• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

COD4 just disappeared off my screen for the 2nd time

Studabaker

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.32/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#1
Has anyone ever had COD4 or any game simply freeze up and disappear without errors or any msg of any sort? I've never had that happen no matter how unstable of an OC or how hot it gets. It just happened to me for the 2nd time. I just went back to the 185 beta drivers thinking that somehow oddly enough the final release 185s might have been causing this. It's just weird how randomly it happens, sometimes it'll take 2 hours of playing sometimes just 40 minutes.
 

bigtye

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
212 (0.05/day)
Likes
36
Location
Melbourne
System Name ibuiltit
Processor E8500 stock for now
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45 DS4
Cooling CPU- Xigmatek Red Scorpion, 1x23cm fan, 3x12cm fan
Memory 4gb Corsair Dominator 8500
Video Card(s) Asus 5850 1gb
Storage Samsung 750gb F1, 500bg F1 for backup
Display(s) Samsung 226BW
Case Thermaltake Armour+
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Corsair 750 TX
Software xp 32 bit SP3, Win 7 64 bit
#2
Yup, happens to me in FO3, just closes down and drops to windows xp no dramas. Everything else is fine.

Normally if a game crashes I get "the device has stopped working error" and on xp my graphics is 4 colour and rooted, so needs a reboot. But Fallout 3 will just drop out randomly after 30 inutes to couple of hours.

I suspect a memory leak.

Tye

You can check: control panel/performance and management/administrative tools/event viewer to see what caused it or what in particular went wrong.
 
Last edited:

Shadow*

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Great State of New Jersey
System Name Shadow
Processor AMD 6000 X2 3.1 GHz
Motherboard Asus/ Dell Inspiron 531( temp replacement)
Cooling (5) 120mm Fans/ (1) 200mm fan
Memory 4 Gigs, DDR2,667 Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 9400GT 512mb
Storage 1x (180gb)
Display(s) Dell SE178WFP
Case Antec 900( broken- batting accident)
Power Supply Antec Basiq 500 Watt
Software Windows XP MCE-Home
#3
well....though some dont admit it fo3 does have quite a few "memory leaks" and cod2 used to do that to me with the black and then closing probably something to do with the driver like you said....when i updated the 185.85 driver yesterday and came on today it wasnt installed....like wtf!!!??? so yea gl :)
 

Studabaker

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.32/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#4
Yup, happens to me in FO3, just closes down and drops to windows xp no dramas. Everything else is fine.

Normally if a game crashes I get "the device has stopped working error" and on xp my graphics is 4 colour and rooted, so needs a reboot. But Fallout 3 will just drop out randomly after 30 inutes to couple of hours.

I suspect a memory leak.

Tye

You can check: control panel/performance and management/administrative tools/event viewer to see what caused it or what in particular went wrong.
Ahh thanks for reminding me about event viewer, it WAS hidden in there:

Faulting application iw3mp.exe, version 0.0.0.0, time stamp 0x4859a219, faulting module nvd3dum.dll, version 8.15.11.8585

well....though some dont admit it fo3 does have quite a few "memory leaks" and cod2 used to do that to me with the black and then closing probably something to do with the driver like you said....when i updated the 185.85 driver yesterday and came on today it wasnt installed....like wtf!!!??? so yea gl :)
For now I've downgraded to older drivers, we'll see how it goes!
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
25,657 (5.58/day)
Likes
10,748
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#5
Just went through a bout of that with COD WaW kept just dropping off. Sometimes it was after a while 2-3 levels, sometimes 2 minutes. Turned out the board running 500FSB 1:1 with the ram is what my issue was, even though OCCT was spot on for over 10 hours.
 

