• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

can't get gpu-z to run as stand-alone or install

96halx

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
7 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hey guys, I'm trying to get gpu-z to run on my system (windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit, nvidia 8600gts, driver is 9.18.13.3788), but when I try to run it, with or without installing it, I get a failure screen from windows with this as the message:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: GPU-Z.exe
Application Version: 0.6.5.0
Application Timestamp: 50884db0
Fault Module Name: StackHash_4f5a
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7600.16385
Fault Module Timestamp: 4a5bdadb
Exception Code: c0000374
Exception Offset: 000c283b
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 4f5a
Additional Information 2: 4f5afd125f86900c115191ab67118b1f
Additional Information 3: 14ef
Additional Information 4: 14efd850763de8fe98a5414883125ef3

I've tried this with 0.7.8, 0.7.7, and 0.6.5.0, and get the same screen every time. Any ideas?
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,496 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,163
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#2
Does the log have any events for say, your firewall? Could it be blocking it? Since it's so many versions it's worth investigating. Have you gotten it to run before?

And welcome to TPU!
 

96halx

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
7 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#3
I'm not seeing anything that could be related to the firewall, but I can't say that that is my forte, either. The splash screen comes up, and while it's still there, a screen pops up and says "video card information utility has stopped working". Tried downloading from a different source, just in case, but that didn't help any. if there's anything in particular I can/need to check, I'm all ears.

Thanks for the welcome, by the way :)
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,496 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,163
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#4
Yeah, I honestly just took a stab in the dark on firewall, since that's been my problem when a program won't run and has an appcrash event. The pop up screen message is interesting though. It's like it can't read the card. Maybe try and reinstall the driver?
 

96halx

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
7 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
That's kinda the direction I'm leaning. I installed the Cuda toolkit and everything, and it came with a driver in case you didn't already have a "standalone" driver. I went ahead and let it install the driver along with the rest of the package, which is 9.blahblahblah see above; but the regular nvidia drivers are more along the 5xx.blahblahblah (not saying it's and OOOOLD driver or anything, it's dated 5/19/2014).

Might try installing new driver and see if the Cuda works with it AND lets me use gpu-z.

Thanks for the brain-pickin' session, I'll get back with whether or not it works
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,186 (3.44/day)
Likes
18,169
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#7
Do you have an instant messenger or skype ? Add me.
 

Kyprus

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
I have the same problem. At first I thought it might be the drivers but I tried three different versions and it didn't make a difference. Let me know if you want to IM W1zzard.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,186 (3.44/day)
Likes
18,169
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#10
I have the same problem. At first I thought it might be the drivers but I tried three different versions and it didn't make a difference. Let me know if you want to IM W1zzard.
which card?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,186 (3.44/day)
Likes
18,169
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#12
Found an old 8600 GTS in one of my drawers .. it runs GPU-Z just fine on Windows 7 64-bit, using teh same driver

 

Kyprus

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
I'm on Windows 8.1 btw. My setup has always worked in the past. Something must have happened recently though ( I don't know what), and it stopped working. Besides reinstalling my OS I don't what what else to try at this point.
 

ozob

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2014
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
SOLVED (for me at least) by:

1. right click gpu-z.exe icon
2. select propetries
3. select compatibility tab
4. set compatibility to Windows 7 (+ administrator rights)

System: Windows 7 Pro 64bit with EVGA 750ti sc.