• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Building a Server need help

Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Messages
1,143 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
New York
System Name AMD/ATI PHENOM MONSTER
Processor AMD Phenom II 965BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVA
Cooling Air right know. Water later
Memory 4bg Corsair Dominator PC3 8500 9,9,9,24 2t timing
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Storage 5x 500gb sata3.0 Seagate in RAID 0 - 2x 160gb Seagate for backup
Display(s) MAG INNOVISION 19in LCD 2ms 1600:1cr, 22in LED 2ms-5ms
Case Thermaltake Armor QuadFX edition
Power Supply 1000w Thermaltake toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 10712 single card and no oc, 12071 with cpu @ 2.8ghz and card oced, 13877 with crossfire.
#1
Hey guys so my current project at the moment is building a server that will host a few websites, game server and file sharing. Here are the parts I have to work with.

Asus K8N-DRE Server board
2x AMD Opteron 275 dual core 2.2ghz cpus
16gb if ddr 400 ram
Adata 128gb ssd
3x Seagate 1tb drives

As far as software I have windows server 2012 and a bunch more at my disposal all are legal.

My current internet is dynamic IP FIOS 25down 25up and I'm going to upgrade it to static IP FIOS 50down 25up that will be the coming months once the server is up and running correctly.

So this came from a friend of mine who owns a big company running a bunch of servers:

Mike
"Well if the server is a retail one, I would go with VMware and break stuff up. The web server and games server are both presumable public. By breaking things up on different 'computers' you can cut down on risk of attack and compromise of your important stuff. If he is buying a new OEM server and it is on the HCL this is easy. If he is building from scratch he can look at forums for suggestions on supported parts that you can buy retail that will still work with VMware. I would install VMware on the server to the SSD. I would then load two or three OS's. I would put a really small Ubuntu LAMP server on the SSD for the website. It's very light weight and rocks for web hosting. By breaking this off you can forward one port to the webserver and keep everything else safe. I would then install server 2008 with the "c" drive on residing on the SSD (you should have a good 50gb still for that). Then mount the three TB raid for storage to VMware and hack off a few TB for the DATA disk on the server OS for the files and such. You can use server 2008 as a game server too if you want. What I would do is build a small windows 7 box entirely on the 3tb array. Again assuming that this is public, it isolates it and ensures the best compatibility with the game makers. In my experience most don't support server OSs directly.

If VMware is out of the picture. Server 2008 is going to host files fine, will likely work with more games than any other OS (windows 7 kernel) and has IIS 7 so you can run the latest PHP."

So I am trying to understand all of this just a lot of stuff to take in especially with college but I have my break coming up so I plan on getting it running then just need some advice and help. I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks again guys!

(PICS TO COME SOON)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
1,469 (0.45/day)
Likes
381
Location
Toronto
Processor i7-2670QM / Q9550 3.6ghz
Motherboard laptop / Asus P5Q-E
Cooling laptop / Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 2x4gb ddr3sd / 2x2gb ddr2
Video Card(s) 570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
Storage ST9750420AS / ST1000DM003
Display(s) BenQ FP241VW / BenQ GW2265HM
Case MSI gx780 / Corsair 500r
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply laptop / Corsair 750tx
Mouse Steelseries Kinzu V2 / Logitech M120
Keyboard Logitech Deluxe 250 / Logitech K120
Software Windows 7
#2
separating is indeed a nice idea (that & i dont like dealing with website hosting that's not linux)

what specific games & how complex websites?
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Messages
1,143 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
New York
System Name AMD/ATI PHENOM MONSTER
Processor AMD Phenom II 965BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVA
Cooling Air right know. Water later
Memory 4bg Corsair Dominator PC3 8500 9,9,9,24 2t timing
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Storage 5x 500gb sata3.0 Seagate in RAID 0 - 2x 160gb Seagate for backup
Display(s) MAG INNOVISION 19in LCD 2ms 1600:1cr, 22in LED 2ms-5ms
Case Thermaltake Armor QuadFX edition
Power Supply 1000w Thermaltake toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 10712 single card and no oc, 12071 with cpu @ 2.8ghz and card oced, 13877 with crossfire.
#3
I'm going to host a minecraft server for my baby brother that's the first game not sure on other ones at the moment.

