new one is SATA3.

Try a new SATA cable and then try using the secondary SATA controller.
Tried a different cable, will change the SATA port.

Id get a fresh drive, no os at all, fresh OS, not image, test if it crashes then its probably ram
I can't get a new drive tho I will reinstall the OS as soon as I can.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,529 (6.12/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Not from a image either
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
694 (0.49/day)
Location
Croatia
Processor Core i5-2400 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling LC Power LC-CC-95
Memory HyperX Genesis 2x4GB @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 750 Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage WD Blue 1TB/ Crucial BX500 120GB/ Seagate 500GB
Display(s) ASUS VW190DE
Case Deepcool Smarter /w 2x Zalman 1000RPM
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard IBM KB-8926
Software W7 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Turns on on the first try! Usually.
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
1,715 (1.78/day)
Location
North East Ohio, USA
System Name My Super Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming
Cooling Corsair H55 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Crucial/Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 500 GB NVMe SSD (System Drive), Samsung 860 EVO 500 GB SATA SSD (Game Drive)
Display(s) HP 2311x and Acer G206HQL
Case CoolerMaster MasterBox Lite 5 RGB
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3 Gold
Mouse Logitech M705
Keyboard Logitech Wave K350
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/liwjs3

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
830 (0.16/day)
I had a similar issue couple of years ago before the SSD revolution.

Stable system throwing memory-related BSODs after HDD upgrade.

In that case, it was the advanced power management (APM) kicking in after a second of idle.

I disabled both AAM and APM with CrystalDiskInfo and it stopped.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
694 (0.49/day)
Location
Croatia
Processor Core i5-2400 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling LC Power LC-CC-95
Memory HyperX Genesis 2x4GB @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 750 Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage WD Blue 1TB/ Crucial BX500 120GB/ Seagate 500GB
Display(s) ASUS VW190DE
Case Deepcool Smarter /w 2x Zalman 1000RPM
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard IBM KB-8926
Software W7 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Turns on on the first try! Usually.
I had a similar issue couple of years ago before the SSD revolution.

Stable system throwing memory-related BSODs after HDD upgrade.

In that case, it was the advanced power management (APM) kicking in after a second of idle.

I disabled both AAM and APM with CrystalDiskInfo and it stopped.
Thing is, could that happen while the system is using data, as in not idle? Because I never entered a room and got a BSOD while the desktop is idle, it's always during usage. Just yesterday it happened again, right in the middle of playing a game. I removed one of the sticks for now so I'll see what happens, but this is driving me insane, RAM shows no errors whatsoever during testing.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
830 (0.16/day)
The system isn't constantly reading/writing data to the HDD.

It was a 1TB Samsung HDD used as a OS drive.

I remember some WD Green 1TB drive that gave me trouble because of a brutal idle timer.

Try to disable AAM/APM/WDIDLE, set the controller to AHCI, and update RST driver to the latest version.

Try to contact WD and see if is there any firmware update for that HDD.

And please post a screenshot of the S.M.A.R.T. data.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
694 (0.49/day)
Location
Croatia
Processor Core i5-2400 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling LC Power LC-CC-95
Memory HyperX Genesis 2x4GB @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 750 Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage WD Blue 1TB/ Crucial BX500 120GB/ Seagate 500GB
Display(s) ASUS VW190DE
Case Deepcool Smarter /w 2x Zalman 1000RPM
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard IBM KB-8926
Software W7 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Turns on on the first try! Usually.
The system isn't constantly reading/writing data to the HDD.

It was a 1TB Samsung HDD used as a OS drive.

I remember some WD Green 1TB drive that gave me trouble because of a brutal idle timer.

Try to disable AAM/APM/WDIDLE, set the controller to AHCI, and update RST driver to the latest version.

Try to contact WD and see if is there any firmware update for that HDD.

And please post a screenshot of the S.M.A.R.T. data.
I did a verifier.exe run, and it detected a driver fault. Checked with each stick of RAM in the same slot, 2 times to make sure. The driver at fault is tcpipreg.sys. Now to find out how to fix/update that.

The SMART data is ok, screenshot is down below, setting the controller to AHCI causes a BSOD because the installation was in IDE and changing it requires messing with regedit and I don't really want to.
Capture.PNG
 
Last edited:

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
830 (0.16/day)
tcpipreg.sys is a known false positive in Driver Verifier.

