• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Display not showing with 2 RAM sticks.

sunshine1909

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
2 (0.04/day)
EDIT: Thanks for the help everyone, much appreciated. Turns out despite my motherboard being brand new, ordered around a week ago, the B2 slot seems to be the issue after testing. I don’t understand how this can be the case exactly as I had the same issue with multiple sets of hardware, but oh well. Thanks again.

Hi everyone,

I recently built a new pc and have been having difficulty finding a solution to my problem. The pc runs fine with 1 stick, but when the other is added the display does not show. It seems as it is booting up fine and the RGBs on the stick are active, however no signal reaches the displays. I have purchased 3 motherboards now, 2 ASUS prime B450-plus and currently have the MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX, along with 3 sets of RAM (1 Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4 3200 MHz C16 XMP 2.0, and 2 Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4 3200 MHz C16 XMP 2.0 which I still have now). I can't work out for the life of me what the problem is, and have tried multiple different solutions such as changing the DRAM voltage to 1.45v, 1.5v and changing XMP profiles in the BIOS etc.

My current parts:-

Processor - AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor, 3600 Mhz
Motherboard - B450 TOMAHAWK MAX (MS-7C02)
GPU - Radeon RX 580 Series
RAM - Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4 3200 MHz
PSU - EVGA 600W 80 Plus

All parts should be compatible from my research. I tested all slots in the motherboards with each individual RAM stick and all were clearly working fine. Any help would be hugely appreciated as I think I'm going to tear my hair out with this one :)

Thanks in advance!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
97 (0.18/day)
Processor i9-9900K @ 5.1GHz (H2O Cooled)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
Cooling CPU = EK Velocity / GPU = EK Vector
Memory 32GB - G-Skill Trident Z RGB @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 5700 XT (H20 Cooled)
Storage Samsung 860 EVO 500GB & 970 EVO 500GB - Toshiba 4TB HDD
Display(s) TCL 4K 49" S405 TV & LG 20" 1600x900
Case Lian Li O11-D
Audio Device(s) Presonus Studio 192 & Digidesign 003 Rack+ audio interfaces
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 850W
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2S
Keyboard Matias RGB Backlit Keyboard
Software Windows 10 & macOS (Hackintosh)
not that I can help, but sure seems like an oversight to not include what "display" you're using, along with which ports from the GPU are being used, which ports are occupied on the display, what type of cable is being used, etc, etc....
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
637 (1.50/day)
Location
Maryland, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling CPU: bequiet! Dark Rock 4. Case fans: 2x bequiet Silent Wings 3 140s, 2x Silent Wings 3 120s
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 5700 XT
Storage 500 GB Samsung 860 Evo, 1 TB WD Blue 3D M.2, 1 TB Inland Professional
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG271CQR 1440p 144Hz, MSI Optix MAG241C 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Black
Audio Device(s) Philips SHP9500 + V-Moda BoomPro
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 80+ Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S - Cherry MX Browns
Which version of the 7C02 BIOS are you using? All BIOS releases for that mobo are 7C02: 7C02v30 was the initial BIOS, 7C02v39 is the most recent, not counting 7C02v3A2 Beta BIOS. When you're trying RAM in both slots at the same time, which slots are you trying? Are you trying both sticks at stock frequencies (no XMP)?
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2020
Messages
37 (0.33/day)
Location
USA
Processor i9-10900x / i7-7820x/ Ryzen 5 2400g
Motherboard Evga x299 FTW-K / B350 tomahawk/ a320-M
Cooling EK-AIO 240 D-RGB / Noctua NH-D15S /Noctua Low Profile AM4
Memory LPX 4x8 2666 / 2x16 Crucial 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super Founders / Windforce R9 270x
Storage 1TB WD Blue M.2/ 850 Evo 500 GB
Display(s) Alienware 34 aw3418dw / ROG Swift pg27q
Case Lian Li o11 dynamic / Random DIY case
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum 750w / Evga 700w Bronze BR
Mouse Model O/ Logitech G203
Keyboard Frozen Llama Ducky One 2 Mini MX Silvers / Ducky One 2 Mini MX Reds
I would first update to the latest BIOS then reset the CMOs and try to boot. Also are the models you have purchased on the Qualified Vendor list for those motherboards?

