• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Core i5 Specifications and Prices Surface

Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
659
Likes
83
Location
I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
System Name 2 sys spec seperated by "|"
Processor R7 1700 | Xeon 2680
Motherboard Asus | HP Z620
Cooling Water | Air
Memory 64gb | 128 gb
Video Card(s) EK-FC - RX Vega 64 | quadro K4000\GTX970
Storage Many SSD's
Display(s) AOC 28" 4K something
Case Corsair Carbide 88R
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard TT Meka G1
Software Ubuntu 17.10 - 4.14 AMDGPU
#26
Can anyone tell me whats the diffrence between core I5 and Core 7 except that core 7 uses X58 and Core 5 not.

Really dont get it.

Well, intel got now 3 sockets in the world that is still getting made.
That makes AMD the winner, cause all their new cpu's are compatible!


Tell us intel, what should the consumer do, have the Core 7 just been a flop, cause this seems like... completly bullshit to me, cause Core 5 is just as fast!
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#27
Can anyone tell me whats the diffrence between core I5 and Core 7 except that core 7 uses X58 and Core 5 not.

Really dont get it.

Well, intel got now 3 sockets in the world that is still getting made.
That makes AMD the winner, cause all their new cpu's are compatible!


Tell us intel, what should the consumer do, have the Core 7 just been a flop, cause this seems like... completly bullshit to me, cause Core 5 is just as fast!
rofl, :shadedshu
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
659
Likes
83
Location
I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
System Name 2 sys spec seperated by "|"
Processor R7 1700 | Xeon 2680
Motherboard Asus | HP Z620
Cooling Water | Air
Memory 64gb | 128 gb
Video Card(s) EK-FC - RX Vega 64 | quadro K4000\GTX970
Storage Many SSD's
Display(s) AOC 28" 4K something
Case Corsair Carbide 88R
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard TT Meka G1
Software Ubuntu 17.10 - 4.14 AMDGPU
#28
well, whats the core 7 premium compared to Core 5 ?....

Amd isnt the winner like that, kinda rushed on that one, but will be winners in buyers mind, they gonna confuse the consumers like nvidia does ?

Gives me a headache already.

and will lga 1156 or what it was have possibility for westmere, but whats the extra pins on Core 7 for ? jeez.

Looking at :
This http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/articles/2008/07/17134256397l.png

That makes a 300 mhz extra and x58 the deal with core 7 then ?. looks odd to me.

i'd stick with one socket, and give user possibility to upgrade, and use cheap mobo's.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#30
Screw that, the price is simply way to high for what you are getting. This isn't C2Q all over again were we didn't have any quad cores prior to their release. And the inclusion of HT is not worth the premium when they haven't invested enough (if any at all) getting it supported in the games and programs we use every day! They need to knock that chip of their shoulders and bring the price down to a level that people are comfortable paying.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#31
I think this is alright... not GREAT or anything but still... I mean, the 2.66 version SHOULD perform close to i7 920 right? and the new socket motherboards are probably a 100$ cheaper compared to x58 mobos... so you save 100$ on CPU and 100$ on mobo... Then another 20-30$ on ram... for a comp that'll perform almost the same as an i7 system... a current cpu+mobo+ram i7 is about 550$, so if this is like 350~400$, it would be awsoeme no? It would be about the price of a E8500 system...

I think this is an ALRIGHT move from intel.. not great by any means because I doubt the mobos will be THAT cheap...
 

karlotta

New Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2004
Messages
41
Likes
0
Location
Oregon
#32
well, whats the core 7 premium compared to Core 5 ?....

......
and will lga 1156 or what it was have possibility for westmere, but whats the extra pins on Core 7 for ? jeez.

......

That makes a 300 mhz extra and x58 the deal with core 7 then ?. looks odd to me.

