• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DDR3-2400 RAM won't operate at 2400MT/s, only 1600MT/s

ZyMOS

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2023
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
I just got some DDR3-2400 RAM, but it fails to operate at any rate above 1600MT/s

RAM:
Motherboard:

Test Performed:

  1. Motherboard Default: 1066MHz
    1. works fine, OS loads and runs fine
  2. Ai Overclock turner, set to: X.M.P.
    1. Setting that we automatically set
      1. 2400 -10-13-13-35-2N-1.65-1.2V
      2. BCLK freq: 133
      3. PCIE freq: 100
      4. DRAM freq: 2400
      5. QPI/DRAM core voltage: 1.2
      6. DRAM bus voltage 1.66
      7. RAS/ACT: 3
    2. Result: complete failure, bios doesn't load, just fan turns on
  3. Ai Overclock turner, set to: D.O.C.P.
    1. Setting that we automatically set
      1. 1805MHz-9-9-9-24-2N
      2. BCLK freq: 150
      3. PCIE freq: 100
      4. DRAM freq: 1805
      5. Ratio: 18
      6. QPI/DRAM core voltage: 1.2
      7. DRAM bus voltage 1.9 i switched it down to 1.66
    2. Result: BIOS loads, but gives a odd Boot Block Error and tries to find a bootable device, even though everything boots normally with default setting
  4. Ai Overclock tuner: Auto
    1. Manually set DRAM freq: 2400
    2. Result: failed to boot
  5. Ai Overclock tuner: Auto
    1. Manually set DRAM freq: 2133
    2. Result: boots memtest86+ but crashes and reboots immediately
  6. Ai Overclock tuner: Auto
    1. Manualy set DRAM freq: 1871
    2. Result: boots memtest86+, and runs but gives many errors on various addresses. OS runs but gives many segment faults and crashes
  7. Ai Overclock tuner: Auto
    1. Manually set DRAM freq: 1600
    2. Result: boots memtest86+, and runs normally, no errors. my OS runs normal

Any advice. Should i buy a different 2400 RAM? If not, Can I buy some more 1600 RAM and mix it successfully? That should work in theory, but.....


thanks
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
2,097 (0.51/day)
Location
Spencerport NY
System Name Master
Processor Pair of Xeon X5675's @ 4.3
Motherboard SR-2 Classified
Memory 12 GB of Corsair Dominator GT's @ 2000 7-7-7-21
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX680
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750
Ram is no good if it fails memtest at advertised speeds and timings.
 

ir_cow

Staff member
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
3,578 (0.63/day)
Location
USA
1600 MHz = 3200 MT/s (DDR3-3200). Not sure much of anything can run DDR3 at 3200. I'm think your confusing MT/s and MHz here. DDR3-2400 would be 1200 MHz.
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
7,292 (3.66/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Altered Beast
Processor AMD R9 5900X, 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140, NF-A14 3K, T30
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) Zotac 4070 Ti Trinity OC
Storage WD SN850X 2TB, SN850 1TB, SN770 1TB - Asus Hyper M.2, SN770 1TB, SN750 500GB
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 750w G+, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
I would go to at least 1.4v QPI if you are still around the 1.2v mark.

But.. You want to run at least 3 sticks for triple channel, since that was its intended operation, it will smoke dual channel for sure.
 

ZyMOS

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2023
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
1600 MHz = 3200 MT/s (DDR3-3200). Not sure much of anything can run DDR3 at 3200. I'm think your confusing MT/s and MHz here. DDR3-2400 would be 1200 MHz.
Yes, my mistake. Allot of places seem to incorrectly use them interchangeably, and got me.

I would go to at least 1.4v QPI if you are still around the 1.2v mark.

But.. You want to run at least 3 sticks for triple channel, since that was its intended operation, it will smoke dual channel for sure.
tried upping the QPI voltage, no chage.

Ideally ill fill up all 6 of my slots, i just dont want to buy all 2400 if i cant use them

found this thread.
seems to imply I just cant get it up to that speed,
btw my cpu is Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz
if that maters
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
2,499 (2.24/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Sunk Cost Fallacy
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard ASRock B650E Steel Legend Wifi
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360 Rev. 7
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z5 NEO 6000 CL30
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 7900 XTX Vapor-X
Storage WD Black SN850X 1TB + 2x 2TB, 2x 4TB Crucial MX500, 4TB Samsung 870 Evo.
Display(s) Alienware AW2723DF, LG 27GR93U, LG 27GN950-B
Case Lian Li O11 Air Mini
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 and HD599 SE - Creative Soundblaster X4
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500w Titanium
Mouse Logitech GPRO X Superlight & G502 X
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini, Razer Black Widow V3 TKL
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
2400 is not easy to run with more than 1 dpc.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
2,658 (3.18/day)
Location
Knoxville, TN, USA
System Name Work Computer | Unfinished Computer
Processor Core i7-6700 | Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Dell Q170 | Gigabyte Aorus Elite Wi-Fi
Cooling A fan? | Truly Custom Loop
Memory 4x4GB Crucial 2133 C17 | 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 C26
Video Card(s) Dell Radeon R7 450 | RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage Crucial BX500 2TB | TBD
Display(s) 3x LG QHD 32" GSM5B96 | TBD
Case Dell | Heavily Modified Phanteks P400
Power Supply Dell TFX Non-standard | EVGA BQ 650W
Mouse Monster No-Name $7 Gaming Mouse| TBD
BCLK 133?

