1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair Dominator 2250 8-8-8-24 question

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by runnin17, Apr 9, 2010.

  1. runnin17

    runnin17

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    386 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Here is a link to the ram: Link

    What do people think of this ram?

    Thinking about it for a new build. A guy at EVGA is selling a 6GB set and I am seriously considering it, but not sure if I want to fork over that much cash for this ram.
     
  2. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,454 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    If they are anything like my GTX Corsair's, you will not be disappointed. Corsair also stands behind their products well in case an rma comes up. Are those dual or triple channel?
     
  3. runnin17

    runnin17

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    386 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    They are triple channel. The thing that sucks is I am running AMD, so I would probably want to eventually pick up another 2GB stick for a full 8GB. Would most likely wait for the prices to come down before I do that though. In the end I might just wait until the 890FX boards come out and see exactly what the Thuban's and the 890FX boards can do as far as memory OC'ing.
     
  4. logan

    logan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    167 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    im internets
    I'd guess that Thuban will OC memory as well as Deneb. The chipset changes aren't very notable. 890FX will be a PCIE controller, and SB850 loses ACC for SATA3. I'd stick with 790FX/SB7X0.

    no more core unlocking with 8XX chipset, unless it has an asus type of unlocking switch.
     
  5. runnin17

    runnin17

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    386 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Asus, MSI and ASRock have confirmed that you will be able to unlock cores with their 890FX chipsets. Also, from this first look at the crosshair IV formula here I think I am going to pull the trigger on these sticks.
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,264 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,083
    can you even run 2250mhz on AMD currently? Does the 8xx chip even offer 2000mhz?

    sorry let me say that another way. I dont know if buying ram tweaked within an inch of instability for an i7/i5 setup would be a good idea for choosing to run on an AMD rig.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. runnin17

    runnin17

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    386 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    It runs 1800MHz at 6-6-6-18 which is probably the setting I will have it at most often.

    The 890FX boards are said to OC memory to 2133MHz. Obviously paying this price for this ram I would keep it around for a very long time. With the prices of DDR2/3 slated to keep rising I figure get the best now and just be happy with it.

    Also, check out the link in my last post that shows a Crosshair IV formula with DDR3 at 2000MHz. Plus, this memory is not within an inch of instability I have read multiple benches of the stuff going up to 2400MHz, so the stock 2250MHz 8-8-8-24 is rock solid stable.
     
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,264 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,083
    2250 at cas 8 is tweaked within an inch of stability, and I guarantee they didnt do 2400 under cas 10.

    Im just making the point that that ram is designed specifically to run on intel, and they may not play up to your hopes/asperations. If they are an awesome steal, grab em, if they are close to retail I would keep looking personally;)

    btw my 2K's have booted to 2600mhz, but its intel ram on an intel board, just saying.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. runnin17

    runnin17

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    386 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Ummm, yes they did do 2400MHz under cas 10. In fact it was at cas8 with a small bump in voltage. Take a look at the benches here.

    I'm not just jumping into this without doing my research.
     
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,072 (4.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,916
    Location:
    Florida
    Intel Ram is labeled as such because it is compatible with the latencys you cannot adjust that are present in Intel north bridges. As such Ram of this speed rarely works at rated speeds with AMD boards because of the vast diffrences in the way memory is handled by the memory controller and NB's. Pete knows what he is talking about.
     
    sneekypeet says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,264 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,083
    Ive made my point do as you wish;) I think you should wait for phase #3 AMD;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. runnin17

    runnin17

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    386 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    This ram is rated at 1800MHz at cas6 for AMD 790 chipsets. Just look at corsair's website. It is not just optimized for intel.

    Personally I don't see how you made your point at all. You just spouted that it was tweaked to the edge of instability, but the link I pointed you to and some of the other benches I have seen show that this stuff can easily go higher. How does that make it unstable at stock settings?
     
  13. runnin17

    runnin17

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    386 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    True. That might be what I end up doing. Just wanting opinions b/c it is a pretty good deal overall if I end up buying it from the guy. Needless to say, the deal I am talking about is way cheaper than $200 a stick.
     
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,264 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,083
    I never said it was unstable, I said its tweaked close to instability.

    Look Im not here to pee in your cornflakes, I was trying to let you know that most manufacturers dont recommend that you run intel specd ram on an AMD. Do as you wish, its your loot and you already are positive in your mind it will work, so why a thread for advice in the first place?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,072 (4.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,916
    Location:
    Florida
    That doesnt make it unstable It just means its tweaked close to chip limit. Their is no need for arguing. Its a good kit. We could play conflicting graphs all day. Its a good kit and a fast kit if you think it will work with your board go for it. I think what pete is trying to tell you and I stand behind him if it is. Is that at 2250mhz you will probably have a hard time getting that kit to run. If you do good for you. If you dont its nice resale value. Their is no reason to try and judge someones intelligence. You wanted an opinion it was given to you. Saying it is without merit is rediculous. If you just want to try and prove people wrong why are you asking? Are we supposed to agree with you? I thought helping someone also entailed explaining to them possible outcomes to their decisions albiet good or bad. Of course this is all retorical I could care less I suppose. Please dont insult people. Enjoy your ram.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. runnin17

    runnin17

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    386 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I guess I misunderstood the point you were trying to make. I also didn't make myself clear. I don't expect to run this kit at 2250MHz on an AMD board. If anything, I would be more than happy to get it to 2000MHz on an AMD chipset.

    I guess my real question is if there is any other ram out there that would be better suited for an AMD chipset (keeping the 890FX chipset in mind)?

    I know this might be a stupid question since the 890FX isn't officially released, but it is still a question I would like opinions on.

    Also, in regard to helping me; I understand where pete was coming from but it just came across to me like he was dismissing the fact that it wasn't "AMD" ram therefore don't bother. Sorry if I was rude, but he tried to make a point about the ram when he didn't really have any information on this particular set. Yes, opinions are opinions and everyone has one. I just felt that in this case he was giving his opinion without any real knowledge of the ram I was talking about.

    Anyway, I apologize for being a dick. I don't have my mind made up. That is why I created the thread in the first place.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,264 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,083
    wasnt that at all, what I am saying is buying ram (albiet the best for whats out now) just may not play well at all. Its all about the secondaries IMHO and if those timings are defunct to the chipset in the SPD, without flashing a new SPD to the ram, they may not even boot in the first place.

    I would just hate to spend big on a hope, even if it is a well educated hope;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,167 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    996
    The MSI 790FX-GD70 is advertised as running up to 2133MHz OC speeds.
     
  19. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,264 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,083
    have you seen proof if concept? May help out the whole plan for his choice;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. runnin17

    runnin17

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    386 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I think there is a limit due to the CPU (the Phenom II x2 and x4's). From what I have read it seems like AMD has tried to make the new Thuban's a bit more memory OC friendly.
     
  21. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,264 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,083
    should help your cause....can I ask what you might be shelling out for this set? That may change my outlook;) PM me if you dont wana blow your deal;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. runnin17

    runnin17

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    386 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    YGPM, :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)