i'd stick with one socket, and give user possibility to upgrade, and use cheap mobo's.
A Core7 IS the Ferrari of CPUs, A Core5 is a BMW.
A X58=24GB of RAM, AND the home for the fastest CPU, 965/975 Extreem, that will OC out the BOX to 4GZ with about three settings and on air. Nothing will be faster for awhile.If you want a Ferrari you got to pay, you want a nice fast Mustang get a AMD.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
3,588
Likes
536
Location
California
#33
Screw that, the price is simply way to high for what you are getting. This isn't C2Q all over again were we didn't have any quad cores prior to their release. And the inclusion of HT is not worth the premium when they haven't invested enough (if any at all) getting it supported in the games and programs we use every day! They need to knock that chip of their shoulders and bring the price down to a level that people are comfortable paying.
That's mean we don't really need to upgrade AT ALL. Because the current mainstream cpu already good enough for gaming.
The hardwares maker do their best for performance, the programmers are the one who need to get their games/programs multi-threaded.
Heck, you don't even need a quad-core for gaming :rolleyes:.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#34
That's mean we don't really need to upgrade AT ALL. Because the current mainstream cpu already good enough for gaming.
The hardwares maker do their best for performance, the programmers are the one who need to get their games/programs multi-threaded.
Heck, you don't even need a quad-core for gaming :rolleyes:.
That is why it's up to Intel and Intel alone to get HT up and running in the programs and games we use daily as a justifiable reason why we should consider such a CPU to begin with (no, not at a premium either). If developers are content as a whole not using it (as they did with Pentium era...which is why AMD cpus were so popular because they had more arch muscle) then it's Intels job to promote their own product, not the developers.

True you don't need a quad core to play games no news there but neither is the need for throwing more threads into games and applications that inherently can't benefit from it. C2D and C2Q were brilliant ideas when they excluded HT because they clearly showed no need for it in the games and applications we continue to use.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#35
That is why it's up to Intel and Intel alone to get HT up and running in the programs and games we use daily as a justifiable reason why we should consider such a CPU to begin with (no, not at a premium either). If developers are content as a whole not using it (as they did with Pentium era...which is why AMD cpus were so popular because they had more arch muscle) then it's Intels job to promote their own product, not the developers.

True you don't need a quad core to play games no news there but neither is the need for throwing more threads into games and applications that inherently can't benefit from it. C2D and C2Q were brilliant ideas when they excluded HT because they clearly showed no need for it in the games and applications we continue to use.
HT isn't really needed in many apps. So turn it off. It gives a huge boost in some apps. So turn it on. I fail to see how it is a negative. Triple channel doesn't do much, should they just abandon that? Quad core doesn't always do much above dual, why make quad cores? Because in some instance they do provide a nice boost, giving you the best in all apps. If your not doing mulit-threaded apps, then don't buy a multi-threaded processor. Simple as that. No reason to tell a company not to put a useful feature on it's procs though.

Processors don't drive computers, software does. MS knew that, apple knows that, intel knows that. Intel isn't responsible for pushing HT in software, just as MS can't be expected to push drivers on hardware makers. If the consumer wants it, it will be done.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#36
HT isn't really needed in many apps. So turn it off. It gives a huge boost in some apps. So turn it on. I fail to see how it is a negative. Triple channel doesn't do much, should they just abandon that? Quad core doesn't always do much above dual, why make quad cores? Because in some instance they do provide a nice boost, giving you the best in all apps. If your not doing mulit-threaded apps, then don't buy a multi-threaded processor. Simple as that.

Processors don't drive computers, software does. MS knew that, apple knows that. Intel isn't responsible for pushing HT in software, just as MS can't be expected to push drivers on hardware makers. If the consumer wants it, it will be done.
Who said to interpret my post as "HT is negative" :slap:. Clearly suggesting that Intel should get more involved with developers so HT can be found in more applications and games doesn't mean that "HT is negative".

Besides, why buy a i7 or i5 and have to constantly turn HT on or off based on what you are trying to run? That in itself is a negative :p.

As far as triple channel memory goes, if it doesn't offer any benefit why should the average enthusiast consider it? You said it yourself, triple channel memory doesn't offer much. So perhaps you should ask yourself why should folk invest in it to begin with.

Just because you can fine an example or 2 doesn't mean that the masses should follow suit in marching order at the premium asked for. So to answer your question, everyone is entitled to not only their own opinion when it comes to purchases like this but, they are also entitled to refrain from said purchases if there is no real benefit owning it.

And in this example, i5 doesn't offer any real benefit to existing CPU line up for the price they are asking for.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#37
You were assuming your own uses were universal by saying they shouldn't have included HT on the i5. I said if you don't need it don't buy it simple as that. It is cheaper than i7 for similar performance, that's the exciting part. Level of excitement will of course vary.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#38
You were assuming your own uses were universal by saying they shouldn't have included HT on the i5. I said if you don't need it don't buy it simple as that. It is cheaper than i7 for similar performance, that's the exciting part. Level of excitement will of course vary.
No, I didn't say that they shouldn't include HT on i5. I said;
Screw that, the price is simply way to high for what you are getting. This isn't C2Q all over again were we didn't have any quad cores prior to their release. And the inclusion of HT is not worth the premium when they haven't invested enough (if any at all) getting it supported in the games and programs we use every day!...
Which is in stark contrast to me making assumptions based on my own uses were universal by saying that HT should be included in i5.

