• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Do you use Linux?

Do you use Linux?


  • Total voters
    175

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
13,146 (2.98/day)
Location
Concord, NH, USA
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Motherboard Some proprietary Apple thing.
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Logitech G915, GL Clicky
Software MacOS 12.1
I use a Mac as my daily driver for most things these days, but everything I interact with runs in Linux. My machine for gaming runs Ubuntu. My daughter's PC for school runs Kubuntu. The only Windows machine the house is my wife's laptop.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
13,016 (4.06/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
I use a Mac as my daily driver for most things these days, but everything I interact with runs in Linux. My machine for gaming runs Ubuntu. My daughter's PC for school runs Kubuntu. The only Windows machine the house is my wife's laptop.
Just a small hint, but back when I was using it, Kubuntu was about the worst KDE distro. Neon (also Ubuntu based, albeit paired with up-to-date Qt and KDE is miles better).
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2019
Messages
618 (0.34/day)
Location
Denmark - Aarhus
System Name Iglo
Processor 5800X3D
Motherboard TUF GAMING B550-PLUS WIFI II
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360
Memory 32 gigs - 3600hz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC2 GAMING
Storage NvmE x2 + SSD + spinning rust
Display(s) BenQ XL2420Z - lenovo both 27" and 1080p 144/60
Case Fractal Design Meshify C TG Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-2300 2.1 200w Speaker /w 8 inch subwoofer
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 550w
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Corsair k100 Air Wireless RGB Cherry MX
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores Super-PI 1M T: 7,993 s :CinebR20: 5755 point GeekB: 2097 S-11398-M 3D :TS 7674/12260
When windows 10 is running out of support , i will. i wont bend my knee to windows 11 subscription hell.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
1,281 (0.27/day)
Location
[Formerly] Khartoum, Sudan.
System Name 192.168.1.1~192.168.1.100
Processor AMD Ryzen5 5600G.
Motherboard Gigabyte B550m DS3H.
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth.
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4.
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 OC (Underclocked, underpowered).
Storage Samsung 980 NVME 500GB && Assortment of SSDs.
Display(s) LG 24MK430 primary && Samsung S24D590 secondary
Case Corsair Graphite 780T.
Audio Device(s) On-Board.
Power Supply SeaSonic CORE GM-650.
Mouse Coolermaster MM530.
Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS.
VR HMD A pair of OP spectacles.
Software Ubuntu 22.04 LTS.
Benchmark Scores Me no know English. What bench mean? Bench like one sit on?
Switched to Ubuntu 22.04 LTS on my main desktop a month ago. Something went wrong with the Fedora installation, the Nvidia driver update buggered something out. I was already annoyed by the lack of suspend/hibernate functionality (due to NV drivers), and this was the last straw.
Still must use x11 to get suspend working. -_-

When windows 10 is running out of support , i will. i wont bend my knee to windows 11 subscription hell.
You'll just end up going back to Windows.
If you plan to jump to linux as a main platform, you'd better start getting used to it starting now.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,423 (6.54/day)
Location
USA
-In form of Android with my smartphone
Glad you added that one. Just joining in the thread.

I use Mint XFCE as a goto version of Linux. If I were to ditch Windows entirely, that would be where I settle. I also use the LineageOS 14.1 version of Android X86 as a primary OS for one of my Dell laptops.

i wont bend my knee to windows 11 subscription hell.
You don't have to. Windows 11 can be roped in just like Windows 10. It just takes a bit of know-how. If you want to know more, hit up the Windows 11 General discussion thread. I like 11 much more than 10 and would sooner go back to Windows 7 than to 10. If you know me, you know I don't make statements like that lightly.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
20,597 (3.41/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 7950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X670 AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory 64GB (4x 16GB) G.Skill Flare X5 @ DDR5-6000 CL30
Video Card(s) XFX RX 7900 XTX Speedster Merc 310
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti Pro 850W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed Wireless
Keyboard WASD Code v3 with Cherry Green keyswitches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (legit), Gentoo Linux x64
I would use it as my primary OS if they ever got HDR working right. They don't have it at all to date ...
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,423 (6.54/day)
Location
USA
On this point, there is more fine-grained nuance than just saying yes or no. In reality, Android uses the Linux kernel recompiled for ARM, generally. Anything that can generally run on Linux can be easily converted over to Android with minimal effort and vice-verse. To say that Android is not Linux is a loaded statement. To say Android is a Linux based distro is more accurate and correct.

