• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

call of duty black ops issues

Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
26
Likes
5
Location
Germany
System Name My gaming build
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @4.5 Ghz 1.376v
Motherboard MSI Z77A GD65 Gaming
Cooling Corsair Self Contained Unit
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Radeon R9 290X OC Sapphire
Storage OCZ Agility 3 SSD 128GB + Various Multimedia Drives
Display(s) Liyama Prolite G2773HS GB-1 120hz
Case Maelstrom From Inwin.
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Cyborg V5
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#1
Hi i am having some strange issues with the game call of duty black ops, I know its not the best or most optimised port. But my fps is dropping to below 20 for long periods of time using a GTX670 Gigabyte windforce x3 OC edition card :(. The problem is not consistant, for example i can run through building once fine, But then if i run through the same building a few minutes later it stutters really badly. It's not internet lag i already ruled that out its fps because i used fraps to test it. Does anyone know how to fix this? my system specs are in my..system specs thing. Help appreciated :toast:
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,260
Likes
3,361
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#2
update drivers

check your system processes, do a virus/malware scan, make sure you don't have anything using up your CPU
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
26
Likes
5
Location
Germany
System Name My gaming build
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @4.5 Ghz 1.376v
Motherboard MSI Z77A GD65 Gaming
Cooling Corsair Self Contained Unit
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Radeon R9 290X OC Sapphire
Storage OCZ Agility 3 SSD 128GB + Various Multimedia Drives
Display(s) Liyama Prolite G2773HS GB-1 120hz
Case Maelstrom From Inwin.
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Cyborg V5
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#3
update drivers

check your system processes, do a virus/malware scan, make sure you don't have anything using up your CPU
I have tried all this my friend, I'm not a noob with pc's and electronics, No virus or malware found even did a boot time scan, I have only the processes i need running in the background, I have the latest drivers for everything, Even the 304.79 beta drivers from nvidia and yes i rolled back to the others but it made no difference either! :( I even looked into updating the Vbios on my card but there is not much difference for it. I'm at a complete loss here and im not sure what to try next.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#4
update drivers

check your system processes, do a virus/malware scan, make sure you don't have anything using up your CPU
I would ad patch the game if it's not up to date. Black Ops is horrible on the CPU, check your GPU usage and you'll be amazed how low it is when your frames drop.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,397
Likes
8,918
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#5
Hi i am having some strange issues with the game call of duty black ops, I know its not the best or most optimised port. But my fps is dropping to below 20 for long periods of time using a GTX670 Gigabyte windforce x3 OC edition card :(. The problem is not consistant, for example i can run through building once fine, But then if i run through the same building a few minutes later it stutters really badly. It's not internet lag i already ruled that out its fps because i used fraps to test it. Does anyone know how to fix this? my system specs are in my..system specs thing. Help appreciated :toast:
How can you confim its not internet lag with Fraps?

Does the single player do this also?
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
26
Likes
5
Location
Germany
System Name My gaming build
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @4.5 Ghz 1.376v
Motherboard MSI Z77A GD65 Gaming
Cooling Corsair Self Contained Unit
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Radeon R9 290X OC Sapphire
Storage OCZ Agility 3 SSD 128GB + Various Multimedia Drives
Display(s) Liyama Prolite G2773HS GB-1 120hz
Case Maelstrom From Inwin.
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Cyborg V5
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#6
How can you confim its not internet lag with Fraps?

Does the single player do this also?
yes its also in singleplayer and zombies too! fraps dropped to the low 20's and crap daddy its on steam so its always up to date, I checked game cache files they are all fine. My internet is virgin media fibre optic 100 Mb my ping to most of europe is around 30-60 ms. It only seems to do this with black ops. I have deleted it reinstalled on steam, I have used driver sweeper to install fresh drivers nothing seems to fix it :/ It worked fine on my GTX480
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,397
Likes
8,918
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#7
yes its also in singleplayer and zombies too! fraps dropped to the low 20's and crap daddy its on steam so its always up to date, I checked game cache files they are all fine. My internet is virgin media fibre optic 100 Mb my ping to most of europe is around 30-60 ms. It only seems to do this with black ops. I have deleted it reinstalled on steam, I have used driver sweeper to install fresh drivers nothing seems to fix it :/ It worked fine on my GTX480
Sounds like a driver issue then. When was the last time you did a clean install of the OS?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,260
Likes
3,361
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#8
Ok, I know you said your not new to PCs, but you havent mentioned this. What are the temps your video card(the 670) is running at when this happenes.

