• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Coolermaster GX 650W - +12V rail increasing output voltage

Helimex

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Does anybody know how to increase the +12V rail output from 12 to 13V? Don't worry it is not to feed a PC system
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,891 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
You would have to replace the components inside the PSU. Maybe not all of them, but most of them. So it's not practical in the least.

Unless you're using an op amp of course..

EDIT: What is the application?
 
Last edited:

Helimex

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Thank you Frick, I'm using the PSU to feed a Lipo batteries charger but need the voltage not to drop under 11.8V at full load. It means I need around 13V in stand by mode. Normaly should be a voltage ref. pot or fixed resistor to set the output voltage and need to find it in the CB.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#4
why not make yourself one out of a charger, some diodes a capacitor or two and a voltage regulator?
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
880 (0.20/day)
Likes
394
Processor 2500K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance 1600 9-9-9-24 1T
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470
Storage Crucial m4 128GB + Seagate RAID 1 (1TB x 2)
Display(s) Dell 22" 1680x1050 nothing special
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W
Software Windows 7 64bit Pro
#5
There's a review of that PSU here: http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/CoolerMaster/GX650W_Bronze/

Looking at the page with pics of the internals, I think I can see one pot in image #15.... if it adjusts the 12V rail well you'll just have to find out. I couldn't make out any other potentiometers in the other pics.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,891 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro

crmaris

Reviewer
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
656 (0.26/day)
Likes
751
Location
Greece
#7
I don't think that through this pot you can adjust the +12V rail but you can give it a try. This capability was offered in some older designs (I remember an Etasis PSU I had that through three pots you could adjust its rails) and in very few newer ones (Antec, Silverstone units).

If I still had this PSU I would give it a try myself :)