If you want to check the OS files, use 'sfc /scannow' and then view the log: findstr /c:"[SR]" %windir%\Logs\CBS\CBS.log >"%userprofile%\Desktop\sfcdetails.txt"

Intel RST sometimes solves compatibility issues with storage devices, consider using AHCI.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
694 (0.49/day)
Location
Croatia
Processor Core i5-2400 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling LC Power LC-CC-95
Memory HyperX Genesis 2x4GB @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 750 Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage WD Blue 1TB/ Crucial BX500 120GB/ Seagate 500GB
Display(s) ASUS VW190DE
Case Deepcool Smarter /w 2x Zalman 1000RPM
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard IBM KB-8926
Software W7 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Turns on on the first try! Usually.
tcpipreg.sys is a known false positive in Driver Verifier.

If you want to check the OS files, use 'sfc /scannow' and then view the log: findstr /c:"[SR]" %windir%\Logs\CBS\CBS.log >"%userprofile%\Desktop\sfcdetails.txt"

Intel RST sometimes solves compatibility issues with storage devices, consider using AHCI.
I just followed this fix https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/2550576/stop-0xc4-may-occur-in-tcpipreg-sys-following-a-reboot-after-driver-ve
Now I'll continue using it as standard and see what's gonna happen. I did sfc /scannnow a couple of times already and it reports no errors/missing files/corrupted files. I will think about switching to AHCI.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
758 (0.23/day)
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 96 gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill+corsair
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @STOCK
Storage Hp ex950 2tb nvme+ adata xpg sx8200 pro 1tb nvme+ sata ssd's+ spinners
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 1903 ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/15000
switch to AHCI, it's fairly easy with a small registry change. After which, you might consider going the other route and change storage controllers driver to standart microsoft ata controller, built-in in windows 10. It's very stable and fast; , also if not installed, i would then hold off on intel rst, as it changes storage driver to intel's own, with few benefits if any.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
830 (0.16/day)
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
758 (0.23/day)
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 96 gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill+corsair
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @STOCK
Storage Hp ex950 2tb nvme+ adata xpg sx8200 pro 1tb nvme+ sata ssd's+ spinners
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 1903 ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/15000
In OP's place, I would go as far as upgrading the OS to latest insider build, they usually are more advanced and sometimes even more stable, also every single driver and major application on the pc must be upgraded to latest version, such as anti virus, any resident tray apps, etc.
Also, I would try to unclutter the system as much as possible, using autoruns to disable any services and startup items that are not absolutely necessary.
As mentioned, one of the easiest diagnostics is to install LTSB version of windows in dual boot on another partition, and check that for problems, rather than mess with the crippled system.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
2,210 (0.41/day)
Location
United Kingdom
setting the controller to AHCI causes a BSOD because the installation was in IDE and changing it requires messing with regedit and I don't really want to
There is no registry editing required in Win10, just typing (or rather copy/pasting) a couple of commands into Command Prompt and rebooting a few times: http://support.thinkcritical.com/kb/articles/switch-windows-10-from-raid-ide-to-ahci

You are losing out on a lot of performance with IDE mode and switching it is so easy that why you wouldn't is beyond me. JUST DO IT!
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
694 (0.49/day)
Location
Croatia
Processor Core i5-2400 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling LC Power LC-CC-95
Memory HyperX Genesis 2x4GB @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 750 Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage WD Blue 1TB/ Crucial BX500 120GB/ Seagate 500GB
Display(s) ASUS VW190DE
Case Deepcool Smarter /w 2x Zalman 1000RPM
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard IBM KB-8926
Software W7 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Turns on on the first try! Usually.
Check the SFC log manually, sometimes it won't report corrupt files.
I will check that next, thanks.
In OP's place, I would go as far as upgrading the OS to latest insider build, they usually are more advanced and sometimes even more stable, also every single driver and major application on the pc must be upgraded to latest version, such as anti virus, any resident tray apps, etc.
Also, I would try to unclutter the system as much as possible, using autoruns to disable any services and startup items that are not absolutely necessary.
As mentioned, one of the easiest diagnostics is to install LTSB version of windows in dual boot on another partition, and check that for problems, rather than mess with the crippled system.
All programs and drivers are on their latest versions, and the system is running as lean as possible. OS reinstall is currently out of question as I am in the middle of projects and I have to use the crippled system as is, and redownloading software would take too much on my connection.
There is no registry editing required in Win10, just typing (or rather copy/pasting) a couple of commands into Command Prompt and rebooting a few times: http://support.thinkcritical.com/kb/articles/switch-windows-10-from-raid-ide-to-ahci

You are losing out on a lot of performance with IDE mode and switching it is so easy that why you wouldn't is beyond me. JUST DO IT!
I am on W7 currently.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
830 (0.16/day)
NCQ improves performance on HDDs but it requires the controller to be in AHCI mode.