Website I have one lined up for a pediatric office for my doctor friend. Im probably going to make a blog website from me, My one friend will also make a site for himself too, and we may get his dad to switch his site to our server its a bails bondman website. And probably a few more sites also unsure yet.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,313 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,722
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#4
You checked with the FIOS agreement that your not breaking of their rules running dedicated servers ?. I know Comcast has a such rule but not to sure about your FIOS.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,879 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#5
You checked with the FIOS agreement that your not breaking of their rules running dedicated servers ?. I know Comcast has a such rule but not to sure about your FIOS.
Wait what? They do that?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#6
Wait what? They do that?
Yeah, some ISPs go so far to block new port 80 packets going to your IP address, while allowing outgoing new port 80 packets as well as established or related packets returning to your network. It's a routing thing and it's annoying. Comcast doesn't block port 80 and they honestly don't care unless you start exceeding your bandwidth cap and at that point you really should sign up for business class which gives you better speeds with higher boost speeds and priority when the network fails. They also expect you to be hosting and they don't impose a bandwidth cap. So it really depends on the service you sign up for.

I know Comcast has a such rule but not to sure about your FIOS.
They don't care all that much unless you're using a lot of bandwidth or an exorbitant amount of upstream, but as I said before. At that point you really should be consider business class if you're serious about hosting and if Comcast contacts you and you tell them what you want to do they will help you out.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
858 (0.33/day)
Likes
218
System Name FragBox
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 5.0GHz/1.45 volts
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 WS
Cooling Custom CPU loop
Memory Kingston 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 680/Zotac GTX 680 in SLi/EVGA GTX 650Ti
Storage 2 Vertex 3 120's, raid 0, 2 Seagate Momentus XT 500GB's in raid 0, 1 Hitatchi 2TB for backup
Display(s) 3 Acer S232HLX2 in nvidia surround
Case Corsair C70 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64 Pro
#7
Doctors office stuff? Be aware of HIPAA restrictions and any info that might be stored on that machine from the docs office.

lawsuits suck. :)

http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/privacy/
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Messages
1,143 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
New York
System Name AMD/ATI PHENOM MONSTER
Processor AMD Phenom II 965BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVA
Cooling Air right know. Water later
Memory 4bg Corsair Dominator PC3 8500 9,9,9,24 2t timing
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Storage 5x 500gb sata3.0 Seagate in RAID 0 - 2x 160gb Seagate for backup
Display(s) MAG INNOVISION 19in LCD 2ms 1600:1cr, 22in LED 2ms-5ms
Case Thermaltake Armor QuadFX edition
Power Supply 1000w Thermaltake toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 10712 single card and no oc, 12071 with cpu @ 2.8ghz and card oced, 13877 with crossfire.
#8
You checked with the FIOS agreement that your not breaking of their rules running dedicated servers ?. I know Comcast has a such rule but not to sure about your FIOS.
I'm not really sure to tell you but I am switching to business class so a few months wont hurt for testing.

Doctors office stuff? Be aware of HIPAA restrictions and any info that might be stored on that machine from the docs office.