Your own citation states the case well;
2. There’s no universally accepted definition of what makes a piece of software Linux.

However, some of the conclusions made by that article are dubious at best. For example..
Android’s ‘open source’ status is up for debate
No it isn't. Anyone can grab the AOSP code and do whatever they want with it and this has always been true. What is not open source is the Google services, which are added on to the AOSP code.

I don't think Android can be counted as Linux. Just using the kernel isn't enough. Bill's link, a few posts above, makes a convincing argument, especially this part :
Not directly, but then again, Linux programs made for one distro of Linux often can not run on another. That is why compiling from source is a frequently practiced activity by seasoned Linux users. However, Android apps can and have been ported to Linux and Linux programs ported to Android. It's an involved but not difficult task.

Android absolutely is a code compatible distribution of Linux. This is fact, not opinion.

I don't want that my thread goes to arguing.
Ah, sorry. I'll shut up.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
4,142 (3.58/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
System Name Project Kairi Mk. III "Lunar Tear"
Processor 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900KS Special Edition
Motherboard MSI MEG Z690 ACE (MS-7D27) BIOS 1.F0
Cooling id-cooling Frostflow X 360 w/ Thermalright BCF and Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z5 RGB 32GB DDR5-6800 F5-6800J3445G16GX2-TZ5RK @ 6400 MT/s 30-38-38-38-70-2
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX™ 4080 16GB GDDR6X White OC Edition
Storage 1x WD Black SN750 500 GB NVMe + 4x WD VelociRaptor HLFS 300 GB HDDs
Display(s) 55-inch LG G3 OLED
Case Cooler Master MasterFrame 700 in bench mode
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio (classic) + Sony MDR-V7 cans/KZ ZSX IEMs
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2 1.3kW 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Essential Mercury White
Keyboard Redragon Shiva Lunar White
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 22H2
Benchmark Scores "Speed isn't life, it just makes it go faster."
Dual-booting Fedora 36 and Windows 11. Though, the experience with Fedora and the RTX 3090 is less than pleasant. The NVIDIA drivers for Linux are absolutely terrible and a gigantic pain. Also run Fedora 36 on my home server. Great OS.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
13,016 (4.06/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Switched to Ubuntu 22.04 LTS on my main desktop a month ago. Something went wrong with the Fedora installation, the Nvidia driver update buggered something out. I was already annoyed by the lack of suspend/hibernate functionality (due to NV drivers), and this was the last straw.
Still must use x11 to get suspend working. -_-
I wonder if you were bitten by indirect branch tracking (IBT), which was enabled in 5.18. It's about Intel CPUs, your specs say you're on AMD, but idk if they're up to date. If that's the case, you'll have the same problem again, once Ubuntu updates its kernel. Fortunately, the fix is as simple as passing ibt=off to the kernel. Not ideal, from a security point of view, but better than a system that won't boot.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
2,453 (2.13/day)
Location
Slovenia
Processor i5-6600K
Motherboard Asus Z170A
Cooling some cheap Cooler Master Hyper 103 or similar
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) IGP
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2x Oldell 24" 1920x1200
Case Bitfenix Nova white windowless non-mesh
Audio Device(s) E-mu 1212m PCI
Power Supply Seasonic G-360
Mouse Logitech Marble trackball, never had a mouse
Keyboard Key Tronic KT2000, no Win key because 1994
Software Oldwin
I use Mint XFCE as a goto version of Linux. If I were to ditch Windows entirely, that would be where I settle. I also use the LineageOS 14.1 version of Android X86 as a primary OS for one of my Dell laptops.
Why did you choose Lineage over a[nother] Linux distro? Is that a laptop with a touch screen by chance, and you found the UI better suited to it?
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,423 (6.54/day)
Location
USA
Why did you choose Lineage over a[nother] Linux distro? Is that a laptop with a touch screen by chance, and you found the UI better suited to it?
Nope. I like the Android app ecosystem better than the Linux ecosystem as a daily driver for my needs on that system. I have another Dell laptop that has Mint XFCE as an exclusive OS, which I'm typing this comment on.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
1,281 (0.27/day)
Location
[Formerly] Khartoum, Sudan.
System Name 192.168.1.1~192.168.1.100
Processor AMD Ryzen5 5600G.
Motherboard Gigabyte B550m DS3H.
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth.
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4.
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 OC (Underclocked, underpowered).
Storage Samsung 980 NVME 500GB && Assortment of SSDs.
Display(s) LG 24MK430 primary && Samsung S24D590 secondary
Case Corsair Graphite 780T.
Audio Device(s) On-Board.
Power Supply SeaSonic CORE GM-650.
Mouse Coolermaster MM530.
Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS.
VR HMD A pair of OP spectacles.
Software Ubuntu 22.04 LTS.
Benchmark Scores Me no know English. What bench mean? Bench like one sit on?
I wonder if you were bitten by indirect branch tracking (IBT), which was enabled in 5.18. It's about Intel CPUs, your specs say you're on AMD, but idk if they're up to date. If that's the case, you'll have the same problem again, once Ubuntu updates its kernel. Fortunately, the fix is as simple as passing ibt=off to the kernel. Not ideal, from a security point of view, but better than a system that won't boot.
I'm sure it was a graphics driver's fault. Some conflict during the update (IIRC) that left the system in a messed up state. Partially fixed with manual removal then reinstall. Really missed the DDU+Safe mode combo and Windows automatic driver fallback back then :( .
Current machine is indeed on AMD.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
13,016 (4.06/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
I'm sure it was a graphics driver's fault. Some conflict during the update (IIRC) that left the system in a messed up state. Partially fixed with manual removal then reinstall. Really missed the DDU+Safe mode combo and Windows automatic driver fallback back then :( .
Current machine is indeed on AMD.
I'm pretty sure each Linux distro has a safe mode by now, you could have used that. Safe mode boots just the kernel and not much else, you can use that to repair pretty much everything. And to guard against the kernel itself becoming non-bootable, you can install an LTS kernel as a backup.

