• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Calling all ATI guru's...I need some help please

miahallen

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
133 (0.03/day)
Likes
97
System Name MAX11L
Processor i5 750 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte H55N-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory Corsair Dominator GTX3 @ DDR3-2100 6-9-6 1T
Video Card(s) eVGA 480 GTX @ 800/1000
Storage 80GB Intel X25M + 500GB Seagate Momentus XT
Case Silverstone SUGO SG05
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Silverstone ST45SF 450W SFX
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Check full performance review here: http://www.techreaction.net/2010/09/24/gaming-in-tight-spaces-p
#1
I recently purchased two used 4870x2s. One of them works perfect. The other one is giving me problems.

The problematic card only works in the basic VGA mode....once drivers are loaded, it stops outputting any image.

For instance, a fresh load of Windows Vista, without any pre-loaded drivers. The card is working fine. While attempting to install the drivers, about half-way through, when the display normally cuts in and out....the screen goes dark, and my only option is to hard reset the system.

Using the known good card, I can install the drivers fine, and everything works as it should. If I get everything working with the good card, and then insert the other one. When the machine boots up, everything is normal until after the Windows Vista splash screen disappears. Right when the desktop would normally appear. The display goes dark.

I've attempted to use the card with Windows XP x86, Windows Vista X86, and Windows 7 x64...all with the same results. I've attempted flashing the factory BIOS, and then I tryed another BIOS...no change.

I also had a waterblock waiting to be installed on it, but wanted to get the problem fixed first. When I was unable to solve the problem, I went ahead and installed the waterblock tonight. While I had the card naked, I gave it a close inspection, but everything looks good. So I proceeded to install the waterblock, but that didn't change anything either.

Is this something anybody has seen before...is there any hope for the card? I'd really like to do some quad-fire benching, but I'm stuck until I can get the second card working...:shrug:

Thanks :cool:
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.90/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#2
I'm pretty sure that card is dead or overheating. Is the fan spinning? Also, do you have the ability to RMA?
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#3
When it is working with default Windows drivers, does GPU-Z show any irregularities?
(Like not reporting something it should, or reporting something wrong)
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.21/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#4
sell em and get 2 HD5850's :D
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
2,143 (0.65/day)
Likes
312
System Name THE MAD BEAST!!!
Processor Tinfoil rapper with some coathangers
Motherboard Graham cracker with with frosting
Cooling A shovel full of snow
Memory Grey matter out of a corpse
Video Card(s) Cat eyes
Storage A whales brain
Display(s) Cyclops eyeball
Case Inside a yetis hollowed out corpse
Audio Device(s) howling banchee
Power Supply 32 hamster on a massive wheel
Software WHo needs software when you have a box of kittens
Benchmark Scores IS gatrillions a number?
#5
this might sound stupid but have you tried installing the old hotfix drivers for the 4870x2 i think theres like cat 9.0 hotfixes or something i had a problem way back with my 4870x2 if i didnt use those hotfix drivers and tried to instal other ones the card would stop responding and crash the system
 

miahallen

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
133 (0.03/day)
Likes
97
System Name MAX11L
Processor i5 750 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte H55N-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory Corsair Dominator GTX3 @ DDR3-2100 6-9-6 1T
Video Card(s) eVGA 480 GTX @ 800/1000
Storage 80GB Intel X25M + 500GB Seagate Momentus XT
Case Silverstone SUGO SG05
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Silverstone ST45SF 450W SFX
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Check full performance review here: http://www.techreaction.net/2010/09/24/gaming-in-tight-spaces-p
#6
I'm pretty sure that card is dead or overheating. Is the fan spinning? Also, do you have the ability to RMA?
Did you even bother to read my post?:rolleyes:

I started with an Accelero Xtreme heatsink (and yes, all three fans were spinning). Later I installed a Koolance full cover block. So no, the card is not overheating. And, no I cannot RMA...I bought it used.

When it is working with default Windows drivers, does GPU-Z show any irregularities?
(Like not reporting something it should, or reporting something wrong)
I hadn't check this before, so thanks for the suggestion :cool:
Right now I'm running both cards in quad-fire, seeing if it'll work fine slaved off the working card, but I'm still having the same problems.