As in, processor base clock? Idk if that is the problem, but that doesn't seem right to my tired brain.
 

yapfei

New Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2022
Messages
28 (0.06/day)
DAMM expecting a Socket 1366 era CPU to run at 2400 MHz ?

WAIT for the usual GURU to advise u[date BIOS
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
7,292 (3.66/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Altered Beast
Processor AMD R9 5900X, 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140, NF-A14 3K, T30
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) Zotac 4070 Ti Trinity OC
Storage WD SN850X 2TB, SN850 1TB, SN770 1TB - Asus Hyper M.2, SN770 1TB, SN750 500GB
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 750w G+, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
446 (0.07/day)
System Name Desktop
Processor 7800 x3d
Motherboard Giga b650i aorus ultra
Cooling pk-3 | conductonaut | AC LF II 280
Memory 64g Gskill X5 ddr 6000 cl30
Video Card(s) 7900 xt
Storage 2Tb Inland Premium
Display(s) Armada 27 1440p 165 + 25 1080p 240hz
Case Tt Black Armor : Phantek Evolv shift xt
Audio Device(s) Ae-7
Power Supply Aresgame 850 sff
Mouse Razer Viper ulti
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse I, II, & III
Benchmark Scores assd 6600|x5675 Cne11.5 -1102|Timespy 24000 | TS Extreme gpu 1 - 87 fps
highest i got on asus p6t deluxe v2 w/ 1366 x5675@ 4.8ghz with g skill trident 2400 mhz ddr3 (2x8gb) was at 2095Mhz. Timings were something like 10-10-10-20 @ 2095mhz
cpu pll to 1.8 or 1.9v and qpi/dram voltage to 1.35 or 1.4v. dont go above 1.4volts. x58 doesnt support 2400mhz. Select few boards have seen to go above 2000Mhz.
 
Last edited:

yapfei

New Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2022
Messages
28 (0.06/day)
The Integrated Memory controller for any i7 socket 1366 only officially support RAM speed of 800 or 1066 MHz


Based on CPU-Z screenshot, the RAM speed is 1066 MHz based on the fact that FSB/RAM ratio 2 : 10

FSB speed 213 MHz DDR3 1070 MHz around 2 : 10

=============================================
my bad DDR3 is double rated RAM so around 2100 MHz is correct
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
2,062 (0.37/day)
Location
Volos, Greece
System Name ATLAS
Processor Intel Core i7-4770 (4C/8T) Haswell
Motherboard GA-Z87X-UD5H , Dual Intel LAN, 10x SATA, 16x Power phace.
Cooling ProlimaTech Armageddon - Dual GELID 140 Silent PWM
Memory Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400 997123F 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1060 OC 6GB (single fan) Micron
Storage WD Raptors 73Gb - Raid1 10.000rpm
Display(s) DELL U2311H
Case HEC Compucase CI-6919 Full tower (2003) moded .. hec-group.com.tw
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Music + mods, Audigy front Panel - YAMAHA quad speakers with Sub.
Power Supply HPU-4M780-PE refurbished 23-3-2022
Mouse MS Pro IntelliMouse 16.000 Dpi Pixart Paw 3389
Keyboard Microsoft Wired 600
Software Win 7 Pro x64 ( Retail Box ) for EU
x58 doesnt support 2400mhz

This is a fact, and I do wonder if OP ever read the user manual?
6 x DDR3 2000(O.C.)/1866(O.C.)/1800(O.C.)/1600(O.C.)/1333/1066
 

ZyMOS

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2023
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
o well... if i bought 4x 4gb DDR3-1600, and mix with the current 2x 4gb ddr3-2400... any reason the system wouldn't run the mem at 1600
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
7,292 (3.66/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Altered Beast
Processor AMD R9 5900X, 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140, NF-A14 3K, T30
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) Zotac 4070 Ti Trinity OC
Storage WD SN850X 2TB, SN850 1TB, SN770 1TB - Asus Hyper M.2, SN770 1TB, SN750 500GB
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 750w G+, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
or any i7 socket 1366 Xeon
Fixed that for ya :)

Now, whether or not X58 supports 2400 or now is not a big deal. The board will do it or it wont. I had a UD5 that I got to 1100 with ease on 3 sticks, but not so much with my Asus.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
2,062 (0.37/day)
Location
Volos, Greece
System Name ATLAS
Processor Intel Core i7-4770 (4C/8T) Haswell
Motherboard GA-Z87X-UD5H , Dual Intel LAN, 10x SATA, 16x Power phace.
Cooling ProlimaTech Armageddon - Dual GELID 140 Silent PWM
Memory Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400 997123F 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1060 OC 6GB (single fan) Micron
Storage WD Raptors 73Gb - Raid1 10.000rpm
Display(s) DELL U2311H
Case HEC Compucase CI-6919 Full tower (2003) moded .. hec-group.com.tw
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Music + mods, Audigy front Panel - YAMAHA quad speakers with Sub.
Power Supply HPU-4M780-PE refurbished 23-3-2022
Mouse MS Pro IntelliMouse 16.000 Dpi Pixart Paw 3389
Keyboard Microsoft Wired 600
Software Win 7 Pro x64 ( Retail Box ) for EU
o well... if i bought 4x 4gb DDR3-1600, and mix with the current 2x 4gb ddr3-2400... any reason the system wouldn't run the mem at 1600
The reason is specific technology specifications.
Adjust manually in BIOS, memory settings and latency clocks for DDR3-1600, and as for DDR3-2400, there is a chance this to follow as to was DDR3-1600.
(compatibility mode and test)
If it fails, remove it.
 
Top