But the deed is done now, it's good you got your system back in working shape.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
1,281 (0.27/day)
Location
[Formerly] Khartoum, Sudan.
System Name 192.168.1.1~192.168.1.100
Processor AMD Ryzen5 5600G.
Motherboard Gigabyte B550m DS3H.
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth.
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4.
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 OC (Underclocked, underpowered).
Storage Samsung 980 NVME 500GB && Assortment of SSDs.
Display(s) LG 24MK430 primary && Samsung S24D590 secondary
Case Corsair Graphite 780T.
Audio Device(s) On-Board.
Power Supply SeaSonic CORE GM-650.
Mouse Coolermaster MM530.
Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS.
VR HMD A pair of OP spectacles.
Software Ubuntu 22.04 LTS.
Benchmark Scores Me no know English. What bench mean? Bench like one sit on?
I'm pretty sure each Linux distro has a safe mode by now, you could have used that. Safe mode boots just the kernel and not much else, you can use that to repair pretty much everything.
Indeed, a command-line only mode is as "safe" as it gets, but it's not really as convenient as a gui mode with minimalist drivers like the way Windows does it. It would've been great if there was a quick, built-in method to switch to a cut down version of nouveau with a basic wm that doesn't involve editing launch params and system configs.
But I suppose when you're on 'nix, the cli is unavoidable. :ohwell:

And to guard against the kernel itself becoming non-bootable, you can install an LTS kernel as a backup.
Fedora keeps two previous kernels installed by default for these cases. Although tbh I find it annoying. Clutters GRUB and especially annoying when dual booting.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
13,016 (4.06/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Indeed, a command-line only mode is as "safe" as it gets, but it's not really as convenient as a gui mode with minimalist drivers like the way Windows does it. It would've been great if there was a quick, built-in method to switch to a cut down version of nouveau with a basic wm that doesn't involve editing launch params and system configs.
But I suppose when you're on 'nix, the cli is unavoidable. :ohwell:
CLI is the better idea, for those cases when you absolutely cannot get the graphics subsystem up at all. From the CLI, you can load drivers and even start X, if needed. But I've never needed that, whenever I went into safe mode, all I needed was to trigger some package repair or reinstall something. A GUI wasn't really needed.
Fedora keeps two previous kernels installed by default for these cases. Although tbh I find it annoying. Clutters GRUB and especially annoying when dual booting.
Yeah, it feels cluttery and annoying. Until you need that other kernel ;)
 

Lei

Joined
Jul 3, 2021
Messages
1,135 (1.17/day)
Location
usually in my shirt
Processor 3900x - Bykski waterblock
Motherboard MSI b450m mortar max BIOS Date 27 Apr 2023
Cooling αcool 560 rad - 2xPhanteks F140XP
Memory Micron 32gb 3200mhz ddr4
Video Card(s) Colorful 3090 ADOC active backplate cooling
Storage WD SN850 2tb ,HP EX950 1tb, WD UltraStar Helioseal 18tb+18tb
Display(s) 24“ HUION pro 4k 10bit
Case aluminium extrusions copper panels, 60 deliveries for every piece down to screws
Audio Device(s) sony stereo mic, logitech c930, Gulikit pro 2 + xbox Series S controller, moded bt headphone 1200mAh
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x
Mouse pen display, no mouse no click
Keyboard Microsoft aio media embedded touchpad (moded lithium battery 1000mAh)
Software Win 11 23h2 build 22631
Benchmark Scores cine23 20000
I used to cheer about Linux and use Debian/Ubuntu around 2010. And an OS from Sun microsystems which I don't remember the name of .... Solaris

But, no, now I only use Windows and want full functionality. I think what matters is the software we use not the operating system. and a good operating system is the one that runs every software.
I mean it was crazy to keep using wine on linux.
Although a linux flash live drive is good when you can't boot into windows and want to backup those documents that are out of reach on C drive.

Do the best with your time. Don't tinker around proving an OS is good but is not receiving the attention it deserves.

I'm also against using GIMP and Blender. When I went for job interview, they flat out said : We don't use Blender.
Learning Blender is 20% useful and 80% ruining your future. Although it's free, it makes you poor in the long run while industry standards like Maya and Photoshop fill your pocket much better than free/opensource software.

It is also hard to switch from Blender to Maya. it's not a software you can learn within a month or so. So although it gives you 3d modeling experience, switching to another software is really breaking hardcore habits.
Years ago I used to say : if blender is a horsepower, then Maya is a herd of 100 horses. Just Quad-draw in Maya seems like a tool blender will have in 2030

Life is too short for wasting time on becoming a fan of opensource. Sorry, I understand the passion and hardwork they dedicate for these stuff, but I push them away. Just kick the developers in the bosom and dismiss them.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
13,016 (4.06/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
@Lei I absolutely agree that working software trumps everything else. But since I'm a software developer, the platform that runs everything I need happens to be Linux (could be macOS as well, but I'm not paying the Apple tax). For some time, I had your experience in reverse: employer was doing software that was deployed on Linux, but wanted development to happen on Windows. So I would run most things in a VM and whatnot. Pretty crappy. These days, it's more about deploying in the cloud, but I still think Linux is the best dev platform.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lei
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
20,597 (3.41/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 7950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X670 AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory 64GB (4x 16GB) G.Skill Flare X5 @ DDR5-6000 CL30
Video Card(s) XFX RX 7900 XTX Speedster Merc 310
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti Pro 850W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed Wireless
Keyboard WASD Code v3 with Cherry Green keyswitches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (legit), Gentoo Linux x64
I don't think Android can be counted as Linux. Just using the kernel isn't enough. Bill's link, a few posts above, makes a convincing argument, especially this part :
To be fair, it totally can, it's just android does not give you the console to do so. You can do this with root, though.
 

