• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

cpu overclock random restarts + vcore questions

Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838 (0.42/day)
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
#1
i have a question about cpu overclocking:
i just pushed my AMD venice to 2.45 GHz, and it idles at 40, load at 50, so i'm pretty sure temps aren't the problem. my question tho is, firefox was restarting alot. then windows explorer, then hard restarts. i don't think it was overheating, because i have an after market cooler, and at the stock 2000MHz, the venice is at 48 under load. at stock, i don't experience any of these issues. should i raise the vcore and if so, to what? I've been told to just go to 1.55, but i think i want to try going to 1.45 first, maybe 1.5. also, is there anything wrong with going to 1.48? i just realized maybe mobos don't do that kind of stepping, but would there be any issue? ( i wouldn't think so, but i only think) Thanks for any advice!
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,240 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,850
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#2
i got my money on the memory. Try running SP2004 first for the cpu only. If that's stable, try the mixed test to check the memory. You might have to increase the voltage to the dimms, slacken the timings or perhaps use a divider to slow it up a bit.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#3
current vcore? might want to remove the ihs too. @ 2.6GHz my winchester only gets to like 45c.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838 (0.42/day)
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
#4
am trying it now. thanks! btw, infrared, what did you do exactly to modify your ati silencer? i see we have the same vcard and cooler, and your frequencies kick mine out the top floor window. pm me if you don't want everyone to know your secrets. or if they are your secrets, no hard feelings on not sharing!
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,240 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,850
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#5
Didn't do much, basically i just polished the front at the gpu contact point, cleaned with arcticlean and applied a tiny drop of AS5. Removed the thermal pads on the backplate and replaced them with ceramique (You have to insulate a few capacitors) and then made some plastic sleaves to replace the rubber o-rings. You can then tighten the cooler more to compress the front thermal pads. Unfortunatly to get rid of those you'd need to epoxy some thin squares of copper onto the face-plate of the cooler.

erm, here's a link i dug up from the x800/x850 mods thread :)

http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=98835&postcount=174
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838 (0.42/day)
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
#6
oh sorrry current vcore is stock, which is supposed to be 1.4, but it's reading at 1.41 (idk why)
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,240 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,850
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#7
as long as temps are ok, you can set the vcore at 1.48-1.55v. I wouldn't push any higher than that in this weather.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838 (0.42/day)
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
#8
haha ok. thanks. i am going to try that! i ran stressprime for 10 minutes, stressing the ram, and nothing happened that was bad, so ya
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838 (0.42/day)
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
#9
running at 2450, with load at 52 with vcore at 1.45. stable too. my ram is down at 2040 (ddr333) so that's cool, going to keep upping the fsb, and maybe fiddle with multipliers. thanks for the help!

now, a fitting outburst of techie happiness: i changed my vcore and it didn't explode! oh happy day!
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,240 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,850
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#10
i_am_mustang_man said:
i changed my vcore and it didn't explode! oh happy day!
LOL :D ur a nutter... i love it!
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838 (0.42/day)
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
#11
oh, firefox crashed. set it to 1.50v. we'll see. maybe my venice just doesn't want to go above 2440. i don't believe it tho! going to run stress prime....
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,748 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,015
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#12
Mustang, I had the identical problem, it's your memory, it's going slightly too fast or you need too loosten timings, Explorer/firefox is always the first to go and it indicates memory, whats yours running at now? Check CPU-Z.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838 (0.42/day)
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
#13
it was running at 204MHz. 4 MHz over stock. i just took it down from 2450 to 2400, and it seems to be stable again. it hard rebooted on me at 1.5V vcore and 2450 for the cpu and 204MHz for the ram. i don't know what's going on! maybe i just got a cpu from a shitty batch. these chips are only 'supposed' to be run at 2000MHz, so a 20% OC is not bad..... i think i might try taking out a bunch of my ram (1GB + 1 512) so i can run dual channel with my good stuff. it's so f'in hot out, i kind of like staying in and Ocing my comp, i've been meaning to do this for awhile!