lawsuits suck. :)

http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/privacy/
And I am HIPAA certified for his office I do major work. The website though will not have any info like that it is just for advertisement and mostly about him like a bio.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Messages
1,143 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
New York
System Name AMD/ATI PHENOM MONSTER
Processor AMD Phenom II 965BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVA
Cooling Air right know. Water later
Memory 4bg Corsair Dominator PC3 8500 9,9,9,24 2t timing
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Storage 5x 500gb sata3.0 Seagate in RAID 0 - 2x 160gb Seagate for backup
Display(s) MAG INNOVISION 19in LCD 2ms 1600:1cr, 22in LED 2ms-5ms
Case Thermaltake Armor QuadFX edition
Power Supply 1000w Thermaltake toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 10712 single card and no oc, 12071 with cpu @ 2.8ghz and card oced, 13877 with crossfire.
#9
Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Messages
1,143 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
New York
System Name AMD/ATI PHENOM MONSTER
Processor AMD Phenom II 965BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVA
Cooling Air right know. Water later
Memory 4bg Corsair Dominator PC3 8500 9,9,9,24 2t timing
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Storage 5x 500gb sata3.0 Seagate in RAID 0 - 2x 160gb Seagate for backup
Display(s) MAG INNOVISION 19in LCD 2ms 1600:1cr, 22in LED 2ms-5ms
Case Thermaltake Armor QuadFX edition
Power Supply 1000w Thermaltake toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 10712 single card and no oc, 12071 with cpu @ 2.8ghz and card oced, 13877 with crossfire.
#10
Anyone?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#11
It's a management card. It adds functionality in cases where you're going to be managing a lot of systems in a distributed network.

I doubt that you will need it and it isn't worth a whole lot either. I have a 1U server sitting in the closet with dual 3.2ghz xeons that has a bigger version of it.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,042 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5 GHz /1.25 volt
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H with Beta Bios F20e
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, 1xDelta EFB1212VH, 2xYate Loon 140 PWM, 2xCorsair 120 PWM
Memory Samsung 30nm Green MV3V4G3D DDR3 16 GB (4x4GB) @ 1800 MHz CL9 1.35 volt
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB @ Core 1254 MHz / Ram 1800 MHz
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD (Boot) + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05 (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Audio Dongle
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600, inateck 900mm x 300mm Mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL and Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key (Cherry Browns)
Software Win7 64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Wprime 32 5.758 http://www.wprime.net/Scores/19988/View
#12
For what its worth, if your custom server doesn't have the juice ... I always see decent looking commercial servers on craigslist, hp or dell dual xeons etc $300-500.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Messages
1,143 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
New York
System Name AMD/ATI PHENOM MONSTER
Processor AMD Phenom II 965BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVA
Cooling Air right know. Water later
Memory 4bg Corsair Dominator PC3 8500 9,9,9,24 2t timing
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Storage 5x 500gb sata3.0 Seagate in RAID 0 - 2x 160gb Seagate for backup
Display(s) MAG INNOVISION 19in LCD 2ms 1600:1cr, 22in LED 2ms-5ms
Case Thermaltake Armor QuadFX edition
Power Supply 1000w Thermaltake toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 10712 single card and no oc, 12071 with cpu @ 2.8ghz and card oced, 13877 with crossfire.
#13
Thanks guys!

Another question so I installed windows server 2012 and installed VMware player and I am going to install Ubuntu LAMP in VMware player. Their are some network settings though that I am unsure off.

Bridged, NAT, and Host-only.

Which one should be used for 24/7 web server and to give me protection in my internal home network.

Thanks again guys!
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Messages
1,143 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
New York
System Name AMD/ATI PHENOM MONSTER
Processor AMD Phenom II 965BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVA
Cooling Air right know. Water later
Memory 4bg Corsair Dominator PC3 8500 9,9,9,24 2t timing
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Storage 5x 500gb sata3.0 Seagate in RAID 0 - 2x 160gb Seagate for backup
Display(s) MAG INNOVISION 19in LCD 2ms 1600:1cr, 22in LED 2ms-5ms
Case Thermaltake Armor QuadFX edition
Power Supply 1000w Thermaltake toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 10712 single card and no oc, 12071 with cpu @ 2.8ghz and card oced, 13877 with crossfire.
#14
Not sure what you mean?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#15
Another question so I installed windows server 2012 and installed VMware player and I am going to install Ubuntu LAMP in VMware player. Their are some network settings though that I am unsure off.

