1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Converting HP OS partition into an ISO?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mastrdrver, Apr 19, 2012.

  1. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,453 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Is this possible and how do I do it?

    I've got a coworker and the hard drive laptop is take a dump. I've tried imaging it several times, but it never seems to transfer over the boot partition.

    I was thinking I had read once that it was possible to make an ISO out of the "destructive restore" partition, but I don't know where or know how. So I thought I'd ask if it was possible and if so how.

    Thanks. :)
     
  2. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,836 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,366
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    Acronis True Image
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    922 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    282
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    Its cheaper to just pay HP $20 to send you the restore discs for that laptop model.
     
  4. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,453 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    How do you do that as I don't see it? Is it possible with the free version or no?
     
  5. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,516 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    you'd probably have to boot from the acronis utility disc or w/e it is they have now. I haven't used the newer version yet (the one that actually works with win7).

    i doubt the free version will let you though.
     
    mastrdrver says thanks.
  6. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,569 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,167
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    The free version (Acronis True Image) can be used to clone the drive, did you try cloning the drive?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,453 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Yes but when I try to clone it over usb, it doesn't transfer the boot partition for some reason.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)