Before drivers are loaded, GPU-Z reports most of the info correctly. But the GPU core and memory clocks are way off on one of the two adaptors (200MHz core, 3150MHz mem)

I'm wondering though, is GPU-Z looking at the two adaptors on the primary card, or GPU 0 on each card?

sell em and get 2 HD5850's :D
:toast: Great idea...but I've already got plenty of Cypress laying around, and I'll have some Fermi action soon. I'm a bencher, and I'm playing with these for fun :)

this might sound stupid but have you tried installing the old hotfix drivers for the 4870x2 i think theres like cat 9.0 hotfixes or something i had a problem way back with my 4870x2 if i didnt use those hotfix drivers and tried to instal other ones the card would stop responding and crash the system
I've tried Cat 9.6, 9.12, 10.1 and 10.2 for Vista x86. I've also tried 10.1 for WinXP x86 :(
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,524 (0.49/day)
Likes
238
Location
UK
System Name Betty The Dirty Dragon
Processor AMD 8350 @4.8
Motherboard ASUS sabertooth rev 2
Cooling Watercooling - Swiftech GTZ - XSPC RS360 - XSPC RX120
Memory 8GB corsair vengeance cas 9
Video Card(s) 280x 1100core 1600 mem
Storage 240 gb ssd- 2 tb Storage
Display(s) Samsung 24" 2433BW
Case Corsair 650d
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatality Titanium Pro
Power Supply XFX 850 fully modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#7
the defect 4870x2, when installed as a single card will this post on its own and load into 'full' windows. If not the card is defective and i would contact the person that you bought them from asap.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
2,143 (0.65/day)
Likes
312
System Name THE MAD BEAST!!!
Processor Tinfoil rapper with some coathangers
Motherboard Graham cracker with with frosting
Cooling A shovel full of snow
Memory Grey matter out of a corpse
Video Card(s) Cat eyes
Storage A whales brain
Display(s) Cyclops eyeball
Case Inside a yetis hollowed out corpse
Audio Device(s) howling banchee
Power Supply 32 hamster on a massive wheel
Software WHo needs software when you have a box of kittens
Benchmark Scores IS gatrillions a number?
#8
yes miahallen have you tired the (HOTFIX) drivers, there diffrent. im just saying it what fixed my problem no matter what normal cat drivers i tried it always crashed my computer until i tried the hotfix drivers
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#9
I'm not sure how GPU-Z reports on a quad-fire setup, as I only have one x2.
Check it with only the questionable card installed.

I have no problems with my card and normal drivers.
 

miahallen

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
133 (0.03/day)
Likes
97
System Name MAX11L
Processor i5 750 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte H55N-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory Corsair Dominator GTX3 @ DDR3-2100 6-9-6 1T
Video Card(s) eVGA 480 GTX @ 800/1000
Storage 80GB Intel X25M + 500GB Seagate Momentus XT
Case Silverstone SUGO SG05
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Silverstone ST45SF 450W SFX
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Check full performance review here: http://www.techreaction.net/2010/09/24/gaming-in-tight-spaces-p
#10
the defect 4870x2, when installed as a single card will this post on its own and load into 'full' windows. If not the card is defective and i would contact the person that you bought them from asap.
Yes, the single card will load into "full" windows, as long as there aren't any graphics card drivers installed.
I already talked to the person who sold it to me, they assured me that it was fine when it left their hands (I'd like to believe him).

yes miahallen have you tired the (HOTFIX) drivers, there diffrent. im just saying it what fixed my problem no matter what normal cat drivers i tried it always crashed my computer until i tried the hotfix drivers
No, and searching around, I'm not finding one matching your description, the closest was 8.12 hotfix which added support for the 4850x2 :confused:

I'm not sure how GPU-Z reports on a quad-fire setup, as I only have one x2.
Check it with only the questionable card installed.

I have no problems with my card and normal drivers.
I'll have to check it later, right now the cards are linked and full of water ;)
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,524 (0.49/day)
Likes
238
Location
UK
System Name Betty The Dirty Dragon
Processor AMD 8350 @4.8
Motherboard ASUS sabertooth rev 2
Cooling Watercooling - Swiftech GTZ - XSPC RS360 - XSPC RX120
Memory 8GB corsair vengeance cas 9
Video Card(s) 280x 1100core 1600 mem
Storage 240 gb ssd- 2 tb Storage
Display(s) Samsung 24" 2433BW
Case Corsair 650d
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatality Titanium Pro
Power Supply XFX 850 fully modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#11
well if it boots into windows fine then it shouldnt be much, but i also had a 4890 that was water damaged (by myself) and that would boot into windows but upon installing drivers would crash or blue screen. I would try installing the drivers via device manager and see what happens.
You could put the 'good card' in and then install the drivers then add the second and try installing drivers via device manager.
Do you get an error code or anything when using 2 cards.

I would really like to see your system specs of the machine in question and also what power supply you have?
 

miahallen

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
133 (0.03/day)
Likes
97
System Name MAX11L
Processor i5 750 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte H55N-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory Corsair Dominator GTX3 @ DDR3-2100 6-9-6 1T
Video Card(s) eVGA 480 GTX @ 800/1000
Storage 80GB Intel X25M + 500GB Seagate Momentus XT
Case Silverstone SUGO SG05
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Silverstone ST45SF 450W SFX
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Check full performance review here: http://www.techreaction.net/2010/09/24/gaming-in-tight-spaces-p
#12
Right now they're in a P55A-UD7 with an i5 670, 4GB of HyperX. PSU - 750W PCP&C

After attempting to install the drivers, I can load up windows in safe mode and see the driver was properly installed on three of 4 GPUs.