Just trying to help friend.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
26
Likes
5
Location
Germany
System Name My gaming build
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @4.5 Ghz 1.376v
Motherboard MSI Z77A GD65 Gaming
Cooling Corsair Self Contained Unit
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Radeon R9 290X OC Sapphire
Storage OCZ Agility 3 SSD 128GB + Various Multimedia Drives
Display(s) Liyama Prolite G2773HS GB-1 120hz
Case Maelstrom From Inwin.
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Cyborg V5
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#9
Sounds like a driver issue then. When was the last time you did a clean install of the OS?
4 days ago to see if it fixed the problem which it didn't :( I also did a fresh install when i got the card. I have the drivers set up for use advanced 3d settings, I have set it to maximum performance mode.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,397
Likes
8,918
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#10
4 days ago to see if it fixed the problem which it didn't :( I also did a fresh install when i got the card. I have the drivers set up for use advanced 3d settings, I have set it to maximum performance mode.
Leave the drivers at default. I bet thats your issue right there.

Ok, I know you said your not new to PCs, but you havent mentioned this. What are the temps your video card(the 670) is running at when this happenes.

Just trying to help friend.
Also what he said.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
26
Likes
5
Location
Germany
System Name My gaming build
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @4.5 Ghz 1.376v
Motherboard MSI Z77A GD65 Gaming
Cooling Corsair Self Contained Unit
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Radeon R9 290X OC Sapphire
Storage OCZ Agility 3 SSD 128GB + Various Multimedia Drives
Display(s) Liyama Prolite G2773HS GB-1 120hz
Case Maelstrom From Inwin.
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Cyborg V5
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#11
The temps are fine the card has a great cooler and my case has amazing airflow. its called the mealstrom from inwin. Temps idle at around 25 and never go over 60. tried leaving drivers on default no change :(

EDIT: Sorry about all this lol. Maybe I should just give up playing it.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,260
Likes
3,361
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#12
The temps are fine the card has a great cooler and my case has amazing airflow. its called the mealstrom from inwin. Temps idle at around 25 and never go over 60. tried leaving drivers on default no change :(

EDIT: Sorry about all this lol. Maybe I should just give up playing it.
different drivers tried, temps good, clean OS and game install, game fully patched, virus/malware scans find nothing, other games play fine on GTX670, BO plays fine with GTX480. Man, I have no freaking idea then. :banghead:

Don't be sorry. It's all good. Someone has to know the answer to your problem. Just a matter of that person finding this thread.

Good Luck.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,397
Likes
8,918
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#13
The temps are fine the card has a great cooler and my case has amazing airflow. its called the mealstrom from inwin. Temps idle at around 25 and never go over 60. tried leaving drivers on default no change :(

EDIT: Sorry about all this lol. Maybe I should just give up playing it.
Well play BF3 instead. 10000000000000000000000000000000000000 times better.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
26
Likes
5
Location
Germany
System Name My gaming build
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @4.5 Ghz 1.376v
Motherboard MSI Z77A GD65 Gaming
Cooling Corsair Self Contained Unit
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Radeon R9 290X OC Sapphire
Storage OCZ Agility 3 SSD 128GB + Various Multimedia Drives
Display(s) Liyama Prolite G2773HS GB-1 120hz
Case Maelstrom From Inwin.
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Cyborg V5
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#14
different drivers tried, temps good, clean OS and game install, game fully patched, virus/malware scans find nothing, other games play fine on GTX670, BO plays fine with GTX480. Man, I have no freaking idea then. :banghead:

Don't be sorry. It's all good. Someone has to know the answer to your problem. Just a matter of that person finding this thread.

Good Luck.
Well play BF3 instead. 10000000000000000000000000000000000000 times better.
Well thanks for the help guys I have no idea either. :banghead: Hopefully someone else has experienced and fixed this problem .__.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,397
Likes
8,918
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#15
Well thanks for the help guys I have no idea either. :banghead: Hopefully someone else has experienced and fixed this problem .__.
They did. They installed BF3. :laugh: Anyway good luck man!
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2009
Messages
2,841
Likes
339
System Name FumoffuFumoffu
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X -UD3H
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon HD 7970 OC
Storage 1- WD 500GB 1- Samsung F2 1.5TB 1- Crucial M4 128GB SSD 1-256GB ADATA XPG SX900 ASX900S3 SSD
Display(s) Hanns-G HZ281HPB 27.5'' 3ms Full HD 1920x1200 WideScreen LCD Monitor
Case Corsair Graphite Series 600T
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair HX 750W Gold
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#16
 
Last edited by a moderator:

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,515
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#17
Ducky why are you posting that video on the CODBOII threads? I stopped watching after 30 seconds.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
394
Likes
158
Processor i7 4770k @ 4.6Ghz
Motherboard Asrock z97 Extreme6
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB @ 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC
Case Cooltek W2
#18
quick google suggests, disable shadows and/or disable the game recording feature by

Typing /stoprecord into console at start of map