• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Cant Install XP on a SATA

Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#26
i was going to mention about it possibly being set to run in ahci mode before he sorted it, i had the same dang problem when i used my first sata hadd i was like WFT!! :wtf: then figured out setting the sata drive to ide mode in the bios fixed it doh! :slap:
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#27
i was going to mention about it possibly being set to run in ahci mode before he sorted it, i had the same dang problem when i used my first sata hadd i was like WFT!! :wtf: then figured out setting the sata drive to ide mode in the bios fixed it doh! :slap:
Mine performs better in AHCI mode. Had it in IDE, but it was laggy.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
538 (0.12/day)
Likes
31
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard ASUS RAMPAGE II Extreme
Cooling CM v10
Memory Corsair 3 x 2GB TR3X6G1866C9DF
Video Card(s) Nvidia XFX 8800GT Stock
Storage Seagate ST3500320AS, 2 x Samsung HD103UJ
Display(s) 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
#28
You have to press F6 if your SATA controller is set to AHCI or RAID, regardless of the number of drives. The exception being if your SATA controller's drivers are one of the ones already on the XP install disk, or you have your SATA controller set to IDE mode.
not in all cases.... and it doesnt hurt to try, i have to install my sata controller after windows has fully install, i got a asus a8n-sli premium its different but does it hurt to try?
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#29
not in all cases.... and it doesnt hurt to try, i have to install my sata controller after windows has fully install, i got a asus a8n-sli premium its different but does it hurt to try?
Then yours falls into the category of "drivers already on the XP install disk". Which, in my experience, is actually quite lucky for you. I wish mine were that way. lol
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
538 (0.12/day)
Likes
31
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard ASUS RAMPAGE II Extreme
Cooling CM v10
Memory Corsair 3 x 2GB TR3X6G1866C9DF
Video Card(s) Nvidia XFX 8800GT Stock
Storage Seagate ST3500320AS, 2 x Samsung HD103UJ
Display(s) 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
#30
eh i dunno... i got sata drivers on my mb cd all that did was cause more problems so i didnt bother pressing f6 one day and it solved my problems
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
675 (0.17/day)
Likes
7
Location
Michigan, US
System Name Clarise
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Toledo) @2.8 (255 X 11)
Motherboard Asus A8v Deluxe rev 2
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Cooler Pro + 5 Case Fans
Memory 2GB G-Skill (2.5-3-3-6 1T) @ 467mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 @ 640-814
Storage Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB (Sata) Maxtor 120GB (Sata) Western Digital 120GB (ide)
Display(s) 19" HP Pavilion M90 / 33" Sony Wega Trinitron
Case Antec Lanboy with a few mods :0)
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 4 Pro - Bose Free Style 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply Rosewill Extreme Edition 500W 34A 12V rail
Software Windows XP Pro & Vista Ultimate
#31
yeah i got it, i just had to use the SATA drivers from myt mobo cd and put them on a fllopy. i was trying to use my hard drive drivers the whole time not even thinking that the problem was the mobo drivers. but it works fine now and i Super Pi about 4 seconds faster now. woo hoo i guess!! haha, thanks for all the advise!!
 

Testing

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2007
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#32
Errr I swore I PMd you yesterday and said use motherboard drivers..


Well go get Nlite and add them to the disk, be just your luck you forget all this the next time around :)