• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cleaning out Context Menu

Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
I have one 120GHb SSD with the x32Win10proV1909 system, and two 80Gb spinning disk HDDs with different types of data permanently connected. The 80Gb have in their Context Menu, the (for me) highly inappropriate item named 'Open Autoplay'. I have not found 'Open autoplay' in Registry and it does not appear in the Context Menu lists of WinAero tweaker; CCleaner, Glary Utilities or ShellExView. How can I remove that ?
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Your reference relates to Autoplay, but does not tell me how to be rid of 'OPEN AUTOPLAY' entry from the Context Menu of two spinning disk drives.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,219 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Delete that file, I thought the Wikipedia article text made that clear
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,627 (1.32/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
highly inappropriate item named 'Open Autoplay'.
While I can understand how the word Autoplay might be misinterpreted as something inappropriate, by no means is it. It is just short for "automatic play" and it is a standard feature built into Windows that, for example, will allow a song or video on a disk to "automatically play" when the disk is inserted. In other words, there is nothing inappropriate about it.

It is normal for "Open Autoplay..." to appear in the context menu for removable devices. So my question is, are those drives removable/external drives? If so, I would not worry about this.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
I said the 'Open Autoplay' entry was in appropriate FOR ME. They are 'fixed' 80Gb spinning disk Drives, always present in This PC. I'm not interested in 'playing' anything on them. It is NOT the 'Autoplay' entry, which I believe is removable. Moreover I have removable drives also permanently connected, but they do NOT have that Context Menu entry. I may have to 'live with' that entry, but have been able, in numerous different ways, to rid Context Menu of many other entries, so want to do that with with 'Open Autoplay' as well, if possible.

There is NO 'autorun.inf on either of the two disks that have that Context Menu entry - so it can't be deleted from them. If I connect another spinning disk drive, as i do from time to time, it has that entry in the Context Menu - that is a case of a removable drive having it. Some USB sticks have it but not all.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,627 (1.32/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I said the 'Open Autoplay' entry was in appropriate FOR ME.
I understand that. But there are 100s if not 1000s of words in probably every language that have multiple meanings, some offensive and some not. This is why we must take the meaning in the context it was intended. There is no innuendo or "double entendre" meaning with "autoplay" in this context.

Having said all that, for fixed drives, Autoplay is not normally a right-context menu item. In fact, I just checked 4 systems here that have a total of 9 drives installed internally. None have that entry so not sure how that entry got there on your system.

You might check out this article from The Windows Club. It also has some free context menu editor program suggestions.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
I apologize for the mis-spelling : 'in appropriate' should have been 'inappropriate'. No innuendo or double entendre was suspected.

I had read the article you refer me to [I almost missed the hyperlink because it barely differs from the 'normal' font) and tried those suggested editors - none gave the required result. Since you say the entry is in MY system and not standard, the most likely suspect may be Actual Windows Manager. I had uninstalled AWM to see if that was the cause, but I thought the 'Open Autoplay' entry had persisted. I will try it again to make sure.
Uninstalling AWM had NO effect on 'Open Autoplay'.

I've found a post from Jan2012 that makes the same complaint : https://www.sevenforums.com/general-discussion/208904-how-remove-open-autoplay-context-menu.html At the end it suggests disabling Autoplay in group Policy to remove Autoplay from Context Menu- I do not want Autoplay disabled - I want 'Open Autoplay' removed from the context menu of HDDs to which it has no relevance.

There is the suggestion that installation of VLC, Gom and KMP may cause that entry to appear. I do have all three installed. The poster in 2012 did not have any of those installed and still had the unwanted entry.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,627 (1.32/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I apologize for the mis-spelling : 'in appropriate' should have been 'inappropriate'. No innuendo or double entendre was suspected.
I understood the space after "in" was not intended. Not sure what to suggest other than what has already been suggested.

***

@W1zzard - I agree with Sebastian42 - links are very hard to distinguish from normal text. In just checking my last post, I didn't see it until I hovered over it and then an underline appeared. Perhaps they need to appear in bold or some other contrasting color.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,642 (2.47/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Go to the old control panel:
Untitled.jpg


Click on AutoPlay then uncheck "Use AutoPlay for all media and devices."
Untitled.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
I do NOT want to disable Autoplay - I want to remove 'Open Autoplay' from some Context menus.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,642 (2.47/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Have you tried Winaero Tweaker? It allows editing the context menu in File Explorer among other tweaks you can make to Windows.

 
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Yes, I have tried that and CCleaner and Glary Utilities and ShellExView, as mentioned in my original post; and ContexMenuHandler etc in the Registry.
 
Top