would i need to loosen timings still?i don't have much experience with adjusting memory besides the multiplier.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838 (0.42/day)
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
#14
i've been running at 1.5 vcore (should lower that....) and 2400 for about 20 minutes and no issues at all. any more ideas from anybody about what to do?!?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,748 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,015
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#15
i_am_mustang_man said:
i've been running at 1.5 vcore (should lower that....) and 2400 for about 20 minutes and no issues at all. any more ideas from anybody about what to do?!?
2 things, bang it up to 1.55V....no probs there and put her on 2500 and secondly buy my old 3200 @ 2700 on 1.55V off me!!!!! flog yours on E Bay and everyones a winner!
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838 (0.42/day)
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
#16
haha, that's an awesome suggestion, but i have no money to spend on anything other than food right now. i'm sorry tatty!
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,748 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,015
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#17
i_am_mustang_man said:
haha, that's an awesome suggestion, but i have no money to spend on anything other than food right now. i'm sorry tatty!
Was joking! Am gonna build a cheap 2nd rig with the venice but with watercooling, am gonna try to get the venice to 3Gig on 1.7V....dont mind the risk as she has given me my monies worth but thats for the end of the summer!
 

Daveburt

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
SinCinnati, OH
Processor AMD FX-8350 (4.62 Ghz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Custom water
Memory 8gb RipJawX @ 2236 9-11-10
Video Card(s) PowerColor 7870 MYST
Storage Samsung 830 128Gb / 2x WD 1Gb Black
Display(s) Sceptre 27" 1920x1200
Case Corsair 800-D
Power Supply Corsair TX-750
Software Window 7 x64
#18
Hey Mustang, Just a Suggestion....

Lower your Memory to 133, (really Loosen timings (9-5-5 2T))
As long as temps aren't a problem (not over 55c under load) raise the Vcore to 1.5.

Then crank your FSB to 245 (as a starting point), and pound the hell out of the processor ( I used Prime 95 Large FFT's tourture test)... let it run for at least a 1/2 hour if it doesn't crash, raise the FSB some more, you can do this LIVE with Clockgen (assuming the Jetway has an Nvidia chipset)....

Keep playing with this and you will eventually find out what the Processor is capable of!! If your temps are cool (I don't like to get over 55c), you may be able to up the Vcore even more...

Once you figure out what the processor can do and remain stable, lower the FSB by 5, and then start working on your MEM... Go to 166/1T first and try it all again.... (you can probably give your Memory a 5-10% voltage increase as well)

It's a tedious process, but it will teach you alot about your machines capabilities!
You may have to reset CMOS a couple times!! :rolleyes:

If ya need a link to any of the OC utilities I mentioned, just lemme know!

L8r.......... Dave
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838 (0.42/day)
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
#19
thank you dave! i had pretty much just decided 2400 was my limit, but i never thought about doing it that way. I will do this probably sat night or sunday, cuz my gf gets in tomorrow until sat evening.
 

Daveburt

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
SinCinnati, OH
Processor AMD FX-8350 (4.62 Ghz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Custom water
Memory 8gb RipJawX @ 2236 9-11-10
Video Card(s) PowerColor 7870 MYST
Storage Samsung 830 128Gb / 2x WD 1Gb Black
Display(s) Sceptre 27" 1920x1200
Case Corsair 800-D
Power Supply Corsair TX-750
Software Window 7 x64
#20
Sounds like you have your priorities straight... The GF should DEFINATELY come 1st!! (pun intended) :eek:

I did think of one other thing though, while your doing that you would want to lower your HTT to 3X, just to make sure your Mobo wasn't causing problems. At 3X you could take the FSB all the way to 333 and still be in spec for the HTT bus.

If you have 3 sticks of RAM, I would definetly take the weakest stick out and run it dual channel. But thats just me, if you can get it to 2.4 on 3 sticks it's probably OK but you'll lose some Memory bandwidth by not being Dual Channel.

One other note... My X2 is a 90nm chip too, and anything over 1.5v (vcore) doesn't really seem to help much with the OC (264 vs 260 fsb). Plus anything over 1.5v seems to make mine heat up quite a bit more. Keep an eye on your temps!

Hope this helps Man.... :rockout:
 

Daveburt

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
SinCinnati, OH
Processor AMD FX-8350 (4.62 Ghz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Custom water
Memory 8gb RipJawX @ 2236 9-11-10
Video Card(s) PowerColor 7870 MYST
Storage Samsung 830 128Gb / 2x WD 1Gb Black
Display(s) Sceptre 27" 1920x1200
Case Corsair 800-D
Power Supply Corsair TX-750
Software Window 7 x64
#21
Just Curious.... Did you get a better OC on your processor?
 

_33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
1,248 (0.29/day)
Likes
31
Location
Quebec
System Name BEAST
Processor Intel Core i7 920 C0 Quad Core Processor LGA1366 2.66GHZ Bloomfield 8MB LGA batch 3844A509
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 X58 ATX LGA1366 DDR3
Cooling CoolIt ECO A.L.C. 120mm radiator
Memory G.SKILL F3-12800CL8TU-6GBPI PC3-12800 6GB 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL8-8-8-21
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890 1GB 850MHZ 1GB 3.9GHZ GDDR5 PCI-E 2XDVI HDTV
Storage SAMSUNG SPINPOINT F1 750GB X 2, WD2500KS 250GB, WD15EARS 1.5TB, WD20EARS 2.0TB
Display(s) LG W2361V-PF Monitors 23” Widescreen LCD Monitor (23.0” diagonal)
Case Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 600W Power Supply ATX V2.2 20/24PIN EPS12V Qfan 140MM Fan Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
#22
Daveburt said:
Sounds like you have your priorities straight... The GF should DEFINATELY come 1st!! (pun intended) :eek:

I did think of one other thing though, while your doing that you would want to lower your HTT to 3X, just to make sure your Mobo wasn't causing problems. At 3X you could take the FSB all the way to 333 and still be in spec for the HTT bus.

If you have 3 sticks of RAM, I would definetly take the weakest stick out and run it dual channel. But thats just me, if you can get it to 2.4 on 3 sticks it's probably OK but you'll lose some Memory bandwidth by not being Dual Channel.

One other note... My X2 is a 90nm chip too, and anything over 1.5v (vcore) doesn't really seem to help much with the OC (264 vs 260 fsb). Plus anything over 1.5v seems to make mine heat up quite a bit more. Keep an eye on your temps!

Hope this helps Man.... :rockout:
You seem to be quite knowledgable with the Nforce4 + A64. I have just discovered that by raising the LDT voltage from 1.2 up to 1.3v, I can now raise the FSB to 340. By Raising the memory ASYNC latency from 8 to 11, the memory can now deal with this high FSB. Now, I wanted to know, if it's normal in my system, for the cpu to be little cooler at 1.3v LDT + 333FSB + 8.5X than at 1.2v LDT + 311 FSB + 9X multi? We're talking of about 2°c idle/load.
 
Last edited:

Daveburt

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
SinCinnati, OH
Processor AMD FX-8350 (4.62 Ghz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Custom water
Memory 8gb RipJawX @ 2236 9-11-10
Video Card(s) PowerColor 7870 MYST
Storage Samsung 830 128Gb / 2x WD 1Gb Black
Display(s) Sceptre 27" 1920x1200
Case Corsair 800-D
Power Supply Corsair TX-750
Software Window 7 x64
#23
Thats Kinda wierd 33.... Did you change the Vcore at all? Ambient (Room) temps CAN have an affect on cpu temps espescially(sp?) on an air cooled system....

From my experience, clock speeds don't effect temps NEARLY as much as voltage. But to see temps acually drop at a higher clock does seem strange...

I've really never messed with the LDT voltages, or delved that deep into Mem timings... You may be able to teach me a thing or two!! ;)

AWESOME OC on that 3000 Btw!!!!!

*Just a Note*... Now that Conroe is somewhat available, you can pick up a 3800X2 for $150 that would drop right in that Mobo, they OC quite well, and once you go Dual Core you'll never look back....:D
 

_33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
1,248 (0.29/day)
Likes
31
Location
Quebec
System Name BEAST
Processor Intel Core i7 920 C0 Quad Core Processor LGA1366 2.66GHZ Bloomfield 8MB LGA batch 3844A509
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 X58 ATX LGA1366 DDR3
Cooling CoolIt ECO A.L.C. 120mm radiator
Memory G.SKILL F3-12800CL8TU-6GBPI PC3-12800 6GB 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL8-8-8-21
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890 1GB 850MHZ 1GB 3.9GHZ GDDR5 PCI-E 2XDVI HDTV
Storage SAMSUNG SPINPOINT F1 750GB X 2, WD2500KS 250GB, WD15EARS 1.5TB, WD20EARS 2.0TB
Display(s) LG W2361V-PF Monitors 23” Widescreen LCD Monitor (23.0” diagonal)
Case Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 600W Power Supply ATX V2.2 20/24PIN EPS12V Qfan 140MM Fan Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
#24
Daveburt said:
Thats Kinda wierd 33.... Did you change the Vcore at all? Ambient (Room) temps CAN have an affect on cpu temps espescially(sp?) on an air cooled system....

From my experience, clock speeds don't effect temps NEARLY as much as voltage. But to see temps acually drop at a higher clock does seem strange...

I've really never messed with the LDT voltages, or delved that deep into Mem timings... You may be able to teach me a thing or two!! ;)

AWESOME OC on that 3000 Btw!!!!!

*Just a Note*... Now that Conroe is somewhat available, you can pick up a 3800X2 for $150 that would drop right in that Mobo, they OC quite well, and once you go Dual Core you'll never look back....:D
Thanks! I was getting to know the options and the Opteron 165 seems quite interesting, for the price, it's got some extra features that the regular athlons don't seem to have. Specially concerning HTT links. And I have seen so many Opterons clock to 3.1+ Ghz, just a good oportunity there. That could be my S939 last resort before a major switch, say summer 2007, when the K8L gets commercial + socket AM3 + DDR3. A memory bandwidth of 20 GB/s seems quite tasty on a 4 issue X 4 core CPU w/ 3 level 6 MB cache.

Right now my 3000+ can't clock more than around 2880 mhz as it makes computing errors at that clock level. During winter, it can reach around 2920 mhz before it corrupts. So, I tought; let's overclock the LDT a little more. So I decided to push it up to 335. So 335 X 3 = 1005 HTT, works like a charm in all benchmarks and games while ambient temps can reach 30°c. At those, the cpu Idles at 35-37°c and loads at 45-52°c. The NF4 chip runs at 49°c right now. But when I first installed that system, last march, the NF4 was mostly at 52°c and could go up to 56°c. But then, I didn't know what I was doing, and my case was poorly set up. The only high temp I have right now is the PWM IC which gets easily in the early 50°c when playing a game. When idle, it's around 45-46°c, again with ambient temp 27-30°c.

My knowledge comes mostly from reading a lot of stuff here and there, and trying things out on my system. It's really fun because I started off with a 1.8ghz value processor. Not only that, but my processor has a 55°c temp limit, compared to some others that have Venice's and they can go 59°c or 61°c. So mine really is a weak overclocker ;) . I'm positive an Opteron 165 will get me 3.1 Ghz, maybe more, on air. I could be too ambitious. But, I do remove IHS, so that helps the temps.

My Vcore is 1.6v now that I think about it. At 2849 mhz, the CPU runs fully stable right now, with LDT 335. That gives me a superPI 1M of around 31 seconds and my sciencemark 2.0 score is in my sig.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,748 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,015
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#25
33, those "extra features" you were talking about I think are not just exclusive to HTT process enhancements but also a more efficient memory controller or processes however I think the San Deigo Revision E6 also included them but the Venice cores don't.