I would first update to the latest BIOS then reset the CMOs and try to boot. Also are the models you have purchased on the Qualified Vendor list for those motherboards?
Also have you tried to disconnect all HDDs and SSDs then tried booting just into the BIOS?
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
637 (1.50/day)
Location
Maryland, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling CPU: bequiet! Dark Rock 4. Case fans: 2x bequiet Silent Wings 3 140s, 2x Silent Wings 3 120s
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 5700 XT
Storage 500 GB Samsung 860 Evo, 1 TB WD Blue 3D M.2, 1 TB Inland Professional
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG271CQR 1440p 144Hz, MSI Optix MAG241C 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Black
Audio Device(s) Philips SHP9500 + V-Moda BoomPro
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 80+ Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S - Cherry MX Browns
Also are the models you have purchased on the Qualified Vendor list for those motherboards?
QVL isn't the end all be all in terms of what will and will not work, it's just a list of sticks that have been tested. Ryzen memory compatibility has greatly improved with each generation, and strictly adhering to kits you find on the QVL is not nearly as necessary as it was back in the days of first gen ryzen
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2020
Messages
37 (0.33/day)
Location
USA
Processor i9-10900x / i7-7820x/ Ryzen 5 2400g
Motherboard Evga x299 FTW-K / B350 tomahawk/ a320-M
Cooling EK-AIO 240 D-RGB / Noctua NH-D15S /Noctua Low Profile AM4
Memory LPX 4x8 2666 / 2x16 Crucial 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super Founders / Windforce R9 270x
Storage 1TB WD Blue M.2/ 850 Evo 500 GB
Display(s) Alienware 34 aw3418dw / ROG Swift pg27q
Case Lian Li o11 dynamic / Random DIY case
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum 750w / Evga 700w Bronze BR
Mouse Model O/ Logitech G203
Keyboard Frozen Llama Ducky One 2 Mini MX Silvers / Ducky One 2 Mini MX Reds
QVL isn't the end all be all in terms of what will and will not work, it's just a list of sticks that have been tested. Ryzen memory compatibility has greatly improved with each generation, and strictly adhering to kits you find on the QVL is not nearly as necessary as it was back in the days of first gen ryzen
I did have issues before with 2 kits of LPX on a b450 tomahawk and it seems they have tried all corsair ram? As soon i dropped in some trident Z it booted no problem. It could for sure be their choice of ram.

I did have issues before with 2 kits of LPX on a b450 tomahawk and it seems they have tried all corsair ram? As soon i dropped in some trident Z it booted no problem. It could for sure be their choice of ram.
Also not saying that this is their problem just throwing out some maybes to help out!
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
637 (1.50/day)
Location
Maryland, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling CPU: bequiet! Dark Rock 4. Case fans: 2x bequiet Silent Wings 3 140s, 2x Silent Wings 3 120s
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 5700 XT
Storage 500 GB Samsung 860 Evo, 1 TB WD Blue 3D M.2, 1 TB Inland Professional
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG271CQR 1440p 144Hz, MSI Optix MAG241C 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Black
Audio Device(s) Philips SHP9500 + V-Moda BoomPro
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 80+ Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S - Cherry MX Browns
I did have issues before with 2 kits of LPX on a b450 tomahawk and it seems they have tried all corsair ram? As soon i dropped in some trident Z it booted no problem. It could for sure be their choice of ram.


Also not saying that this is their problem just throwing out some maybes to help out!
Yeah, corsair isn't known for being the most compatible with Ryzen, but that doesn't mean that for sure it's the issue.
 

sunshine1909

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
2 (0.04/day)
Which version of the 7C02 BIOS are you using? All BIOS releases for that mobo are 7C02: 7C02v30 was the initial BIOS, 7C02v39 is the most recent, not counting 7C02v3A2 Beta BIOS. When you're trying RAM in both slots at the same time, which slots are you trying? Are you trying both sticks at stock frequencies (no XMP)?
My BIOS version is E7C02AMS.370. The slots I’m using are A2 and B2 as recommended in the motherboard setup booklet, I’m unable to access the A1 slot due to an overhang on the CPU cooler blocking the slot. I have also tried both sticks at stock frequencies which made no difference.

I did have issues before with 2 kits of LPX on a b450 tomahawk and it seems they have tried all corsair ram? As soon i dropped in some trident Z it booted no problem. It could for sure be their choice of ram.


Also not saying that this is their problem just throwing out some maybes to help out!
The thing is, I also recently built a pc for my brother with similar hardware, including the same motherboard and RAM I use and it had no problem, works perfectly. I even swapped the sticks around in both systems and in his all RAM worked fine. I’ll try and use some different brands other than Corsair if I can borrow a friends.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2020
Messages
37 (0.33/day)
Location
USA
Processor i9-10900x / i7-7820x/ Ryzen 5 2400g
Motherboard Evga x299 FTW-K / B350 tomahawk/ a320-M
Cooling EK-AIO 240 D-RGB / Noctua NH-D15S /Noctua Low Profile AM4
Memory LPX 4x8 2666 / 2x16 Crucial 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super Founders / Windforce R9 270x
Storage 1TB WD Blue M.2/ 850 Evo 500 GB
Display(s) Alienware 34 aw3418dw / ROG Swift pg27q
Case Lian Li o11 dynamic / Random DIY case
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum 750w / Evga 700w Bronze BR
Mouse Model O/ Logitech G203
Keyboard Frozen Llama Ducky One 2 Mini MX Silvers / Ducky One 2 Mini MX Reds
My BIOS version is E7C02AMS.370. The slots I’m using are A2 and B2 as recommended in the motherboard setup booklet, I’m unable to access the A1 slot due to an overhang on the CPU cooler blocking the slot. I have also tried both sticks at stock frequencies which made no difference.


The thing is, I also recently built a pc for my brother with similar hardware, including the same motherboard and RAM I use and it had no problem, works perfectly. I even swapped the sticks around in both systems and in his all RAM worked fine. I’ll try and use some different brands other than Corsair if I can borrow a friends.
Have you tried booting with no drives installed?
 
Top