Lei

Joined
Jul 3, 2021
Messages
1,135 (1.17/day)
Location
usually in my shirt
Processor 3900x - Bykski waterblock
Motherboard MSI b450m mortar max BIOS Date 27 Apr 2023
Cooling αcool 560 rad - 2xPhanteks F140XP
Memory Micron 32gb 3200mhz ddr4
Video Card(s) Colorful 3090 ADOC active backplate cooling
Storage WD SN850 2tb ,HP EX950 1tb, WD UltraStar Helioseal 18tb+18tb
Display(s) 24“ HUION pro 4k 10bit
Case aluminium extrusions copper panels, 60 deliveries for every piece down to screws
Audio Device(s) sony stereo mic, logitech c930, Gulikit pro 2 + xbox Series S controller, moded bt headphone 1200mAh
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x
Mouse pen display, no mouse no click
Keyboard Microsoft aio media embedded touchpad (moded lithium battery 1000mAh)
Software Win 11 23h2 build 22631
Benchmark Scores cine23 20000
I don't think Android can be counted as Linux. Just using the kernel isn't enough. Bill's link, a few posts above, makes a convincing argument, especially this part :
the guys who made linux are finally happy their kernel is so widely used
Larry Ellison said :
"When you write a program for Android, you use the Oracle Java tools for everything and at the very end, you push a button and say convert this"

I'm sure Linux developers don't like you saying android is not their baby.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,423 (6.54/day)
Location
USA
I think what matters is the software we use not the operating system
While that's true, if the OS is lackluster or repulsive, the software can not shine.

To be fair, it totally can, it's just android does not give you the console to do so.
Not true. Any Android device can access and use the terminal.
You can do this with root, though.
It can be done with or without root, but root is more useful.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
20,597 (3.41/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 7950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X670 AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory 64GB (4x 16GB) G.Skill Flare X5 @ DDR5-6000 CL30
Video Card(s) XFX RX 7900 XTX Speedster Merc 310
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti Pro 850W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed Wireless
Keyboard WASD Code v3 with Cherry Green keyswitches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (legit), Gentoo Linux x64
While that's true, if the OS is lackluster or repulsive, the software can not shine.


Not true. Any Android device can access and use the terminal.

It can be done with or without root, but root is more useful.
I suppose you are correct, it's just you are pretty limited in tools without root.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
20,597 (3.41/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 7950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X670 AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory 64GB (4x 16GB) G.Skill Flare X5 @ DDR5-6000 CL30
Video Card(s) XFX RX 7900 XTX Speedster Merc 310
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti Pro 850W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed Wireless
Keyboard WASD Code v3 with Cherry Green keyswitches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (legit), Gentoo Linux x64
True, but that's not enough to consider it "not Linux".
I'm pretty strict in my definition, in that if it uses the Linux kernel, it's linux.

No the layman does not use this definition, but the kernel authors of linux do, and that's who I'd trust.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,423 (6.54/day)
Location
USA
I'm pretty strict in my definition, in that if it uses the Linux kernel, it's linux.
Agreed.
but the kernel authors of linux do, and that's who I'd trust.
True, Linus himself has often referred to Android as a Linux distro. In my estimation, if the creator of Linux refers to something as a Linux distro, it's a Linux distro, end of discussion.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
2,453 (2.13/day)
Location
Slovenia
Processor i5-6600K
Motherboard Asus Z170A
Cooling some cheap Cooler Master Hyper 103 or similar
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) IGP
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2x Oldell 24" 1920x1200
Case Bitfenix Nova white windowless non-mesh
Audio Device(s) E-mu 1212m PCI
Power Supply Seasonic G-360
Mouse Logitech Marble trackball, never had a mouse
Keyboard Key Tronic KT2000, no Win key because 1994
Software Oldwin
My explanation of why some people think Android is not Linux.

I've set up the OS myself and hold the keys to the admin account -> it is Linux
I bought it with the OS preinstalled and locked down -> it isn't Linux
 
Top