• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Computer keeps restarting after installing new motherboard

sazkion

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling ZALMAN CPU Cooler Blue LED
Memory 2 x CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870
Storage OCZ 120GB SATA III
Display(s) 2 x LG 23" LCD Monitor W2353VP Model GH22LS30
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1)
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
#1
I just installed a new GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD5 motherboard. I installed my old stock CPU fan after cleaning it with canned air and wiping the base, it got pretty noisy before the computer crashed so I'm thinking it could be a CPU temp issue. Right now my CPU is sitting at 47.0 C on my bios screen. It booted up find for the first time and I started watching a youtube video after reacivating it when it crashed and now it won't stay on for longer then a minute. Windows won't boot after it crashes unless I turn it off and then back on.

When I boot and open speedfan the temperatures seem to fluctuate. The ones you see on the link is when the computer first booted after idling in bios for several minutes
http://i.imgur.com/K24nx1R.jpg

I read that I need to re-install windows after installing a new motherboard. It booted up fine and I was able to reactivate it using the phone option though. Could I still need to reinstall Windows 8 even though it booted up fine?
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.35/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#2
Wait for others to confirm but, using wrong motherboard drivers is a very bad idea! A clean windows install after motherboard swap is needed i think.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
245 (0.12/day)
Likes
138
System Name Main Pc | Xeon rig
Processor Intel Core i5-4670 @3.6Ghz | Intel Xeon X5675 @stock
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3 | Sabertooth X58
Cooling Noctua NH-U9B SE2 | Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB Crucial OC @ 2133mhz | 12 GB Various
Video Card(s) MSI R9 390 | MSI R7970 TF III 3GD5 OC BE (Bios mod 1081 mV)
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo\ 4TB WD HDD | 120GB Samsung Evo
Case NZXT H440 | Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply Seasonic 650 Watt| Nexus 450
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2016 Datacenter x64
#3
Windows 8 is very compatible and handy with a lot of hardware nowadays. i've seen it boot from an imac, from a installed hdd from an other pc.

the problem is that you need to reinstall whenever you replace your motherboard, unless its
the same type.

Its more secure and prevents you from getting rare bsod's and stuff like that, you wont like that.

and a reinstall will probably take a day or two to get things right, if you need to figure the problems out that you get when you replace your motherboard, that will take as much time.

since windows vista there's easy transfer, handy for making a transfer file for your data,
but you will need to install your programs again.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,626 (1.09/day)
Likes
938
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#4
I've successfully changed motherboards without reinstalling. I actually just pulled my desktop SSD out and put it in my Laptop when I upgraded and I had no issues. I ended up re-installing eventually tho as I moved to windows 8.

As others have said, reinstalling is a good idea if you swap out your mobo, but not essential.
You might want to try something like driver sweeper first.

Your temps do actually look a little high for idle and that could be the issue. make sure you have installed the heatsink and TIM correctly. Maybe try re-seating it.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#5
As a rule of thumb, always reinstall windows when installing a new motherboard even if its similar and/or marked as compatible with drivers. Simply isnt worth this hassle trying to patch it together.
 

sazkion

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling ZALMAN CPU Cooler Blue LED
Memory 2 x CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870
Storage OCZ 120GB SATA III
Display(s) 2 x LG 23" LCD Monitor W2353VP Model GH22LS30
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1)
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
#6
Ok I'll get a Windows 8 installation DVD then. I ordered a new heatsink off of Amazon and it should be here tomorrow as well. I'll leave the current one on their for now until the new one arrives tomorrow. I know it takes a little time for the CPU and heatsink to "settle" with the thermal paste, I doubt it would be the issue but could that causing it?

On the DVD should I choose the repair option? Is their an option to backup the harddrive to another drive? My computer has 3 other hard drives that I could use for the backup.

Any idea why Windows would refuse to boot after it crashes the first time? I get the Windows splash screen (with the four squares) and it just stays there until I power off the machine and then back on.