Studabaker

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.32/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#6
Just went through a bout of that with COD WaW kept just dropping off. Sometimes it was after a while 2-3 levels, sometimes 2 minutes. Turned out the board running 500FSB 1:1 with the ram is what my issue was, even though OCCT was spot on for over 10 hours.
Whoa. So I should find another overclock besides one that runs my memory at 800? Maybe go for something slightly lower and aim for a higher CPU bus?
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
25,657 (5.58/day)
Likes
10,748
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#7
just sharing that the COD series is very strenuous as far as games go, just don't rule out the OC entirely. If you can write down or save all your settings. Then go back to stock and see if it still crashes. if it does, you can rule out the OC and start heavily leaning toward the GPU...whether its drivers, directX, or whatever.
 

Studabaker

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.32/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#8
Yeah I haven't ruled out the OC, next step if it crashes again will be to do a DriverSweep, then if it happens again I'll just have to start downclocking. Looking at 3.6GHz at 482*7.5, keeping the RAM at 800.
 

Studabaker

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.32/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#9
OK before I left tonight I launched Orthos CPU stress and OCCT's GPU test, everything was fine for about 20 minutes, then I don't know what happens, the OCCT log shows CPU core temps rising up to the 80s after about 20 minutes of the combined tests, which is right around the time that Orthos CPU stress lasted until it crashed out. It also said Crysis.exe failed (does OCCT run Crysis for stress testing about 20 minutes into a GPU stress test?)

I'm definitely leaning toward getting a case with much better cooling than mine offers. It would be nice to have the CM690, with the cooling fan sitting under the GPU blowing cold air up to it...
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
25,657 (5.58/day)
Likes
10,748
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#10
OCCT has nothing to do with Crysis.exe either you got some really weird software issues, or the PC was just catching up to a previous shutdown.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.49/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#11
No, OCCT uses Furmark for GPU testing. Since Furmark gets throttled by some drivers to reduce heat, the exe is renamed. Tho I've alway seen it as ETQW.exe, not Crysis.

At any rate, don't bother with OCCT for diagnosing a game crash. CoD4 is VERY sensitive to OCs. Mine machine can do 10hrs of OCCT on some OCs, but it will crash every time in CoD4 unless I lower my OC or add voltage.

Do yourself a favor, when investigating a game crashing to desktop, return your clocks back to stock.

Oh, and when the game just disappears like that, it's referred to as "crash to desktop" or CTD. Might help in the future for googling problems.
 

Studabaker

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.32/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#12
Well, I downclocked to 3.6 and OCCT GPU and Orthos CPU ran fine for an hour, though the heat generation did go back up to getting my cores hot as hell near the end and the GPU test did have a few errors on the GPU test but nothing major. I am still concerned about all that heat generated by the GPU, it really roasts up the rest of the system.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,389 (1.05/day)
Likes
538
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.22v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) ASUS RTX 2080 Dual OC
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540 ( Coolermaster RGB Fans )
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#13
have you updated DX and your video drivers?
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.49/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#14
Well, I downclocked to 3.6 and OCCT GPU and Orthos CPU ran fine for an hour, though the heat generation did go back up to getting my cores hot as hell near the end and the GPU test did have a few errors on the GPU test but nothing major. I am still concerned about all that heat generated by the GPU, it really roasts up the rest of the system.
Clock back to stock and test COD4. OCCT and Orthos testing doesn't help you fix a COD4 crash. If you clock back to stock, and COD4 works fine, your OC is bad, plain and simple. You don't need Orthos and OCCT to tell you that.

Going back to stock is ALWAYS the first step in diagnosing an app crash.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.32/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#15
Clock back to stock and test COD4. OCCT and Orthos testing doesn't help you fix a COD4 crash. If you clock back to stock, and COD4 works fine, your OC is bad, plain and simple. You don't need Orthos and OCCT to tell you that.

Going back to stock is ALWAYS the first step in diagnosing an app crash.
I have this thing against stock, I just can't handle it!! :roll:
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.49/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#16
I have this thing against stock, I just can't handle it!! :roll:
Unfortunately for you, it's the only good way to do it.

And if I can go to stock settings to test a crashing app, anyone can. lol.
 
Top