Bridged, NAT, and Host-only.

Which one should be used for 24/7 web server and to give me protection in my internal home network.
The CPUs you picked out do not support hardware virtualization (at least from what I read,) if you're going the VM route, then you should get better hardware.

For hosting you want bridged, unless you have a dedicated Ethernet or network adapter for it. It's the only option where your VM gets an IP on your network. NAT and Host-Only do exactly as they say they do. NAT puts you on an internal network inside the computer that uses NAT to resolve addresses (can't host off it,) and Host-Only is an internal network that only VMs and the Host can communicate with. This is nice if there is a lot of communication between the VM and the host or the VM and other VMs.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#16
The CPUs you picked out do not support hardware virtualization (at least from what I read,) if you're going the VM route, then you should get better hardware.

For hosting you want bridged, unless you have a dedicated Ethernet or network adapter for it. It's the only option where your VM gets an IP on your network. NAT and Host-Only do exactly as they say they do. NAT puts you on an internal network inside the computer that uses NAT to resolve addresses (can't host off it,) and Host-Only is an internal network that only VMs and the Host can communicate with. This is nice if there is a lot of communication between the VM and the host or the VM and other VMs.
Yea I just checked them out the processor he is using is a first generation K8 opteron based on a 939 Athlon 64 x2 this was a generation before AMD-V hardware virtualisation.

The problem with this is the virtual performance will be a fraction of your processors performance due to the huge overhead because Without hardware acceleration your essentially emulating the processor hardware in software.

Most socket am3 motherboards also support ecc ram. You would have been easier to just go with a basic am3 box, quad and a few gb of ecc ram. It would support VMware or any other flavour of virtualisation and out perform the server you have now.
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#17
Most socket am3 motherboards also support ecc ram.
This is the first time I've heard this. Where did you find this? I'm a bit skeptical to say that this is true.

Also, it's not about the motherboard supporting it as much as it is about the CPU and the IMC supporting it.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#18
This is the first time I've heard this. Where did you find this? I'm a bit skeptical to say that this is true.

Also, it's not about the motherboard supporting it as much as it is about the CPU and the IMC supporting it.
All am3 processors support ecc unbuffered ram but its up to motherboard manufacturers support it In the bios. My asus board and my last Foxconn am3 board supported it I just wish my servers MSI 890fx-GD70 did.

Only intel makes the distinction that celeron,pentium,i3,i5,i7 has no ecc and that you have to pay for server parts and a Xeon to get ecc.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Messages
1,143 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
New York
System Name AMD/ATI PHENOM MONSTER
Processor AMD Phenom II 965BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVA
Cooling Air right know. Water later
Memory 4bg Corsair Dominator PC3 8500 9,9,9,24 2t timing
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Storage 5x 500gb sata3.0 Seagate in RAID 0 - 2x 160gb Seagate for backup
Display(s) MAG INNOVISION 19in LCD 2ms 1600:1cr, 22in LED 2ms-5ms
Case Thermaltake Armor QuadFX edition
Power Supply 1000w Thermaltake toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 10712 single card and no oc, 12071 with cpu @ 2.8ghz and card oced, 13877 with crossfire.
#19
I had VMware workstation running with both Ubuntu and server 2012 and it was running pretty fast. But I had to pay for it so I then switched to windows server 2012 and installed VMware player. As far as it doesn't support is that something internal in the cpu?
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Messages
1,143 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
New York
System Name AMD/ATI PHENOM MONSTER
Processor AMD Phenom II 965BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVA
Cooling Air right know. Water later
Memory 4bg Corsair Dominator PC3 8500 9,9,9,24 2t timing
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Storage 5x 500gb sata3.0 Seagate in RAID 0 - 2x 160gb Seagate for backup
Display(s) MAG INNOVISION 19in LCD 2ms 1600:1cr, 22in LED 2ms-5ms
Case Thermaltake Armor QuadFX edition
Power Supply 1000w Thermaltake toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 10712 single card and no oc, 12071 with cpu @ 2.8ghz and card oced, 13877 with crossfire.
#20
Also if I cant do virtualization could I just host through server 2012 what are the drawbacks compared to Ubuntu LAMP?
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#21
Also if I cant do virtualization could I just host through server 2012 what are the drawbacks compared to Ubuntu LAMP?
vmware player is just the same as workstation minus a few features but the performance should be the same. if all your doing is hosting a couple of pages on the vm it should be fine but it will struggle with anything cpu intensive.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Messages
1,143 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
New York
System Name AMD/ATI PHENOM MONSTER
Processor AMD Phenom II 965BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVA
Cooling Air right know. Water later
Memory 4bg Corsair Dominator PC3 8500 9,9,9,24 2t timing
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Storage 5x 500gb sata3.0 Seagate in RAID 0 - 2x 160gb Seagate for backup
Display(s) MAG INNOVISION 19in LCD 2ms 1600:1cr, 22in LED 2ms-5ms
Case Thermaltake Armor QuadFX edition
Power Supply 1000w Thermaltake toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 10712 single card and no oc, 12071 with cpu @ 2.8ghz and card oced, 13877 with crossfire.
#22
Well as far as windows software I can get most of what I need for free do to the agreements between Microsoft and the college I got to.