Another random question, would backing up a SSD drive shorten it's lifespan? I know SSD drives can only do a certain amount of read/writes and usually lasts for several years. I want to keep a backup but not if it uses my SSD drive faster.
 

sazkion

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling ZALMAN CPU Cooler Blue LED
Memory 2 x CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870
Storage OCZ 120GB SATA III
Display(s) 2 x LG 23" LCD Monitor W2353VP Model GH22LS30
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1)
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
#7
I can't even get my windows dvd to boot. I ordered a new heatsink so it should be here tomorrow. I'm really hoping that'll fix it. I'll double check all of the connections on the motherboard as well as all of the pins for the CPU
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
1,469 (0.45/day)
Likes
381
Location
Toronto
Processor i7-2670QM / Q9550 3.6ghz
Motherboard laptop / Asus P5Q-E
Cooling laptop / Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 2x4gb ddr3sd / 2x2gb ddr2
Video Card(s) 570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
Storage ST9750420AS / ST1000DM003
Display(s) BenQ FP241VW / BenQ GW2265HM
Case MSI gx780 / Corsair 500r
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply laptop / Corsair 750tx
Mouse Steelseries Kinzu V2 / Logitech M120
Keyboard Logitech Deluxe 250 / Logitech K120
Software Windows 7
#8
wouldnt the bios show high temps as well?

ssds should be fine when reading, only writing reduces the lifespan

paste settling depends on the paste, some are designed to be ready within minutes
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#9
As a rule of thumb, always reinstall windows when installing a new motherboard even if its similar and/or marked as compatible with drivers. Simply isnt worth this hassle trying to patch it together.
That is not true. I have used probably 50 boards with the same OS and drive. Plug and play baby and everything still works perfect.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,305 (0.39/day)
Likes
572
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Asus X79 DELUXE
Cooling WATER
Memory 16GB 2133 G skillz
Video Card(s) Asus 2 X 780TI DCII OC
Storage SEVERAL SSD"S
Display(s) Catleap/Yamakasi 2560X1440
Case D Frame MINI drilled out
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse DEATH ADDER
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Tournament
Software W10HB
Benchmark Scores PhIlLyChEeSeStEaK
#10
I just installed a new GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD5 motherboard. I installed my old stock CPU fan after cleaning it with canned air and wiping the base, it got pretty noisy before the computer crashed so I'm thinking it could be a CPU temp issue. Right now my CPU is sitting at 47.0 C on my bios screen. It booted up find for the first time and I started watching a youtube video after reacivating it when it crashed and now it won't stay on for longer then a minute. Windows won't boot after it crashes unless I turn it off and then back on.

When I boot and open speedfan the temperatures seem to fluctuate. The ones you see on the link is when the computer first booted after idling in bios for several minutes
http://i.imgur.com/K24nx1R.jpg

I read that I need to re-install windows after installing a new motherboard. It booted up fine and I was able to reactivate it using the phone option though. Could I still need to reinstall Windows 8 even though it booted up fine?