Then I said;
That is why it's up to Intel and Intel alone to get HT up and running in the programs and games we use daily as a justifiable reason why we should consider such a CPU to begin with (no, not at a premium either)...
followed by;
Who said to interpret my post as "HT is negative" . Clearly suggesting that Intel should get more involved with developers so HT can be found in more applications and games doesn't mean that "HT is negative"...
Which is the summary of my posts in this thread. None of which indicates what you stated.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#39
No, I didn't say that they shouldn't include HT on i5. I said;

Which is in stark contrast to me making assumptions based on my own uses were universal by saying that HT should be included in i5.

Then I said;


followed by;


Which is the summary of my posts in this thread. None of which indicates what you stated.
Ok I'm so sorry, I guess I can't read. :respect: :rolleyes: Deja vu, I should know better than to try and have a discussion with you I suppose.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
33
Likes
1
Location
Zielona Gora, Poland
System Name Poor&Old
Processor AMD Athlon 64 2800 S754 @2260MHz HTT1000MHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-K8N51GMF GF6100
Cooling Stock AMD Cooler
Memory 2x512MB RAM DDR PC3200 CL 3-3-3-8
Video Card(s) Powercolor ATI HD4650 SCS 512MN DDR2 @ 650/850MHz
Storage WD1600AAJS & ST3250301AS
Display(s) COMPAQ S710
Case Lifetec mATX
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek ALC850 AC'97
Power Supply Mode-Com FEEL 300W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores 3DMark05 - 8652
#40
If the cheapest i5 will be cost about 200$ then AMD would finally rebuild thei possition: did you notice that more and more Market PC's had an AMD cpu? Wait, the whole platform is build on AMD! AMD CPU, AMD Chipset mobo and... oh, look! An AMD GPU inside! :p May intel made fastest CPU, but is not siutable for most users. By the price of i7 CPU and mobo You may buy an AMD Phenom II + mobo on 780/790 + HD4830 + 2GB RAM = almost funcionall PC for price of two parts... If intel don't cut their prices before 3Q, then AMD would hawe a 40% of CPU sales before christmas ;P
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
3,588
Likes
536
Location
California
#41
That is why it's up to Intel and Intel alone to get HT up and running in the programs and games we use daily as a justifiable reason why we should consider such a CPU to begin with (no, not at a premium either). If developers are content as a whole not using it (as they did with Pentium era...which is why AMD cpus were so popular because they had more arch muscle) then it's Intels job to promote their own product, not the developers.

True you don't need a quad core to play games no news there but neither is the need for throwing more threads into games and applications that inherently can't benefit from it. C2D and C2Q were brilliant ideas when they excluded HT because they clearly showed no need for it in the games and applications we continue to use.
Lol, you made it sound like the way Intel cpu work is "ENTIRELY" different from AMD.

HT is not a new "feature" (Quad-cores and multi-threads are similar) , It's something that simple make the cpu more effective. Something like increasing cpu clock.
To make a game supports many threads is a hard thing to do. But, isn't that on the programming side? The cpu read the languages, it's not WRITING it.

It's true that many games don't require a quad-core cpu, but why are we overclocking them anyway? Because it runs not good enough at default clock!
And that's mean we don't really need to OC them if all games and programs are multi-threaded.



In FPS games, the game only process the things you see in front and around you in a certain radius , so, the field that you see is really small, but it's different in RTS games, or games like Empire Total War.

Empire Total War is a new game, it's quite cpu intensive, because of all the unit on the battle field, big map too. The game only run on 1 thread out of 8, and that's thread always at 100%, and I'm running my CPU at 3.8GHz! The lag/hiccup is annoying.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#42
Lol, you made it sound like the way Intel cpu work is "ENTIRELY" different from AMD.
That's because I never made mention nor draw any comparisons with AMD CPUs :slap:

HT is not a new "feature" (Quad-cores and multi-threads are similar) , It's something that simple make the cpu more effective. Something like increasing cpu clock.
Perhaps that why I mentioned the Pentiums :slap:

To make a game supports many threads is a hard thing to do. But, isn't that on the programming side? The cpu read the languages, it's not WRITING it.
LOL, wut? My point was that if you want to see more implementation of HT in games and applications (instead of having to turn it on for certain apps then turn it off) it is Intel's responsibility to reach out to those developers so that it's used more.