So know I was thinking if I should just stick with windows server 2012 and just do everything from their?

How intensive can a website get plus a game server.

One thing that is going to run for sure is a minecraft server will have maybe 50 to 100 people logged into it and a website for the mincraft server. Hopefully that can give you a better idea?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,984 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,551
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#23
I had VMware workstation running with both Ubuntu and server 2012 and it was running pretty fast. But I had to pay for it so I then switched to windows server 2012 and installed VMware player. As far as it doesn't support is that something internal in the cpu?
It is internal of the cpu, later architecture cpu accelerate virtual environments instead of emulation so are much faster they have specific abstraction layer api's that virtualize the hardware layer , you already mentioned alternative plans that might perform whilst not being quite so secure so its a tradeoff , and one I know nothing of as four os, s might still run ok on your system idk.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Messages
1,143 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
New York
System Name AMD/ATI PHENOM MONSTER
Processor AMD Phenom II 965BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVA
Cooling Air right know. Water later
Memory 4bg Corsair Dominator PC3 8500 9,9,9,24 2t timing
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Storage 5x 500gb sata3.0 Seagate in RAID 0 - 2x 160gb Seagate for backup
Display(s) MAG INNOVISION 19in LCD 2ms 1600:1cr, 22in LED 2ms-5ms
Case Thermaltake Armor QuadFX edition
Power Supply 1000w Thermaltake toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 10712 single card and no oc, 12071 with cpu @ 2.8ghz and card oced, 13877 with crossfire.
#24
Thanks, I going to skip the whole virtualization stuff and stick to server 2012 just wondering know on what I need and how to make it secure and safe.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Messages
1,143 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
New York
System Name AMD/ATI PHENOM MONSTER
Processor AMD Phenom II 965BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVA
Cooling Air right know. Water later
Memory 4bg Corsair Dominator PC3 8500 9,9,9,24 2t timing
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Storage 5x 500gb sata3.0 Seagate in RAID 0 - 2x 160gb Seagate for backup
Display(s) MAG INNOVISION 19in LCD 2ms 1600:1cr, 22in LED 2ms-5ms
Case Thermaltake Armor QuadFX edition
Power Supply 1000w Thermaltake toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 10712 single card and no oc, 12071 with cpu @ 2.8ghz and card oced, 13877 with crossfire.
#25
Looks like I'm back to plan A. I got the Ubuntu LAMP server running in VMware player. I have 2gb ram and 2 cpus assigned to it with 20gb hd space. What other things do I need at this point?