What was the hard drive used for before, did you remove the old drivers from what ever it came from? Have you booted into safe mode? Have you installed the new drivers for the new board?
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#11
What was the hard drive used for before, did you remove the old drivers from what ever it came from? Have you booted into safe mode? Have you installed the new drivers for the new board?
you don't have to remove the old drivers. windows handles this
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,305 (0.39/day)
Likes
572
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Asus X79 DELUXE
Cooling WATER
Memory 16GB 2133 G skillz
Video Card(s) Asus 2 X 780TI DCII OC
Storage SEVERAL SSD"S
Display(s) Catleap/Yamakasi 2560X1440
Case D Frame MINI drilled out
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse DEATH ADDER
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Tournament
Software W10HB
Benchmark Scores PhIlLyChEeSeStEaK
#12
you don't have to remove the old drivers. windows handles this
What version, I assume 7 and newer? didn't catch what OS he was running. Sorry to high jack, was trying to help!
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#13
That is not true. I have used probably 50 boards with the same OS and drive. Plug and play baby and everything still works perfect.
Good for you, not all of us are so lucky, and in this instance, OP might not be either. I switched from and Asus to Asus and got blue screens. Sadly we're not all in a vacuum with a plug and play drive that works on any MoBo.
Your comment is not invalid, but neither is mine.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#14
did you replace the thermal paste?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,808 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,796
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#15
Good for you, not all of us are so lucky, and in this instance, OP might not be either. I switched from and Asus to Asus and got blue screens. Sadly we're not all in a vacuum with a plug and play drive that works on any MoBo.
Your comment is not invalid, but neither is mine.
+1 Always start with a clean slate when installing a new MB. CPU change, never had a problem at all. GPU change? Uninstall old drivers first.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,305 (0.39/day)
Likes
572
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Asus X79 DELUXE
Cooling WATER
Memory 16GB 2133 G skillz
Video Card(s) Asus 2 X 780TI DCII OC
Storage SEVERAL SSD"S
Display(s) Catleap/Yamakasi 2560X1440
Case D Frame MINI drilled out
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse DEATH ADDER
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Tournament
Software W10HB
Benchmark Scores PhIlLyChEeSeStEaK
#16
I've never depended on the OS to load the drivers for me, I guess I'm not a lazy fat azz like I thought I was.
Questions like this should be answered by one person so as to HELP the OP, not to confuse him like over half the posts here do! Instead of correcting others...............I guess that would be too useful? BUT MY POST COUNTS JUST WENT UP ONE MORE POSTING! :banghead:
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#17
I've never depended on the OS to load the drivers for me, I guess I'm not a lazy fat azz like I thought I was.
Questions like this should be answered by one person so as to HELP the OP, not to confuse him like over half the posts here do! Instead of correcting others...............I guess that would be too useful? BUT MY POST COUNTS JUST WENT UP ONE MORE POSTING! :banghead:
oh the irony.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#18
Windows installation is related to the type of motherboard used before and after. If the new motherboard is identical to the previous(like having same chipsets and chips), it might not need a new installation. But sometimes, it needs. Personal experience: I had an Intel D915GAV motherboard which was accidentally killed by me(VRM). Afterwards, I purchased a Foxconn 45 CMX motherboard and when it booted, while loading Windows it BSODed. I had to re-install Windows. It was Windows XP though. Windows 7 and 8 might have better compatibility.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#19
windows 7 has much better compatibility. you can take your amd system's boot hdd and boot it up from a amd system anywhere..

dont know about intel.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#20
No idea. But a friend of mine upgraded AMD system(Phenom II X4) to a Core i5 3rd Gen system and he didn't need to reinstall OS.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#21
A reinstall is always the best bet just so you don't get problems, and don't forget startisback (i posted it on here) on win 8,need that start menu.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#22
A reinstall is always the best bet just so you don't get problems, and don't forget startisback (i posted it on here) on win 8,need that start menu.
Exactly. And it does no harm.
 

sazkion

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling ZALMAN CPU Cooler Blue LED
Memory 2 x CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870
Storage OCZ 120GB SATA III
Display(s) 2 x LG 23" LCD Monitor W2353VP Model GH22LS30
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1)
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
#23
I can always boot into bios fine. Sometimes the bios screen will pop up twice. I opened up advanced settings using a windows disk and wiped my SSD drive and am trying to reinstall Windows 8 on it again. Whenever I check the temperature for my CPU it is always around 40 degrees Celsius.

While in the installation process my computer will randomly restart. It has gotten past the main loading bar once and to the point where it said that windows needs to restart to continue. After I let it restart it came up with the error that windows couldn't load and to try running a repair. I let it try again and then it said that windows had an unexpected reboot and now I need to start the installation over again. I formatted the hard drive again and it rebooted while preparing files to install. It then froze on the windows logo after I selected to boot from CD. I'm still staring at that logo right now as I'm writing this on my laptop

I only have my SSD drive and DVD drive plugged into my SATA ports right now.

I am completely confused. Could this be a motherboard issue? I had to send my original motherboard back when I built my computer 4ish years ago. It would be very weird for it to happen again.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#24
i think your SSD is dead.
 

sazkion

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling ZALMAN CPU Cooler Blue LED
Memory 2 x CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870
Storage OCZ 120GB SATA III
Display(s) 2 x LG 23" LCD Monitor W2353VP Model GH22LS30
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1)
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
#25
Dang, I just bought it around 6 months ago. Is it possible to install Windows on an existing drive without removing any files on it? I have a 1TB that I could use but it has all of my game saves on it