It's true that many games don't require a quad-core cpu, but why are we overclocking them anyway? Because it runs not good enough at default clock!

And that's mean we don't really need to OC them if all games and programs are multi-threaded.
Even if they did use HT overclocking your CPU for CPU dependent games (in particular) would still provide better frame rates (depending on the circumstances). The very thing I've seen in applications that use HT now. :p


In FPS games, the game only process the things you see in front and around you in a certain radius , so, the field that you see is really small, but it's different in RTS games, or games like Empire Total War.

Empire Total War is a new game, it's quite cpu intensive, because of all the unit on the battle field, big map too. The game only run on 1 thread out of 8, and that's thread always at 100%, and I'm running my CPU at 3.8GHz! The lag/hiccup is annoying.
That just means (if ture) that game needs to be better optimize to run on dual/quad core cpus not HT in particular. However, another example is using a 64-bit OS with 8 gigs of ram just to run TF2. This shows the other side of the spectrum.
:p
 
Last edited:

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,743
Likes
6,001
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#43
I am not so sure that their (Intels) pricing strategy is that far off, not suggesting personally that I mind paying this much but the mid i5 appears to be priced about the same as the 955, and even thought at stock it has less Mhz, i would expect it to at least match and at times better a 955 in most things, of course we wont know that for sure until i5 arrives. it dont look such a good deal to me however, not because of whats on offer from AMD but because of whats on offer from Intel!
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#44
I am not so sure that their (Intels) pricing strategy is that far off, not suggesting personally that I mind paying this much but the mid i5 appears to be priced about the same as the 955, and even thought at stock it has less Mhz, i would expect it to at least match and at times better a 955 in most things, of course we wont know that for sure until i5 arrives. it dont look such a good deal to me however, not because of whats on offer from AMD but because of whats on offer from Intel!
From what I've been told the 2.66 GHz version does not offer HT. But I'll wait for official confirmation.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#45
I am not so sure that their (Intels) pricing strategy is that far off, not suggesting personally that I mind paying this much but the mid i5 appears to be priced about the same as the 955, and even thought at stock it has less Mhz, i would expect it to at least match and at times better a 955 in most things, of course we wont know that for sure until i5 arrives. it dont look such a good deal to me however, not because of whats on offer from AMD but because of whats on offer from Intel!
i5 should be better out the box than 955 ... thereby its higher calling price
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
746
Likes
88
#46
oh... then I'll wait for sandy bridge:D
If you have a recent system and can wait a little, that is a good choice. Sandy Bridge is going to be a revolutionary chip, mark my words. I've seen leaked slides that talk about function-specific parts of the core which can handle encryption, encoding, etc. all by themselves. So if you're only encoding music/video files, only a specific part of the chip wakes up and becomes active, introducing tremendous power savings. I personally can't wait for Sandy Bridge and beyond... :rockout:
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,137
Likes
5,278
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#47
A Core7 IS the Ferrari of CPUs, A Core5 is a BMW.
A X58=24GB of RAM, AND the home for the fastest CPU, 965/975 Extreem, that will OC out the BOX to 4GZ with about three settings and on air. Nothing will be faster for awhile.If you want a Ferrari you got to pay, you want a nice fast Mustang get a AMD.
I want something that looks like this



this will kick any mustangs arse
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
536
Likes
41
Location
Melbourne, Australia
System Name beast
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE2011
Memory 16GB Kingston Value DDR3 1333Mhz CL9
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 1GB
Storage 1x 120GB Intel 520
Display(s) 3x X243BW@5760x1080
Case Antec P182
Power Supply Antec TruePower Trio 650
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#48
Whats with all the mention of QPI?

I was allways under the impression that QPI IS exclusive for the i7 (1366) and the i5's will not have QPI they will still have FSB.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,312
Likes
17,423
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#49
I was allways under the impression that QPI IS exclusive for the i7 (1366) and the i5's will not have QPI they will still have FSB.
No, a QPI does exist between the processor and NB dice on the CPU, while between the CPU and the PCH (motherboard chipset), a standard DMI interconnect exists.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#50
I wonder if it makes sense to get a Core i7 if I cant fix my current shut off issue. New mobo, ram, and cpu would almost certainly fix the issue as ive done everything else.