Attempting to reinstall the driver using the device manager in safe mode says it is successful, but when trying to boot again, I get the same results :(

Now going back into safe mode, viewing the device manager, it looks like all four are properly installed. Disabling the one that failed the first time doesn't change the results.

Thanks for all the suggestions guys, I gotta hit the sack. I'll check in with you tomorrow :)
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,692 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#13
Try reflashing the card in question...and the 10.2 are fine if your on an X58 mobo.
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
9,641 (2.87/day)
Likes
8,544
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX
Cooling Corsair H100i and video card custom loop
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Video Card(s) Dual liquid cooled HD7970's (Thanks to Norton!!!)
Storage Crucial M4 256 gig SSD
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
#14
Take the questionable card totally apart, and bake that sucker! :)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,787 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,187
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#15
take the faulty card and swap it in for the known good one and see if it does the same thing, that will tell you whether the card is bad or the Motherboard is giving you fits.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.95/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#16
take the faulty card and swap it in for the known good one and see if it does the same thing, that will tell you whether the card is bad or the Motherboard is giving you fits.


I'm certain the guy would of tried the card individually in the all available slots, he seems to have a good technical knowledge.


Anyway as you said clocks are WAAAAY off, especially ram, try reflashing the card with its original bios.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,459 (1.06/day)
Likes
713
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#17
XP only does 2 gpus max.
Vista x86 could give to problems depending on how much system memory you have.
Windows 7 would be the best option since it is x64.

Which GPUz do you have (the newest I assume)?
Go in to device manager and make sure all four gpus are listed correctly. I've had a problem with Vista where it would disabled one of the gpus on my 4870x2 and never really got fixed until CCC 9.5.
 

miahallen

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
133 (0.03/day)
Likes
97
System Name MAX11L
Processor i5 750 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte H55N-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory Corsair Dominator GTX3 @ DDR3-2100 6-9-6 1T
Video Card(s) eVGA 480 GTX @ 800/1000
Storage 80GB Intel X25M + 500GB Seagate Momentus XT
Case Silverstone SUGO SG05
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Silverstone ST45SF 450W SFX
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Check full performance review here: http://www.techreaction.net/2010/09/24/gaming-in-tight-spaces-p
#18
take the faulty card and swap it in for the known good one and see if it does the same thing, that will tell you whether the card is bad or the Motherboard is giving you fits.
Tried it....from OP:
Using the known good card, I can install the drivers fine, and everything works as it should. If I get everything working with the good card, and then insert the other one. When the machine boots up, everything is normal until after the Windows Vista splash screen disappears. Right when the desktop would normally appear. The display goes dark.
Take the questionable card totally apart, and bake that sucker! :)
First time someone has suggested this, and it's something I've never tried before....thanks for the suggestion, I might have to give this a shot :toast:

XP only does 2 gpus max.
Vista x86 could give to problems depending on how much system memory you have.
Windows 7 would be the best option since it is x64.

Which GPUz do you have (the newest I assume)?
Go in to device manager and make sure all four gpus are listed correctly. I've had a problem with Vista where it would disabled one of the gpus on my 4870x2 and never really got fixed until CCC 9.5.
I know how many cores XP can handle. All my quad-fire testing was done with Vista. When testing XP, I was using a single card.
I tested Win7 x64 with a full build and it does not complete installation because it has drivers for the 4870x2 built in, so as soon as they load, the screen goes black, and the installation stops :(
I've checked the device manager in safe mode....from an earlier post:
After attempting to install the drivers, I can load up windows in safe mode and see the driver was properly installed on three of 4 GPUs.

Attempting to reinstall the driver using the device manager in safe mode says it is successful, but when trying to boot again, I get the same results :(

Now going back into safe mode, viewing the device manager, it looks like all four are properly installed. Disabling the one that failed the first time doesn't change the results.
Thanks for all the suggestions guys :toast:
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.93/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#19
Dont bake the card yet. it could make the situation worse and at this point is un necessary. Try using ati flash or ati winflash and flashing the good cards bios over to the bad card. sounds like the guy before you was trying to flash the card or did flash the card and one of the bios' got currupted try forcing the flash and see what happens. after this you have tried everything then I would bake it, but all baking the card will do is heat up the solder joints. the only way it would help is IF there was an improper solder joint to begin with.
 

miahallen

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
133 (0.03/day)
Likes
97
System Name MAX11L
Processor i5 750 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte H55N-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory Corsair Dominator GTX3 @ DDR3-2100 6-9-6 1T
Video Card(s) eVGA 480 GTX @ 800/1000
Storage 80GB Intel X25M + 500GB Seagate Momentus XT
Case Silverstone SUGO SG05
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Silverstone ST45SF 450W SFX
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Check full performance review here: http://www.techreaction.net/2010/09/24/gaming-in-tight-spaces-p
#20
Thanks OCing101...

