• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

CPU underclocks to 800 Mhz when stressed?

ObsoEU

New Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Scotland
System Name Obso
Processor Phenom II X4 965 BE
Motherboard Asus M4N68T-M LE V2
Cooling Stock
Memory Corsair 4GB DDR3 1333MHz XMS3 Memory
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7850 2 GB
Storage 150 GB piece of shit
Power Supply Corsair 600W CXM Modular
#1
I recently bought myself a new CPU (phenom II X4 965 BE) and when playing games it likes to under clock itself to 800 MHz randomly for a few seconds which causes me to get 5fps for a while. I've searched quite a lot about possible causes to this and I've followed a few solutions to no avail. These "solutions" were to disabled all motherboard cpu features, disable AMD cool and quiet and update my motherboard BIOS. Also to change the windows power settings to high performance. I have tried all of these methods and this is still happening to me. I have nowhere else to turn. Does anyone have any idea why this might be happening?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,365 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,492
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#2
The Asus M4N68T-M LE V2 has full 95W processor support, and claims to support 125W processors (your Phenom 965 is a 125W processor), but simply isnt pushing enough power to the CPU. Disabling cool and quiet was my initial thought, but if you have already done that then i doubt that is the issue.
Please note that TDP is not power usage, but there generally is a correlation between heat produced (TDP) and power needs.
Your CPU is throttling itself because it's not getting enough juice from your MoBo
EDIT: The VRM's will also throttle the CPU if they get too hot, they're not rated for much stress.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#3
In my experience, Phenom II (and other AMD CPUs) will go into "safe mode" which clocks down the HT link to 1000 as well as the north bridge and the cpu down to 800mhz. So, yeah, your motheboard VRMs can't provide enough power for the CPU to keep it at its rated speed. If you disable a core and down-clock a bit you might get better results.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,365 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,492
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#4
In my experience, Phenom II (and other AMD CPUs) will boot in "safe mode" which clocks down the HT link to 1000 as well as the north bridge and the cpu down to 800mhz.
He said it only seems to happen in games for a few seconds when under particular stress, leading me to believe it's booting fine (when not under load) and not in safe mode.
If you look up his MoBo specs, it doesnt even have any heatsinks on the VRM's.
 

ObsoEU

New Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Scotland
System Name Obso
Processor Phenom II X4 965 BE
Motherboard Asus M4N68T-M LE V2
Cooling Stock
Memory Corsair 4GB DDR3 1333MHz XMS3 Memory
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7850 2 GB
Storage 150 GB piece of shit
Power Supply Corsair 600W CXM Modular
#5
He said it only seems to happen in games for a few seconds when under particular stress, leading me to believe it's booting fine (when not under load) and not in safe mode.
If you look up his MoBo specs, it doesnt even have any heatsinks on the VRM's.
In my experience, Phenom II (and other AMD CPUs) will go into "safe mode" which clocks down the HT link to 1000 as well as the north bridge and the cpu down to 800mhz. So, yeah, your motheboard VRMs can't provide enough power for the CPU to keep it at its rated speed. If you disable a core and down-clock a bit you might get better results.

It does boot fine. I thought I would not need to worry about support for the 125 TDP processor as you said, my motherboard claims to support 125. So I should try under volting/clocking of my processor and look into getting a replacement motherboard then? Thanks so much for your help.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
210 (0.12/day)
Likes
127
Location
Nashville, TN
System Name red_stapler
Processor Core i5-2500K 4.4GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE3
Cooling Deepcool Gamerstorm, SP120HP chassis fans x5, NZXT Grid+
Memory Kingston HyperX 16GB DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7950 PCS+ OC 1060/1500
Storage Crucial MX100 128GB / Seagate 1TB/8GB Hybrid / WD Green 2TB
Display(s) n/a
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Rosewill Quark 650 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Rapid
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Steam, Etc.
#6
I'd suggest undervolting first. The 965 seems like it can go down pretty far in voltage before it becomes unstable. I think i was running mine at something like 1.275v at stock clocks to keep it cool,(i was using the heatsink from a 95w triple core) and it ran games fine.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#7
Many 95W motherboards will claim to support 125W CPUs but the term support just means "it will boot". I have an ECS 780G board that "supports" 125W CPUs in safe mode, I'd guess that your board is similar. Undervolting would help.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,434 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#8
If it didnt get power it would BSOD not downclock.. this sounds like a heat problem
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
298 (0.16/day)
Likes
111
Processor Core I7-2600k @4,8GHZ @1,4V
Motherboard Asus p8-Z68 V Gen3
Cooling 2x1080 Custom loop
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws x 16gb 1866 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti
Storage Raid 0 2 x Sasmsung 850 EVo
Display(s) ASUS Swift
Case Test Bench
Power Supply Be quiet! 850 P10
Mouse G5
Keyboard Old USB Dell Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#9
Your CPU is throttling itself because it's not getting enough juice from your MoBo
EDIT: The VRM's will also throttle the CPU if they get too hot, they're not rated for much stress.
As he says Maybe they are running hot try to place a fan above the VRM directly and test again if it only are the temps keeping it down by buying some cheap heat sinks to put on and run them cooler
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#10
If it didnt get power it would BSOD not downclock.. this sounds like a heat problem
multiplier downclocking is pretty darn common. AMD keep changing their CPU VRM input design each core that motherboards keep needing to be revised. ie, Bulldozer works perfectly fine on my motherboard, but Piledriver doesn't.

my FX downclocks to 17x (on 2 or 4 cores) due to the motherboard not being able to provide clean enough stable power to the CPU. Even still, I have a overclocked Turbo frequency because parking the idle cores keeps the CPU well down on power usage. Only happens with stress testing 8 threads. Games spend most of their time in full Turbo. No amount of undervolting saved me.

But my X6 drawing 250W+ was no problems.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,682 (0.79/day)
Likes
578
System Name msdos
Processor 8088
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
#11
Check the paste between the cpu and heatsink? What are the temps ....