Just a small registry change is required for Windows 7.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
758 (0.23/day)
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 96 gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill+corsair
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @STOCK
Storage Hp ex950 2tb nvme+ adata xpg sx8200 pro 1tb nvme+ sata ssd's+ spinners
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 1903 ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/15000
I assume chances are, if you in-place upgrade your OS from win 7 to win 10, as recent as possible, the issue will be resolved. You dont need to lose any projects, you can image the OS drive beforehand, and regardless, after the upgrade your files and settings should be intact as well.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
694 (0.49/day)
Location
Croatia
Processor Core i5-2400 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling LC Power LC-CC-95
Memory HyperX Genesis 2x4GB @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 750 Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage WD Blue 1TB/ Crucial BX500 120GB/ Seagate 500GB
Display(s) ASUS VW190DE
Case Deepcool Smarter /w 2x Zalman 1000RPM
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard IBM KB-8926
Software W7 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Turns on on the first try! Usually.
NCQ improves performance on HDDs but it requires the controller to be in AHCI mode.

Just a small registry change is required for Windows 7.
I'll edit that after I test this as is, just to find the root of the problem.
I assume chances are, if you in-place upgrade your OS from win 7 to win 10, as recent as possible, the issue will be resolved. You dont need to lose any projects, you can image the OS drive beforehand, and regardless, after the upgrade your files and settings should be intact as well.
Eh, I did an update for a friend, from 7 to 10, and it didn't go as planned. The same software I'm using, Autodesk Inventor, outright stopped working on 10 after the upgrade, so I'm a bit wary of in place upgrades.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
758 (0.23/day)
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 96 gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill+corsair
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @STOCK
Storage Hp ex950 2tb nvme+ adata xpg sx8200 pro 1tb nvme+ sata ssd's+ spinners
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 1903 ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/15000
So do capture an image of the drive, so you can revert if any breaking issues appear, with say Macrium Reflect. Your software can always be reinstalled or repaired, without affecting projects. you can also export it's settings to a config file.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
694 (0.49/day)
Location
Croatia
Processor Core i5-2400 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling LC Power LC-CC-95
Memory HyperX Genesis 2x4GB @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 750 Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage WD Blue 1TB/ Crucial BX500 120GB/ Seagate 500GB
Display(s) ASUS VW190DE
Case Deepcool Smarter /w 2x Zalman 1000RPM
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard IBM KB-8926
Software W7 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Turns on on the first try! Usually.
Sorry for the late answer, but it crashed again, on a fresh W10 install on an SSD, so it's a hardware problem it seems. I don't know my next course of action.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,852 (1.78/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 256GB, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G503
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
694 (0.49/day)
Location
Croatia
Processor Core i5-2400 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling LC Power LC-CC-95
Memory HyperX Genesis 2x4GB @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 750 Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage WD Blue 1TB/ Crucial BX500 120GB/ Seagate 500GB
Display(s) ASUS VW190DE
Case Deepcool Smarter /w 2x Zalman 1000RPM
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard IBM KB-8926
Software W7 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Turns on on the first try! Usually.
What is the error code?
Capture.PNG

I've already outlined it for you earlier:
https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/bsod-memory_management.251481/post-3976220
Proceed to next steps, like checking your PC with 100% working RAM, or if that still causes BSODs - replacing motherboard.
I know you did and I appreciate it, I'm trying to source some new sticks, motherboard will be a different issue altogether. Also, a quick question, could this possibly be caused by the PSU?
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,852 (1.78/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 256GB, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G503
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Also, a quick question, could this possibly be caused by the PSU?
It could. That's why you need to test it component by component. Haven't dealt with FSP Hexa. Reviews are OK, but imaginary wattage and 80+ ratings always make me sceptical.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
694 (0.49/day)
Location
Croatia
Processor Core i5-2400 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling LC Power LC-CC-95
Memory HyperX Genesis 2x4GB @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 750 Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage WD Blue 1TB/ Crucial BX500 120GB/ Seagate 500GB
Display(s) ASUS VW190DE
Case Deepcool Smarter /w 2x Zalman 1000RPM
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard IBM KB-8926
Software W7 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Turns on on the first try! Usually.
It could. That's why you need to test it component by component. Haven't dealt with FSP Hexa. Reviews are OK, but imaginary wattage and 80+ ratings always make me sceptical.
I replaced the PSU for now, as soon as I get my hands on some memory stick I'll check on that.
 
Top