I just went back and flashed the original BIOSes from my good card. It is a VisionTek.

On Deanzo's suggestion, I tried using older drivers....Cat 8.12 for Vista x86 in this case.

Back then, driver installation required reboot, so the drivers actually all installed successfully. But, upon reboot, the screen still want black.

Here is a screenshot before I attempted the driver install. Notice that Vista says it installed one of the two "Standard VGA graphic adaptor" was installed, the other "failed" :(


After attempting to install the Cat 8.12 drivers...the system screen blanks after the splash screen. So I went in via safe mode, and disabled the second 2 adaptors in the device manager.

Then rebooting into Windows was successful. Here is a screen:
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,459 (1.06/day)
Likes
713
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#21
Is it giving you a code 43 (display adapter disabled) in Vista?
What is the date on the bios you are using to flash with?

GPUz will show dysfunctional clocks if you're getting code 43. I've been down this sad path. If you're getting this in W7 (which from your post I'd assume yes?) then I'm not sure why it is giving your problems there as I never had the problem in W7.

Lmk as I was able to fix my problem under Vista (if it is code 43).

this might sound stupid but have you tried installing the old hotfix drivers for the 4870x2 i think there's like cat 9.0 hotfixes or something i had a problem way back with my 4870x2 if i didn't use those hotfix drivers and tried to install other ones the card would stop responding and crash the system
I've tried Cat 9.6, 9.12, 10.1 and 10.2 for Vista x86. I've also tried 10.1 for WinXP x86 :(
They were CCC 9.3 Hotfix but it looks like AMD has taken them down from their site.

I know how many cores XP can handle. All my quad-fire testing was done with Vista. When testing XP, I was using a single card.
I tested Win7 x64 with a full build and it does not complete installation because it has drivers for the 4870x2 built in, so as soon as they load, the screen goes black, and the installation stops :(

I've checked the device manager in safe mode....from an earlier post:
Sorry if I came off sounding like a prick. Wasn't my intent. I thought I had caught all you tried but I guess not.

Dont bake the card yet. it could make the situation worse and at this point is un necessary.
I agree. This is not a failing gpu problem. Lots of people with 4870x2s had this problem and it came and went with the drivers (around CCC 8.10 to about 9.5).
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.78/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#22
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,459 (1.06/day)
Likes
713
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#23
The 9.3 Hotfix that related to code 43 was listed under the technical support section of AMD's website. They were a "this may or may not fix it" driver.

They were never listed under the "normal" driver location on AMD's site and probably why they are not on that list. Not everyone has the problem so it had it ever harder to nail down. I think it might be along the lines of the GSOD with the 5 series cards. Not everyone has the problem and those that do have it, nothing seems to work for them.

If this is the code 43 thing, someone on the AMD Game forums mentioned that he thought it was a bios thing. He stated that it seemed earlier bios had the problem and later ones did not. It was also believed that Asus motherboards were a source of the problem as quite a few of the problem cards were running on Asus boards but seeing as Mishallen has a Gigabyte we can rule that one out.
 

miahallen

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
133 (0.03/day)
Likes
97
System Name MAX11L
Processor i5 750 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte H55N-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory Corsair Dominator GTX3 @ DDR3-2100 6-9-6 1T
Video Card(s) eVGA 480 GTX @ 800/1000
Storage 80GB Intel X25M + 500GB Seagate Momentus XT
Case Silverstone SUGO SG05
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Silverstone ST45SF 450W SFX
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Check full performance review here: http://www.techreaction.net/2010/09/24/gaming-in-tight-spaces-p
#24
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.21/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#25
Did you even bother to read my post?:rolleyes:

I started with an Accelero Xtreme heatsink (and yes, all three fans were spinning). Later I installed a Koolance full cover block. So no, the card is not overheating. And, no I cannot RMA...I bought it used.


I hadn't check this before, so thanks for the suggestion :cool:
Right now I'm running both cards in quad-fire, seeing if it'll work fine slaved off the working card, but I'm still having the same problems.

Before drivers are loaded, GPU-Z reports most of the info correctly. But the GPU core and memory clocks are way off on one of the two adaptors (200MHz core, 3150MHz mem)

I'm wondering though, is GPU-Z looking at the two adaptors on the primary card, or GPU 0 on each card?


:toast: Great idea...but I've already got plenty of Cypress laying around, and I'll have some Fermi action soon. I'm a bencher, and I'm playing with these for fun :)


I've tried Cat 9.6, 9.12, 10.1 and 10.2 for Vista x86. I've also tried 10.1 for WinXP x86 :(

Oh I see, fair enough:toast: