• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer is not powering down after shutdown command

Joined
Jan 14, 2021
Messages
4 (0.33/day)
Processor AMD R7 2700
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus X470 Ultra gaming
Cooling Cooler master hyper evo 212
Memory Kingston Predator 3000mhz 32GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 580 8GB
Storage Samsung Evo 850 250gb
Display(s) Iiyama prolite 27 1440p
Case Cooler master MB520
Power Supply Antec HCG 750 80+ gold
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion spark
Software Windows 10 pro
Hi, I have a problem with the older hardware. The hardware in question is the following

CPU: AMD FX8320 with an LC Power CPU cooler + 2 Noctua fans for push-pull
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 revision 4
RAM: 16GB Kingston fury (2X8) 1866mhz CL11
GPU: MSI RX470 Gaming 8GB
SSD: Sandisk 120GB boot drive
HDD: 2x Seagate Baracuda 1TB drives 7200 RPM
PSU: Silverstone 750W power supply 80+ silver
Case: NZXT Lena S

So the problem is the following. The computer is working normally, starts up normally, stressed the system and all the things are working. The only issue that it has it is not turning off. Sending shutdown command would send pc to turn off, and all the components will be off for 2 seconds and then would power up again as someone pressed the button. Checked with pulling out RAM and leaving only one memory stick and in a different slot.
Replaced graphics card with the MSI HD7850, still, the same. New PSU Seasonic am2 750w 80+ bronze, no change, replaced case with Zalman z9, same.
So in the end I suspect that is a motherboard but could be a CPU issue as I do not have another board or another CPU to test it out.
Does anybody know what could be the problem as the issue that the computer will not shut down, but working normally? This is not a software issue as when you hold the power button it will also go in a short turn-off state and power on again on both cases, so it is not a power switch as well as two different cases are in.
One notice is that the computer will shut down if it is cold (1-2 hours of power on time with light usage) any game or longer running would cause this to happen. Also cannot go to standby. As soon as it goes it would wake up from it.

Thank you
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,707 (2.91/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Juliette // HTPC
Processor Intel i7 9700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z390X-A// Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12 Black // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3600 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING// EVGA GTX 1050 ti
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe 1Tb, Intel 665p Series M.2 2280 1TB // Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VP348QGL 34" Quad HD 3440 x 1440 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Cooler Master MM710 53G
Keyboard Logitech 920-009300 G512 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
Something is keeping it awake
Try disconnecting your mouse.
You can go into the advance power setting and disable stuff to not wake. I forget what its called. USB suspend settings disable
Also set your power button to off not sleep
Those boards have issues with sleep
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 14, 2021
Messages
4 (0.33/day)
Processor AMD R7 2700
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus X470 Ultra gaming
Cooling Cooler master hyper evo 212
Memory Kingston Predator 3000mhz 32GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 580 8GB
Storage Samsung Evo 850 250gb
Display(s) Iiyama prolite 27 1440p
Case Cooler master MB520
Power Supply Antec HCG 750 80+ gold
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion spark
Software Windows 10 pro
It is off. ERP setting is on so nothing can wake PC once it is off. No standby power if the PC is off. The power button is set to off as well. In bios, it is set to after 4 seconds holding the button to turn off the PC.
Another point is yes, they have issues but I have the latest bios revision from Gigabyte support 4c that is not public so it was working ok before that.
Also, PSU supports that functionality to not keep the motherboard under less power than standard (USB has no power in of state for example).
I have also unplugged SDD and HDD to check if this is the issue, no luck as well.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
2,014 (2.85/day)
System Name Flavour of the month. I roll through hardware like it's not even mine (it often isn't).
Processor 3900X, 3600XT, 2700U
Motherboard Aorus X570 Elite, B550 DS3H
Cooling Alphacool CPU+GPU soft-tubing loop (Laing D5 360mm+140mm), AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 32GB Patriot 3600CL17, 32GB Corsair LPX 3200CL16, 16GB HyperX 2400CL14
Video Card(s) 2070S, 5700XT, Vega10
Storage 1TB WD S100G, 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro, 1TB MX500, 500GB Hynix 2242 bastard thing, 16TB of rust + backup
Display(s) Dell SG3220 165Hz VA, Samsung 65" Q9FN 120Hz VA
Case NZXT H440NE, Silverstone GD04 (almost nothing original left inside, thanks 3D printer!)
Audio Device(s) CA DacMagic+ with Presonus Eris E5, Yamaha RX-V683 with Q Acoustics 3000-series, Sony MDR-1A
Power Supply BeQuiet StraightPower E9 680W, Corsair RM550, and a 45W Lenovo DC power brick, I guess.
Mouse G303, MX Anywhere 2, Another MX Anywhere 2.
Keyboard CM QuickFire Stealth (Cherry MX Brown), Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
Software W10
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
Yeah, what @JESTER said. Disable wake on USB in the BIOS, or work out what peripheral you have plugged in that's failing.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,653 (2.63/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
Something in Windows to try is disabling "Wake Timers" under Sleep for the active power plan. Is there a device on your network that could be telling the PC to wake up via the Ethernet connection (Wake on LAN?)
Clipboard Image (14 January 2021).jpg


Yeah, what @JESTER said. Disable wake on USB in the BIOS, or work out what peripheral you have plugged in that's failing.
Could it be a Wake on LAN issue the OP is experiencing?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
27 (0.02/day)
Location
Aberdeen, UK
System Name DarkStarX
Processor Intel i7-8700K @ stock
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Extreme4
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) Corsair Vengeance Pro RBG LED DDR4 3200MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB / Toshiba X300 4TB 3.5"
Display(s) BenQ EX3501R / Dell U2515H 1440p
Case NZXT S340 Elite
Audio Device(s) NI Komplete Audio 2 / PreSonus Eris E4.5s
Power Supply Corsair RM650x
Mouse Corsair Ironclaw RGB
Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 MX Speed
Software Win10 Pro
Could it be a Wake on LAN issue the OP is experiencing?

WOL would only be happening if something was sending the magic packet to the device, more likely to be an over-sensitive sensor on a usb mouse (it's always been that for me in the past)

Might also be a setting (or bug) in BIOS... maybe worth updating to recent version and/or wiping the settings to default to see if that resolves it
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
2,014 (2.85/day)
System Name Flavour of the month. I roll through hardware like it's not even mine (it often isn't).
Processor 3900X, 3600XT, 2700U
Motherboard Aorus X570 Elite, B550 DS3H
Cooling Alphacool CPU+GPU soft-tubing loop (Laing D5 360mm+140mm), AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 32GB Patriot 3600CL17, 32GB Corsair LPX 3200CL16, 16GB HyperX 2400CL14
Video Card(s) 2070S, 5700XT, Vega10
Storage 1TB WD S100G, 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro, 1TB MX500, 500GB Hynix 2242 bastard thing, 16TB of rust + backup
Display(s) Dell SG3220 165Hz VA, Samsung 65" Q9FN 120Hz VA
Case NZXT H440NE, Silverstone GD04 (almost nothing original left inside, thanks 3D printer!)
Audio Device(s) CA DacMagic+ with Presonus Eris E5, Yamaha RX-V683 with Q Acoustics 3000-series, Sony MDR-1A
Power Supply BeQuiet StraightPower E9 680W, Corsair RM550, and a 45W Lenovo DC power brick, I guess.
Mouse G303, MX Anywhere 2, Another MX Anywhere 2.
Keyboard CM QuickFire Stealth (Cherry MX Brown), Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
Software W10
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
Could it be a Wake on LAN issue the OP is experiencing?
Not impossible but unlikely unless something else on his network is infected with Malware and trying to PXE boot devices. I'm assuming he hasn't intentionally set up something to wake network PCs based on this thread ;)

I've encountered this random-wake issue a few times before and @protain is likely correct in that it's a failing USB device or port. Squirting compressed air at all the case's USB ports might cure the issue if there's something causing a short fallen into one of them....
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,560 (2.15/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Silicon power qlc nvmex3 in raid 0/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
Could be a faulty On switch, try swapping it off and use the reset button or a screwdriver, just to check.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2021
Messages
4 (0.33/day)
Processor AMD R7 2700
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus X470 Ultra gaming
Cooling Cooler master hyper evo 212
Memory Kingston Predator 3000mhz 32GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 580 8GB
Storage Samsung Evo 850 250gb
Display(s) Iiyama prolite 27 1440p
Case Cooler master MB520
Power Supply Antec HCG 750 80+ gold
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion spark
Software Windows 10 pro
Faulty on switch is not as described in the original post to eliminate that issue I have switched the case from NZXT Lena S to Zalman Z9 and the issue persists. All wake-up triggers are disabled in bios.
Wake up on power restoring off
Wake up on LAN, off
Wake up mouse off
wake up keyboard off
ErP/EuP is on
Bios reflashed and used in stock settings. And then activating XPM, SVM, fan setup, enabling ErP/EuP, and removing wake up events from bios.

Removed all USB devices except mouse and keyboard. There are 4 PC in the house, so I believe that if there was a malicious issue, other PCs would be affected as well.
If it is a failing USB port, what would be the solution for that? Simply not plugging anything into it or will it cause the issue constantly?
I will test for the USB issue. Just one thing, does this mean that the board is dying or just glitching?

Thanks
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
2,014 (2.85/day)
System Name Flavour of the month. I roll through hardware like it's not even mine (it often isn't).
Processor 3900X, 3600XT, 2700U
Motherboard Aorus X570 Elite, B550 DS3H
Cooling Alphacool CPU+GPU soft-tubing loop (Laing D5 360mm+140mm), AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 32GB Patriot 3600CL17, 32GB Corsair LPX 3200CL16, 16GB HyperX 2400CL14
Video Card(s) 2070S, 5700XT, Vega10
Storage 1TB WD S100G, 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro, 1TB MX500, 500GB Hynix 2242 bastard thing, 16TB of rust + backup
Display(s) Dell SG3220 165Hz VA, Samsung 65" Q9FN 120Hz VA
Case NZXT H440NE, Silverstone GD04 (almost nothing original left inside, thanks 3D printer!)
Audio Device(s) CA DacMagic+ with Presonus Eris E5, Yamaha RX-V683 with Q Acoustics 3000-series, Sony MDR-1A
Power Supply BeQuiet StraightPower E9 680W, Corsair RM550, and a 45W Lenovo DC power brick, I guess.
Mouse G303, MX Anywhere 2, Another MX Anywhere 2.
Keyboard CM QuickFire Stealth (Cherry MX Brown), Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
Software W10
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
You haven't unplugged the two USB devices that are most likely to be the culprit. It's usually been a faulty keyboard when I've seen it happen.

First step is to clean the ports (compressed air is good for this, just jam the straw in the back of the port and squirt) and make sure all the USB headers on the board are either plugged in all the way, or that none of the pins on the unused ones have become bent and are making contact.

If the port is damaged and shorting (at least on the case) you can just unplug the case header. If it's shorting on the rear IO panel you're out of luck but chances are good you'd see physical damage to the port which might be repairable with a pin, blade, or toothpick.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2021
Messages
4 (0.33/day)
Processor AMD R7 2700
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus X470 Ultra gaming
Cooling Cooler master hyper evo 212
Memory Kingston Predator 3000mhz 32GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 580 8GB
Storage Samsung Evo 850 250gb
Display(s) Iiyama prolite 27 1440p
Case Cooler master MB520
Power Supply Antec HCG 750 80+ gold
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion spark
Software Windows 10 pro
kIt looks like the issue was with the ErP/EuP. Once I have disabled it, it started working okay again. Also reladed bios to some voltage default values and no longer set CPU to 1.3V and RAM to 1.5, as for some reason on auto it was going down to 1.35V.

Thank you all for support
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
113 (0.03/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Radeon RX5600XT
Storage Crucial MX500 500 GB SSD
Display(s) Acer KG271U bmiippx
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 10 x64 2004
I had an issue with WOL before. That would cause my PC to randomly turn on.
 
Top